Carrollton, TX 
Jimmy Porter Park Share
Uploaded By: TxDiscGolfBoy Hole #14 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 461ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 "Disc Eater"

5+    10/11/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I just started playing the game in July '11. The better I get, the more I enjoy playing this course. A variety of shots are needed to effectively play the full 18. On some holes, a back hand just wont do.The course is unforgiving and demands precision shots. If you happen to throw your disc in a hazard (which is highly likely), there is a greater than zero chance you'll come out with a few more discs than you started with. Give me a call if you see one with a paw.
Cons: My buddy and I affectionately call this course the "disc eater". Between the two of us, we've lost 6 since July '11. Your first victory is getting through the 18 with all the discs you started with. You can see moderate improvements being made to the course over the past month. If a few more bushes and tree limbs were trimmed back and concrete tee boxes were installed, this course would rivals the best in the area.
Other Thoughts: If you have some skill and can throw without fear, this course is sure to entertain.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Lose Discs Much????

2-4    7/19/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: mccord233
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course offers up diverse challenges with creeks trees ponds and thick vegetation makes for interesting rounds
Cons: If you hit the thick brush just say goodbye to that disc unless you have waiters and a machete.
Other Thoughts: I am new to this sport and learned about the shoes on the electric wires if you ace or just wear your designated DG shoes out they are retired by hanging for all to see!!!!!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great variety, no tee pads

5+    5/5/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great variety of shots incorporating elevation, trees, and water
- No two holes alike, each one has unique challenges
- Nice layout and flow
Cons:
- No tee pads, and even worse, some used to be crushed gravel, but are so bad that they're worse than just flat dirt because of all the pot holes
- Not much signage, holes can be difficult to locate for first timers
Other Thoughts:
With decent concrete tee pads, this would easily be a 4.5, but the inconsistent footing really detracts from what would otherwise be a great course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/21/2011   2/10/2011
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Okay course. A lot of OB and Water to watch out for. Not recommended for the beginner player. Friendly locals. Had a gentalman walk half the course with my group that was very helpful and knowledgable. Can't remember his name but a red headed college student that once went to Levelland, Tx. SPC for school. I wanted to thank him for helping out and walking us through the course.
Cons: Railroad, Apartments, Roadway, and public walking access. The peds must not see much playing time from golfers and don't realize the way the course plays (Watch out for them). Dirt tees and without the help we received wouldn't have found the next holes on some.
Other Thoughts: Would play again if the course was updated to concrete tees and marked better. Lost a disc in the pond (Discraft Surge with Hancock on it) If willing please contact for return. Thanks

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Going "Jimmy"!!!

5+    12/16/2010   12/17/2010
Review By: HellmuthBoi
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has seen two renovations, a major change to the layout of the entire course in 2009, and now TEE PADS in 2013! Jimmy Porter is an addictive course that demands improvement to keep getting a good score. I play this course regularly and love it! The new layout makes every shot more important because every hole has water or sidewalk OB. When this course is in the ideal conditions, it's a solid 4.0. That is probably why it has hosted the Carrollton Open numerous times, along with the Greenbelt course up the street. "The Jimmy" is nearly always in use because it is a fun time for all.

Pins are placed so that a good shot is rewarded, and a bad one is OB. Most of the baskets have nearby trees. Holes 2 and 6 are elevated straight shots. All holes except 1, 4, 11, 13, 14, have water hazards, but the water is not deep enough to lose a disc, and no problem if you can throw past 75ft on Hole 9. Hole 14 is a 455ft opportunity to bomb your disc!

Porter is an attractive, clean course that is extremely fun for any skill level. It requires different types of drives to get a birdie. There is a practice basket near the parking lot and none of the course overlaps like it did in the past, plenty of room to play. There are ways to cross the creek if you happen to throw to the other side, which happens a lot. Completely new layout to a classic course makes you want to play again and again!

*There is a teepad for HOLE 19 that throws to the practice basket. After hole 18 walk directly toward the parking lot driveway and you will see a slab of concrete, it is a teepad to throw at the practice basket. Just make sure to yell before throwing, to not hit someone practicing. It is used in minis at this course as hole 19.
Cons: There is a Railway track that runs very close to the park entrance and along side Hole 1. The train horn is very loud and can be heard throughout the park, which can very easily throw off putts. Hole number 1 also has power lines right in front of the tee, slightly out of the way of drives but it is just not very appealing.

(There is now tee pads and a course map at hole 1 updated 2013, THANK YOU Boys Scouts of America).

Pedestrians walk through the trail all the time, which runs in between a majority of the course, but is not too intrusive. Creek at hole 6 is grotesque, very muddy and covered with tall stalk like plants, but when maintained is okay. When people say this course is a "disc eater," their discs are probably in the creek along holes 6 and 7, throw with caution. There is a fence that is a pain if you go over on 10, it is very often a swamp on the other side of the fence. Enough complaints to not be rated a bad ass course, just a very good one.

The baskets are very old and make putting difficult. They are old, Mach 2's I believe. Putts can cut through, and you can hit the center of the chains and spit out as well. The wind is definitely a factor on this course and again makes putting that much more of a challenge to your game. The baskets are POS, but an advanced player will play well at this course!

I am biased but I love this course!!! I stand by my rating of the course because of the additions. But the truth is, this course needs new baskets to be a true 4 out of 5. It is really closer to a 3.75 and I'm being generous because I play there often.
Other Thoughts: There are loyal, very cool people that go to this course, as well as some very talented players. The city is constantly working on this place, to maintain the creek and the water levels on this course. They are improving the look and condition of the course, which is always good for the player.

