Lombard, IL 
Madison Meadow Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / --   3 / 269ft.   5 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Love this course

5+    9/17/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 65  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2010
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has many ace opportunities, several long holes, and well placed trees on almost every hole. Course requires accuracy on most holes.
The tee pads (19 of them) are all concrete and there is a nice gravel path winding through this sprawling course. There are benches throughout and a lake with a fountain in the center of the course that creates a secluded atmosphere even when many others are around. Very little chance of losing a disc on all but hole #3 and #19.
Cons: Tee boxes might be a bit small for people with a big approach.
Not a lot of high risk. Other than hitting a tree, recovery from being off the fairway is usually not a problem.
Other Thoughts: The course has a nice flow and a nice variety of holes. If you play hole 19 from the new tee pad down to the practice basket you get a very long downhill drive around a small grove of pines. Great way to wrap up the round!

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, a little boring

5+    5/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 247  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 24.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Alot of length. A few really challenging holes. Cement tees. Some good land for roller shots. I like the pine trees on a few of the holes.
Cons: Overall, I'd have to call this a boring course. Very flat. Not much trouble out there to get your energy level up and make you think on the tee.
Other Thoughts: Its okay to work different shots in your game. A couple par 4's. Just nothing where you get to work your way out of trouble though, because there isn't any.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NIce open course

1    7/24/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large flat multi-use park with lots of large scattered trees. There is a small lake that is in play on a couple holes, and lots of ball fields and other park areas as obstacles. The lake is a very cool obstacle on a couple holes, and adds a nice risk reward element.

There is a nice mix of long and short holes, from short ace runs to a couple real long bomb holes. Most holes have at least some trees in the fairway, and a few have more dense stands of trees to shoot through. The last hole has one tee that shoots over the pond for a very cool finishing drive.

The park is large enough that the holes have nice separation, and never throw on top of one another. The design made good use of the available space and trees to make a course that doesn't feel too repetitive despite the lack of elevation or much variation in foliage throughout the park.

The tees were in pretty good shape, and were concrete on the main pad for each hole. There were alternate tees (sometimes two alternates on a hole) that really changed up the hole and gave a different look, and these had nicely leveled dirt or grass tee areas. There was at least a numbered post at each tee, with nicer signs on some. The grass was well-mowed when I played, and the park was nicely kept in general.
Cons: The navigation at this course could use some work. Many tees had no signs at all, and the signs that were in place were often faded and didn't show the tee or basket. There were several long walks between holes, and there were only a couple that had next tee markers. A couple places the next hole was in a non-obvious direction, and it took some wandering to figure it out.

The tee pads were pretty short, especially for the longer holes. Most were not flush with the ground, so they weren't conducive to simply starting behind the pad. The baskets were a mix of different types and ages, and seemed a little inconsistent. The number plates were faded, and were occasionally facing the wrong direction, which made a couple holes without tee signs a little frustrating.

A couple holes played too close to ball fields, playgrounds and roads, could be some safety hazards there. The course could have used a little more variety, with most of the holes having a pretty open straight or slight hyzer shot. There were enough trees and space to create more holes that would challenge other shots.
Other Thoughts: This course is very beginner friendly, and the only place to lose discs is in the pond. Newer players will enjoy this course, as it's not wide open, but the fairways are easy to hit and poor drives aren't severely punished. More experienced players won't find much challenge here, though there were a few holes that will let you open up on some longer drives.

This is one of the better courses in the area, so it's worth playing if you're around. It's nothing too special though, so I wouldn't suggest driving way out of your way to play this one.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, with plenty of potential

1    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: gsmit
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1.) Beautiful course with a great atmosphere and excellent upkeep.

2.) Course was very clean, and not very crowded.

3.) The variety of holes was nice. Although, there are not any heavily wooded holes. The are some VERY long holes (up to 625'), as well as some shorter holes (around 200'). There were a few straight, as well as a bunch of dog-leg left & right. There is also a beautiful hole in which you have to drive over a lake!
Cons: 1.) A little hard to navigate if you are not familiar with the course. We had to ask a few locals where a couple holes were because we had no idea where we were going.

2.) Quite a few signs were missing, so you had to guess on the par for the hole, the distance of the hole, and the pin location. And there were also a few signs in which the pin location wasn't listed on the sign
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses that I have played so far. I highly suggest that anyone take the ride out to this course and play it at least once. This is not a very easy course. Not overly difficult, but it offers a nice challenge.

Also, while you are out at this course, I suggest you take a 15 minute drive to play the 9-Hole in Oak Brook. It is not very far away, but it is also an amazing course.

Another suggestion is after you play here, go check out Old Town Pizza and grab a slice of pizza! It is located right next to Famous Liquors at 109 E. Roosevelt Rd. This place has HUGE slices of pizza that are absolutely delicious. It is a great way to end your day (or split up time between Madison Meadow and Oak Brook's Central Park).

