Mars Hill, NC 
Mars Hill College DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #9 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 ghost course

5+    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: perfect mix of wide open bombs and super tight technical holes
elevation change is amazing at this place, 15 is one of my favorite holes because of its major drop off (prob over 50 ft or more)
never have I been and seen more than one other group on this course, and have no clue why because it really requires every shot in your bag
8 open holes, 4 very wooded holes and 6 mixed holes with trees scattered
9 strait away holes, 4 that hook left, 5 that fade right
All tees are concrete except number 15
Hole 10 is one of my favorite holes, Its fairway although being somewhat unfiar, is lined perfectly by some massive pine trees and makes for one scenic shot that you will remember
Even on the "open" sections of the course OB and other obstacles most certainly come into play. Like the basketball court on #8, your aimed right at it off the tee and the tendencey here is to pull it right so be aware
Hole 12 is wide open, although a rather crowded street lines the entire right side, and the basket is only about 20 ft from this street




Cons: No signage and benches
No measurements anywhere, on the course or even the map so you go a lot by feel-the measurements in the hole section are not correct im pretty sure, 18 is much longer than 400 ft
16 and 17 are the only two terrible holes on this course, 16 is strait uphill and a great drive on 17 rolls into a crowded street everytime
Other Thoughts: When I last played it looked as if no one had been here all summer.. There were spider webs across every trail in the woods, and there was no sign of people here in a while. This is nice to have such a beautiful course to yourself but at the same time dissappointing this hidden beaut doesnt get played more often

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Extraterrestrial

1    7/1/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: Mando
Played: 100  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2013
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Using my 1-5 rating system for each hole, Mars Hill scores an astronomical 36 on the front nine (every hole excellent), which puts it in elite company. Picturesque small campus in the mountains with constant elevation change. School's out in the summer, making it the prime time to hit Mars Hill. Great connecting course when roadtripping from east TN into western NC.
Minutes from I-26. Right on the way to Elk Mountain or Richmond Hill.
Cons: The course remains solid thru 15 in hole by hole scoring before imploding on #16 and #17 ( two abysmally poor holes-1 rated). I did not even play 16 because it's against my religion to walk a long way down a steep hill to throw up. Perfect drive on 17 rolls ob...
Poison Ivy is prevalent in the woods. Rollaway greens are way over-used to the point of being a serious con.
Other Thoughts: 14 excellent holes (4-rated) makes this a must play although it doesn't have one 5-rated epic hole (#7 is close).
Where else in the SE US can you find this many quality open holes in the mountains with a mix of supertight wooded holes ? This course broke the mold for me. I actually enjoyed the open holes even more than the wooded ones (xcept 16 &17).
Total score of 64 gives Mars Hill a solid 3.5 rating if you can look past the lack of amenities.
Fix two holes and it's pushing 4.
If you can study the map at the kiosk, navigation is not an issue and you will enjoy this under-rated gem.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good small-town college course with BIG potential

