Mars Hill, NC 
Mars Hill University DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee (BB court is OB)



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Mars Hill 1st time Review

1    10/14/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: OwRuth1
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Awesome mix of long and short holes as well as wooded and open. I think this is the best course in WNC. however Richmond hill is great too but after a while you get tired of hitting trees every throw. Mars hill is great exercise but doesn't kick your butt. One hole you' throwing it as hard as you can down a hill, the next you have a great strategic hole. Great Course!
Cons: If you are like me and you think you can somehow navigate this course without someone whose already played it think again. There are no mini-maps at the kiosk and the course is strangely laid out.
Other Thoughts: Great course! if you haven't played it do.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mars Attacks

1    7/9/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mars Hill DGC is a really good one IMHO. The terrain puts elevation in play on most if not all holes, and alternates through open, grassy hills and more wooded and thick rough on several holes. I liked the blend of shots required to play this course well. Many fun and memorable holes. The course has pretty good tee pads on most holes, concrete and pavement generally. No signs, but posts mark the pads, and the printable map makes it fairly easy to navigate. The baskets are nice DGA models.
Cons: Some signs and info would be nice, and I'm not sure where the box for hole 8 was, it may have been temporarily displaced by construction in that area at the time. Not certain about the 12 tee either. Course weaves around buildings and across roads. Map is helpful. Sometimes cars and pedestrians can interfere with play. A couple of holes were less than spectacular. The rough can be very heavy in places. Poison ivy or thorns may punish errant throws and bad rolls or bounces.
Other Thoughts: Mars Hill was very fun, and offers a nice blend of long and short, wooded and open, up/downhill, and left or right shot through out the course. A couple of filler holes (ahem, 11 and 12, cough), but overall, very fun. The wind spoiled some shots for me, and if I played there again, my shot selection would be vastly different in several places. In some instances, it reminds me of my home course, Riverview Park in North Augusta, SC.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best near asheville

5+    11/17/2011   11/22/2011
Review By: porchmike
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great variety of shots- up/downhill, left/right, wooded, open. elevation a factor on almost every hole- several of the flatter shots(1,2,3,4,5,9,13,14,17) will travel well downhill if you miss your mark.

#7 is a great downhill shot, especially when the pin is in the right-hand position on the hill- you really get to see em fly here! and currently, the dorm downhill to the left is being demolished, so errant left-fading shots won't go through a car/dorm window

beautiful scenery in the WNC foothills, esp. in the fall

i would say #18 is about 750 ft when the pin is in the far position- 2 good drives to get there.

relaxing pace of play because... no crowds!

great exercise due to the hilly nature of the course and how far spread out most of the holes are.

Cons: if you've never been here, i would say it's impossible to find your way around the course- go with a local or you will never find all the holes. some signs would be very helpful in that area. bring a map or look at the map at the kiosk, and... you still won't find all the holes unless you're with a local. the navigation is by no means intuitive.

the steep hills will be very slippery when covered in leaves or after a rain- wear slick-soled shoes at your peril!

holes 1,2,3 can be obstructed by students during a class change- usually not a problem.

the course is a big hike for those averse to exercise, but maybe in that case it means those people should exercise more!

#12 is a pretty boring hole, really just a way to get back up to 13. the gradual uphill makes it hard to get a tee shot near the pin, though...

poison ivy in the woods/rough, although it seems a concentrated effort is being made to get rid of it- #9 looks way better than it did last summer as far as PI goes.

Other Thoughts: the lack of people here and the nice, long, open shots make this course a great contrast to richmond hill, which is asheville's nicest and most crowded course(people and trees!). every hole is unique, and it's a nice place to get away from the disc golf "scene" in asheville. my mom has taught at the school for around 40 yrs. and i never knew about this course till last year- very glad to have another excellent course to play when i'm visiting home. come play a round, and remember to bring someone who's been there before!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!

1    6/19/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely scenic. Nice mix of open/wooded holes. Course requires a variety of shots and utilizes the sloped terrain well. Good mix of long drives and shorter technical ones.
Cons: Lack of signage; bring a map and you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: We arrived at the course while it was still drizzling after raining heavily during our drive to the course. Despite how wet it was we still had a great time. This is was my first time playing in the hills coming from Florida and I was not prepared for the awesomeness that was the Mars Hill DGC. A little work on the signage and I would rate this course 4.5/5 discs. I hope I get to play this course again someday.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: i love this course. good mix of open and wooded. some big shots. some finesse shots. very challenging. beautiful scenery. elevation change.
Cons: loooooong walk. up and down.
Other Thoughts: nice course through a nice campus.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great course, once you've learned your way around.

5+    8/28/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course brings a lot to the table. The land the course falls on is utilized perfectly with great variety in elevation, obstacles / lack there of, and shot types required. Even though the course is on a college campus, you wouldn't notice most of the time, as the longer you play into the course, the further away from the heart of campus you get, until at one point you even forget there's a school anywhere around.

The land is beautiful, as is most evident on Hole 7 (one of my favorite holes one the course). You are looking down at the pin from the top of a massive drop in elevation where the clearing on the hillside funnels inwards towards the basket. In the background is an amazing view of some classic smokey mountains. It's just cool.
Cons: Lots of other reviewers have said it, but I'll say it again as it is definitely a problem (especially for those playing the course for the first time). Navigation is complete chaos the first time around. Some tees are marked by spray painted boxes on the ground that you really can't see unless you're right on top of them. This makes searching for them even harder.

Worst example of this is making your way from Hole 2 to 3. Hole two flows in one direction. When you finish 2, you turn back on yourself, go around the front of a dorm building a couple of hundred feet or so, and finally find the painted tee box on the ground at sidewalk intersection. It took myself and the group I was playing with a good 10 minutes or more to find it the first time we played here.

Another navigation nightmare is from Hole 10 to 11. You actually walk a few yards down a path into an opening, cross right over the tee pad for Hole 13, down a slight hill, cross a road, and halfway up a side road on the left is the tee box for Hole 11 (again spray painted on the ground making it hard to see from afar).

Signs for the next tee and 18 solid, stand-up signs marking the tee boxes could greatly help this debacle... not to mention a good map. If you can go with someone that's been before, great. If not, do your homework here by piecing together the course from these reviews, and you'll be ok... maybe.
Other Thoughts: As the title of this review claims, once you learn your way around, this really can become one of the best courses in the area. You'll need a lot of shots and even more tricks up your sleeve, but needing to be well rounded, to me, means it's a pretty sweet course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Beast

5+    8/3/2008   8/22/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 82  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful views & course layout. Excellent mix of open & tight wooded shots. Long & short holes. Great elevation changes throughout. OB's & mandos utilized. Mars Hill College offers a course for disc golf! How often do you see that? Great concrete tee pads.
Cons: Need a few more benches. Need spotters on some holes. No tee signs.
Other Thoughts: This is a hike. You'll need a course map. It is rarely crowded. It seems to intimidate the masses but it is a beautiful course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.