Lombard, IL 
Madison Meadow Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / --   3 / 215ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Wide, open spaces

1    7/12/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: kirkmanbrandon
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I am surprised like many other recent reviewers that this course isn't a solid 3 to 3.5. It is a surprisingly nice and open course, well kept with a few interesting holes. It is a bit simple in the design but there are still quite a few good layouts for some interesting and challenging shots to keep the more experienced players enthralled. The more simplistic aspect of the course is great for taking newer players for a play through to get them more exposed to what a typical disc golf course is like.

The old willow trees combined with the well maintained field and lake area make for a very beautiful stroll through the park as you play
Cons: Since it is a part of a larger, populated park it is pretty heavily trafficked. Get ready to deal with a good bit of waiting if you go at a more busy time during the summer.

The design of the course is still a bit overly simplistic so it does start to feel repetitive at a few points but never feels too monotonous. Some of the holes are just a good amount of distance without giving you a challenging shot or layout.
Other Thoughts: A good, almost great, course not too far from Chicago that is well kept and amazing for a nice casual play through with good friends. Hoping this gets rated up to a solid 3 from future reviews.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not really a 3.5, but better than a 3

1    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 97  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is severely underrated on this site. It's the perfect course for players looking for a relaxing, but moderately challenging round. Lot's of opportunities here for distance throwers to bring out their drivers, but the holes here are far more than just baskets in a field, which is sometimes the case in the Chicago suburbs. Every hole has some kind of line to hit, making for a fun variety of shots.

The park is very scenic, playing in and out of moderately wooded park around a man-made lake. Takes up a good chunk of the park, so your drives aren't crisscrossing fairways all over the place.
Cons: Simply put, my rating of this course is too high. Madison meadow is pretty much smack dab between a 3 and a 3.5, but I decided to err on the high side.

*Flat
*Not isolated from the rest of the park (specifically, brings a ball diamond into play, which is lame)
*Poorly marked alternate tees (possibly imaginary)
*maintenance-wise, some of the baskets here aren't in great shape and the course could benefit from a few more "next tee" signs

This is by no means a world class course. There aren't any holes that are really amazing... Bad drives are not really punished. If you shank your drive, you can still probably throw it to the bucket on your second shot.
Other Thoughts: This course will not give you an intense round of disc golf. It is made for disc golfers who want to hang with their buddies and enjoy a relaxing round. And for that purpose it is perfect. I would not call this course a "destination course" and I certainly wouldn't plan a trip and excitedly wait to play this one, but for the weekend warrior or the guy who just got off of work, this is a dream come true.

If you are an in state-er reading this review, this course is comparable to Washington Park in Washington, IL or to a 19-hole version of Clark Park in Elk Grove.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun round!

1    5/13/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm surprised that no other trusted reviewers have rated this course higher than a 3.0 up until now. I thought that this definitely merits a 3.5 because it has a lot of variety in shot types, the park was very clean and maintained, and the course equipment (tees, signs, baskets) were in top-notch shape.

Playing here really was a lot of fun. #19 is a fantastic signature hole to end on!

Previous reviewers have noted that there wasn't a lot of thought in the design, but I thought that there were a ton of cool and interesting lines and shots required. Sure, some holes are the repetitive 325 open shot, but what course doesn't have those?
Cons: Biggest con = Lots of people. Both playing (causing us to have to wait) and walking (because the course plays over paths sometimes). But this makes sense because it's a great park that naturally draws a lot of people, especially on a beautiful day like the one I played.
Other Thoughts: Of the four courses I played in the area today, I would definitely consider this the "best course". It was a really great round to play and I would definitely recommend playing this course if you get the chance.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ice patch

1    2/17/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: fireball42
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a nice well kept park with parking close to the first tee.has a practice tee and a 19th hole over the pond as well.

some good variety of length a few tunnel shots and a few hyzers as well.
Cons: several hazards including baseball field, busy streets, pond, a few backyards with very clear no trespassing signs and pedestrians. They are generally avoidable though unless your shot is very wacky.

some fairways play very close to each other and errant discs could be a hazard to players. ( a buzzz landed about 10 ft away from me at one point)
Other Thoughts: i went here in february, and although there was no snow, a very large ice patch had settled on the left side of the fairway of hole 3. normally i would just avoid the hazard by playing to the right, but to the right was the pond. there was only 15 or 20 ft or so between hazards. my GF threw out onto the frozen puddle and luckily the disc was retrievable. definitely a little scary for a new player like me. It is not really a Con as im sure that puddle is not frozen 9 months out of the year but they should still salt it down or something.

overall not a bad course but nothing special either.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good use of park

1    12/16/2012   12/16/2012
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 22.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of space in a multi-use park. Good mix of short and long holes. Very nice driving alleys on several holes. Longer, two shot holes had some obstacles that made placement of drive important. 300-400 foot shots had good variety from the white tees. Short holes had nice obstacles and good use of low hanging limbs.
Cons: Tees are a bit short on some of the longer holes. Can't control it, but the goose droppings were so numerous that it built up on shoes and caused poor footing on the concrete tees.
Other Thoughts: Play it if you are in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just Average

5+    8/20/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ Length Variety, unlike many other local courses that stick around 250', there are a number of holes that allow you to stretch out your arm

~ Park is clean and well maintained (Apart from some inconsiderate golfers leaving beverage cans by some tees)

~ Enough "different" holes to keep things interesting and allow for trying various lines.
Cons: ~ Like most other Illinois courses it is completely flat

~ Most holes are wide open and don't force any line shaping.

