Mars Hill, NC
Mars Hill College DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach (Long Position)



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good small-town college course with BIG potential

1    5/30/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mars Hill is a challenging, entertaining course that plays throughout a small college in a quaint mountain town. By playing the course, I felt I saw all of the college and town.
- The best thing about the course is the "nature" feel about it. Your round will involve playing in, around, up & down hills and in the woods, all while surrounded by amazing views of the mountains all around. Even the holes that play near the round and college buildings have some of the same feel, mainly because you still have that quiet, small town/college "charm."
- Some very good elevation holes. They range from downhills: #7 (my personal favorite), 10, 11,15 & 18; uphills: #6, 16 & 17; and holes with major slope factors: #1, 3, 4, 9 &14.
- Good variety of holes and layouts, from tight & wooded to wide open; from doglegs to straight layouts; plus the elevation factor listed above. The course also has a good mix of challenging and easier holes. I'm a fan of throwing in a couple easier, catch-your-breath holes after stretches of tough ones.
- Very nice flow of the course. You wind through a more populated stretch of campus on holes #1 - 5. From then on, you're away from the busy part of campus, and actually have to deal with a rural, two-lane road instead (on #11 & 13). #18 ends right back at the parking lot, but #9/10 is far away, so if you start playing, you're playing the full 18.
- Challenging for a college course. Part of the challenge is the physical aspect - lots of walking, course is spread out, going up and down hills. Throw in the course itself, and this is a true grind.
- Great course map. You can print one of this site. It's very accurate and thorough. With a lack of signage, it's an absolute must for first timers. Playing with a map, I had no problems navigating the course.
Cons: Lack of signage is the major problem for this course. Tees are marked with small blue markers, and combined with a printed map; you can troll your way from hole-to-hole rather easily. The problem is once you get to actual holes. Not having listed distances is a big problem. The eyeball/feel test is ok for a hole/shot or two, and I (and probably most people) can be relatively accurate with estimating distances. But doing that for 18 holes, plus having some blind tee shots, an no tee signs/hole layout pics, eventually leads to some bad shots.
- Several weird hole layouts. After hole #10, you walk past the tee for #13, and a third of the way up its fairway, to get to the tee for #11. We were smart; we teed off on #13, marked our discs, then played #11 & 12, rather than having to backtrack. The other issue was with holes #1, 3 - 5. I wasn't a fan of the blind tee shots in heavier usage/common areas so close to buildings. Add to that the fact the hills also sloped right to left, and you have a real chance of discs really sailing away towards building/people.
- Untapped land. There were a lot of wooded areas on the course (the area around #8 - 10 & #14 - 15) that seem like great places to add holes. Build a couple more holes here, and you can get rid of some of the potential risk holes listed in the comment above.
- Lack of amenities. Obviously restrooms, drinks are inside buildings, which is standard for a school. But it would have been nice to see a bench or two, and trash cans, throughout the course
Other Thoughts: Mars Hill has some real good parts to it, which make it a fun course. Not surprisingly, some areas need to be improved if it's to join the elite ranks.
- I didn't quite understand the comments in other reviews about first-timers needing a guide to play. If you have any common sense, can read a map, and see blue markers in the ground, you'll be ok. For me, the only confusing part of the course was the transition from #13 to 14. I didn't realize the arrow pointing towards the next hole (#14) meant walk into the woods right there.
- Course could use some TLC. I could tell the wooded holes didn't get much attention.
- My favorite hole was #7. Long, downhill hole (I'm guessing close to 400 feet - remember no distances listed) that sweeps left to right. For RHBH throwers, you better keep your shot tight, or it's going to sail too far to the left, leaving a long, tricky second shot. The basket is hill, which presents another challenge. My buddy threw an amazing tee shot, about 20 feet from the hole. His birdie putt hit the front of the basket, and rolled 30 feet down the hill. Holes #6 - 8 offer a great three-hole stretch.
- Overall, this is a good, but not yet,great course. Lots of fun, lots of risk/reward factor, lots of birdie chances.
- Not too far from Asheville, so definitely worth the drive to check it out. With a little bit of work, this course will get a big bump in its ratings. With even a little more work than that, this could be a true DG destination. It could challenge, or dare I say surpass, Richmond Hill as the Asheville area's best course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 With Work Could Be A Great Course

2-4    3/18/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Zenzubar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First this course is in my home town and it is very close to where I live so big plus. The course it's self is really challenging, and changes up nice. Open shots to close woods shots. It's also a nice looking course going through the Mars Hill Collage. There are also a few really good holes you can pull up to for a few hours of practice shots. The fairways are keep up with very well. There are also a few holes where you can go for the big drives
Cons: It needs new signs really bad someone could get lost looking for the next tee and it's hard to see where some of the baskets are. also some of the hills are mean when wet if your not wearing good foot wear you could get hurt also when Mars Hill get wet it stays wet.. Lots of trash around some of the holes and there are no benches..
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this course then you should. I haven't play to many courses but this one is lots of fun and will make you work for those shots.....

