Disc Golf Store
Pratt, KS 
May Dennis Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #16 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    10/24/2014   10/29/2014
Review By: ninjalectual
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Some really fun and challenging tightly wooded shots
*Concrete tee pads
*Clear (albeit hand drawn) signage that directs you precisely to the general area the basket is at (see below for more about the signs)
Cons: *No course map is available, which is huge because navigation is sometimes nearly impossible
*Even though the signs provide clear directions, most drives are blind and the baskets are consistently hidden, meaning you have to walk almost all the way to the basket before you see it and the obstacles you have to avoid
*Course begins with several forgettable holes in a wide open field
*Hole 18 is as close to impossible to par as any hole I've ever seen.
*This is an 18 hole course--I don't have any clue where people get off saying it's 21 or 27 or whatever.
Other Thoughts: This course has tons of potential. It's problems, however, do tend to mitigate the fun factor. The course designer really does seem to have a fetish about making sure the baskets are impossible to see until you're right on top of them, and you have to walk the entire length of a hole before you have any idea where you're throwing, and this is despite the clear signage.

Navigating is at times difficult, at times impossible. The tee pad for hole 8 is nowhere near anyplace logical, and I searched for 20 minutes. I would have just given up, except I checked this site on my phone, and a previous commenter mentioned that holes 6 and 8 share a fairway.

Considering how awesome the challenging back 9 is, it's really a shame it wasn't done better. Still, if you're driving through on highway 50, it's easily worth stopping by.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Prepare for a good time!

5+    2/14/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: Eagleeyes17
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mixture of open and confined holes.
Some holes have really well used tree obstacles.
27 holes.
Well maintained (grass is mowed frequently, trash is cleared out quickly, trash cans are emptied regularly).
Challenging, but not impossible, to make par.
First 18 holes have very nice concrete tee off pads.
No water!
Has very thick patches of trees that offer a great obstacle alternative to water. Makes an area that you really don't want to get your disk stuck in, while minimizing the chance of losing said disk.
Has some hill holes that provide a nice change to the usual all-flat courses found in the area.
Has a couple possible hole-in-one holes.
Cons: Some of the tree patches are so thick, that it's possible to lose a disk in them.
Going from hole 7 to tee off on hole 8 can be confusing for people who don't play there often.
Holes 20-26 are not marked very well, and the tee off platforms are just dirt pads for some of them.
The water fountain has never worked in the times I've played there.
The concrete tee pad for number 18 is broken.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend using a bright colored (like bright orange or bright yellow) disk. If your disk strays off course, the trees are very thick and can be very hard to find a disk in.
I've played a lot of the courses within a 70 mile radius of this course and, in my opinion, this is the best course in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Aunt May

