Normal, IL 
Maxwell Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: smyith Hole #14 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Maxwell

5+    9/14/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park and very well kept. It can get very busy with many other activites near and around the park. Being close to ISU many college kids play here. Cross country can become an issue during the fall as they run on parts of the course during events. The park has nice mowed fairways lined by tall grass. It has mature trees scattered throughout and is very flat.

There is a nice variety with 2 pin placements.

There are several holes where you can grip and rip and air out some drives.

The equipment is very nice. The tee pads are nice and big. The tee signs are very nice with both pin positions and accurate distances. The baskets are new Innova Discatchers.

This course is pretty easy to navigate and is very beginner friendly.

There are several wooden bridges that help cross the creek/ditch that at times has water.
Cons: The land is fairly flat and lacks interesting features to rate it higher.

This course is on the short side and there is very little rough to penalize bad shots. It's very open and lacks challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course is not very far off the interstate. It's very close to Illinois State. Eat at Avanti's if you get the chance. If I had to choose one of the Bloomington/Normal courses i'd pick PJ Irvin in Bloomington. There is another 9 hole right across the street. Both 18 hole courses are very nice walks in the park and do not take very long to play. If you are traveling thru Central Illinois they are both solid options to get out and stretch your legs.

Here are some nice photos of the course.
http://discontinuum.org/index...itemId=244099

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very nicely kept course

1    9/14/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: uigrad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 24.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has very nice tees, baskets, bridges, and signs. There aren't many gimicks on the holes, so it is well suited to tournament style play. Every hole has a fairway that is mowed differently than the rough, and every sign clearly indicates which streams and ditches are O.B., and which are in play.

There are two shelters and several park benches throughout the course. I don't see these being used by non-frolfers, since they are rather far from the road. This portion of the park is really dedicated just to disc golf.
Cons: The lack of interesting features makes this rather dull to play. There isn't many elevation changes or interesting obstructions. I would not take a new player to this course, because it just isn't that much fun. Many of the rough areas were overgrown on the day that I came, and losing a disc could be a problem.
Other Thoughts: To me, this seems like a course designed by enthusiasts of the sport. At the front board, they keep track of course records, and I assume that many tournaments are played there. It is well suited to competitive play, but probably not interesting enough for the average player.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Flowing Course in Middle of IL

1    8/2/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice maintained course, close to an exclusive disc golf course. I played here on a Sunday afternoon and was one of the dozen people there. The design at this course had a really nice flow to it, it is easy to find the baskets and the next tees. The fairways are clearly marked and mowed just like a ball golf course.

The tee pads are concrete and they do alternate pins so it'll be different every time you play. Discatchers baskets and a great course signage which really shows the ideal flight paths to the baskets.

There is a parking lot right next to the course although it can get packed since its near softball fields and dog parks.
Cons: Most of the holes here are pretty much a straight line and could put your accuracy to the test. There are tall grasses surrounding the fairways so be sure to use bright colored discs or you'll be stuck looking all over for it. It's not an extremely challenging course for advanced players but it's still a great course to take a beginner to.

There will be other park-goers in the area and they can get in the way.
Other Thoughts: It can get pretty windy so it depends on how you look at it, I look at it as an added challenge. It's worth the trip if you're just passing by on the I-55 or near ISU.

I would play it again if I'm in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Well manicured shorty

1    8/9/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 363  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well manicured course: fairways are mowed short with rough areas long on every hole.
-Rough areas not too high: if you throw into it, a disc can be found rather quickly
-Nice bridges cross draws at many points.
-Nice concrete pads
-Easy to navigate: just follow the flow of the mowing.
-Nature "preserve" area butts up against the west side of the park (hole 10)
-Slight elevation changes on some holes
-It's very windy on this course as other reviewers have said, I look at this as a positive because otherwise the course would be WAY too easy.
-Really nice, accurate tee signs
Cons: -Very few facilities: although there are bathrooms at the park, none are near the course. I also didn't find any water, and very few benches.
-I played on a day with temps in the 90's and there was very little shade
-Very short, only 2 holes that some who throws 300' accurately couldn't reach.
-Very few obstacles in the fairways, only 1 or 2 trees in most fairways and most didn't guard the holes well. It was almost like playing a tiny ball golf course.
-Fairly monotonous, if you throw a straight shot, you are well set up for a putt on most holes. Although there were some holes were the suggested route is a hyzer or anhyzer, you aren't punished by not throwing the shot.
-Being right by the interstate, the course is fairly loud and it kind of took away from it being a classic dg experience
-Only one tee pad per hole. I think if another pad were put in this could be a way more challenging course
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, little course. It is pretty, even with it butting up against I55. Bring lots of water especially if it's hot. I'd imagine that this course gets pretty busy when school is in session since it is right down the street from ISU.

