Lombard, IL 
Madison Meadow Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
5 / --   5 / 500ft.   5 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wide, open spaces

1    7/12/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: kirkmanbrandon
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I am surprised like many other recent reviewers that this course isn't a solid 3 to 3.5. It is a surprisingly nice and open course, well kept with a few interesting holes. It is a bit simple in the design but there are still quite a few good layouts for some interesting and challenging shots to keep the more experienced players enthralled. The more simplistic aspect of the course is great for taking newer players for a play through to get them more exposed to what a typical disc golf course is like.

The old willow trees combined with the well maintained field and lake area make for a very beautiful stroll through the park as you play
Cons: Since it is a part of a larger, populated park it is pretty heavily trafficked. Get ready to deal with a good bit of waiting if you go at a more busy time during the summer.

The design of the course is still a bit overly simplistic so it does start to feel repetitive at a few points but never feels too monotonous. Some of the holes are just a good amount of distance without giving you a challenging shot or layout.
Other Thoughts: A good, almost great, course not too far from Chicago that is well kept and amazing for a nice casual play through with good friends. Hoping this gets rated up to a solid 3 from future reviews.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not really a 3.5, but better than a 3

1    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is severely underrated on this site. It's the perfect course for players looking for a relaxing, but moderately challenging round. Lot's of opportunities here for distance throwers to bring out their drivers, but the holes here are far more than just baskets in a field, which is sometimes the case in the Chicago suburbs. Every hole has some kind of line to hit, making for a fun variety of shots.

The park is very scenic, playing in and out of moderately wooded park around a man-made lake. Takes up a good chunk of the park, so your drives aren't crisscrossing fairways all over the place.
Cons: Simply put, my rating of this course is too high. Madison meadow is pretty much smack dab between a 3 and a 3.5, but I decided to err on the high side.

*Flat
*Not isolated from the rest of the park (specifically, brings a ball diamond into play, which is lame)
*Poorly marked alternate tees (possibly imaginary)
*maintenance-wise, some of the baskets here aren't in great shape and the course could benefit from a few more "next tee" signs

This is by no means a world class course. There aren't any holes that are really amazing... Bad drives are not really punished. If you shank your drive, you can still probably throw it to the bucket on your second shot.
Other Thoughts: This course will not give you an intense round of disc golf. It is made for disc golfers who want to hang with their buddies and enjoy a relaxing round. And for that purpose it is perfect. I would not call this course a "destination course" and I certainly wouldn't plan a trip and excitedly wait to play this one, but for the weekend warrior or the guy who just got off of work, this is a dream come true.

If you are an in state-er reading this review, this course is comparable to Washington Park in Washington, IL or to a 19-hole version of Clark Park in Elk Grove.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun round!

1    5/13/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm surprised that no other trusted reviewers have rated this course higher than a 3.0 up until now. I thought that this definitely merits a 3.5 because it has a lot of variety in shot types, the park was very clean and maintained, and the course equipment (tees, signs, baskets) were in top-notch shape.

Playing here really was a lot of fun. #19 is a fantastic signature hole to end on!

Previous reviewers have noted that there wasn't a lot of thought in the design, but I thought that there were a ton of cool and interesting lines and shots required. Sure, some holes are the repetitive 325 open shot, but what course doesn't have those?
Cons: Biggest con = Lots of people. Both playing (causing us to have to wait) and walking (because the course plays over paths sometimes). But this makes sense because it's a great park that naturally draws a lot of people, especially on a beautiful day like the one I played.
Other Thoughts: Of the four courses I played in the area today, I would definitely consider this the "best course". It was a really great round to play and I would definitely recommend playing this course if you get the chance.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    5/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: mmsiami
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course to play, definitely a great course for beginners and nice to play for experience dg'ers looking to get some confidence back in their driving ability. couple of great ace opportunities
Cons: mostly flat, alot of the holes seem too simple or easy. I only used a forehand once and only 1 overhand throw.
Other Thoughts: very pleasant place to throw. Big open park with a walking path through a few holes. non dg'ers seemed very aware of players and were conscious of throws

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course In The Area

4/7/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires combination of accuracy and distance. Course is nice and well maintained. For me it's the most challenging and enjoyable course so far that I've played in the area.
Cons: I've lived in Kentucky most my life where there is an abundance of picturesque courses. This course is nice but it just doesn't compare to those back home. There's no elevation whatsoever. The wind can be brutal. There's some signs missing and most holes require you to walk a long ways to get to the next tee. If you don't know the course, then it can be difficult to find the next hole sometimes.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, I would recommend this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Overall Course

10/2/2007   10/2/2007
Review By: spectrasmydisc
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging, especially the distance on some holes.
Cons: Some holes depending on skill can be unenjoyable. Example for me is hole 11
Other Thoughts: If you want a challenge play it as all par 3's. Holes 11 and 12 are a true test of power, skill, and creativity. Bad drives= tough and creative par savesif played as par 3's. This is my favorite course and its my home course. Course record is 16 under par for par 3's. Hole 19 is normally played from red tees as an over the pond shot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.