Carrollton, TX 
Jimmy Porter Park Share
Uploaded By: TxDiscGolfBoy Hole #3 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Awesome Pin Locations

1    7/25/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JP is a nice open fairway course for the most part. But the pin locations on many holes make it more challenging than an other open fairway course I have ever player. Most of the time long drives on an open course can have you playing under par, but you better have an accurate long game as well as a decent short game if you wanna play under par out here.
Cons: One basket has been stolen, it will be back eventually, no biggie. It is in a greenbelt/floodplain, so don't venture out here after a good rain. Just common sense.

Having a guide out there would be nice if you are going for your first time, but its not impossible. Some pins are hidden so expect to do some exploring.
Other Thoughts: This course is not in the best condition but it's layout is very fun to play. Layout trumps condition, this course is a 4.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Close to home

2-4    7/5/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: JustinKule
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very large and wide open course. This being one of the first courses I ever played, I found this to be great so I wouldn't have to worry about hitting anyone.

The course design is excellent Imo. You will do lots of walking from tee to tee, but never are you crossing through someone else's path. Once you get to around the 4-6th hole the course really begins to open up as you get away from the parking lot. From here on the course just follows a large curve around the entire park.

Cons: My biggest complaint with this course is the lack of any decent tee boxes. If I remember correctly, the first 2-3 holes have cement boxes, but after that you're on your own. The dirt boxes are very uneven and if you are not careful you can easily roll your ankle. I typically tee off slightly to the side of the box to avoid this.

Another concern, at least for relatively new players like myself, is the constant threat of losing a disc. I have not lost any on this course, but have driven home soaked from head to toe and covered in mud. The large pond near the end isn't that deep. If you are still new and are not sure you can throw it over the creek/pond/15 feet grass, you may want to just play around to be on the safe side.

While the course layout is great, some signage would be greatly appreciated. My first time playing here my friend and I had to be pointed in the right direction several times as it doesn't always flow the way it looks like it should.
Other Thoughts: This has become one of my regularly played courses, simply due to my living 5 minutes from it.

I do have my qualms with the course, but I keep coming back. It's challenging, long and worth the time to play a full 18.

P.S.
If you land your disc in the pond near the mid teens, just empty your pockets, lose your shoes, and jump in! It's not too deep(2-3 feet max) A lot of players simply don't even try to get their discs out and you can usually find a few free discs if you wade through the mud.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 meh

1    4/30/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: StumperTX
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: good variety of thows/hole locations
Cons: - grooming is TERRIBLE. the grass was 8-10" tall, and there's standing water EVERYWHERE on this course. It's built in a flood plain. not a good idea
- It's damn near impossible to know where to go from one hole to the other your first time out.
- nothing at all is marked, not the tees, not the pins. they don't even point you in the right direction to the next tee box.
- my friend and I could NOT find several holes and tee pads without help.
-oh... the tee pads are just dirt, maybe with a
Other Thoughts: maybe in mid summer, when everything has dried out, this is a good course. maybe. and then only if you're playing with someone that knows the course.
I genuinely don't understand the 3 star rating people have given this... I recognize there are different strokes for different folks, but come ON ya'll, this is not a good course as it is.
Get some tee pads, some markers, maybe a picture/drawing of the hole at the tee boxes? yeah, it has potential.
But standing water in the spring = mosquitoes the rest of the year, so I don't think I will be back.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Tough Course

1    5/4/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: medic87
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots trees which means lots of obstacles to go around to get to the basket. 5 holes maybe a couple more and ltos of water to go over so better be able to throw far and accurate..I saw lots of people goin in the pond out their and all the Daily players for this course had poles to get their dics out of the water so atleast 5 people doing this. Grass is cut and its mostly a narrow course. I had a lot of fun their today!
Cons: The tee of box is mostly all dirt maybe 1 or 2 are concrete. They are not market very well. My friend lost 2 frisbees their in the water. The tea boxs are hiddin not marked with paint and they dont have good maps on the signs before you tea off.
Other Thoughts: bring a ple to get your frisbee out of the water!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Love it

5+    4/25/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: DBOX
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Has every thing you could ask for...for the most part. I have played a lot of courses and really enjoy the porter course a lot.
Cons: Some of the tee box's could be done better.........................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Other Thoughts: you need to ply this course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

5+    2/24/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: eegor
Played: 116  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 20.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Some hidden baskets, plenty of water hazards, easy to follow and improving each time I play there.

Both right and left doglegs come into play. No "cookie cutter" holes zigzagging across a field... each one has its own character and will get better with time (as trees grow and improvements are made).