1    5/30/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mars Hill is a challenging, entertaining course that plays throughout a small college in a quaint mountain town. By playing the course, I felt I saw all of the college and town.
- The best thing about the course is the "nature" feel about it. Your round will involve playing in, around, up & down hills and in the woods, all while surrounded by amazing views of the mountains all around. Even the holes that play near the round and college buildings have some of the same feel, mainly because you still have that quiet, small town/college "charm."
- Some very good elevation holes. They range from downhills: #7 (my personal favorite), 10, 11,15 & 18; uphills: #6, 16 & 17; and holes with major slope factors: #1, 3, 4, 9 &14.
- Good variety of holes and layouts, from tight & wooded to wide open; from doglegs to straight layouts; plus the elevation factor listed above. The course also has a good mix of challenging and easier holes. I'm a fan of throwing in a couple easier, catch-your-breath holes after stretches of tough ones.
- Very nice flow of the course. You wind through a more populated stretch of campus on holes #1 - 5. From then on, you're away from the busy part of campus, and actually have to deal with a rural, two-lane road instead (on #11 & 13). #18 ends right back at the parking lot, but #9/10 is far away, so if you start playing, you're playing the full 18.
- Challenging for a college course. Part of the challenge is the physical aspect - lots of walking, course is spread out, going up and down hills. Throw in the course itself, and this is a true grind.
- Great course map. You can print one of this site. It's very accurate and thorough. With a lack of signage, it's an absolute must for first timers. Playing with a map, I had no problems navigating the course.
Cons: Lack of signage is the major problem for this course. Tees are marked with small blue markers, and combined with a printed map; you can troll your way from hole-to-hole rather easily. The problem is once you get to actual holes. Not having listed distances is a big problem. The eyeball/feel test is ok for a hole/shot or two, and I (and probably most people) can be relatively accurate with estimating distances. But doing that for 18 holes, plus having some blind tee shots, an no tee signs/hole layout pics, eventually leads to some bad shots.
- Several weird hole layouts. After hole #10, you walk past the tee for #13, and a third of the way up its fairway, to get to the tee for #11. We were smart; we teed off on #13, marked our discs, then played #11 & 12, rather than having to backtrack. The other issue was with holes #1, 3 - 5. I wasn't a fan of the blind tee shots in heavier usage/common areas so close to buildings. Add to that the fact the hills also sloped right to left, and you have a real chance of discs really sailing away towards building/people.
- Untapped land. There were a lot of wooded areas on the course (the area around #8 - 10 & #14 - 15) that seem like great places to add holes. Build a couple more holes here, and you can get rid of some of the potential risk holes listed in the comment above.
- Lack of amenities. Obviously restrooms, drinks are inside buildings, which is standard for a school. But it would have been nice to see a bench or two, and trash cans, throughout the course
Other Thoughts: Mars Hill has some real good parts to it, which make it a fun course. Not surprisingly, some areas need to be improved if it's to join the elite ranks.
- I didn't quite understand the comments in other reviews about first-timers needing a guide to play. If you have any common sense, can read a map, and see blue markers in the ground, you'll be ok. For me, the only confusing part of the course was the transition from #13 to 14. I didn't realize the arrow pointing towards the next hole (#14) meant walk into the woods right there.
- Course could use some TLC. I could tell the wooded holes didn't get much attention.
- My favorite hole was #7. Long, downhill hole (I'm guessing close to 400 feet - remember no distances listed) that sweeps left to right. For RHBH throwers, you better keep your shot tight, or it's going to sail too far to the left, leaving a long, tricky second shot. The basket is hill, which presents another challenge. My buddy threw an amazing tee shot, about 20 feet from the hole. His birdie putt hit the front of the basket, and rolled 30 feet down the hill. Holes #6 - 8 offer a great three-hole stretch.
- Overall, this is a good, but not yet,great course. Lots of fun, lots of risk/reward factor, lots of birdie chances.
- Not too far from Asheville, so definitely worth the drive to check it out. With a little bit of work, this course will get a big bump in its ratings. With even a little more work than that, this could be a true DG destination. It could challenge, or dare I say surpass, Richmond Hill as the Asheville area's best course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 With Work Could Be A Great Course

2-4    3/18/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Zenzubar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First this course is in my home town and it is very close to where I live so big plus. The course it's self is really challenging, and changes up nice. Open shots to close woods shots. It's also a nice looking course going through the Mars Hill Collage. There are also a few really good holes you can pull up to for a few hours of practice shots. The fairways are keep up with very well. There are also a few holes where you can go for the big drives
Cons: It needs new signs really bad someone could get lost looking for the next tee and it's hard to see where some of the baskets are. also some of the hills are mean when wet if your not wearing good foot wear you could get hurt also when Mars Hill get wet it stays wet.. Lots of trash around some of the holes and there are no benches..
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this course then you should. I haven't play to many courses but this one is lots of fun and will make you work for those shots.....

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not to shabby but needs some work

2-4    11/20/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: mcannon246
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice campus. nice assortment of shots needed.
Cons: dont go with out a map. Very hard to figure out where you are going. i didnt think i could get lost with a map but i did. If they have the long tee's up be prepared with a very long drive.
Other Thoughts: over all i liked it hard but changing is fun :P

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great... but, only good.

