Carrollton, TX 
Jimmy Porter Park Share
Uploaded By: TxDiscGolfBoy Hole #10 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well laid out

1    4/28/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice variety of distance.

-Well thought out design- uses water as a thoughtful obstacle.

-Baskets in wooded areas when possible so wind putting isn't so much of a factor.

-Discs that end up in water are generally retrievable.

-Nice tees and signs.
Cons: -I spent a fair amount of time waiting for runners to clear (the Carrollton Purple trail bisects the course) and this was on a Monday morning. I imagine weekends are worse.
Other Thoughts: -Watch out for hole 6... if you fade too far left you will land in a swampy mess overgrown with tall reeds. It was only by the grace of the DGGods that I found my disc.

-Compared to the other course that is close (Greenbelt) this place is more fun IMHO.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

ez birdie

1    1/22/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: ohskidohski
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Ez birdie for 1,3,4,8,18 NICE PLACE TO WORK ON MULTIPLE SHOT TYPES SOME WIDE OPEN GREENS
Cons: Hole 4 blind spot over hill from drive. I always run after my disc to make sure it didn't hit you or u take my disc lol
Other Thoughts: I OWN HOLE 18

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great variety, no tee pads

5+    5/5/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 49  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great variety of shots incorporating elevation, trees, and water
- No two holes alike, each one has unique challenges
- Nice layout and flow
Cons:
- No tee pads, and even worse, some used to be crushed gravel, but are so bad that they're worse than just flat dirt because of all the pot holes
- Not much signage, holes can be difficult to locate for first timers
Other Thoughts:
With decent concrete tee pads, this would easily be a 4.5, but the inconsistent footing really detracts from what would otherwise be a great course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Going "Jimmy"!!!

5+    12/16/2010   12/17/2010
Review By: HellmuthBoi
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has seen two renovations, a major change to the layout of the entire course in 2009, and now TEE PADS in 2013! Jimmy Porter is an addictive course that demands improvement to keep getting a good score. I play this course regularly and love it! The new layout makes every shot more important because every hole has water or sidewalk OB. When this course is in the ideal conditions, it's a solid 4.0. That is probably why it has hosted the Carrollton Open numerous times, along with the Greenbelt course up the street. "The Jimmy" is nearly always in use because it is a fun time for all.

Pins are placed so that a good shot is rewarded, and a bad one is OB. Most of the baskets have nearby trees. Holes 2 and 6 are elevated straight shots. All holes except 1, 4, 11, 13, 14, have water hazards, but the water is not deep enough to lose a disc, and no problem if you can throw past 75ft on Hole 9. Hole 14 is a 455ft opportunity to bomb your disc!

Porter is an attractive, clean course that is extremely fun for any skill level. It requires different types of drives to get a birdie. There is a practice basket near the parking lot and none of the course overlaps like it did in the past, plenty of room to play. There are ways to cross the creek if you happen to throw to the other side, which happens a lot. Completely new layout to a classic course makes you want to play again and again!

*There is a teepad for HOLE 19 that throws to the practice basket. After hole 18 walk directly toward the parking lot driveway and you will see a slab of concrete, it is a teepad to throw at the practice basket. Just make sure to yell before throwing, to not hit someone practicing. It is used in minis at this course as hole 19.
Cons: There is a Railway track that runs very close to the park entrance and along side Hole 1. The train horn is very loud and can be heard throughout the park, which can very easily throw off putts. Hole number 1 also has power lines right in front of the tee, slightly out of the way of drives but it is just not very appealing.

(There is now tee pads and a course map at hole 1 updated 2013, THANK YOU Boys Scouts of America).

Pedestrians walk through the trail all the time, which runs in between a majority of the course, but is not too intrusive. Creek at hole 6 is grotesque, very muddy and covered with tall stalk like plants, but when maintained is okay. When people say this course is a "disc eater," their discs are probably in the creek along holes 6 and 7, throw with caution. There is a fence that is a pain if you go over on 10, it is very often a swamp on the other side of the fence. Enough complaints to not be rated a bad ass course, just a very good one.

The baskets are very old and make putting difficult. They are old, Mach 2's I believe. Putts can cut through, and you can hit the center of the chains and spit out as well. The wind is definitely a factor on this course and again makes putting that much more of a challenge to your game. The baskets are POS, but an advanced player will play well at this course!

I am biased but I love this course!!! I stand by my rating of the course because of the additions. But the truth is, this course needs new baskets to be a true 4 out of 5. It is really closer to a 3.75 and I'm being generous because I play there often.
Other Thoughts: There are loyal, very cool people that go to this course, as well as some very talented players. The city is constantly working on this place, to maintain the creek and the water levels on this course. They are improving the look and condition of the course, which is always good for the player.

There is only one parking lot that is on the east side of Josey south of Keller Springs near the train tracks, don't miss it. You can't get in on the other side of the course.

Josey road runs near hole 14, the bomb hole, but as long as you don't suck you can avoid it. When I first started playing and did suck, I only ended up in the street once or twice. Also there are apartments near 3 and 4 that are the same.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Pin Locations

1    7/25/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JP is a nice open fairway course for the most part. But the pin locations on many holes make it more challenging than an other open fairway course I have ever player. Most of the time long drives on an open course can have you playing under par, but you better have an accurate long game as well as a decent short game if you wanna play under par out here.
Cons: One basket has been stolen, it will be back eventually, no biggie. It is in a greenbelt/floodplain, so don't venture out here after a good rain. Just common sense.

Having a guide out there would be nice if you are going for your first time, but its not impossible. Some pins are hidden so expect to do some exploring.
Other Thoughts: This course is not in the best condition but it's layout is very fun to play. Layout trumps condition, this course is a 4.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Love it

5+    4/25/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: DBOX
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Has every thing you could ask for...for the most part. I have played a lot of courses and really enjoy the porter course a lot.
Cons: Some of the tee box's could be done better.........................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Other Thoughts: you need to ply this course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/9/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of left and right dog legs. Most shots play around a shallow creek. If you are determined, you can retreive most creek shots. Fun for both beginners and pros. A much better design than the old layout.
Cons: No concrete tees and can be muddy or flooded after rains. Some holes still need additional brush clearing and you will see construction vehicles on the course occassionally but normally they will let you play thru
Other Thoughts: There are three random baskets across Keller springs rd labeled with letters and temp signs. I checked them out but they really aren't worth going out of your way for. Anyone know anything about these extra baskets??

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/24/2011   7/22/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/1/2011
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is really fun!

First of all it has some really big open elevation drop shots. Who does not love big open holes?

Secondly, most of the landing zones or greens are small areas between the sidewalk and creek that winds through the park. You have to be able to hit these defined zones or it will cost you stroke.

The creek is not really deep enough to lose discs in but it still provides a good pucker factor.
Cons: Not much technical requirement to play this course other than being able to land in a specific area. Most of the holes are big air (which I actually love so I put this as a pro also).

No restroooms.

No distances posted which would be nice to know, especially for first timers.

The teepads are a little worse for wear. Concrete would be nice.

I don't like the long chain link fence that defines the left side of one of the fairways. If you fade over it you have to get creative to get your disc back.

The only water you can really lose a disc in is the little pond and the only way you will do that is if you make a serious mistake or hit one of the newly planted trees in front of the teepad.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played so it has a fond place in my heart. I'm glad they revamped it and I'm glad they did such a good job on the revamp.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.