~ Depending on the time of day you go to the park, pretty much all of the first 4 holes may have other park visitors on the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Without the old Central Park course in Oakbrook to contrast the generally wide open nature of this course, it can get pretty boring after many play-throughs. There is almost no forced line-shaping, which can be both good and bad: no technical shots, but I have played through playing the entire course driving forehand and backhand which is nice to work on shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice for the Area

5+    8/27/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: DonCasper
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -20 Holes in a land of 9 holers
-Distance Variety
-Shot Variety
-Water comes into play a few times
-Shots require thought
Cons: -Park is frequently crowded
-Not a ton of variety in holes.
-The longer throws always seem like a drag because they are all low shots.
Other Thoughts: After playing this course about 25 times this summer, many of the holes on this course still make me think. This is a hallmark of good course design. The biggest problem with the park is that it is used for everything. I've had a number of bad run-ins with other park-goers, specifically the parents of the cheerleader kids after asking the parents to move off the fairway of 2 several times.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good length in a nice park

2-4    7/15/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 76  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, the course is in a big park with lots of healthy, mature trees. It's one of the prettier public parks you'll see.

The course is well maintained with very good signs (You can get a little lost at a few places on the course. Between 4 and 5 and between 9 and 10 come to mind). Most of the tees that are a moderate walk from the previous basket have an extra post along the way pointing you where to go. On top of that all the tees have concrete pads of decent length.

As for how it plays, this is a nice place to come out and practice your driver. Unless you throw 300+ feet consistently you're going to have a few holes where you throw your driver twice. Several others will present you with a healthy approach shot remaining for your second shot. It's not a wooded course (only 16 has enough trees to resemble a wooded hole), but there are enough tall trees to create obstacles to avoid off the tee. It's not open enough to simply let loose and throw as hard as you can; usually there are one or two trees you need to make sure to avoid before hitting the clear.
Cons: It's not a very difficult course. It's a good course for beginner or intermediate players, but it's very forgiving.

There's not much in the way of a memorable hole. The finale, 19, is over a pond. It's an easy distance to clear, but there are trees on the other side of where you'd probably like to land. An unfriendly bounce off of those could drop you back in the water.

As a multi-use park (baseball, football, walkers/bikers) you can run into people throughout the course. The baseball is sufficiently out of the way unless you really lose control of one and for the most part the walking paths aren't too in the way, but I played one time where youth football was everywhere and 2-3 of the holes were not playable.
Other Thoughts: This course will not force you to into tough shots. If you make a mistake it's on you for not hitting your line. Even then, you'll have a chance for a recovery on your second shot.

It's a pretty well designed course with good signs in a nice park. It's not especially memorable or difficult, but it's good at what it does. If you're in the area it's worth a minor detour to play. It's not a destination course or one I'd rate in the upper echelon of the state, but it's just below that.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 alright

5+    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of longer and shorter holes - Though you can certainly play this course all backhand or all forehand there are places where one is more natural considering the tree lines in the fairways - Pretty easy to navigate, good tee signs and cement tees.
Cons: Doesn't have any memorable shots - Most fairways are pretty much wide open - Very flat park - Multi-use park, often have to wait for people on the walking paths - Lacks difficulty.
Other Thoughts: Considering the land it is built on the course is alright but it simply is a boring park for a course. Good for intermediate level players looking to work on their drives.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Middle of the road

1    5/9/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety in terms of legnth. The course offers a few holes in the 400s a few in the 500s. The designers did a good job using the space to make the holes feel different. 15/16 are both well made holes offering some actual shot variety. The trees are made to make the longer holes harder than they really are as they tend to block the long hyzer throws. (There are plenty of opportunities to get a good rip in, the course is for the most part open if you can control your release)

The course if very well kept and the grass was under control.

The course plays very quickly. I got through all 19 following some competitive players in under 1:45.

19 is a marque hole built to play over the lake which really only plays on that hole unless you go very errant on one other.
Cons: While there is some variety the shorter holes are pretty easy birdies with a mediocre drive.

The course is in a high use park. The walkers never really interfered with my play except on 19. They however are still there and can create some safety issues to keep note of. My beef with the course design is that the designers used the nearby baseball fields as obstacles which if vacant offer a good risk reward but if they are in use make the risk of a runaway shot a bit problematic. (Its been a while since i've missed by over 50 yards but I also have no interest in hitting a 12 year old in the head with a large fast moving object). I'm just not a fan of using fields as go-arounds.

19 shoots half blind at a sidewalk across a lake (if they want to have this hole its the only way they can make it just keep in mind that dog walkers don't care that your landing position is where they are standing). I see why they put this hole in but it feels contrived as its the last hole on the course as 19 and the only truly unique hole on the course.
Other Thoughts: The course has a good offering in terms of hole type and length. I like 19 as a experienced player with a reliable 200ft drive. I feel that for an amateur it really just serves to eat discs. Which is funny because the rest of the course is very beginner friendly in that there are no real unrecoverable hazards.

Overall I felt this is a true middle of the road course. It was fun and offered some challenging shots but also was not unique or special.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.