Mars Hill, NC 
Mars Hill University DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Straight up a hill through the trees. Pin is on the backside downslope.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 ghost course

5+    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 62  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: perfect mix of wide open bombs and super tight technical holes
elevation change is amazing at this place, 15 is one of my favorite holes because of its major drop off (prob over 50 ft or more)
never have I been and seen more than one other group on this course, and have no clue why because it really requires every shot in your bag
8 open holes, 4 very wooded holes and 6 mixed holes with trees scattered
9 strait away holes, 4 that hook left, 5 that fade right
All tees are concrete except number 15
Hole 10 is one of my favorite holes, Its fairway although being somewhat unfiar, is lined perfectly by some massive pine trees and makes for one scenic shot that you will remember
Even on the "open" sections of the course OB and other obstacles most certainly come into play. Like the basketball court on #8, your aimed right at it off the tee and the tendencey here is to pull it right so be aware
Hole 12 is wide open, although a rather crowded street lines the entire right side, and the basket is only about 20 ft from this street




Cons: No signage and benches
No measurements anywhere, on the course or even the map so you go a lot by feel-the measurements in the hole section are not correct im pretty sure, 18 is much longer than 400 ft
16 and 17 are the only two terrible holes on this course, 16 is strait uphill and a great drive on 17 rolls into a crowded street everytime
Other Thoughts: When I last played it looked as if no one had been here all summer.. There were spider webs across every trail in the woods, and there was no sign of people here in a while. This is nice to have such a beautiful course to yourself but at the same time dissappointing this hidden beaut doesnt get played more often

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Extraterrestrial

1    7/1/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: Mando
Played: 113  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2013
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Using my 1-5 rating system for each hole, Mars Hill scores an astronomical 36 on the front nine (every hole excellent), which puts it in elite company. Picturesque small campus in the mountains with constant elevation change. School's out in the summer, making it the prime time to hit Mars Hill. Great connecting course when roadtripping from east TN into western NC.
Minutes from I-26. Right on the way to Elk Mountain or Richmond Hill.
Cons: The course remains solid thru 15 in hole by hole scoring before imploding on #16 and #17 ( two abysmally poor holes-1 rated). I did not even play 16 because it's against my religion to walk a long way down a steep hill to throw up. Perfect drive on 17 rolls ob...
Poison Ivy is prevalent in the woods. Rollaway greens are way over-used to the point of being a serious con.
Other Thoughts: 14 excellent holes (4-rated) makes this a must play although it doesn't have one 5-rated epic hole (#7 is close).
Where else in the SE US can you find this many quality open holes in the mountains with a mix of supertight wooded holes ? This course broke the mold for me. I actually enjoyed the open holes even more than the wooded ones (xcept 16 &17).
Total score of 64 gives Mars Hill a solid 3.5 rating if you can look past the lack of amenities.
Fix two holes and it's pushing 4.
If you can study the map at the kiosk, navigation is not an issue and you will enjoy this under-rated gem.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!

1    6/19/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 100  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely scenic. Nice mix of open/wooded holes. Course requires a variety of shots and utilizes the sloped terrain well. Good mix of long drives and shorter technical ones.
Cons: Lack of signage; bring a map and you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: We arrived at the course while it was still drizzling after raining heavily during our drive to the course. Despite how wet it was we still had a great time. This is was my first time playing in the hills coming from Florida and I was not prepared for the awesomeness that was the Mars Hill DGC. A little work on the signage and I would rate this course 4.5/5 discs. I hope I get to play this course again someday.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good small-town college course with BIG potential

