Layout Extinct

McGaheysville, VA 
Massanutten DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: pfpro Hole #17 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / --   3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pleasantly surprised

1    7/30/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: pfpro
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good variation: I expected zig-zag up the runs, bomb down them. Essentially it was, BUT, several of the baskets were tucked inside the tree-line, so you have to approach from a certain line. There were a few wooded holes (although I'm not sure where the line was on #11). You are on the lower slopes of the ski runs, so the whole thing is elevation changes. Basically straight shots, some gentle doglegs so some of the baskets are blind. The only way to get a better layout would have been to carve some more wooded holes out. Decent mix of short and long.
- the maps on the scorecards are good (just ask in the general store for one). Having the cones to mark the tees is necessary - if they weren't there it would be a con.
- it's in a beautiful setting, the course was in pretty good shape - there wasn't really any brush - you're not going to lose a disc here.
Cons: - tee pads (rubber mats) were dangerous. I have a torn ACL, so was throwing from a standstill, but if you have any sort of run-up - it's not safe! (uneven).
- the gnats were terrible. They were there on every hole, it was miserable.
- there were "chuckers" spending $5 a pop to rent to play (I would not recommend paying to play on this course - BYOD only). The day I played, there were groups on 1 and 2. We jumped ahead to 3, and it wasn't a big deal - but if you were to get stuck behind a group of 5 - you may as well quit for the day..... The day we rode the ski-lift, there was no one on the course. My timing could have been unlucky.
Other Thoughts: I was not expecting much (based on the reviews). I was pleasantly surprised. This is a good course for beginners (play par 72), but relatively simple for advanced players (shooting a 54 shouldn't be too much of a challenge). We stayed for a long weekend with family, and I got out to play once. I took some beginners - so the course was simple enough for them to play without getting too discouraged, but challenging enough to keep me interested. I could see it being a bit boring if this was your home course - once you learn the lines, etc. but to play a few times while passing through (or if you're fortunate to stay at the resort) - who doesn't like playing a new course? My favorite hole was #15 - it was a longer downhill shot, and the basket was tucked behind some trees sticking out. The treeline was closer then on 18, so it wasn't an all out bomb shot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Won't play it again

1    7/7/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: zubeala
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scenery and wildlife abound. It is free which is sort of surprising at a resort area. not very difficult to navigate with free course score card and map. Lot's of terrain (up and down) but holes are pretty boring.
Cons: The T off mats are horrible. Short, rarely level. Lots of rock outcroppings, which is hard on discs. Tough to play in the heat, as most of the holes are in the open.
Other Thoughts: If you are staying nearby, give it a go. But don't go out of your way to play here. There are better course in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Majestic VA Mtn Course

2-4    7/2/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Brent Renken
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It provided for some amazing scenery that didn't disappoint as it is set on the melted grounds of this majestic VA mountain ski range. First glance made it look easy but they did a decent job taking advantage of the terrain. You'll throw up hills, across open terrain, through forests and down some extremely long and narrow passages.

The man made obstacles make this one a lot of fun as the ski lift cables hang over head, the snow machines block your drive, the boulders from the lift house trap your disc and fences will stop you from reaching the hole on the first shot if you don't throw hard enough.

They provide a course map and score card which is always a treat. You'll want to play all holes as par 3 if you play regularly...it's to easy as par 4.

You'll get to test your drive and precision shots on this course but it goes quick.
Cons: As you walk the course you realize they could have done a lot more with the terrain to make every hole memorable.
Other Thoughts: Nature is everywhere. Our discs landed right next to deer that didn't budge and we noticed a beaver running to the stream...extra novelty. It's probably the best course in the Stanley/Luray area and I would recommend checking it out if you're choosing between the Luray course...this one is worth the 30 minute drive.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/24/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: ProFiction
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is situated at the bottom of several ski slopes and the scenery and wildlife in the area are beautiful. It is pretty easy to find. You can see baskets out in the field as you approach the ski lodge and the first tee is located 50 yards from the ski lodge deck.