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Like a Miller Chill, fun and relaxing, but just not Corona

2-4    6/20/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: davidwebb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of opportunities to let it rip as long as you aren't a 450 driver. There are 3 sets of tees at each hole but I would like to know where they are because I could only ever find one per hole. Was pretty muddy when I played but I go barefoot most of the time so it wasn't a big deal. Hard to loose a disc as it is mostly open. Went on the first really nice saturday of the year (85 and sunny...b-e-a-u-tiful) and only saw 3 other groups out there, and didn't have to wait at any hole. 18 holes is nice for the area, took me about an hour and fifteen minutes to eat up this course solo. Shot a 7 over my first time through (playing each hole as a par 3) but my drive was a little off and I hit a lot of trees for how scarce it is...so there is definate opportunity to get some nice birds and try to go under playing par 3 for all. Ran into a garderner working on her vegitables around hole 14-15 with a dog named Buddy, she was really friendly for someone that I'm sure gets disc golfers roaming into her property all the time. There have been some modifications to this course within the last few weeks. Nothing major, but the new tee placements do add some more difficulty and some more chances to let a drive fly.
Cons: Nothing really techniqual except hole 15(?) (which is actually a plus for me as I am somewhat of a beginner, but I know most of you guys like your difficult shots). Grass was a little longer than I would have liked but I can't recall ever thinking I was in danger of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun playing this course with friends and by myself, it had a low risk of losing discs (which is big for me because I am in college and have almost NO money!) but it just doesn't compare to the 18 hole courses farther south (Shannahon, West Park, etc.) or the tight technicality of the 9 hole courses (Central Park in Oak Brook or Knock Knolls in Naperville). Definatly a course to relax on and let some discs fly...bring your whole bag! I hope with this construction going on they will replace the signs and they are almost all vandalized or missing.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good for area

2-4    5/2/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: manzilla86
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The biggest pro for the area is that the course has some a good variety of lengths in it. It is hard to find courses in the Chicagoland area that have enough space to put long holes in it, but this course has that. This course is a good stress relief course for that person who is sick of hitting every tree in the woods-most of the holes are very open (which is a con for me, but like I said, good stress relief). The park is also scenic with a pond that has a fountain in it (which comes into play on two holes, depending on how you play them). I also enjoy the giant field to the north of hole # 19 which allows for ironing out new discs/throws that you have been wanting to practice.
Cons: The course is somewhat boring, with very little elevation change and a lack of woods. Most holes are out in the open and straight. If you come to play the course, you will disagree with me on the first 3, but after that you will know what I am talking about. But like I said in the pros, sometimes this is a good thing if you just want to go out and chuck a disc with little though.
Other Thoughts: Another plus for this course is the park. There are other facilities if you want to make a whole day out of your trip. There are basketball courts, baseball fields, tennis courts, street hockey, a gazebo, and grates for grilling. Also some playground if you want to drop the kids off while you are out for a round of Disc Golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Average Course

2-4    4/30/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Actually a very beautiful Park setting for the course. Lots of mature trees and different varieties. The layout of holes was well placed and used the park acreage nicely.

- Hole length variety was fantastic with 6 under 275'/9 @ 275-400'/and 3 over 400'.
- Fairways appear to be well taken care of and were mowed.
- Overall course beauty was average.
- Tee pads were concrete.
- Course was not crowded. If this is one of the better courses in the area, then being empty is a huge PLUS.
- Basket placement was the strongest asset the course really had. There were enough obstacles present to create a decent challenge. Most basket locations offered a 30' circle to putt within while keeping the approach a decent challenge.
- Hole 19 was incredible if you love water shots. I am estimating about 200' to clear the water. A great way to end a round.
Cons: - Needs more trash cans
- Tee pads need to be lengthened. Concrete but too short.
- Course is VERY flat.
- Poor Hole variety with 14 S/1 L/3 R.
- Would benefit tremendously from a second set of basket locations.
- Not much shot variety required to play the course well.
Other Thoughts: - bathrooms at playground near hole 1 tee.
- The course is a blue level length course, but the difficulty really isn't there.
- Pretty open course which would allow beginners learn without the loss of discs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Reasonable course for the area

5+    5/3/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good amount of long holes with some shorter ones worked in. reasonable obstacles. pond in the middle of a nice park.
Cons: Could use another 9 and be overall more interesting if the course was designed with any thought process.
Other Thoughts: Fun course for the area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Longer course for the area

5+    4/24/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: btank
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good length course, you'll spend a little time here and get some exercise.
Cons: Too wide open for my tastes. Needs some wooded, hidden holes.
I've come here a couple times and not been able to play because a tournament was going on.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C+ = As average as the come

2-4    5/3/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.5 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C-
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center