Florence, SC
Mars Bluff Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #6 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Where Is the Love?

1    9/22/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 108  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a disc golf course at an elementary school, and right next to a university, so it is terrific exposure for the sport to people who could well become life long disc golfers.

There are a couple of interesting holes, mainly 4, 5, and 7, but 5 is in need of major maintenance, and 7 needs a little love too.

Hole 5 is a nice right turning shot through the woods with a finish out in the open, but was only barely playable on my visit (more on this in the cons section). Hole 7 is a slightly downhill shot through an early gap between two rows of trees, but if you've got the arm for it there's a monster hyzer line out to the right over the trees, but a bit of trimming is needed to make either of these lines play well. I also enjoyed the first hole, teeing off between two trees to a fairly close by basket for a good ace run. Speaking of ace runs, this course is full of them, and that's not a bad thing.
Cons: This course needs some love. It needs somebody to love it. It needs maintenance. When I visited, hole 5 was only barely playable due to two downed trees. Hole 7 needed some good trimming to make it play better. While I personally like the potential challenge hole 7 could provide, I don't think it's a very appropriate hole for elementary school kids. There was a damp swampy ditch not too far off the tee, right at the gap in the trees that would likely come into play heavily for an elementary schooler, especially if they missed the gap a little and caught a tree.

Several of the holes are kind of filler-ish, if you know what I mean. After two holes, I thought this was going to just be 9 baskets in a field. In reality, it's more like 4 or 5 baskets in a field, and 4 or 5 holes that require at least a little shot making.

Hole 3's basket is only 15 or so feet from the middle of 4's fairway. Speaking of hole 3, it's basket is not the one right in front of you as you walk up to the tee from the previous basket. That's the basket for hole 6. 3's basket is off to the left, into the woods, a little confusing on the navigation front. And speaking of hole 6, I kind of thought this was a weird-ish hole. It seemed to me that the turn to get around the trees to the basket within the given length of the hole was a bit too severe, although in retrospect, I think a cut roller may work well there.

The tee sign posts were easy to spot, but many of the actual tee markers were nowhere to be seen, and some of the baskets were in rough shape, bent from what seemed like close encounters of the lawnmower kind, but still quite functional.
Other Thoughts: I ran into a group of what appeared to be Francis Marion students playing the course, and queried them about the maintenance issues. They indicated that hole 5 had been blocked since December 2012, 10 months earlier, which leads me to ask, "Where Is the Love?" It seems that this is a course with potential, in an area that has few disc golf options. It needs somebody to care for it. I would probably give this course a solid 2 disc score if it were well kept, as it is, it's a one for me.

There is a convenience store within quick walking distance of the course for any snack/refreshment/restroom needs. I don't recall seeing any benches on the course, or any restrooms or water fountains at the park.

Hopefully, someone will start to care for this course and it won't fall into a state of unusable disrepair. While I wouldn't go too far out of my way to play, I think Mars Bluff could be a great success with a little love.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Race Place

1    8/21/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *All Innova Discatcher Pros
*All Tee's are marked with numbered post.
*Easy navigation with good signage.
*2 of the Holes had fairly wooded designs.
*A great course for children to learn the sport.
Cons: *Very short distances that offer little challenge
*Located on School property, this course is too congested to play on weekdays.
*A Beginner Course or Ace-Race course, there is no-real challenge for better players.
*The goal for #6 is damaged.
Other Thoughts: Although this course is small, I still found it worthy of at least playing as a warm-up or ace race course. The design for this course was perfect taking in consideration the small amount of land used. If in the neighborhood, I would recommend to at least try once.
*Great course to introduce children or new players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/4/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: mattpoin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great course to learn on.
Cons: The design is boring--lots of flat, open fields with no obstacles. Access is limited to hours when the neighboring school is out.
Other Thoughts: Holes 3 and 4 cross over each other. If playing on a day with heavy traffic (which is unlikely), it could create a problem.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Not too good

1    10/10/2010   2/3/2011
Review By: troydurham
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course had 3 holes that were OK. It was easy to find the course....
Cons: Tee boxes were hard to find. Hard to find where the next basket was... Course was very short and way to open...
Other Thoughts: Not a great course..

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rest stop on your way to Myrtle Beach.