No really long holes to sap the life out of noodle arms like mine. A good "course management" experience for players that aren't able to bomb the basket from the tee. Not too hard, but tight enough to make you pay if you're throwing wild. Some good birdie opportunities for the average player.

Good balance between easy and difficult. A fun course for the intermediate player... like me.

Parking lot is nice and used for disc golfers only...
Cons: The new tee boxes (elevated dirt surrounded by rail road ties) are better than ruts on the ground, but not by much. At least they drain enough to get dry (with the exception of #11). #14 tee is not elevated (just a rut in the ground) and is a pool of water for days after a good rain. With the drainage problems on this course, concrete tees are needed.

Drainage is a problem for all but the driest of times on holes 11 and 13. It's difficult to navigate the fairways without getting your feet wet in the fall, winter and spring. The Texas sun will take care it in the summer.

Basket areas on 3, 8 and 10 have drainage problems that are badly in need of attention... and there is often standing water too close to baskets 11 and 14.

Signs would be nice for those that haven't played the course before. Mostly on 4, 7, 8 and 9... where you can't see the basket from the tees.

No restroom.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I don't want this review to look like the course wouldn't be fun, because it is fun. The city (and the wonderful people that help on their own) is really working hard to improve this park... and there are more improvements on the way. The course is fun to play as it gets better, just know it's not finished yet.

When I'm in the neighborhood, I definitely stop by for a nice round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/9/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of left and right dog legs. Most shots play around a shallow creek. If you are determined, you can retreive most creek shots. Fun for both beginners and pros. A much better design than the old layout.
Cons: No concrete tees and can be muddy or flooded after rains. Some holes still need additional brush clearing and you will see construction vehicles on the course occassionally but normally they will let you play thru
Other Thoughts: There are three random baskets across Keller springs rd labeled with letters and temp signs. I checked them out but they really aren't worth going out of your way for. Anyone know anything about these extra baskets??

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/3/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 300  Reviewed: 152  Exp: 28.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of what was given. Sidewalks and across are OB which add to the challenge of the course.

Creek comes into play on #2,3,5,6,7,8,9,10,15,16,17,18
Pond comes into play on #12 and maybe 11
Sidewalks and across come into play on #2,3,4,5,6,7,8,12, and maybe 14 if you over throw it.

Park boundaries come into play on #1 (railroad tracks) #4 (Apartment complex) #11 (Fence Line) #13 (Tree line behind the basket usually marked with a string) #14 (Street) #17 and maybe 18 (the Parking lot)

Basically, if you play a round without an OB, you played a good round.

Hole #12 has a short and long tee marked. The long tee is the signature hole in my opinion.
Cons: Dirt tee pads
Does not have tee signs, holes are marked for the most part, but keep getting destroyed.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun course to play. Not real hard, but with all the OB, it makes it challenging.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fresh Redux

1    9/2/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: meatbones132
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the course quite a bit...

Recently redone and reopened after that had cleared a lot of brush out, planted new trees, lined creek w rocks and built a couple bridges.

The course was pretty well designed for the small amount of space used and occasionally different elevations added to the course as well.

Most memorable holes - 4, 6, 7, 9, 12, and 17.


Final was three over par, counting all as par threes besides hole 16.
Cons: Baskets are pretty old and there was prob three different putts where I rocked the chains with a solid putt and my putter just popped out because of a lack of grip. Chains on a few baskets had also lost form / shape and left less of an area where you could sink a putt.
Other Thoughts: Good course... replace the chains on a few baskets and it'd bump it to four stars. New trees once grown in will make it pretty challening.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Reborn, Refreshed, Revived

1    7/29/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a some good elevation, protected/hidden pins, decent hole lengths, accuracy shots, OB's, water, and some real picturesque holes. I played this course as it is still under development. But when the cement tee pads and new signs get put in place, this is sure to be a fun course to play. The shots from up high were great. I loved the few protected pins and felt this course layout was pretty good.
Cons: There is a few extended walks between some on the holes. A map or guide is not necessary, but it sure helps. A few of the latter holes will be much more challenging as the trees grow. There is few tee signs and the tee pads are presently dirt, but give it a little time, I am sure that will be rectified soon!
Other Thoughts: The par 3 settings are not bad for holes of these lengths. The fun factor was pretty good for this course. Some of the holes were so much fun, it made you want to throw multiple drives. As we all know that is a pretty good sign of a fun hole. I wish there was a bit more variance in hole length, but out side of that, this was a fun course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center