Westchester, IL 
Mayfair Park Share
Uploaded By: Disc Golf Greg Hole #8 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Basket located between all those trees in the middle.



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
On second thought...

2-4    8/31/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 140  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mayfair Park at first glance is a joke. It's a really short, not very challenging layout that probably is not going to be attractive to anybody who is into disc golf enough to be looking up course reviews on a website. In short, it's not for us. To consider Mayfair Park and appreciate what it is, you have to be able to look at it from another perspective.

The course is on a very small piece of land split in two by a creek. Holes #1, 2, 8 & 9 are by the parking lot; holes # 3-7 are on the other side of the creek. The two sections are hidden from each other by trees and overgrowth on the banks of the creek, and the section that #3-7 on is mostly open. Somewhere around hole # 6 I realized that despite the wide-open nature of the park, they actually tried to put the few trees they had to work with in your way. Hole # 9 has an interesting pin placement and makes a good closing hole. For very young players or very new players, the design actually would be very good. If this course was part of a middle school grounds, it would pretty much be perfect for their audience.
Cons: The creek is pretty deep with some nasty shule, and hole # 2 shoots right by it. For the audience that the course is designed for, it seems like it would be really easy for players to loose discs there.

Hole # 7 is actually a driver hole; it's over 300'. Unfortunately, it runs right by the road so if you flip your drive you are in the street. To get that hole that long, it stretches past where the tee for # 5 and the basket for # 4 are, making those actually in the middle of the fairway. The hole would be safer and more in keeping with the rest of the course if it was shorter and aimed away from the road.

There need to be a directional sign at # 2's basket that tells you how to get to the # 3 tee. All you can see from that basket is the tee for #8, and the baskets across the creek are hidden from view.

The tees are rutted dirt, and all the signs show are the hole number.

Not surprisingly, the holes are pretty close together. Given that you should be throwing putters here, it's actually not nearly as bad as it could be.
Other Thoughts: After a couple of times around (a round takes about 15-20 minutes) I really started to realize that this wasn't your usual "we bought 9 baskets and scattered them in the park" terrible courses. There was some thought and care put into the design of this course, and if you fit into the demographic of young/beginner/not very serious players this course would actually be pretty fun. Compare this course to Volunteer Park in Romeoville (another course that tries to fill this niche) and you can start to appreciate that for this type of course, they did a pretty good job.

So far as rating it goes, these types of courses just don't hold up very well. In the end it still is a really short, not very challenging layout that probably is not going to be attractive to anybody who is into disc golf enough to be looking up course reviews on a website. However there is a lot more to this course than you might notice at first glance. If you have kids you want to teach disc golf to in the Chicago area, this would be a great place to do that.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

5+    6/8/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Some holes had a bunch of trees in the way, making some lines almost impossible to find. I don't know how you play #2. I ain't going in that creek.
- One longer hole to let loose.
- Risk/Reward on a lot of holes
- Baskets are OK
Cons: - Dirt tee pads are poor, and poorly placed. If you want me to tee off into a bush, then it makes sense I guess.
- One of the shortest courses I have ever played. A lot of the holes on the back are simple approach shots.
- Some teepads and baskets are pretty much in other holes' fairways, could be hairy if crowded.
- Missing signage for #1 is a bad way to start. Some of the other signs are pretty wrecked as well.
Other Thoughts: - This course uses risk/reward in a lot of places, but it doesn't make it fun. Short holes with the creek right next to the basket doesn't make them good holes in my book.
- Is #9 even 100 feet? What a joke of a hole. You miss the trees, you get a 2. That's it.
- I hate this course, but I feel like I am biased. I think it is challenging to get a good score, but only because I am so scared to end up in that creek (I have never been in there, but I have heard it is a mudpit). Risk>>>>>>>reward, I think that is my problem with it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Odd little course

1    7/23/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around a small park with a creek and an empty retention pond. Some of the holes play through stands of trees, the rest play in an open field with a couple random trees. The creek comes into play on a few of the holes, and adds a nice bit of risk/reward that is otherwise missing here. The retention pond can punish poor shots on one hole.

Though many of the holes are in the open, they use the couple trees around well to protect the pin or to add a little difficulty to the holes. The first few holes and the last two play through more trees, and will test your accuracy a little more.

The tees are natural, but most were nice and level and were fine to tee off from. There are signs on all but the last two holes that showed hole layout and distance. There is a map at the beginning of the course that makes navigating the course easier.

Cons: The course is very very short. All but one of the holes are easily reachable with only a putter, and most have an easy open hyzer line. The one longer hole gives a chance to air it out, but plays directly over another basket, and a tee, making for some safety issues if others are playing.

Some of the tees are very short, with bumpy grass making it difficult to use the space behind the tee. Many of the tee signs that are still there are old and broken. A few tees are placed with trees or bushes at the front corner, severely restricting your runup and follow through, and I found this a little frustrating.

The creek and retention pond were nice obstacles, I just wish the course design used them more since there are a large number of very short wide open holes with no risk at all. All the holes in the open feel very similar, so the course gets a little repetitive as you play.

There are a couple places where the course flow is not entirely obvious, make sure you check out the course map and make a note of these spots. After the second hole, follow the creek around the corner almost to the road. After the seventh hole, walk past the third tee back toward the second basket.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place for a new beginner to play, with no real chance of losing a disc unless the creek is really high. More experienced players won't find any real challenge here, even if they carry nothing but a putter.

This course did an ok job with the space available, but there isn't a lot to work with here. Don't go out of your way to play here, there are lots of better courses around.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Uhh, What.

1    7/27/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy pitch and putt course.

Dirt tee pads, baskets were okay.

Nothing really great to say about this course.
Cons: Poor signs to start off, also not a fan of dirt tee pads, but this course deserves them.

No shot variety, few obstacles on almost all holes, and very short layout.

Do not even bring a beginner here as they will automatically hate the sport of disc golf.

Just a flat piece of land with a bush or two and a tree here or there. 9 holes shoved next to each other and if people actually played here... what am I saying. There won't be crowding issues or problems with close fairways because no one will ever come back!

Everything about this place was bad. It is just throwing less than 200' and placing the disc in the basket. It offers no challenge and is not fun. This place should have never been made. Yes, I hate this place that much...
Other Thoughts: I will not come back here unless it is to show my grandpa what a disc golf basket is as he lives in the area and can't be outside for too long. Whoever made this course should be ashamed. Do not go here. I would not wish this upon any disc golfer.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.