Carrollton, TX 
Jimmy Porter Park Share
Uploaded By: TxDiscGolfBoy Hole #13 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Tough Course

1    5/4/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: medic87
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots trees which means lots of obstacles to go around to get to the basket. 5 holes maybe a couple more and ltos of water to go over so better be able to throw far and accurate..I saw lots of people goin in the pond out their and all the Daily players for this course had poles to get their dics out of the water so atleast 5 people doing this. Grass is cut and its mostly a narrow course. I had a lot of fun their today!
Cons: The tee of box is mostly all dirt maybe 1 or 2 are concrete. They are not market very well. My friend lost 2 frisbees their in the water. The tea boxs are hiddin not marked with paint and they dont have good maps on the signs before you tea off.
Other Thoughts: bring a ple to get your frisbee out of the water!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Love it

5+    4/25/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: DBOX
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Has every thing you could ask for...for the most part. I have played a lot of courses and really enjoy the porter course a lot.
Cons: Some of the tee box's could be done better.........................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Other Thoughts: you need to ply this course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

5+    2/24/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Some hidden baskets, plenty of water hazards, easy to follow and improving each time I play there.

Both right and left doglegs come into play. No "cookie cutter" holes zigzagging across a field... each one has its own character and will get better with time (as trees grow and improvements are made).

No really long holes to sap the life out of noodle arms like mine. A good "course management" experience for players that aren't able to bomb the basket from the tee. Not too hard, but tight enough to make you pay if you're throwing wild. Some good birdie opportunities for the average player.

Good balance between easy and difficult. A fun course for the intermediate player... like me.

Parking lot is nice and used for disc golfers only...
Cons: The new tee boxes (elevated dirt surrounded by rail road ties) are better than ruts on the ground, but not by much. At least they drain enough to get dry (with the exception of #11). #14 tee is not elevated (just a rut in the ground) and is a pool of water for days after a good rain. With the drainage problems on this course, concrete tees are needed.

Drainage is a problem for all but the driest of times on holes 11 and 13. It's difficult to navigate the fairways without getting your feet wet in the fall, winter and spring. The Texas sun will take care it in the summer.

Basket areas on 3, 8 and 10 have drainage problems that are badly in need of attention... and there is often standing water too close to baskets 11 and 14.

Signs would be nice for those that haven't played the course before. Mostly on 4, 7, 8 and 9... where you can't see the basket from the tees.

No restroom.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I don't want this review to look like the course wouldn't be fun, because it is fun. The city (and the wonderful people that help on their own) is really working hard to improve this park... and there are more improvements on the way. The course is fun to play as it gets better, just know it's not finished yet.

When I'm in the neighborhood, I definitely stop by for a nice round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/9/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of left and right dog legs. Most shots play around a shallow creek. If you are determined, you can retreive most creek shots. Fun for both beginners and pros. A much better design than the old layout.
Cons: No concrete tees and can be muddy or flooded after rains. Some holes still need additional brush clearing and you will see construction vehicles on the course occassionally but normally they will let you play thru
Other Thoughts: There are three random baskets across Keller springs rd labeled with letters and temp signs. I checked them out but they really aren't worth going out of your way for. Anyone know anything about these extra baskets??

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/3/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of what was given. Sidewalks and across are OB which add to the challenge of the course.

Creek comes into play on #2,3,5,6,7,8,9,10,15,16,17,18
Pond comes into play on #12 and maybe 11
Sidewalks and across come into play on #2,3,4,5,6,7,8,12, and maybe 14 if you over throw it.

Park boundaries come into play on #1 (railroad tracks) #4 (Apartment complex) #11 (Fence Line) #13 (Tree line behind the basket usually marked with a string) #14 (Street) #17 and maybe 18 (the Parking lot)

Basically, if you play a round without an OB, you played a good round.

Hole #12 has a short and long tee marked. The long tee is the signature hole in my opinion.
Cons: Dirt tee pads
Does not have tee signs, holes are marked for the most part, but keep getting destroyed.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun course to play. Not real hard, but with all the OB, it makes it challenging.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fresh Redux

1    9/2/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: meatbones132
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the course quite a bit...

Recently redone and reopened after that had cleared a lot of brush out, planted new trees, lined creek w rocks and built a couple bridges.

The course was pretty well designed for the small amount of space used and occasionally different elevations added to the course as well.

Most memorable holes - 4, 6, 7, 9, 12, and 17.