2-4    8/16/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Awesome shots. This course has some really well designed holes and would score higher if not for a few major flaws (discussed later). The course really requires you to play golf.
- Good shot variety: long, longer, short, open, tight, hyzer, flick, thumber, etc…
- Great use elevation. I think only two of the baskets are on flat ground and no holes are without some elevation issue (up, down, sidehill, etc…). Although some of the sidehill stuff could have been excessive.
- Beautiful atmosphere. The college campus is wonderfully manicured, the mountain views are beautiful, and the "ball" golf feeling are what makes this course worth playing.
- I love the Par 4's. Holes 1, 6, 13, and 18 are really great holes... and legit 4's. And, as of last weekend (7/18), a new Par 4 position to Hole number 8.
- Most of the tee-pads are excellent. Concrete with scratch marks for traction.
Cons:
Major Flaws:
- Navigation, Navigation, Navigation! You Need a Guide! It would be a nightmare to play this course without a guide. I had a guide… and will sign up as a guide for anyone who wants one.
- Layout Flaws. The 10 to 11 transition is especially lame... (You come out of the woods and immediately see a tee-pad. But, nope, it's not that one. Instead, you have to cross the street and walk up the service road and look for the tee-pad spray-painted on the ground).
- Crazy Walks. The walk between 2 and 3… (walk up the hill in front of the brick dorm and look for the tee-pad spray painted on the sidewalk). Hole 6 to 7… (go up the road and around to the right… tee-pad by the do not enter sign). Hole 7 to 8… (look for 8's tee-pad below you as you're on 7's tee-pad). 10 to 11...
- No Signs. Without tee-signs, or even numbered posts sticking up out of the ground, it is almost impossible to spot the next tee-pad in the grass. Since most of the course is grass, there are no trails heading to the next tee-pad; and they're actual direction is not always intuitive.
Other Thoughts:
- Probably the best "local" to Asheville course… If, you can get past the major flaws.
- This course is a gem with the potential to become a diamond. If there were tee-signs or directional help of some sort, and some slight tweakage to the layout… this course would be top notch.
- My Best Score: -5

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course... after you find the next tee.

2-4    7/16/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every hole is unique. There is a good mixture of open and wooded shots. If you want a challenging course without as many trees as Richmond Hill, this course delivers. Almost every hole avoids walkways and foot traffic (Except no. 3, and that would have to be a pretty bad shot).

In my opinion, this is the most challenging course in the area, although some might consider that a con.

Hole 15 is one of my favorite shots ever. It's a tight dogleg right with a massive drop that starts in the woods and ends in the open.
Cons: Like other reviewers have said it's a pain to find the next hole, but always worth it. There are enough holes that favor a big arm to tilt the game in the most powerful driver's favor.

Hole 17 is pretty unfair. I have yet to throw (or even see) a drive there that didn't roll down the hill to the left. And there is a road down there so your chances of going OB on a roll are decent.
Other Thoughts: It can be tough to navigate, but I think some reviewers have blown it out of proportion. Just remember to go in front of the building to your left after 2, not behind it. After #10, go down the road that leads to the maintenance area. The tee is spraypainted on the left side of the road. And after 13 there is a small path to your right that leads to 14.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Challenge

2-4    6/10/2007   2/3/2009
Review By: ThrowTennesseeDCM
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. A great mix of shots. Tights woods, Big air, long, short, right left. Nice! not crowded.
Cons: In the summer discs could be easily lost.
hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Could use a few improvements of marking and signage but its a great display of appalachian disc golf.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dan Kilgore

1    10/29/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1142  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation challenges, not every hole is alike. I really liked hole # 10, a downhill straight shot through some tall timber. # 8 was a sweet hole. I really liked every hole though it was frustrating at times trying to locate the tee pads and the lay out of the hole.

I liked the signs that asked players to be respectful of the campus properties and that their actions dicate weather the course remains there or not. DG courses shouldn't have the need for these signs but it was a nice reminder for those who are so self centered and do appreciate what they have at hand.
Cons: Why invite someone to this beautiful DG course and not have tee signs or next tee signs as it's kinda hard looking for cement tees when there level with the ground. I found out later that at the College's bookstore down the street from the post office and on top of the hill offers maps and discs. kiosk didn't say which pin postion each basket was in nor did any tee sign (as there wasn't any)
Other Thoughts: find a local that knows the layout or go to the College Bookstore to get a map. And graze this wonderful campus and appreciate playing on this type of land as it's really the envy of other courses all across the America's.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.