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome

1    8/6/2009   12/6/2010
Review By: Pillsbury Throwboy
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course with tough shots and amazing rewards if made.
Cons: Navigation was a bit iffy.
Other Thoughts: All in all I loved it, had a great round and deuced hole 18 long to cap it off on a huge field ace. enjoyed every moment of it

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: i love this course. good mix of open and wooded. some big shots. some finesse shots. very challenging. beautiful scenery. elevation change.
Cons: loooooong walk. up and down.
Other Thoughts: nice course through a nice campus.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not to shabby but needs some work

2-4    11/20/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: mcannon246
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice campus. nice assortment of shots needed.
Cons: dont go with out a map. Very hard to figure out where you are going. i didnt think i could get lost with a map but i did. If they have the long tee's up be prepared with a very long drive.
Other Thoughts: over all i liked it hard but changing is fun :P

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a beautiful campus!

1    10/23/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 24  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Majestic shots and a beautiful campus! Hole 7 in particular was breathtaking.
Cons: No navigation what-so-ever. Bring a guide or don't go. Bad flow and confusing layout. No tee signs. No benches.
Other Thoughts: I really got the idea that Mars Hill College jammed a disc golf course where it didn't belong. Though quite beautiful, it just doesn't fit. The only signs they did put up were warnings about not hitting people, which leads me to believe this is common. Certain holes (Hole 4 especially) felt like they should just be a path to the next hole. Not a complete waste but disappointing to say the least.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/2/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 85  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course, for the most part. The scenery is great, gorgeous mountain setting.

The course has a good mix of open holes, upshots, hyzers, annies, and wooded shots. Lots of elevation change -- you will get a good workout just walking the course.

Not much foot traffic at all for us, barely even a few students on campus, but it's also Easter and Spring Break.
Cons: As everyone has said, the navigation is just plain BAD. We were lucky enough to have a guide -- if you're going for the first time, find a guide to show you around, otherwise you're adding a good 30 minutes to an hour just trying to figure your way around the course.

Some pins and shots are tricky due to the slopes and elevation changes. It was dry for us but I can see some of the hills and valleys being tough work in the wet/ rain.

No tee markers. This would be an easy fix and add another 1/2 star.

The layout. It's been said by others, but it's true, you just won't figure this course out easily without a guide.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the trip, but only with a guide. There are a few holes that are true gems, and aces to be had with good angles and throws.
We had a great time, but who doesn't when you get in a great round with the review master himself, DSCJNKY?!?! Without him, we wouldn't have finished, or had nearly as much fun. Thanks again bro!

This course is right on the edge of greatness, just needs some simple touches, like a cleaner, more natural walking layout, and tee markers. Those alone would make this a 4 star.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where's the next tee?

2-4    10/24/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Some long, multi-throw holes. A mix of tight, wooded holes and open holes. Great use of elevation. Beautiful mountain setting. Wind and elevation comes into play quite often. Great baskets and great placement variety. Some thought went into the variety and difficulty of tee shots. Most tee pads are cement. I played the long basket positions, which can be quite challenging. A lot of work has gone into the course, especially the wooded holes. Paths have been laid out in consideartion of the awkward footing. Log steps and sidehill supports were a very nice touch. Very tidy course, not much litter.
Cons: Navigation and flow is the worst of any DG course I've ever played. Definitely get a local to play with you the first time. Could use some more signage. Maps are available at the kiosk but they can be confusing. A lot of sidehill stances. Don't come if it's been raining. I was there the day after a rain and it was downright dangerous. That's not really anyone's fault, just reality.
Other Thoughts: I give this course points because the designer took enough space to put in some long Par 4's. I took away points because the flow and navigation is HORRIBLE. You literally walk over the 13th tee to get to the 11th tee and then you walk past the 11th tee as you play the 13th. Maps available at the kiosk at the first hole. Watch out for cars and pedestrians. The course is on a college campus; foot and car traffic is common. Look before you throw. The course is challenging, especially if it's windy or wet. Definitely worth a drive, if you're in Western NC. Bathroom facilities available in the Student Union, next to the football stadium. I was also told that they sell DG stuff in the Student Union.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A great course, once you've learned your way around.