Final was three over par, counting all as par threes besides hole 16.
Cons: Baskets are pretty old and there was prob three different putts where I rocked the chains with a solid putt and my putter just popped out because of a lack of grip. Chains on a few baskets had also lost form / shape and left less of an area where you could sink a putt.
Other Thoughts: Good course... replace the chains on a few baskets and it'd bump it to four stars. New trees once grown in will make it pretty challening.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Reborn, Refreshed, Revived

1    7/29/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 211  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a some good elevation, protected/hidden pins, decent hole lengths, accuracy shots, OB's, water, and some real picturesque holes. I played this course as it is still under development. But when the cement tee pads and new signs get put in place, this is sure to be a fun course to play. The shots from up high were great. I loved the few protected pins and felt this course layout was pretty good.
Cons: There is a few extended walks between some on the holes. A map or guide is not necessary, but it sure helps. A few of the latter holes will be much more challenging as the trees grow. There is few tee signs and the tee pads are presently dirt, but give it a little time, I am sure that will be rectified soon!
Other Thoughts: The par 3 settings are not bad for holes of these lengths. The fun factor was pretty good for this course. Some of the holes were so much fun, it made you want to throw multiple drives. As we all know that is a pretty good sign of a fun hole. I wish there was a bit more variance in hole length, but out side of that, this was a fun course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Same Name, Different Course

2-4    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **NOTE....although the baskets are in, the course still has A LONG ways to go...as of right now i feel it its rated a 3/5, but dont make this a reason you dont come out because this course has A LOT of potential, and eventually, this course should, i say should be at least a 4...

I felt like the fun factor here was great, Porter really keeps you on the tips of your toes, with SEVERAL ace runs, lots of birdie holes, and the constant battle of staying away from the creek. bring your swim trunks or an extra disc, because nearly the whole course is next to a decent size creek, with several spots where you WILL not want to go in...some holes it really keeps you honest.

Theres a lot of open holes with the creek and sidewalk lining the fairways making several risk/reward shots....i suggest playing sidewalk and beyond o.b...it really makes this course tough otherwise its fairly easy because its soo open. A lot of the front 9 have defined faiways that are mostly open with mainly shorter holes, the back 9 is open as well, with a couple longer holes. All the baskets are pretty old, some need some work , all dirt tee-pads, several need fill dirt), the flow is good for the most part, parking is adequate, and the park itself is really starting to shape up.

Cons: Like i said, this park is still under-construction, theres several things that need some work but im sure most will be fixed in time. To start off, several of the tee-pads need some work, a couple i didnt even want to throw off of. A couple of the baskets need some work. Several holes are hidden in a thicket with no sight of the basket from the tee, pretty TOUGH TO NAVIGATE if your by yourself. No restroom, NO SIGNS(not sure if theyre putting any up)

**NAVIGATION TIP**The Biggest problem i had with this course is the walk from 8's box to the pin and 9's box to the pin...ill give everyone a tip, when after throwing on hole 8(the pin is at the back left of the brush, just throw towards the small ditch) you have to walk across the bridge, finish out the hole. After completing 8 you walk directly to your right(back towards the sidewalk) you will see a bench with two orange flags in the ground(basket is straight away) then after throwing your drive you have to walk back across the bridge you just crossed...imo this is the stupidest layout mistake i have seen in a while, i dont understand why they decided to do this.
Other Thoughts: like i said this course still needs a lot of work, but i still suggest you play this course, its a fun course, its fairly easy, and i believe it will only get better in time.

**NO SHADE what-so-ever...be sure and bring some water with you, because its gonna get hot

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/29/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Chunks
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Front 9 makes good use of elevation
* Course plays tougher than the old layout and is a bit more fun
*Course has a decent mix of holes that are ideal for righties and lefties
Cons: *No Concrete tees. Many of the dirt tees are on un-level ground...be careful, or roll your ankle
*Many of the pin placements are tucked in a group of trees, which means there is virtually no green, either park it and take your 2 or lay-up because there is no lane for a putt.
*There are no holes that make you say "wow"
*Not much shade
*There are too many throwaway holes to make this course a premier course.
Other Thoughts: This new layout was just put in the ground about 24 hours before we played it so there is still lots of work to be done clearing fairways and greens. This course will play several strokes tougher for the next generation of golfers because there are a couple dozen of young trees that have been planted that will eventually come into play. Course is fun to play, but is certainly not a "must-play" for out-of-towners.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 This aint your mommas old Jimmy Porter

5+    6/29/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course that challenges old Porter for the crown. I like this layout more then the other one because of the fairways. This course doesnt really favor a certain player and I think that it is more lefty friendly then most courses. The front 9 has "fairways" on every hole except for hole 1. The fairways have the sidewalk on one side and the creek on the other making for some interesting shots when playing sidewalk and everything OB. The risk vs reward can be fun to because of the rough can get rough in places. A couple of holes, 7/9/10 are planted in spots where you have one option to get to it and if you dont it could hurt your score. I think that there are alot of birdies out here for a pro/adv player which makes it fun but you can also shoot high if you throw off line a couple of time. The back is pretty open and doesnt challenge you too much because of it. I think the birds are more plentiful on the back but they are everywhere if you look.
Cons: Not much shade therefore it can get hot very fast! The pond is nasty, just like it used to be. There could be more trees to change a couple of shots up. The rough can get rough in spots. Easy to lose plastic in the creek and even when mowed there will be spots that your disc will vanish before your eyes. There are a couple of tees/holes that are hard to find first time out, but once you find them its not a problem. Parking can get interesting as the lot is pretty small.
Other Thoughts: This course I compared to LL Woods in Lewisville because with sidewalk and beyond it plays alot like it. When this course gets mowed and cleaned up a bit, it will be fun and will blow Greenbelt out of the water. Bring lots of drinks cause it gets hot and its a long way back to the parking lot.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.