Marysville, OH
Marysville DGC Share
Uploaded By: TommyGun'n Hole #1 (Taken 3/2010)
5 / 420ft.   5 / 520ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Course

1    7/30/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: bkidwell
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most of tee boxes are concrete and course is well maintained. Tough pin placements in certain areas but not sure where pins were on if they were A or B placements.
Cons: A ton of walking between hole 2 and tee 3, hole 4 and tee 5, hole 9 and tee 10, hole 12 and tee 13. Hole 6 does not have a concrete tee box to it.
Other Thoughts: I will definitely play this course again. Course is protected by length in the open areas. In the woods, shorter holes but obviously tougher.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Discing

5+    5/1/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: theeterrbear
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a decent variety of shots here, or rather you don't have the same shot twice in a row.
There are concrete tees and a sign at most (3 long does not have one even though it is concrete, and 18's sign is at the long grass tee, not the short cement).
18 signs at 18 holes, and pretty decent ones at that.
Couple of open bombers and a couple of shorter wooded ones.
Baskets have some wear, though nothing bad and are still overall in good shape.
A nice park, with good views of the stream.
Multiple pin positions on some holes.
Cons: The long tees can be a pain to find and a marked try your traditional board in the ground.
Several long walks kill the flow of the course. I understand why some of the walks are necessary, but it still is a con.
Several holes play directly along the walking path in the park! The walking path is part of the fairway! This is a major no! This creates issues with waiting (it's a park first people, and be courteous) for people get mosey on by and is a general risk.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure there's more but I'm doing this before work, I'll update as I continue to go back.

The schule can be a bit thick, but not so much that it is con-worthy. Hopefully you'll stay out of it. The level of maintenance is also a little confusing. I understand it was made nice for a tournament, but the condition of some holes varied a bit. Or maybe it just seemed that way. Still not a problem.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty creekside path course

2-4    4/20/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 150  Reviewed: 121  Exp: 2.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located just a couple of turns off the highway in Mill Valley Park South, at the west side of a sprawling suburban neighborhood in Marysville, Ohio, this course runs nearly three miles in a loop along a newer paved jogging/ biking path, a fairly large, deep flowing creek, and some very well kept sports fields. Passing under the highway to reach the wooded holes (3,4,8 & 9), the signature 'sunflower field' #5, and holes 6 & 7, you will have to control shorter shots to the left and right, but still have the chance to bomb a few from the longer tees, then enjoy the slight rolling elevation as you go north and back for the back nine.

Multiple tee and pin positions are in place for most of the holes on this course, giving the intermediate to advanced player the opportunity to air out those big arms, and try a variety of lines. The park is extraordinarily well kept, and reportedly gets limited disc play, so is not usually crowded (with players, but it can be busy with other park patrons). The course has good signage, concrete tees, and Innova discatcher baskets.

For those who like a challenge, the tournament OB rules make this a very difficult course. In particular, the sunflower field, played as OB, forces you into a 'neck' of the fairway that's little more than 20-30' wide almost 500' from the short tee, and going over from mid-fairway requires extreme accuracy to avoid going long to the path beyond the basket. Playing the path and over as OB on 10 pinches your shot to the left, risking a skip to the creek just past the stone wall and ridge. Of course, you can play a casual round and ignore those OB's, and Marysville will be a much tamer beast.
Cons: Conscientious disc golfers will constantly need to be on the lookout for pedestrians along the path for most holes, and possibly to skip the field side holes if kids are practicing/playing there. The course designer seems to have done the best they could with what they were given, but this is not a park that separates the flying discs from the other park users.

Some of the basket chains are starting to get a little rusty, and there are a couple of places where the ring at the bottom of the outer set gets caught on the bolts in the pole, causing tightness and spit-outs of otherwise great putts. The poured concrete tees are nice, but too small for the distances on many of the holes. Though there is minimal elevation, for a course that entails as much walking as this, it could use some more benches for older players : )

Because the course is pinched in along the creek, there are some uncomfortably long walks from time to time between holes (especially after holes 2, 4, 9, & 12). Depending on the pin position, there is also a very good chance to lose a disc in the water on 10 & 13. A throw to the right on hole 6 might put you in the swamp (in season, I imagine that area could get quite buggy, too!). Finally, you do play the last four holes practically in folks' back yards, so they become another area in which to play carefully.
Other Thoughts: I played the Marysville/Mill Valley tourney this weekend as a Rec player, and truly appreciated the efforts of the TD and his crew, as well as the park maintenance here. I hope you get a chance to enjoy this course. It's not going to beat you up too much, or have holes you'll remember for a lifetime, but it's a good round for the mid-level player.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course, a lot of traffic

5+    9/11/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: bigMIKE05
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee boxes
Decent course layout
Located in a nice park
Good hole details on signs
Cons: Park can be bust with walker/joggers and soccor (season pending)
Some holes could be layed out better
A lot of walking between some holes
Not exactly clear direction to next hole
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a good course. It is the course that I play at least once a week if not more. At the end of summer and beginning of fall it can get a little busy due to football/soccor practice. When there is practice it is very hard to even play the first two holes due to the amount of people. But once clear of the first holes it is fairly smooth round, except for the occasional wait for a passing walker/jogger.

The course is layed out good for the most part. There are a couple holed that it wouldnt hurt to change. The first is hole 3. Its only 160ft, and yet it is a par four. Very easy to get birdie and eagle on this hole. And on the back 9, there are a couple holes with houses lining the left side of the hole. Could be vary easy to hit a house if the dise gets away from you.