5+    8/28/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course brings a lot to the table. The land the course falls on is utilized perfectly with great variety in elevation, obstacles / lack there of, and shot types required. Even though the course is on a college campus, you wouldn't notice most of the time, as the longer you play into the course, the further away from the heart of campus you get, until at one point you even forget there's a school anywhere around.

The land is beautiful, as is most evident on Hole 7 (one of my favorite holes one the course). You are looking down at the pin from the top of a massive drop in elevation where the clearing on the hillside funnels inwards towards the basket. In the background is an amazing view of some classic smokey mountains. It's just cool.
Cons: Lots of other reviewers have said it, but I'll say it again as it is definitely a problem (especially for those playing the course for the first time). Navigation is complete chaos the first time around. Some tees are marked by spray painted boxes on the ground that you really can't see unless you're right on top of them. This makes searching for them even harder.

Worst example of this is making your way from Hole 2 to 3. Hole two flows in one direction. When you finish 2, you turn back on yourself, go around the front of a dorm building a couple of hundred feet or so, and finally find the painted tee box on the ground at sidewalk intersection. It took myself and the group I was playing with a good 10 minutes or more to find it the first time we played here.

Another navigation nightmare is from Hole 10 to 11. You actually walk a few yards down a path into an opening, cross right over the tee pad for Hole 13, down a slight hill, cross a road, and halfway up a side road on the left is the tee box for Hole 11 (again spray painted on the ground making it hard to see from afar).

Signs for the next tee and 18 solid, stand-up signs marking the tee boxes could greatly help this debacle... not to mention a good map. If you can go with someone that's been before, great. If not, do your homework here by piecing together the course from these reviews, and you'll be ok... maybe.
Other Thoughts: As the title of this review claims, once you learn your way around, this really can become one of the best courses in the area. You'll need a lot of shots and even more tricks up your sleeve, but needing to be well rounded, to me, means it's a pretty sweet course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great... but, only good.

2-4    8/16/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Awesome shots. This course has some really well designed holes and would score higher if not for a few major flaws (discussed later). The course really requires you to play golf.
- Good shot variety: long, longer, short, open, tight, hyzer, flick, thumber, etc…
- Great use elevation. I think only two of the baskets are on flat ground and no holes are without some elevation issue (up, down, sidehill, etc…). Although some of the sidehill stuff could have been excessive.
- Beautiful atmosphere. The college campus is wonderfully manicured, the mountain views are beautiful, and the "ball" golf feeling are what makes this course worth playing.
- I love the Par 4's. Holes 1, 6, 13, and 18 are really great holes... and legit 4's. And, as of last weekend (7/18), a new Par 4 position to Hole number 8.
- Most of the tee-pads are excellent. Concrete with scratch marks for traction.
Cons:
Major Flaws:
- Navigation, Navigation, Navigation! You Need a Guide! It would be a nightmare to play this course without a guide. I had a guide… and will sign up as a guide for anyone who wants one.
- Layout Flaws. The 10 to 11 transition is especially lame... (You come out of the woods and immediately see a tee-pad. But, nope, it's not that one. Instead, you have to cross the street and walk up the service road and look for the tee-pad spray-painted on the ground).
- Crazy Walks. The walk between 2 and 3… (walk up the hill in front of the brick dorm and look for the tee-pad spray painted on the sidewalk). Hole 6 to 7… (go up the road and around to the right… tee-pad by the do not enter sign). Hole 7 to 8… (look for 8's tee-pad below you as you're on 7's tee-pad). 10 to 11...
- No Signs. Without tee-signs, or even numbered posts sticking up out of the ground, it is almost impossible to spot the next tee-pad in the grass. Since most of the course is grass, there are no trails heading to the next tee-pad; and they're actual direction is not always intuitive.
Other Thoughts:
- Probably the best "local" to Asheville course… If, you can get past the major flaws.
- This course is a gem with the potential to become a diamond. If there were tee-signs or directional help of some sort, and some slight tweakage to the layout… this course would be top notch.
- My Best Score: -5

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.