5+    7/17/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 267  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides both long and short holes as well as technical and open holes. Navigation is logical here and there are a few holes that have Ace run potential. Holes 1,2,4-6, 8 & 9 all have an alternate pin placements and the baskets do get moved rather frequently.
There is a water fountain in the park, putting goal, and a few trash cans. Footbridges so you can cross the draw on holes 5, 8, 11, and 17 come in handy if there is water in the draw.
Good tee pads and the baskets are good as well.
Here are my hole observations:
1-downhill with a group of trees to maneuver around
2-Trees on the left side of the fairway, right side is open and the hole dog legs to the left
3-short and plays up hill with the basket sitting up on the hill with a bush protecting the basket on the left side
4-downhill and short with a low ceiling
5-has heavy rough on the right hand side and plays left to right
6-dog legs right, left side of the fairway is open
7-short plays left to right with heavy rough on the right. This hole has 1 pesky tree that is directly in front of the basket
8-dog legs right with a gap in the trees that must be hit to reach the basket.
9-has a tree on the left side off the tee, its open from that tree to the basket.
10-mostly open, has a baseball backstop in play, make it around the backstop and the basket is positioned by some trees
11-tunnel shot, aim for the footbridge, dog legs left
12-short dog leg right with a blind pin from the tee box
13-is a gap shot with a dirt mound in front of the basket
14-has a grove of trees that are in front of the basket. There is a gap on both the hyzer and anny route
15-has a V shaped tree to navigate around to reach the pin unless you want to throw a spike hyzer shot(RHBH)
16-straight short shot with another pesky tree placed about 50 ft in front of the basket
17-is straight for the first 175 ft, then it dog legs left, thru the gap. Make it thru the gap and the basket is out in the open under 3 good sized trees.***Alternate route is up over the canopy of trees for holes 16 & 17 to get into the clearing. In the summer time this is a high risk reward shot for two reasons, A the wind and B when the trees are in full foliage they like to keep the discs***
18-open on the right hand side, has a tree on the left to navigate around. Basket is tucked in a group of cedar trees.
Cons: Signs are crude diagrams and some don't have the distances written on them. Litter is a huge problem on this course(I know its not the course's fault but when there is trash in the fairways, bushes, trees, drainage ditch it does knock this jewel down a peg. Its sad because there are plenty of trash cans here.)
Can get crowded and some times you will have to wait to be allowed to play thru.
Holes 6 & 8 share a fairway so be aware before you throw on either hole.
***Saturday mornings in the fall and spring holes, 1, 9, 10, & 17 will be unplayable due to soccer or football games. There will be a lot of cars parked on the left side of hole 10 and the sports playing fields are pretty much in the middle of #9 and #10's fairways. You should be able to resume play generally about 2-3 pm.***
Safety on hole 10. There is a parking lot on the left hand side and a playground within close proximity of the basket. PLEASE PAY ATTENTION.
Distances on the signs are a little questionable, but they are in the ball park at least.
Other Thoughts: There is a 27 hole layout, which is marked by tee markers and have natural tees. Wind will factor in more on the front 9 than the back 9 here. For the most part holes 1-6, 8-10, and 18 are open, park style holes. Holes 7, 11-17 are more technical in nature. This for me is a good balance. It helps to break the monotony up while playing your round. Overall I really like this course as it is the best course in terms of variety in my immediate area. I like to play multiple rounds here and really enjoy the shots that it offers. It will make your game improve by playing this course because of the lines that you must hit to score well.
If you are in the area then you should definitely play this course. Chances are you will like what May Dennis has to offer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pratt course

1    4/22/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: DTB501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variation of hole types, you will need both power and finesse to do well on this course. If you want to work on your putting, there is a separate putting station where you can practice your putts. Being in Kansas it was nice to see some holes in the woods and not just flat with a few trees. It made for a nice change of pace that I'm sure many would enjoy.
Cons: Hole flow isn't the greatest I have ever seen, the holes in the woods can be hard to follow. It took me and my group a little bit to figure out where some of the holes were. Not a whole lot of parking spots, if I remember correctly, we had to park on one side of the street. The signs can also be hard to read and understand on some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite course ever but a good course none the less. If you want to get more than 18 holes in the front 9 have alternate holes so you can play up to 27 different holes. Overall its a fairly solid course and while I wasn't super impressed with it, I know many others that enjoyed it and I would recommend this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    3/21/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: ChargerRacing
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of power holes and finesse holes.
-Great variation between tight woods holes and more open holes. You don't get sick of open hole after open hole or woods hole after woods hole.
-Good number of holes with birdie ops without giving it to you; you have to throw well to get a birdie, but its not out of reach.
-No 'gimme' holes. All the holes require some good shots
-Decent amount of risk/reward shots.
-Well maintained
Cons: -No real water hazards, although this could be good for some people.
-May Dennis park, while well maintained and nice isn't terribly scenic.
-No alternate teepads.
Other Thoughts: May Dennis is a great course and something of a 'hidden gem' in disc golfing. It is challenging and enjoyable, it requires a wide variety of shots, and requires a player to be able to make precise shots as well as power throws. The scenery may not be amazing and the lack of alternate teepads and water hazards limit its potential, but you will get a great day of disc golf.

