Pratt, KS 
May Dennis Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Best Course In Area

5+    4/20/2016   4/21/2016
Review By: austin.ogle
Played: 76  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Cement Tee Pads
- Has Tee Signs
- Fun mix of short wooded and long open
well maintained
- Great local DG community, don't hesitate to ask the locals any questions you might have!
- Benches have recently been added on some holes.
- Plenty of trash bins available
Cons: - Tee signs need to be updated
- Some added signage could make navigation easier for first timers.
- 8's tee is a backtrack to from 7's basket.
- Long 4's tee box does not have a tee or sign.
Playing short 4 with long 3 creates a bit of a back track that causes a fairway crossover.
- No restrooms or water available on course, so come prepared.
Other Thoughts: spinning basket on hole 5 is cool!
Baskets 5,6,8,11,12 and 17 cannot be seen from their tees. Not exactly a con but can be frustrating for first timers. Again some added signage could help with this frustration. I rated this course 3.5 in spite of some drawbacks because it is so stinking fun. It is not your typical central/western Kansas course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fall Play

1    11/23/2015   11/26/2015
Review By: StevenButts
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great stop when driving to Arizona!
Other Thoughts: Seen a couple complaints about baskets being difficult to see from t's and I was worried about this. But stopping in late November on a 60 degree day their are no leaves on the brush so YOU CAN SEE them. Only other thought is that the first hole is a ways from the parking. It is about a quarter block down on the edge of the park that is along mound street.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great club

5+    6/30/2015   7/2/2015
Review By: ChuckConner
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very good to play. There is a nice mix of short ace-able holes and then there is also some long and very technical holes that keep you challenged and thinking. If you can find a local to play with DO It! Everyone that I have met has been very nice. I played with the local club and they all were very welcoming.
Cons: If you try to play the course for the first time alone then you will be lost. There are not good course directions on tee's.
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course in 50 miles so if you want to play and are in the area it is worth stopping and playing.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    10/24/2014   10/29/2014
Review By: ninjalectual
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Some really fun and challenging tightly wooded shots
*Concrete tee pads
*Clear (albeit hand drawn) signage that directs you precisely to the general area the basket is at (see below for more about the signs)
Cons: *No course map is available, which is huge because navigation is sometimes nearly impossible
*Even though the signs provide clear directions, most drives are blind and the baskets are consistently hidden, meaning you have to walk almost all the way to the basket before you see it and the obstacles you have to avoid
*Course begins with several forgettable holes in a wide open field
*Hole 18 is as close to impossible to par as any hole I've ever seen.
*This is an 18 hole course--I don't have any clue where people get off saying it's 21 or 27 or whatever.
Other Thoughts: This course has tons of potential. It's problems, however, do tend to mitigate the fun factor. The course designer really does seem to have a fetish about making sure the baskets are impossible to see until you're right on top of them, and you have to walk the entire length of a hole before you have any idea where you're throwing, and this is despite the clear signage.

Navigating is at times difficult, at times impossible. The tee pad for hole 8 is nowhere near anyplace logical, and I searched for 20 minutes. I would have just given up, except I checked this site on my phone, and a previous commenter mentioned that holes 6 and 8 share a fairway.

Considering how awesome the challenging back 9 is, it's really a shame it wasn't done better. Still, if you're driving through on highway 50, it's easily worth stopping by.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Prepare for a good time!

5+    2/14/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: Eagleeyes17
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mixture of open and confined holes.
Some holes have really well used tree obstacles.
27 holes.
Well maintained (grass is mowed frequently, trash is cleared out quickly, trash cans are emptied regularly).
Challenging, but not impossible, to make par.
First 18 holes have very nice concrete tee off pads.
No water!
Has very thick patches of trees that offer a great obstacle alternative to water. Makes an area that you really don't want to get your disk stuck in, while minimizing the chance of losing said disk.
Has some hill holes that provide a nice change to the usual all-flat courses found in the area.
Has a couple possible hole-in-one holes.
Cons: Some of the tree patches are so thick, that it's possible to lose a disk in them.
Going from hole 7 to tee off on hole 8 can be confusing for people who don't play there often.
Holes 20-26 are not marked very well, and the tee off platforms are just dirt pads for some of them.
The water fountain has never worked in the times I've played there.
The concrete tee pad for number 18 is broken.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend using a bright colored (like bright orange or bright yellow) disk. If your disk strays off course, the trees are very thick and can be very hard to find a disk in.
I've played a lot of the courses within a 70 mile radius of this course and, in my opinion, this is the best course in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Aunt May