Scorecards and I believe a map are available in the ski lodge. The first time I played was during the weekly tournament that the staff hosts so I didn't have to worry about navigation. Each tee has two stone markers, one with the hole number and par on it. Every hole is a par 3.

A good mix of shots is needed as you will be throwing uphill, downhill, and across slopes in both directions.

There are 3 wooded holes amongst the more open holes on the slopes that really require accuracy. Especially hole 17 which is a corridor made most difficult by its length rather than its width.

Hole 18 is great just because it begs you to bomb it and try for the rare birdie. It is a ~550 footer downhill with the pin to the right of the fairway, close enough to the trees that any attempt at an S would need to be perfect to set up for a deuce. I played this hole three times and was totally enamored with it. If the course has a signature hole, this is it.

There is a good balance of short, easy stuff and more interesting holes that makes it pretty accessible to beginners including children. Most of the holes are in the 150-250 foot range.

A round is free unless you need/want to rent discs from them. They provide a putter, mid, and fairway driver (with Massanutten stamps on them) for $3 if you want them.

There really isn't much rough to speak of. I can't imagine losing a disc here unless it turned and burned and you lost sight of it as it flew down the slope. Also very nice not to have to deal with huge bushes and scary crap if my drive is a few feet off.

The staff seems to really enjoy the game and from what I understand they have made some improvements to this relatively new course every year. That bodes well for the future and I hope to play this course again in a few years and see what they've done.

All in all, a fun course offering a good game of disc golf to players from beginners to those more seasoned players looking to get some work out with their putters and mids.
Cons: I played 3 consecutive days in June and was absolutely tortured by bugs. I don't think they bit, but they formed a constant cloud around my head and I ended up with several in my nose, mouth, ears... those little gnat things. Awful. They didn't seem to care about bug spray either.

Several of the holes, mostly later in the course, have had the grass wear away and the ground is made up entirely of dirt and rocks. I got a huge chip taken out of my putter and I only used it for putting. I also found myself walking on large rocks a lot as they are in play. Watch your ankles!

The baskets are in pretty good condition generally but a few of them are leaning and it's surprisingly distracting to throw at them. Hole 18's basket appears to have been hit by a vehicle and a few of the pieces of metal are snapped off or pushed in. It still mostly functions but I could see instances where this would be a problem.

I was fortunate that my first time playing was with the staff because a few of the tees would be difficult to find without them. The tees and markers are very low profile and sometimes just the height of the grass is enough to obscure them from view. I don't think it's to the point where you could get lost (it's a small course) but you might find a hole's basket before you find its tee (17 for example). I didn't get a chance to see if they have an updated accurate map of the course.

The tee pads are awful and are my biggest complaint. The most glaring problem is their length. They're 2 to 3 feet long. They are made out of rubber mat but there are holes all through them (by design) so the grass and everything is growing up out of them. Could probably be very slippery on a dew-y morning. Also, I can't stand driving on a slant and you are doing that on the majority of the holes here. I found that it really affected my game in a way that wasn't really consistent with challenges you usually find on a disc golf course.

While you do need lots of shots on the course, you won't need them often. Most holes consist of locating the basket (usually directly in front of you with nothing in the way) and throwing a mid-range at it. Elevation is really the only thing that keeps most of the holes interesting at all. I have a hard time imagining a pro level player scoring anything worse than 15 under on this course.

Only one tee and only one basket position for each hole. I'd like to see a pro tee for at least some of the holes and maybe a more difficult pin position for a few as well.

While I never actually ran into this problem myself, it is within reason that you could throw your disc somewhere that is unrecoverable. For example, on hole 18, you could get your disc up into the ski lift which is even more of a problem if it is moving and there are people riding it. During my third round, I had to wait a few seconds in order to throw between chairs on the lift. On hole 3, you could overshoot and end up in another area of the park that I'm not sure is easily accessible. Also on hole 3, you could hit people using the zip line directly above the fairway.

