Mars Hill, NC 
Mars Hill University DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 sore ankles!

2-4    12/30/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: ashevillain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 12/30/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - It's very likely that you'll use almost every shot in your arsenal.

- Incredibly beautiful campus!

- Most of the tees are a perfect size. I like the concrete ones best.
Cons: - Lots of sidehill walking = sore ankles.

- Every fairway that is on a significant sidehill is banked right to left...some variety in that respect would be nice.

- Portable maps for the navigationally challenged would be nice. Doesn't really bother me though.

- It would be nice if each basket had some sort of flag to make them stand out a bit more.
Other Thoughts: - I don't really think it is a difficult course to navigate. Down vote me if you want but that's how I feel. Most of the reviews here are way overdramatic about the flow of the course (11 > 12 > 13). The only questionable part was where the course doubles back on itself. That part of the layout could be better.

- With the baskets in the long positions this course is probably too difficult for beginners. It is really long!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/2/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 100  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course, for the most part. The scenery is great, gorgeous mountain setting.

The course has a good mix of open holes, upshots, hyzers, annies, and wooded shots. Lots of elevation change -- you will get a good workout just walking the course.

Not much foot traffic at all for us, barely even a few students on campus, but it's also Easter and Spring Break.
Cons: As everyone has said, the navigation is just plain BAD. We were lucky enough to have a guide -- if you're going for the first time, find a guide to show you around, otherwise you're adding a good 30 minutes to an hour just trying to figure your way around the course.

Some pins and shots are tricky due to the slopes and elevation changes. It was dry for us but I can see some of the hills and valleys being tough work in the wet/ rain.

No tee markers. This would be an easy fix and add another 1/2 star.

The layout. It's been said by others, but it's true, you just won't figure this course out easily without a guide.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the trip, but only with a guide. There are a few holes that are true gems, and aces to be had with good angles and throws.
We had a great time, but who doesn't when you get in a great round with the review master himself, DSCJNKY?!?! Without him, we wouldn't have finished, or had nearly as much fun. Thanks again bro!

This course is right on the edge of greatness, just needs some simple touches, like a cleaner, more natural walking layout, and tee markers. Those alone would make this a 4 star.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where's the next tee?

2-4    10/24/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Some long, multi-throw holes. A mix of tight, wooded holes and open holes. Great use of elevation. Beautiful mountain setting. Wind and elevation comes into play quite often. Great baskets and great placement variety. Some thought went into the variety and difficulty of tee shots. Most tee pads are cement. I played the long basket positions, which can be quite challenging. A lot of work has gone into the course, especially the wooded holes. Paths have been laid out in consideartion of the awkward footing. Log steps and sidehill supports were a very nice touch. Very tidy course, not much litter.
Cons: Navigation and flow is the worst of any DG course I've ever played. Definitely get a local to play with you the first time. Could use some more signage. Maps are available at the kiosk but they can be confusing. A lot of sidehill stances. Don't come if it's been raining. I was there the day after a rain and it was downright dangerous. That's not really anyone's fault, just reality.
Other Thoughts: I give this course points because the designer took enough space to put in some long Par 4's. I took away points because the flow and navigation is HORRIBLE. You literally walk over the 13th tee to get to the 11th tee and then you walk past the 11th tee as you play the 13th. Maps available at the kiosk at the first hole. Watch out for cars and pedestrians. The course is on a college campus; foot and car traffic is common. Look before you throw. The course is challenging, especially if it's windy or wet. Definitely worth a drive, if you're in Western NC. Bathroom facilities available in the Student Union, next to the football stadium. I was also told that they sell DG stuff in the Student Union.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Your Average Course

2-4    6/13/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 89  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mixture of really open to really technical wooded holes. Great opportunities on three holes or so to really air it out. Does have some alternate pin positions which can change the holes entirely, although they rarely move.

You'll actually have a better chance to bomb some drives here than at Richmond Hill (The better course). Mars Hill is the only course in the area that has a great mixture of open and wooded holes (If you can find the tees!)

The scenery and landscaping is top notch. Being located on a college campus, you'll find well manicured fairways and an overall clean atmosphere.
Cons: NAVIGATION !!!! i couldn't find a lot of holes until i was notified that there was a map at a facilities station. There was a ton of walking involved and sometimes the wrong ways looking for the next tee.

Speaking of tees? some on driveways, some dirt some grass some concrete. Its a little weird but its not a big hassle.

Some holes are just weird with some stupid hills.16 for example. You'll almost require a walking stick to navigate that hole.

Needs signs and some established pars.

You have a very good chance of losing a disc. All of the wooded holes have thick underbrush and you'll even be shooting blind on a couple of them. Try your best to keep an eye out in these areas.

There are several spots on the course where you cross back over holes to get to the next. This is not only poor design, it is also dangerous for golfers. Please be aware of this when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to play if you're in the area but not worth traveling out of the way to play. If you do play go get a map at the facilities station around hole 13 so you can find your way around.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B = Bery Bery Nice!

1    10/15/2007   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.