Lombard, IL 
Madison Meadow Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / --   3 / 303ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Solid city park course

1    8/4/2016   8/6/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 131  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: The usual: concrete tee pads, signage including several next tee markers, and plenty of trees. Numerous holes had markers for varied distances- though those were grass tee areas.
Course was in a large city park where there were a lot of youth football teams practicing in the area well in front of the course. The course wound around various fields and through several other areas dedicated only to the disc golf.
While not a lot of elevation, there was enough variety in the holes to make it enjoyable. Baskets were positioned in a way to best utilize the trees to make there be thought to the shot.
Cons: Lot of walking from hole to hole. Potential to hit pedestrians on some of the walking paths.
Older silver baskets were tough to see (though I was playing late in the day.)
Other Thoughts: Was in Chicago for the week for work... played a few nine's, this was the first 18 and I really enjoyed it. Looked at the rating and some reviews and didn't expect much and was pleasantly surprised. If you like city park type courses, you'll love this one.

Mostly, Wide Open Course With Plenty Of Bomber Holes For You Big Arms!

1    6/23/2016   6/23/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
Pros: Madison Meadows is another large, beautiful park with lush green grass and scattered trees. The park has all the usual amenities you'll find in a large city park: BB courts, ball fields, tennis courts, picnic areas and a small pond in the middle of everything.

The course has a kiosk at the beginning with a minimal amount of information displayed on it. The large, concrete tee pads are surrounded by wood chips. They look rather nice. The tee signs are taller poles with hole #, par, distance and three different distances. There only seems to be pads for the longest Whites. I think there once were pads for the Reds and the Blues. They aren't around anymore. There are also some of these poles with next tee signs on them. They were a help with navigation. The baskets are an older model but catch fine.
There are a nice variety of distances here ranging from the low 200's to # 11's 575' which is wide open and fairly boring.

Most of the holes are lacking in challenge and creativity. The challenge comes solely from the distance. There just isn't much here to make them more interesting. The park is almost entire flat and there aren't enough trees to create any memorable holes.
Cons: Park is mostly flat. There aren't any holes that you'll remember or talk about after your round. The longer holes just throwing across a wide, open expanse of green grass grew old really quickly on me.
# 17's tee sign is missing.
With course being as open as it is, it probably really has suffered when mature trees had to be removed due to disease. That's a shame.
Other Thoughts: I guess the strong armed players will enjoy their experience here. My experience was just OK. I actually preferred the short course over at Lombard Commons. I just felt there was a little more creativity there.

Solid Open Lengthy Course

2-4    9/21/2015   9/22/2015
Review By: mierze
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, decent amount of trees to navigate around. Also sports a pond in the center of the park that comes into play on a few tee shots. I enjoyed the length of the park, most of the par 4's played short, but the par 5's tended to play very well like par 4's.
Cons: A slight bit to open and little to no elevation changes throughout the course. For what it is, it's great. If you like open courses with some solid distance, this would be the course for you.
Other Thoughts: The course par is certainly not for the advanced player, several par 4's under 300 feet and so on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wide, open spaces

1    7/12/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: kirkmanbrandon
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am surprised like many other recent reviewers that this course isn't a solid 3 to 3.5. It is a surprisingly nice and open course, well kept with a few interesting holes. It is a bit simple in the design but there are still quite a few good layouts for some interesting and challenging shots to keep the more experienced players enthralled. The more simplistic aspect of the course is great for taking newer players for a play through to get them more exposed to what a typical disc golf course is like.

The old willow trees combined with the well maintained field and lake area make for a very beautiful stroll through the park as you play
Cons: Since it is a part of a larger, populated park it is pretty heavily trafficked. Get ready to deal with a good bit of waiting if you go at a more busy time during the summer.

The design of the course is still a bit overly simplistic so it does start to feel repetitive at a few points but never feels too monotonous. Some of the holes are just a good amount of distance without giving you a challenging shot or layout.
Other Thoughts: A good, almost great, course not too far from Chicago that is well kept and amazing for a nice casual play through with good friends. Hoping this gets rated up to a solid 3 from future reviews.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not really a 3.5, but better than a 3

1    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 121  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is severely underrated on this site. It's the perfect course for players looking for a relaxing, but moderately challenging round. Lot's of opportunities here for distance throwers to bring out their drivers, but the holes here are far more than just baskets in a field, which is sometimes the case in the Chicago suburbs. Every hole has some kind of line to hit, making for a fun variety of shots.

The park is very scenic, playing in and out of moderately wooded park around a man-made lake. Takes up a good chunk of the park, so your drives aren't crisscrossing fairways all over the place.
Cons: Simply put, my rating of this course is too high. Madison meadow is pretty much smack dab between a 3 and a 3.5, but I decided to err on the high side.