Additionally, Pratt's disc golf community is absolutely incredible for a town its size. If you meet a local out on the course make sure to stop and talk for a bit. You might get some helpful tips or at the very least an enjoyable bit of conversation.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    7/30/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: kcplease
Played: 101  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great setup
more than 18 holes (27)
some open holes, some not
the not open holes are nice and short
many good ace chances, good risk/reward
well manicured
Cons: Some holes are too easy
confusing the first time through
Other Thoughts: This is a favorite and I would give it a 4 easily if it were more scenic. Would love to play all 27 sometime, as I only got in 18.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pratt Course

1    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: VetsPlayer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A course for everyone because of the wide open layout on some holes and the short and narrow setup on others
Generous par system, especially noticed the first two holes which were par 4's, seemed like they could easily pass as a par 3
A challenge without water that leaves a pretty slim chance of losing a disc
The practice putting area!
Cons: Some of the narrow holes were really really tough. It's all a part of the challenge, but I simply can't throw a disc that straight most of the time.
Sometimes difficult to tell where the current/next hole is due to the old fashioned signs, they could use an update
Other Thoughts: There was a loose dog that walked the course with us. Very friendly pup didn't leave our side the whole round

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun small town course

5+    5/4/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, clean well maintained park. A good place for a beginner to cut their teeth on as there isn't much of a loss of disc risk here. Even the park's "creek" isn't much of a disc eater. I like the contrast between the more conventional open holes and the short but tight wooded ones. Park has a lot of good safari hole potential if you get bored with the convential layout. Local club has an alternate layout they use in tournaments. Two very cool dogleg holes #5 and esspecially #17. Small arms will have to be precise with where their drive lands on these, big arms can go over the top of the trees. Nostgalgic tire putting basket!
Cons: A lot of spots where tee signs are too close to the teepads, and teepads are too close to the previous hole's basket. If there's a group in front of you, make sure that they've all left the tee area before you tee off. I like the wooded holes, but don't like getting them mostly all in one big clump and particularly on the back nine. Some of the flow in the wooded section is a bit weird until you figure it out. A few of the teepads are pointed slightly off of where they should be. Tee signs are getting worn and could use some updating or replacement (and need to be moved further from the pad). Kiosk where map and scorecards are could use some fixing up too. Update 3/2012: Teepads are almost all getting above grade and can be dangerous if you put your foot down in the right place. There is a piece of metal sticking out of the ground near the rear left corner of Hole 10's teepad. I caught my foot on this while attempting to tee off yesterday, and ate it right there on the pad. PULL THIS OUT PLEASE! We are looking down the hole as we tee off, not down at our feet. It is a lawsuit waiting to happen.
Other Thoughts: Don't let the "27 holes" fool you as this is actually an 18 hole course. The extra 9 are safari holes and in some cases they actually have signs. At Tee 1 for example, there is another sign on the other side of the pad for "Hole 19" which throws to basket 2.

UPDATE - 3/2012: After some deliberation, I've decided to drop this course 1/2 a disc. Still a solid play, but after busting my ass at the aforementioned tee box and seeing all of pads above grade, and the entire course strewn with Bud Light cans yesterday, this doesn't belong in the realm of 3.0.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant surprise

1    9/4/2008   9/4/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great mix of many different types of holes and terrain. Some of the land is typical midwest forest, but there are a few cacti, some sandy fairways- it's right between the east and the west. Begins in the open park setting, with plenty of tall Cottonwood and other trees guarding pins and lining fairways, then moves into the woods for some shorter, tight technical holes. A few sharp doglegs from open to woods and back. It levels the playing field in my opinion, a few holes for big arms, a few for those who can really hit that tight window and softly.
Cons: Seems like there is limited parking, and hard to tell where to park.
Other Thoughts: I was shocked to see real baskets, apparently a brand new change. It also had cement tees, which said grass in the directory. This course could grow on you, a few might not like some of the doglegs I imagine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.