If this course wasn't well manicured and the wind didn't constantly howl on this course, I would have rated it a 2.5

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for All Skill Levels

5+    7/1/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 58  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good mix of holes: long and short, straight, left and right. Difficulty is also widely varied - some shorter, fairly open holes that a rec player could deuce, and some longer, more diffuclt holes that are almost par 4's for advanced players.
- Makes excellent use of existing trees in a fairly open park to create challenging lines for all levels of players
- Even though this park is in Central IL (Flat City, USA), the course has several slight elevation changes which add variety and difficulty
- Well maintained by the park disctrict and the local disc golf club: mowed fairways, wood chips around baskets and tee pads and trash cans at every hole
- Detailed tee signs, showing distances, alternate pin placements and major landmarks
Cons: - Not as wooded as many of the "top tier" courses, which makes lines much wider and many baskets can be easily reached by most advanced players.
- Wide open layout and location can make this course EXTREMELY windy. On some days, the wind makes play nearly impossible.
- Long rough can make finding errant discs difficult, even if the disc is only 5-10 feet off the fairway (much like a ball golf course).
- Parking at the course can be difficult on days when there is a tournament at the neighboring softball fields
Other Thoughts: Maxwell Park is an excellent course for beginners (many locals play this course with their entire families in tow) but it also has several holes that provide ample challenge for advanced players. This wide appeal is why the course is always full of players in good weather and frequented by players of all skill levels who want to work on wind play, test new discs, grips or throwing styles. If you're in the area and want a fun day in the park without trudging through the woods, Maxwell Park is definitely worth a visit.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Open course is fantastic

5+    6/22/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 115  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very open
-Beautiful park
-Very clean
-Two sets of baskets so everytime you go it's a different course
-A lot of parking
-Usually very empty
-Signs on every hole that indicate distance and a map of the hole
-Concrete tees
-Fairly easy pars
-I've seen 10+ snakes on this course. It definitely adds to the experience!
Cons: -It can get very windy
-Losing your frisbee in the prairie grass can be a bitch...
-The highway in the background isn't very breathtaking
-Since this course is directly across froms "Champion Fields", if you go here on a day when there's a softball tournament, getting a parking spot can be very, very difficult.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It's my home course and I play here several times a week. It's a great, great place to go if you don't want a hard challenge and I rarely hit trees here.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wind tunnel

5+    3/24/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: Tripod2
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not far from campus (a mile or so W of Tri Towers) so it's possible to get here without a car.

Well thought out and maintained course. Mowed regularly and brush is taken care of. Concrete pads are greatly appreciated; I hate teeing off dirt pads.

Wonderful mix of shot selection.

In town, so food, drinks, smokes, etc are very accessable.
Cons: Central Illinois is windy. This park is located near Interstate 55. There are nothing but fields on the other side of 55. All that wind blows onto this course, typically into your face, affecting your throw.

I have triple putted a hole here because of the wind.

Other Thoughts: While you're out here, drive a bit more and play the courses in Pekin and Morton. They are well worth it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/21/2007   1/14/2009
Review By: lighthouse
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very easy to find way around the course. Park was very well kept. Not a lot of trees but able to use different shots because of where baskets are placed. Fairways were nice. Able to play quickly since I was passing through.
Cons: Not a lot of challenge, clear throwing lanes make just about any shot possible. Elevation change was very minimal.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A fair and fun course.

2-4    9/7/2006   12/12/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out course covers a LOT of ground in a beautiful park. The course is fairly open but makes good use of a few trees and thickets. When I was there it was manicured like a ball golf course with VERY distinct, mowed fairways and tall, thick rough. Good mix of long and short and right and left shots.
Cons: Other than the tall rough there is not any cons I can think of. Not a lot of elevation or obsticales but it's STILL a TON of fun to play.
Other Thoughts: I'd like to be able to play this course more. It's fun, open course that you can score pretty well on. Pros could easily creep into the double digits.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.