Mars Hill, NC 
Mars Hill University DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #16
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Uphill out of parking lot to treeline way up on hill.



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Some nice holes, but very confusing

1    3/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Let me start off by saying that this course has some abosultely great holes. There were a couple that were top notch but it also has a ton of things going against it.

The course is set on a nice little college campus. There is a nice mix of open and wooded holes. The are some huge changes of elevation on this course that make for some great views and unique throws. The course is pretty long and has many holes that you can absolutely bomb on. 18 is made for crushing it downhill.
Cons: -No tee signs. We thought no big deal we will print off the map and be fine. Even with the map we had trouble figuring out what to do. It was pretty hard to find some of the tee pads
-None of the wooded holes had been mowed at all when we played. The weeds were a couple feet high
-The course does not flow. At one point you walk right by a teepad as you leave the woods and have to make a long walk down a hill to another teepad? I have never seen anything like this before. If we didn't have a map telling us this we would have been completely lost and even with the map it was confusing.
-One of the baskets was smashed by a down tree
-There is a ton of side hill walking that is brutal on the ankles. Some of the side hills seemed silly they were so extreme.
-There are several natural teepads mixed in.
Other Thoughts: This course has a ton of potential but needs a lot of work. There are some really great holes. Those holes make it worth playing if you are in the area. The flow and overdesign is just not put together very well though.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course... after you find the next tee.

2-4    7/16/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every hole is unique. There is a good mixture of open and wooded shots. If you want a challenging course without as many trees as Richmond Hill, this course delivers. Almost every hole avoids walkways and foot traffic (Except no. 3, and that would have to be a pretty bad shot).

In my opinion, this is the most challenging course in the area, although some might consider that a con.

Hole 15 is one of my favorite shots ever. It's a tight dogleg right with a massive drop that starts in the woods and ends in the open.
Cons: Like other reviewers have said it's a pain to find the next hole, but always worth it. There are enough holes that favor a big arm to tilt the game in the most powerful driver's favor.

Hole 17 is pretty unfair. I have yet to throw (or even see) a drive there that didn't roll down the hill to the left. And there is a road down there so your chances of going OB on a roll are decent.
Other Thoughts: It can be tough to navigate, but I think some reviewers have blown it out of proportion. Just remember to go in front of the building to your left after 2, not behind it. After #10, go down the road that leads to the maintenance area. The tee is spraypainted on the left side of the road. And after 13 there is a small path to your right that leads to 14.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip, Nav Issues

2-4    4/10/2008   7/10/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Dynamic shot selection
- Challenging
- Beautiful holes
Cons: - Layout can be tricky (no need to write 2 paragraphs about it)
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in terms of raw golf since each hole so unique. The course has a nice blend of technical shots and power shots. OB and elevation make some holes very interesting. It's not a pretty as Idlewild but it has a very cool and natural feel to most holes. The course had a rare ability to get me excited about a lot of the shots before I threw them. I rate courses based on raw golf and not the amenities and thus, it seems my review conflicts with the others. I think it is worth a brief trip from Asheville to give the course a shot.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Your Average Course

2-4    6/13/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 89  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mixture of really open to really technical wooded holes. Great opportunities on three holes or so to really air it out. Does have some alternate pin positions which can change the holes entirely, although they rarely move.

You'll actually have a better chance to bomb some drives here than at Richmond Hill (The better course). Mars Hill is the only course in the area that has a great mixture of open and wooded holes (If you can find the tees!)

The scenery and landscaping is top notch. Being located on a college campus, you'll find well manicured fairways and an overall clean atmosphere.
Cons: NAVIGATION !!!! i couldn't find a lot of holes until i was notified that there was a map at a facilities station. There was a ton of walking involved and sometimes the wrong ways looking for the next tee.

Speaking of tees? some on driveways, some dirt some grass some concrete. Its a little weird but its not a big hassle.

Some holes are just weird with some stupid hills.16 for example. You'll almost require a walking stick to navigate that hole.

Needs signs and some established pars.

You have a very good chance of losing a disc. All of the wooded holes have thick underbrush and you'll even be shooting blind on a couple of them. Try your best to keep an eye out in these areas.

There are several spots on the course where you cross back over holes to get to the next. This is not only poor design, it is also dangerous for golfers. Please be aware of this when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to play if you're in the area but not worth traveling out of the way to play. If you do play go get a map at the facilities station around hole 13 so you can find your way around.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    5/19/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: lawnornaments4u
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: good open shots, its nice that its put around campus
Cons: needs better markers tee 11 was hard to find. seems to be fading by the rain and weather. to long of walk between some holes
Other Thoughts: i like the fact its down the road from my work so i can hit it up after work

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 B = Bery Bery Nice!

1    10/15/2007   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Challenge

2-4    6/10/2007   2/3/2009
Review By: ThrowTennesseeDCM
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. A great mix of shots. Tights woods, Big air, long, short, right left. Nice! not crowded.
Cons: In the summer discs could be easily lost.
hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Could use a few improvements of marking and signage but its a great display of appalachian disc golf.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dan Kilgore

1    10/29/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation challenges, not every hole is alike. I really liked hole # 10, a downhill straight shot through some tall timber. # 8 was a sweet hole. I really liked every hole though it was frustrating at times trying to locate the tee pads and the lay out of the hole.

I liked the signs that asked players to be respectful of the campus properties and that their actions dicate weather the course remains there or not. DG courses shouldn't have the need for these signs but it was a nice reminder for those who are so self centered and do appreciate what they have at hand.
Cons: Why invite someone to this beautiful DG course and not have tee signs or next tee signs as it's kinda hard looking for cement tees when there level with the ground. I found out later that at the College's bookstore down the street from the post office and on top of the hill offers maps and discs. kiosk didn't say which pin postion each basket was in nor did any tee sign (as there wasn't any)
Other Thoughts: find a local that knows the layout or go to the College Bookstore to get a map. And graze this wonderful campus and appreciate playing on this type of land as it's really the envy of other courses all across the America's.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Beast

5+    8/3/2008   8/22/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 90  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful views & course layout. Excellent mix of open & tight wooded shots. Long & short holes. Great elevation changes throughout. OB's & mandos utilized. Mars Hill College offers a course for disc golf! How often do you see that? Great concrete tee pads.
Cons: Need a few more benches. Need spotters on some holes. No tee signs.
Other Thoughts: This is a hike. You'll need a course map. It is rarely crowded. It seems to intimidate the masses but it is a beautiful course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.