There is only one parking lot that is on the east side of Josey south of Keller Springs near the train tracks, don't miss it. You can't get in on the other side of the course.

Josey road runs near hole 14, the bomb hole, but as long as you don't suck you can avoid it. When I first started playing and did suck, I only ended up in the street once or twice. Also there are apartments near 3 and 4 that are the same.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Still one of my favorites

5+    10/28/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: hewittdallas
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of the terrain available.
- Water obstacles come into play on multiple holes to provide challenge.
- Good mix of hole variety and length.
- Great local disc golf community and one of the best courses to meet new players.
- Plenty of parking available.
- Very little interference with non disc golfers except a few walkers.
- The city recently cleaned up the brush from the waterways, which made finding discs easier and seemed to push the snakes out some.
Cons: - Teepads are simply terrible.
- No signs anywhere and a few teepads can be difficult to find if you don't know the course.
- Flooding can be an issue after heavy rain.
- Maintenance is a little sketchy at times and if they miss a mowing rotation, they simply wait until the next scheduled day.
- Baskets are of random quality and make. Some are decent, others are pretty bad.
Other Thoughts: This remains one of my favorite courses to play. It is not the best maintained or even designed course, but it's just fun. I have met so many friendly disc golf players here. I highly recommend finding a local and giving Porter a try. Do note however that water can be a serious issue here, especially if you don't have your drives under control. The weeds on hole 6 can be very unforgiving on a high or underpowered release.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent If Maintained

1    8/28/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 122  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Requires a good variety of shots to finish course under par. (Based on all holes being Par 3s)

2. Not that hard to figure out where the next holes are located. It basically follows a general path around the whole park.

3. Makes good use of creek that runs through it. The creek comes into play on the majority of the holes.

Cons: 1. Is not maintained very well (or should I say often enough). Grass can be very high and almost unplayable in some areas.

2. Signs and launch pads show some age.

3. Some of the baskets are very old and are not even close to regulation height. (Almost feel like you need be on your knees to put).
Other Thoughts: I have made it almost a quest to play all the 18+ basket courses in the DFW area. Since I just played this one today, I thought I would review this one first. Note: Recently they have replaced the missing basket on the course and the park is mowed, so today it was very playable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Pin Locations

1    7/25/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JP is a nice open fairway course for the most part. But the pin locations on many holes make it more challenging than an other open fairway course I have ever player. Most of the time long drives on an open course can have you playing under par, but you better have an accurate long game as well as a decent short game if you wanna play under par out here.
Cons: One basket has been stolen, it will be back eventually, no biggie. It is in a greenbelt/floodplain, so don't venture out here after a good rain. Just common sense.

Having a guide out there would be nice if you are going for your first time, but its not impossible. Some pins are hidden so expect to do some exploring.
Other Thoughts: This course is not in the best condition but it's layout is very fun to play. Layout trumps condition, this course is a 4.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Close to home

2-4    7/5/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: JustinKule
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very large and wide open course. This being one of the first courses I ever played, I found this to be great so I wouldn't have to worry about hitting anyone.

The course design is excellent Imo. You will do lots of walking from tee to tee, but never are you crossing through someone else's path. Once you get to around the 4-6th hole the course really begins to open up as you get away from the parking lot. From here on the course just follows a large curve around the entire park.

Cons: My biggest complaint with this course is the lack of any decent tee boxes. If I remember correctly, the first 2-3 holes have cement boxes, but after that you're on your own. The dirt boxes are very uneven and if you are not careful you can easily roll your ankle. I typically tee off slightly to the side of the box to avoid this.

Another concern, at least for relatively new players like myself, is the constant threat of losing a disc. I have not lost any on this course, but have driven home soaked from head to toe and covered in mud. The large pond near the end isn't that deep. If you are still new and are not sure you can throw it over the creek/pond/15 feet grass, you may want to just play around to be on the safe side.

While the course layout is great, some signage would be greatly appreciated. My first time playing here my friend and I had to be pointed in the right direction several times as it doesn't always flow the way it looks like it should.
Other Thoughts: This has become one of my regularly played courses, simply due to my living 5 minutes from it.

I do have my qualms with the course, but I keep coming back. It's challenging, long and worth the time to play a full 18.

P.S.
If you land your disc in the pond near the mid teens, just empty your pockets, lose your shoes, and jump in! It's not too deep(2-3 feet max) A lot of players simply don't even try to get their discs out and you can usually find a few free discs if you wade through the mud.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 meh

1    4/30/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: StumperTX
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: good variety of thows/hole locations
Cons: - grooming is TERRIBLE. the grass was 8-10" tall, and there's standing water EVERYWHERE on this course. It's built in a flood plain. not a good idea
- It's damn near impossible to know where to go from one hole to the other your first time out.
- nothing at all is marked, not the tees, not the pins. they don't even point you in the right direction to the next tee box.
- my friend and I could NOT find several holes and tee pads without help.
-oh... the tee pads are just dirt, maybe with a
Other Thoughts: maybe in mid summer, when everything has dried out, this is a good course. maybe. and then only if you're playing with someone that knows the course.
I genuinely don't understand the 3 star rating people have given this... I recognize there are different strokes for different folks, but come ON ya'll, this is not a good course as it is.
Get some tee pads, some markers, maybe a picture/drawing of the hole at the tee boxes? yeah, it has potential.
But standing water in the spring = mosquitoes the rest of the year, so I don't think I will be back.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.