1    5/30/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 235  Reviewed: 230  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mars Hill is a challenging, entertaining course that plays throughout a small college in a quaint mountain town. By playing the course, I felt I saw all of the college and town.
- The best thing about the course is the "nature" feel about it. Your round will involve playing in, around, up & down hills and in the woods, all while surrounded by amazing views of the mountains all around. Even the holes that play near the round and college buildings have some of the same feel, mainly because you still have that quiet, small town/college "charm."
- Some very good elevation holes. They range from downhills: #7 (my personal favorite), 10, 11,15 & 18; uphills: #6, 16 & 17; and holes with major slope factors: #1, 3, 4, 9 &14.
- Good variety of holes and layouts, from tight & wooded to wide open; from doglegs to straight layouts; plus the elevation factor listed above. The course also has a good mix of challenging and easier holes. I'm a fan of throwing in a couple easier, catch-your-breath holes after stretches of tough ones.
- Very nice flow of the course. You wind through a more populated stretch of campus on holes #1 - 5. From then on, you're away from the busy part of campus, and actually have to deal with a rural, two-lane road instead (on #11 & 13). #18 ends right back at the parking lot, but #9/10 is far away, so if you start playing, you're playing the full 18.
- Challenging for a college course. Part of the challenge is the physical aspect - lots of walking, course is spread out, going up and down hills. Throw in the course itself, and this is a true grind.
- Great course map. You can print one of this site. It's very accurate and thorough. With a lack of signage, it's an absolute must for first timers. Playing with a map, I had no problems navigating the course.
Cons: Lack of signage is the major problem for this course. Tees are marked with small blue markers, and combined with a printed map; you can troll your way from hole-to-hole rather easily. The problem is once you get to actual holes. Not having listed distances is a big problem. The eyeball/feel test is ok for a hole/shot or two, and I (and probably most people) can be relatively accurate with estimating distances. But doing that for 18 holes, plus having some blind tee shots, an no tee signs/hole layout pics, eventually leads to some bad shots.
- Several weird hole layouts. After hole #10, you walk past the tee for #13, and a third of the way up its fairway, to get to the tee for #11. We were smart; we teed off on #13, marked our discs, then played #11 & 12, rather than having to backtrack. The other issue was with holes #1, 3 - 5. I wasn't a fan of the blind tee shots in heavier usage/common areas so close to buildings. Add to that the fact the hills also sloped right to left, and you have a real chance of discs really sailing away towards building/people.
- Untapped land. There were a lot of wooded areas on the course (the area around #8 - 10 & #14 - 15) that seem like great places to add holes. Build a couple more holes here, and you can get rid of some of the potential risk holes listed in the comment above.
- Lack of amenities. Obviously restrooms, drinks are inside buildings, which is standard for a school. But it would have been nice to see a bench or two, and trash cans, throughout the course
Other Thoughts: Mars Hill has some real good parts to it, which make it a fun course. Not surprisingly, some areas need to be improved if it's to join the elite ranks.
- I didn't quite understand the comments in other reviews about first-timers needing a guide to play. If you have any common sense, can read a map, and see blue markers in the ground, you'll be ok. For me, the only confusing part of the course was the transition from #13 to 14. I didn't realize the arrow pointing towards the next hole (#14) meant walk into the woods right there.
- Course could use some TLC. I could tell the wooded holes didn't get much attention.
- My favorite hole was #7. Long, downhill hole (I'm guessing close to 400 feet - remember no distances listed) that sweeps left to right. For RHBH throwers, you better keep your shot tight, or it's going to sail too far to the left, leaving a long, tricky second shot. The basket is hill, which presents another challenge. My buddy threw an amazing tee shot, about 20 feet from the hole. His birdie putt hit the front of the basket, and rolled 30 feet down the hill. Holes #6 - 8 offer a great three-hole stretch.
- Overall, this is a good, but not yet,great course. Lots of fun, lots of risk/reward factor, lots of birdie chances.
- Not too far from Asheville, so definitely worth the drive to check it out. With a little bit of work, this course will get a big bump in its ratings. With even a little more work than that, this could be a true DG destination. It could challenge, or dare I say surpass, Richmond Hill as the Asheville area's best course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 With Work Could Be A Great Course

2-4    3/18/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Zenzubar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First this course is in my home town and it is very close to where I live so big plus. The course it's self is really challenging, and changes up nice. Open shots to close woods shots. It's also a nice looking course going through the Mars Hill Collage. There are also a few really good holes you can pull up to for a few hours of practice shots. The fairways are keep up with very well. There are also a few holes where you can go for the big drives
Cons: It needs new signs really bad someone could get lost looking for the next tee and it's hard to see where some of the baskets are. also some of the hills are mean when wet if your not wearing good foot wear you could get hurt also when Mars Hill get wet it stays wet.. Lots of trash around some of the holes and there are no benches..
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this course then you should. I haven't play to many courses but this one is lots of fun and will make you work for those shots.....

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome

1    8/6/2009   12/6/2010
Review By: Pillsbury Throwboy
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course with tough shots and amazing rewards if made.
Cons: Navigation was a bit iffy.
Other Thoughts: All in all I loved it, had a great round and deuced hole 18 long to cap it off on a huge field ace. enjoyed every moment of it

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: i love this course. good mix of open and wooded. some big shots. some finesse shots. very challenging. beautiful scenery. elevation change.
Cons: loooooong walk. up and down.
Other Thoughts: nice course through a nice campus.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not to shabby but needs some work

2-4    11/20/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: mcannon246
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice campus. nice assortment of shots needed.
Cons: dont go with out a map. Very hard to figure out where you are going. i didnt think i could get lost with a map but i did. If they have the long tee's up be prepared with a very long drive.
Other Thoughts: over all i liked it hard but changing is fun :P

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a beautiful campus!

1    10/23/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Majestic shots and a beautiful campus! Hole 7 in particular was breathtaking.
Cons: No navigation what-so-ever. Bring a guide or don't go. Bad flow and confusing layout. No tee signs. No benches.
Other Thoughts: I really got the idea that Mars Hill College jammed a disc golf course where it didn't belong. Though quite beautiful, it just doesn't fit. The only signs they did put up were warnings about not hitting people, which leads me to believe this is common. Certain holes (Hole 4 especially) felt like they should just be a path to the next hole. Not a complete waste but disappointing to say the least.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/2/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 127  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course, for the most part. The scenery is great, gorgeous mountain setting.

The course has a good mix of open holes, upshots, hyzers, annies, and wooded shots. Lots of elevation change -- you will get a good workout just walking the course.

Not much foot traffic at all for us, barely even a few students on campus, but it's also Easter and Spring Break.
Cons: As everyone has said, the navigation is just plain BAD. We were lucky enough to have a guide -- if you're going for the first time, find a guide to show you around, otherwise you're adding a good 30 minutes to an hour just trying to figure your way around the course.

Some pins and shots are tricky due to the slopes and elevation changes. It was dry for us but I can see some of the hills and valleys being tough work in the wet/ rain.

No tee markers. This would be an easy fix and add another 1/2 star.

The layout. It's been said by others, but it's true, you just won't figure this course out easily without a guide.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the trip, but only with a guide. There are a few holes that are true gems, and aces to be had with good angles and throws.
We had a great time, but who doesn't when you get in a great round with the review master himself, DSCJNKY?!?! Without him, we wouldn't have finished, or had nearly as much fun. Thanks again bro!

This course is right on the edge of greatness, just needs some simple touches, like a cleaner, more natural walking layout, and tee markers. Those alone would make this a 4 star.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.