While it is nice that you can rent discs from the ski lodge, they are in terrible shape and flip at the drop of a hat. This is due mostly to the rugged terrain I mentioned above and the fact that mostly true beginners use them.

The course suffers mainly from issues related to its relative age and the amount of priority given to the course at the resort. As it is a seasonal course, I can't imagine that they are interested or willing to go all out to improve this to be much better than it is now.
Other Thoughts: They have a tournament every Wednesday morning and it was a nice way to get acquainted with the course. It's just a fun thing for families mostly (most people rent discs) but they let the guests choose the format which is nice.

While I don't think anything major will or can be done to improve the course, there are a couple simple things I can think of that could push a few of the par 3s to par 4s and increase the difficulty and make the course more interesting.
- A few of the baskets are right along the tree line - put them in the trees!
- Make the wooded holes longer if possible. Hole 11 is already pretty difficult but could be a little more so if the basket was deeper into the trees and further to the right.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 UP and DOWN

2-4    4/24/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice scenery and wildlife
- Interesting use slopes
- Relatively short holes but with 3 relatively long down hill bombs
- Mostly open holes
- Good for beginners that can't do a lot of throw shaping
Cons: - Very rocky and tough on discs
- Most of the holes are either up or down hill
- Small rubber mats for tees - only enough for 2-3 steps and very few are level
- No indications of distances on map or at tees.
Other Thoughts: I played the course several times over the weekend. I was able to find my way around even without a map. Sorry but I can't comment on how much it changed from last year.

I'm not a long distance thrower so I didn't mind the relatively short distance holes. But some of the shorter holes play pretty long since they are up hill. They could lay out a better course with more wooded holes so you didn't have to weave your way UP two ski runs.

This course is very hard on discs. Every hole has either rocks or large gravel that will certainly leave gouges and chew up plastic

Overall, not bad for a resort that specializes in ball golf.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Offering from the Resort

2-4    9/9/2010   3/2/2011
Review By: All23Ways
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Physical Challenge-Upslope, Downslope, Side-to-Side. Good mix of wooded and open holes.
Cons: Some difficulty locating tee pads if youre not a local. And even if you are, the course designers change it up every season.
Other Thoughts: What a great use of the ski slopes during the warm months! I heard the Guest Services Manager is responsible for setting up the course design each season and he certainly makes this course pleasing to both beginners and avid players. You've never had to factor in elevation change as much as you will here! I've played this course at least once a year for the past 3 years and each season, the couse designer has incorporated a new wrinkle into the layout (a pile of brush to throw over, an earthen mogul to throw around, a j-bar to throw through). Great fun.....

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It was fun

1    5/11/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: devious_imp
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We had a lot of fun!!
The setting is really nice
The holes are shorter and very wide open so you can really get a good feel for how your discs fly.
good variety of holes for short layout. uphill, down hill, left turning, right turning, some baskets in the woods some out in the open
lots of elevation change.
rubber tee pads and easy to find pavers with hole number and distance.
Cons: not a lot to the course.
We received an out dated map from the general store and had to scramble a bit to figure out which was the next tee and basket.
while they did a good job at diversifying the layout, the holes do seem to get repetitive.
Several of the teepads are not level and you are running uphill on your drive.
on hole 6 there is a 'J' bar 3 feet from the front of the teepad, which is really really bad.
Other Thoughts: Since the course is completely removed and replaced each summer, the holes seem to be put into the ground at will. The course covers the bottom part of the ski slopes and they are trying to grow new grass. This makes for a lot of dirt and hard rough ground. Obviously not a lot of love given to the course, or yearly improvement. We had to play off after our Round and threw from above the #8 tee to the #2 basket which made for a great long downhill safari hole.
The course overall is fun, short, and not very challenging. Level tees and maybe when the grass comes in would bump this up a 1/2 point or so.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Massanutten DGC Review

5+    6/19/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: chainsmoker1
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful location at the base of the ski resort. Many deer around to watch as you play.
Cons: Might be too easy of a course.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice to see another 9 holes added with a little higher degree of difficulty.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center