*Flat
*Not isolated from the rest of the park (specifically, brings a ball diamond into play, which is lame)
*Poorly marked alternate tees (possibly imaginary)
*maintenance-wise, some of the baskets here aren't in great shape and the course could benefit from a few more "next tee" signs

This is by no means a world class course. There aren't any holes that are really amazing... Bad drives are not really punished. If you shank your drive, you can still probably throw it to the bucket on your second shot.
Other Thoughts: This course will not give you an intense round of disc golf. It is made for disc golfers who want to hang with their buddies and enjoy a relaxing round. And for that purpose it is perfect. I would not call this course a "destination course" and I certainly wouldn't plan a trip and excitedly wait to play this one, but for the weekend warrior or the guy who just got off of work, this is a dream come true.

If you are an in state-er reading this review, this course is comparable to Washington Park in Washington, IL or to a 19-hole version of Clark Park in Elk Grove.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun round!

1    5/13/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 133  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm surprised that no other trusted reviewers have rated this course higher than a 3.0 up until now. I thought that this definitely merits a 3.5 because it has a lot of variety in shot types, the park was very clean and maintained, and the course equipment (tees, signs, baskets) were in top-notch shape.

Playing here really was a lot of fun. #19 is a fantastic signature hole to end on!

Previous reviewers have noted that there wasn't a lot of thought in the design, but I thought that there were a ton of cool and interesting lines and shots required. Sure, some holes are the repetitive 325 open shot, but what course doesn't have those?
Cons: Biggest con = Lots of people. Both playing (causing us to have to wait) and walking (because the course plays over paths sometimes). But this makes sense because it's a great park that naturally draws a lot of people, especially on a beautiful day like the one I played.
Other Thoughts: Of the four courses I played in the area today, I would definitely consider this the "best course". It was a really great round to play and I would definitely recommend playing this course if you get the chance.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  ice patch

1    2/17/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: fireball42
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a nice well kept park with parking close to the first tee.has a practice tee and a 19th hole over the pond as well.

some good variety of length a few tunnel shots and a few hyzers as well.
Cons: several hazards including baseball field, busy streets, pond, a few backyards with very clear no trespassing signs and pedestrians. They are generally avoidable though unless your shot is very wacky.

some fairways play very close to each other and errant discs could be a hazard to players. ( a buzzz landed about 10 ft away from me at one point)
Other Thoughts: i went here in february, and although there was no snow, a very large ice patch had settled on the left side of the fairway of hole 3. normally i would just avoid the hazard by playing to the right, but to the right was the pond. there was only 15 or 20 ft or so between hazards. my GF threw out onto the frozen puddle and luckily the disc was retrievable. definitely a little scary for a new player like me. It is not really a Con as im sure that puddle is not frozen 9 months out of the year but they should still salt it down or something.

overall not a bad course but nothing special either.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of park

1    12/16/2012   12/16/2012
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 25.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of space in a multi-use park. Good mix of short and long holes. Very nice driving alleys on several holes. Longer, two shot holes had some obstacles that made placement of drive important. 300-400 foot shots had good variety from the white tees. Short holes had nice obstacles and good use of low hanging limbs.
Cons: Tees are a bit short on some of the longer holes. Can't control it, but the goose droppings were so numerous that it built up on shoes and caused poor footing on the concrete tees.
Other Thoughts: Play it if you are in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just Average

5+    6/2/2015   8/31/2012
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 88  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~ Length Variety, unlike many other local courses that stick around 250', there are a number of holes that allow you to stretch out your arm

~ Park is clean and well maintained (Apart from some inconsiderate golfers leaving beverage cans by some tees)

~ Enough "different" holes to keep things interesting and allow for trying various lines.
Cons: ~ Like most other Illinois courses it is completely flat

~ Most holes are wide open and don't force any line shaping.

~ Depending on the time of day you go to the park, pretty much all of the first 4 holes may have other park visitors on the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Without the old Central Park course in Oakbrook to contrast the generally wide open nature of this course, it can get pretty boring after many play-throughs. There is almost no forced line-shaping, which can be both good and bad: no technical shots, but I have played through playing the entire course driving forehand and backhand which is nice to work on shots.

Update:
Just played for the first time since the large removal of diseased trees. A number of holes have suffered quite a bit, including 7, 9, 11 (almost all trees gone), 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16. This was never a course to really make you work on shaping lines, but is now even more open. There are still enough holes with enough trees to worry about that rounds aren't really that boring, and I still had a lot of fun at the doubles league.

There is also talk of course improvement in the not so distant future. Some new trees have already been planted (notable on hole 6) and hopefully that trend continues and the course can be brought back better than it was before.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for the Area

5+    8/27/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: DonCasper
Played: 63  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -20 Holes in a land of 9 holers
-Distance Variety
-Shot Variety
-Water comes into play a few times
-Shots require thought
Cons: -Park is frequently crowded
-Not a ton of variety in holes.
-The longer throws always seem like a drag because they are all low shots.
Other Thoughts: After playing this course about 25 times this summer, many of the holes on this course still make me think. This is a hallmark of good course design. The biggest problem with the park is that it is used for everything. I've had a number of bad run-ins with other park-goers, specifically the parents of the cheerleader kids after asking the parents to move off the fairway of 2 several times.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.