Carrollton, TX 
Jimmy Porter Park Share
Uploaded By: TxDiscGolfBoy Hole #5 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Water water everywhere

2-4    8/4/2016   8/5/2016
Review By: kindableu
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice easy to navigate layout
-Teepads in good shape
-Nice variety of holes
-Water in play on almost every hole
-Very distinct holes
-Flow from hole to hole is excellent, nice rapid pace of play
Cons: -The fairways are fairly open, with most of the "wooded" description coming in from guardian tree placement around the pins
-Some of the rough, especially on holes 5,6,8,10 is pretty dense.
-Water in play on almost every hole, most of the creek is shallow but there are definitely some deep spots that require more than just removing your shoes to retrieve your disc. And then you have the pond on 12.
-Walking path weaves through the course and there are some near blind shots on 4 and 6 where you have a chance of hitting somebody
-Hole 14 tees of right next to a busy road and I cold see a lefty grip locking a drive and causing a big problem.
Other Thoughts: Jimmy Porter is an excellent example of a municipal multi-use park course. The design incorporates a wide variety of shots and approaches and uses a single creek to introduce OB and risk reward type shots on a number of holes.

The design of this course really maximized the terrain, landscape and water features to its full potential, resulting in a course where each hole feels distinct and memorable.

Standout holes for me were:
Hole 2 - Nice elevate tee with creek OB right in front of the pin
Hole 4 - Curve your drive around the base of the hill and then an upshot into a wooded section guarding the pin
Hole 10 - Pretty wide expand of creek and rough in front of pin which is tucked in the woods. Decent fairway before you get to the OB if you want to play it safe and layup.
Hole 12 - Hyzer line over a nice sized pond
Hole 15 - Drive over a wider, boulder strewn section of the creek with the pin on the opposite bank

All in all, the water really adds both challenge and an extra level of scenery to a nice municipal park layout. While the fairways are mostly open, the pin placements have you still needing to make a technical upshot on most holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    2/12/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Good variety of shots
- Well maintained course in neighborhood park
- Easy to navigate
Cons: - Fairly open course
- Not overly challenging for advanced and above players
Other Thoughts: Stopped in on this course while playing other courses in the area. Glad I played it, would stop here again if nearby.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good park course

5+    5/13/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 240  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great use of the creek and the limited elevation
-a variety of different distances, lines, and degrees of woods
-concrete tees and finally has new signs for the (relatively) new layout
-good bridges to cross the creek
-creek is shallow and clear, discs easily retrieved
Cons: -old baskets in okay condition
-no stand out holes
-some of the posted distances seem off, especially hole 14 (looks like over 500' to me)
Other Thoughts: Jimmy Porter has been around for a long time and it is not hard to see why it is a popular course. It looks easy with lots of reachable pins but there are just enough trees, water hazards, and sidewalk OB that it is much more challenging than it looks. I usually leave here eager to come back and beat my score by several strokes!

With 13 holes with water in play and 7 with an OB sidewalk, there are plenty of opportunities to take penalty strokes and it makes for great score separation. Some may find it too punitive but I like it. The OB is clear and good shots shouldn't unluckily end up OB.

There are 2 elevated tees (2 and 6), 2 large bombs (14 and 17), 1 throw across a small pond (12), and several holes with baskets nestled into protected woods (4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13). The holes are mostly short (half under 300') but the variety of terrain features keeps it interesting. That said, there are not any holes that really stand out for me as signature holes.

Jimmy Porter is right down the street from Greenbelt Park and they make a decent pair though they are similar courses. Jimmy Porter is definitely the better of the two. While there are plenty of better courses in the area, this is a solid option with replay value and decent fun factor.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well laid out

1    4/28/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice variety of distance.

-Well thought out design- uses water as a thoughtful obstacle.

-Baskets in wooded areas when possible so wind putting isn't so much of a factor.

-Discs that end up in water are generally retrievable.

-Nice tees and signs.
Cons: -I spent a fair amount of time waiting for runners to clear (the Carrollton Purple trail bisects the course) and this was on a Monday morning. I imagine weekends are worse.
Other Thoughts: -Watch out for hole 6... if you fade too far left you will land in a swampy mess overgrown with tall reeds. It was only by the grace of the DGGods that I found my disc.

-Compared to the other course that is close (Greenbelt) this place is more fun IMHO.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 ez birdie

1    1/22/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: ohskidohski
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Ez birdie for 1,3,4,8,18 NICE PLACE TO WORK ON MULTIPLE SHOT TYPES SOME WIDE OPEN GREENS
Cons: Hole 4 blind spot over hill from drive. I always run after my disc to make sure it didn't hit you or u take my disc lol
Other Thoughts: I OWN HOLE 18

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Bum Wrap

2-4    12/15/2013   12/16/2013
Review By: ntxdiscgolf
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Requires a number of different shots
- Majority of holes allow for multiple approach angles
- Creek forces you to be tactical, but doesn't hinder your angles
- Course was well kept and had decent flow
- Holes 2, 3, 6 and 10 were 'signature' type holes that make this course worth playing again
Cons: - Tee signs could be better
- Course map at hole #1 would also make this course more easily navigable
- The course does play across a walking/jogging path which requires the player to be constantly aware of foot traffic
Other Thoughts: In reading the previous reviews, this course gets a bum wrap for eating discs. I didn't see this to be the case at all. While water is present on most every hole, it only serves as a boundary and not really an obstacle. Without the water, this course would be fairly mundane and lack any sort of challenge. The lack of length on the course is offset by the strategic factor presented by the creek. Overall a good course and worth playing on a semi-regular basis. Not overly difficult and can be played fairly quickly.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Making changes

5+    1/7/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: guitardave8077
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: They've removed most of the reeds and are doing work on the creek on 17. Looks like they're putting in large rocks. They're also putting in concrete tee pads on all holes. Nice combination of obstacles. Wooded, but open, too.
Cons: It can still be a disc eater, though losing one in the water is less of an issue than before
Other Thoughts: Love this course. It's a "home course." One day I'd like to check out a tourney there on a Sunday.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Almost there...

1    7/23/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: DGCakes
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wide open
Not crowded
Cons: Short
small variations
weak teeboxes and markers
Other Thoughts: Course isn't long and kind of boring, but its a good quick play. It was really really hot when I played and you can lose a disc or two in the creek that runs through the whole course

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 HUNTING TIME!

2-4    7/5/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout
Requires a good mix of throws
Flow from hole to hole is good
Nice elevation changes
Challenging
Cons: Dirt tees are really in bad shape, constant fear of falling on your face if you have a run up.
Parking lot was abnormally hard to find.
COURSE IS A DISC EATER!
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great great course. It has a great layout, great flow, good elevation changes and it really challenges you to think about what you are throwing and how. The major issues with the course are that the dirt tees are horrid and a injury waiting to happen! This course eats discs! A river/creek runs through the entire thing so be careful, if you throw bad, short, or slightly off target you will have to search for you disc for ages and HOPE to find it, and if you play here regularly the money loss in plastic will add up.
BUT, dont let this scare you away this is a great course and if you are in the area play it!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Jimmy Porter

1    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 163  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There isnt really any pros, the course was not that great, i was disappointed.
Cons: To start it off to find the parking lot was hard enough. i was looking on the side of the road that had the jimmy porter sign.
The tees are horrible for your footing they are extremely bumppy. I like water holes but not so many that you have a risk on to loose a disc on a majority of your holes. There was one hole i think it was 12 they could use a sign to tell you where to go to find it, for first timers like myself.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.