Carrollton, TX 
Jimmy Porter Park Share
Uploaded By: TxDiscGolfBoy Hole #6 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Making changes

5+    1/7/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: guitardave8077
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: They've removed most of the reeds and are doing work on the creek on 17. Looks like they're putting in large rocks. They're also putting in concrete tee pads on all holes. Nice combination of obstacles. Wooded, but open, too.
Cons: It can still be a disc eater, though losing one in the water is less of an issue than before
Other Thoughts: Love this course. It's a "home course." One day I'd like to check out a tourney there on a Sunday.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/10/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice use of available land for a couple of cool elevation change shots. Easy to navigate and some boy scout volunteer work is only adding to the playability of this course. The wind is kind of funky here but it's nice. Seems to work with you most of the time. Almost always mowed. Another course I would recommend playing tourney rules as far as ob is concerned. Really tightens it up. Most holes are birdie possibilities, but don't count on doing it.
Cons: Could use a tee box facelift, but not horrible. Can take a while to play a round in a group. A couple of the baskets could be replaced.
Other Thoughts: Nice place to spend a saturday. Worth a drive.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Lose Discs Much????

2-4    7/19/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: mccord233
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course offers up diverse challenges with creeks trees ponds and thick vegetation makes for interesting rounds
Cons: If you hit the thick brush just say goodbye to that disc unless you have waiters and a machete.
Other Thoughts: I am new to this sport and learned about the shoes on the electric wires if you ace or just wear your designated DG shoes out they are retired by hanging for all to see!!!!!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Still one of my favorites

5+    10/28/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: hewittdallas
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of the terrain available.
- Water obstacles come into play on multiple holes to provide challenge.
- Good mix of hole variety and length.
- Great local disc golf community and one of the best courses to meet new players.
- Plenty of parking available.
- Very little interference with non disc golfers except a few walkers.
- The city recently cleaned up the brush from the waterways, which made finding discs easier and seemed to push the snakes out some.
Cons: - Teepads are simply terrible.
- No signs anywhere and a few teepads can be difficult to find if you don't know the course.
- Flooding can be an issue after heavy rain.
- Maintenance is a little sketchy at times and if they miss a mowing rotation, they simply wait until the next scheduled day.
- Baskets are of random quality and make. Some are decent, others are pretty bad.
Other Thoughts: This remains one of my favorite courses to play. It is not the best maintained or even designed course, but it's just fun. I have met so many friendly disc golf players here. I highly recommend finding a local and giving Porter a try. Do note however that water can be a serious issue here, especially if you don't have your drives under control. The weeds on hole 6 can be very unforgiving on a high or underpowered release.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/3/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of what was given. Sidewalks and across are OB which add to the challenge of the course.

Creek comes into play on #2,3,5,6,7,8,9,10,15,16,17,18
Pond comes into play on #12 and maybe 11
Sidewalks and across come into play on #2,3,4,5,6,7,8,12, and maybe 14 if you over throw it.

Park boundaries come into play on #1 (railroad tracks) #4 (Apartment complex) #11 (Fence Line) #13 (Tree line behind the basket usually marked with a string) #14 (Street) #17 and maybe 18 (the Parking lot)

Basically, if you play a round without an OB, you played a good round.

Hole #12 has a short and long tee marked. The long tee is the signature hole in my opinion.
Cons: Dirt tee pads
Does not have tee signs, holes are marked for the most part, but keep getting destroyed.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun course to play. Not real hard, but with all the OB, it makes it challenging.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fresh Redux

1    9/2/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: meatbones132
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the course quite a bit...

Recently redone and reopened after that had cleared a lot of brush out, planted new trees, lined creek w rocks and built a couple bridges.

The course was pretty well designed for the small amount of space used and occasionally different elevations added to the course as well.

Most memorable holes - 4, 6, 7, 9, 12, and 17.


Final was three over par, counting all as par threes besides hole 16.
Cons: Baskets are pretty old and there was prob three different putts where I rocked the chains with a solid putt and my putter just popped out because of a lack of grip. Chains on a few baskets had also lost form / shape and left less of an area where you could sink a putt.
Other Thoughts: Good course... replace the chains on a few baskets and it'd bump it to four stars. New trees once grown in will make it pretty challening.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This aint your mommas old Jimmy Porter

5+    6/29/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course that challenges old Porter for the crown. I like this layout more then the other one because of the fairways. This course doesnt really favor a certain player and I think that it is more lefty friendly then most courses. The front 9 has "fairways" on every hole except for hole 1. The fairways have the sidewalk on one side and the creek on the other making for some interesting shots when playing sidewalk and everything OB. The risk vs reward can be fun to because of the rough can get rough in places. A couple of holes, 7/9/10 are planted in spots where you have one option to get to it and if you dont it could hurt your score. I think that there are alot of birdies out here for a pro/adv player which makes it fun but you can also shoot high if you throw off line a couple of time. The back is pretty open and doesnt challenge you too much because of it. I think the birds are more plentiful on the back but they are everywhere if you look.
Cons: Not much shade therefore it can get hot very fast! The pond is nasty, just like it used to be. There could be more trees to change a couple of shots up. The rough can get rough in spots. Easy to lose plastic in the creek and even when mowed there will be spots that your disc will vanish before your eyes. There are a couple of tees/holes that are hard to find first time out, but once you find them its not a problem. Parking can get interesting as the lot is pretty small.
Other Thoughts: This course I compared to LL Woods in Lewisville because with sidewalk and beyond it plays alot like it. When this course gets mowed and cleaned up a bit, it will be fun and will blow Greenbelt out of the water. Bring lots of drinks cause it gets hot and its a long way back to the parking lot.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.