In the end, this course is very fun and worth a try if you have not yet played. It can be a little tricky finding the park where it is located, but its not to bad. If you are going to play, To walk 18 it will have you going almost 3 miles, which is great exercise.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course, Busy Park

2-4    6/25/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads with great hole description and pointers to next tee.

Great variety in layout and distance.

Excellent use of natural obstacles and mature trees to force players to consider every option.
Cons: Busy park! Ball games affect the first tee as it is in the soccer field/outfield. We had to dodge softballs as we walked to the tee box.

A lot of room in between several holes. Could have added 9 more holes with a few signature holes in between the 18 holes already in place.

Noise from the highway is pretty loud if not used to it.

Park traffic on the bike/running paths was distracting and often times caused you to stop play as you waited for them to clear out of your way before throwing.

Several blind corners where park traffic would appear out of nowhere during your shot.
Other Thoughts: All in all, one of the nicer courses I have played in my adolescence as a disc golfer. The course offers a lot of variety and many challenges to every level of player.

This course made me want to go to my local course and throw a few practice rounds to sharpen my skills. I hope to make it back again in the future with a few more shots up my sleeve.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Boy the traffic noise!

1    6/25/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement tees in good condition.
Nice baskets in good condition.
Several signature holes.
Nice hole plaques at each hole.
Cons: A lot of highway noise!
A lot of traffic from walkers, soccer, ball games, etc.
Very busy park.
Several long walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: Layout needs some work. Holes spread too far apart.
Several very nice unique holes. Too much traffic always having too wait for someone to throw. Go early, stay away if there is a soccer game in process.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 M-VILLE

5+    5/7/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: HIGHFLYER
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: * Concrete Tees offer good footing.

* Has several signature holes including the famous Sunflower hole.

* Challenging course
Cons: * A fair amount of OB

* No real elevation changes

* Can get extremely hot in the summer

* Soccer fields can interfere

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course, OK Location

1    5/16/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Am and Pro Tees
+ Alt Pin Positions
+ Very Informative Signage
+ Some Nice Challenges
+ Balanced Variety of Hole Layouts

Cons: - Pro Tees aren't Cement and can be difficult to Spot
- Flow is Just So-So
- Lots of Well Used Walking Paths Alongside Most Holes
- Tee Pads Seem to be a Bit Too Short
- Residential Homes Right Next to the Last Few Fairways
Other Thoughts: I did like this course, and really wanted to love it. Some of the the holes were really nice and most utilized obstacles and OB to force controlled drives. I especially enjoyed hole 5, which makes you think about your placement off the tee to avoid heavy OB on the left and prevalent trees on the right to leave yourself a good look at the basket for your approach. The hole layouts were well balanced between short/long and open/tight.
The signs were some of the best I've seen in terms of information for the current hole and where to walk to in order to locate the next hole.

What kept me from Loving this course and giving it better than a 3 is that the flow was often interrupted with long walks between holes. As well how often I had to wait on the multitude of people using the walking paths which run right alongside many of the holes.

As I said earlier I wanted to like this course more, as the holes themselves were really quite good. It's just the location the course was forced to be in detracted quite a bit for me.

Definitely worth playing if in the area, but don't expect a disc golf heaven.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Newly improved

5+    4/12/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 139  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice signage - including next tee signs

Multiple tee's and pin placements

Solid lengths

Good flow of open to wooded shots

Water comes into play on a couple holes
Cons: The concrete pads are a bit short.

Long tee's can be difficult to locate

Course has many holes involving park traffic
Other Thoughts: As good as this course is, it should have more disc golfers on it. It is rarely busy. Only once out of several visits have I had to wait or deal with golfers. That one time was due to the local club playing doubles.

This course has varying length's. There are plenty of ace runs with distance shots mixed in. The long tee's provide some real nice bomber shots, including some improved elevation. You will need short, mid, fairway and distance drivers for this course.

There is a good mix of right, left and strait shots.

The elevation is OK at best. If not for a couple holes in the back nine, the elevation (or lack thereof) would be a con.

I appreciate that you start the first couple holes in the open, then you play a few tight holes in the woods, then you play the next few out in the open, then you weave back into the woods, then the majority of the back nine is open. It's a nice flow.

There are a couple long walks between holes, especially before hole 5. The "next tee" signage is pretty good though, so it shouldn't be an issue...just be aware.

The hole layout improved from when I played last year. Particularly holes 5 and 6 have improved lines.

The back nine, though it has better elevation, is also subject to local traffic. These holes play along side a walking path. Walkers, joggers and bikers are a constant issue. Also, the last 4 holes play basically in neighborhood backyards. There are a couple tricky pin placements though...including water and roll away greens.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Spot

1    3/25/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -alternate pin positions make me think "awe i wish the pin was in this spot" (hole 10 specifically)
-concrete pads (short tee only)
-long pads add more difficulty
-awesome baskets, and awesome signs A+ on the signs
-good "next tee" signs assisting in good flow (loops around back to parking lot)
-locals were nice and helped us find the main parking lot
-pleasant surroundings
-nice mix of shot types and distances, good mix of wooded and open (although more open holes)
-not busy with disc golfers, park is mostly used for running/walking path or soccer games
-one elevated pin, which is always fun and creates more of a challenge
-nice bathrooms at parking lot (not open in winter)
Cons: -loonnnnnnnggg walks between holes
-highway noise
-be careful of intense thorn trees on back nine!
-gps navigation will take you to smaller parking lot far west of hole one.
-walking paths are everywhere, could get crowded with walkers/runners
-some holes run very close to residential area
-not very difficult
Other Thoughts: -river creates a challenge on some holes
-hole #5 is probably amazing in the summertime

this course has a very different feel then other courses, fairly new, this course deserves a better following.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.