5+    7/17/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 369  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides both long and short holes as well as technical and open holes. Navigation is logical here and there are a few holes that have Ace run potential. Holes 1,2,4-6, 8 & 9 all have an alternate pin placements and the baskets do get moved rather frequently.
There is a water fountain in the park, putting goal, and a few trash cans. Footbridges so you can cross the draw on holes 5, 8, 11, and 17 come in handy if there is water in the draw.
Good tee pads and the baskets are good as well.
Here are my hole observations:
1-downhill with a group of trees to maneuver around
2-Trees on the left side of the fairway, right side is open and the hole dog legs to the left
3-short and plays up hill with the basket sitting up on the hill with a bush protecting the basket on the left side
4-downhill and short with a low ceiling
5-has heavy rough on the right hand side and plays left to right
6-dog legs right, left side of the fairway is open
7-short plays left to right with heavy rough on the right. This hole has 1 pesky tree that is directly in front of the basket
8-dog legs right with a gap in the trees that must be hit to reach the basket.
9-has a tree on the left side off the tee, its open from that tree to the basket.
10-mostly open, has a baseball backstop in play, make it around the backstop and the basket is positioned by some trees
11-tunnel shot, aim for the footbridge, dog legs left
12-short dog leg right with a blind pin from the tee box
13-is a gap shot with a dirt mound in front of the basket
14-has a grove of trees that are in front of the basket. There is a gap on both the hyzer and anny route
15-has a V shaped tree to navigate around to reach the pin unless you want to throw a spike hyzer shot(RHBH)
16-straight short shot with another pesky tree placed about 50 ft in front of the basket
17-is straight for the first 175 ft, then it dog legs left, thru the gap. Make it thru the gap and the basket is out in the open under 3 good sized trees.***Alternate route is up over the canopy of trees for holes 16 & 17 to get into the clearing. In the summer time this is a high risk reward shot for two reasons, A the wind and B when the trees are in full foliage they like to keep the discs***
18-open on the right hand side, has a tree on the left to navigate around. Basket is tucked in a group of cedar trees.
Cons: Signs are crude diagrams and some don't have the distances written on them. Litter is a huge problem on this course(I know its not the course's fault but when there is trash in the fairways, bushes, trees, drainage ditch it does knock this jewel down a peg. Its sad because there are plenty of trash cans here.)
Can get crowded and some times you will have to wait to be allowed to play thru.
Holes 6 & 8 share a fairway so be aware before you throw on either hole.
***Saturday mornings in the fall and spring holes, 1, 9, 10, & 17 will be unplayable due to soccer or football games. There will be a lot of cars parked on the left side of hole 10 and the sports playing fields are pretty much in the middle of #9 and #10's fairways. You should be able to resume play generally about 2-3 pm.***
Safety on hole 10. There is a parking lot on the left hand side and a playground within close proximity of the basket. PLEASE PAY ATTENTION.
Distances on the signs are a little questionable, but they are in the ball park at least.
Other Thoughts: There is a 27 hole layout, which is marked by tee markers and have natural tees. Wind will factor in more on the front 9 than the back 9 here. For the most part holes 1-6, 8-10, and 18 are open, park style holes. Holes 7, 11-17 are more technical in nature. This for me is a good balance. It helps to break the monotony up while playing your round. Overall I really like this course as it is the best course in terms of variety in my immediate area. I like to play multiple rounds here and really enjoy the shots that it offers. It will make your game improve by playing this course because of the lines that you must hit to score well.
If you are in the area then you should definitely play this course. Chances are you will like what May Dennis has to offer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pratt course

1    4/22/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: DTB501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variation of hole types, you will need both power and finesse to do well on this course. If you want to work on your putting, there is a separate putting station where you can practice your putts. Being in Kansas it was nice to see some holes in the woods and not just flat with a few trees. It made for a nice change of pace that I'm sure many would enjoy.
Cons: Hole flow isn't the greatest I have ever seen, the holes in the woods can be hard to follow. It took me and my group a little bit to figure out where some of the holes were. Not a whole lot of parking spots, if I remember correctly, we had to park on one side of the street. The signs can also be hard to read and understand on some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite course ever but a good course none the less. If you want to get more than 18 holes in the front 9 have alternate holes so you can play up to 27 different holes. Overall its a fairly solid course and while I wasn't super impressed with it, I know many others that enjoyed it and I would recommend this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    3/21/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: ChargerRacing
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of power holes and finesse holes.
-Great variation between tight woods holes and more open holes. You don't get sick of open hole after open hole or woods hole after woods hole.
-Good number of holes with birdie ops without giving it to you; you have to throw well to get a birdie, but its not out of reach.
-No 'gimme' holes. All the holes require some good shots
-Decent amount of risk/reward shots.
-Well maintained
Cons: -No real water hazards, although this could be good for some people.
-May Dennis park, while well maintained and nice isn't terribly scenic.
-No alternate teepads.
Other Thoughts: May Dennis is a great course and something of a 'hidden gem' in disc golfing. It is challenging and enjoyable, it requires a wide variety of shots, and requires a player to be able to make precise shots as well as power throws. The scenery may not be amazing and the lack of alternate teepads and water hazards limit its potential, but you will get a great day of disc golf.

Additionally, Pratt's disc golf community is absolutely incredible for a town its size. If you meet a local out on the course make sure to stop and talk for a bit. You might get some helpful tips or at the very least an enjoyable bit of conversation.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    7/30/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: kcplease
Played: 128  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great setup
more than 18 holes (27)
some open holes, some not
the not open holes are nice and short
many good ace chances, good risk/reward
well manicured
Cons: Some holes are too easy
confusing the first time through
Other Thoughts: This is a favorite and I would give it a 4 easily if it were more scenic. Would love to play all 27 sometime, as I only got in 18.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pratt Course

1    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: VetsPlayer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A course for everyone because of the wide open layout on some holes and the short and narrow setup on others
Generous par system, especially noticed the first two holes which were par 4's, seemed like they could easily pass as a par 3
A challenge without water that leaves a pretty slim chance of losing a disc
The practice putting area!
Cons: Some of the narrow holes were really really tough. It's all a part of the challenge, but I simply can't throw a disc that straight most of the time.
Sometimes difficult to tell where the current/next hole is due to the old fashioned signs, they could use an update
Other Thoughts: There was a loose dog that walked the course with us. Very friendly pup didn't leave our side the whole round

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.