1    8/6/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a small park rec course that is directly behind Wallace Gregg Elementary School.
-Nice little course that is perfect for introducing new players to the sport. As well as offering an activity for non-players, or even an afternoon activity to take a date.
-As it's been said, there are 2 holes that are under 100ft. So if you are looking for that place to empty your bag trying for an ace, this is it. *#3 will make you earn it, since it's 15ft inside the tree line. Good Luck, and have fun!
-If you are coming to Myrtle Beach, by way of Florence, then a stop here can make for a nice break.
-great place to practice your short game.
-If you have children, then there is playground equipment nearby.
-DISCatchers
-Sign posts, with footage.
*I made a course map, and added it to the "links/files" tab.
Cons: -Some of the markers are missing, but the tee signs put you nearby.
-#3 doesn't specify where the basket is, so it's very easy to mistake the #6 basket for number 3. Just remember, that 3 is in the trees on the left.
-Because this Course requires you to park on school property, and more specifically where the buses pick up the kids. School hours may not be the best time to play here.
-Did not see any bathrooms or porto's nearby. I think we can safely assume, the elementary school is off limits.
Other Thoughts: Mars Bluff is what it is: A small playground rec course. You aren't going to come here for a challenge. Maybe a DG fix, to introduce a new player, to add another course to your courses played list, but it's not going to be for the challenge. I played this course with one disc, and shot well under par.

I've updated the "Map Location". It now pinpoints the correct location of the first teebox. The course is behind an elementary school that is about a half mile down Francis Marion road. The school will be on your right. (Provided you are coming from 501/E Palmetto) When you turn into the parking lot, drive along the front of the school until you see a road that goes behind the school. Look for the Bus schedule signs. The park will be on your left. In other words, The park is on the South side of the school, and in back off to the side.

The course is very clean, and in good shape. Except for the bent basket on #6. There are nice wrought-iron park benches located throughout the course. It may not be a challenging course, but a person could have fun here. Especially if you are introducing new players to the game. It's not a bad little course, it's primarily to be enjoyed by locals, elementary students, and the College students down the street. If I was on my way to Myrtle Beach, and I needed a 15 minute breather this place is perfect. I wouldn't drive out of my way to play here, or make a special trip.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cubby's Wet Dream

1    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice place to introduce children to the sport.

The course is addictive like a scratch off lottery ticket, everytime you get so close that you want to keep trying over and over.

Course would be a nice place for a small group to have an ace race.
Cons: Don't even bring the drivers out of the car, (unless you want a meat hook for hole 6.)
longest hole is a wide open 272 feet. Only 2 holes are over 200 feet and all 9 holes total just over 1,000 feet.

Course is suited for small groups of small children. A 99 foot wide-open par 3 gives you an idea of the challenge level you should expect.
The fairways cross each other and the holes seem too closely spaced to safely teach disc golf to a large group of kids in physical education class.

Hole 3 is missing the small markers for the tee.
Hole 6's tee sign does not indicate that it is a hard right meat hook shot, the basket for hole 7 is directly infront of the tee for 6.
Hole 7 throws over a slimey swampy area that the kids will not want to throw or walk over.
Hole 8's tee sign is missing, so it takes a little searching for the broken tee markers.
Other Thoughts: The basket for 6 is back, but it is damaged.

Holes 1, 2, 3, and 8 are simple shots that will tempt you to empty your bag.

The address given takes you to the university, to get to the course, you must turn left just past the university and follow the road to the emelentary school on the right. Course is behind the elementary school, so you may have problems playing during school hours.

Playing this course is like beating Jessica Simpson in Jeopardy, it's fun at first, but eventually you will want a challenge.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good for the school kids

1    9/27/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 221  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 35.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very little going for it. It maximizes the small amount of land that it's on. It weaves in and out of some wooded areas, but is mostly played in the open. Since it's located adjacent to an elementary school, makes a great course for kids in that age group.

With short holes, and easy navigation, school age kids can get exposed to the game, without it being overly difficult. Losing a disc here is extremely hard.

There are several ace runs and the course is extremely convenient to I-95.
Cons: Very short and very open holes makes it too easy and boring for the average disc golfer. You can play a round of 9 holes in about 15 minutes.

Access is limited during school hours since the closest available parking is on school grounds.

Hole #6 basket is missing.
Other Thoughts: This course is tailor made for use by elementary school age kids. The mostly short and open holes, are a great way to introduce disc golf to children at a young age.

Since this course is just of I-95 and towards the SC coast, it may make a slight diversion for your trip, but you will be second guessing your decision on why you bothered to stop.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/6/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: DiscnDude
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course has lots of ace-able holes. One or two are less than 100 ft! The last two holes, (8, 9) are pretty long.
Cons: The grass had been cut but didnt look all that great. Nice little course next to an Elementary school.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunatley Hole number 6 had been hit by a lawn mower, and completely damaged. I was on my way to Myrtle Beach so Florence was a nice place to stretch my legs and play a short game of disc golf.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun beginner course

2-4    2/22/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: kmelton
Played: 103  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for beginners with a mix of open holes and a few wooded ones.
Cons: Since the course is next to an Elementary School, I am not sure if there is access during school hours. Basket 6 was gone when I went so i just played 2 basket for hole 6
Other Thoughts: Some holes are really short, so I made my own tees to make it more interesting

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.