Lombard, IL 
Madison Meadow Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
5 / --   5 / 450ft.   4 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Meadowy Mediocrity

1    2/5/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Madison Meadows disc golf course is part of a multi-purpose park. Mostly flat, grassy, and open, with scattered trees, the 19 hole course winds its way around busy walking paths, baseball diamonds, football fields, and a small pond. Water comes into play on a couple of holes, with one fair-sized (approximately 210') water carry on hole 19.
- While no part of the course could be considered "wooded," there's enough variety in tree size and type to help this flat and grassy course keep your attention and provide some challenge. #15's fairway has several short scrubby trees that come into play nicely, with route options available, each with their own risk/reward. #16's fairway is a pseudo-tunnel shot through the tree trunks (and while not a true tunnel shot, it's as close as you'll get on a course of this nature).
- A good mix of distances. Everything from shorter ace runs to a couple of 500'+ holes allow big and small arms alike a chance at a solid round.
- Concrete white tees, descriptive signage, and grass/natural blue tees (marked by blue nubs) on some holes.
Cons: - Goose excrement on many holes. While far from the worst I've seen on a course, playing on and/or around crap of any kind is never my idea of fun.
- The course seems to hold a lot of water during rain or after snow melts. Muddy/wet conditions in places detract from the experience but don't necessarily render the course unplayable.
- In some areas, other park activities (football, baseball, walking paths) interfer with discing and could pose a safety hazard.
Other Thoughts: - While the designers certainly did a decent job working with the terrain and trees they were given, the flatness and repetitive nature of the course detracted a bit from the overall vibe. Nothing you'd want to avoid, but not necessarily anything you'd go out of your way for, either.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Turkey Day Throw

2-4    11/24/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: earth2sean
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of hole length is a nice feature of this course. For a newb like me, this allows for a good variety of distances to both instill confidence as well as sober myself. The tee boxes are concrete and the signage is more than adequate, often times for holes where the next tee is some distance from the last hole, there are posts along the way that point the way to the next hole.
Cons: The park is multi-purpose, so there is some dodging to do. There is a path that weaves throughout the course, as well as multiple ball fields along the way. Annoyingly, today there were pickup games of football that, rather than utilizing existing fields, were taking up course space and blocking access to the tees. Very frustrating.

It was also pretty moist around holes 7-12, which didn't really bother me, but with the wrong footwear, socks might get a little soggy.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great course for a new player like myself, who can really have some fun without worrying about constantly tree-ing my discs. I could see how the lack of shot variety might bore some more advanced players, but I don't see myself getting bored of this course anytime soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Heavy traffic practice field with baskets

5+    10/10/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 386  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Tees
-Practice Basket
-Well maintained
-Some length (by comparison)
-Decent Signage

This a decent 19 hole course with that offer a little bit of length compared to many courses in the area. Baskets, Signs, and Teepads are well maintained. There are holes with multiple tee locations (although grass), that offers up some change (generally shorter).

There are a few trees on most holes which offer some sort of obstacles, however, they are easy to avoid. This makes this course a good place to work on multiple lines at a course. I have gone to this course and only throw backhands, forehands, rollers, or tommies for my drives and be able to work on different things without it effecting my overall score dramatically.
Cons: -Multiple use overlapping course
-All baskets are straight on
-Lack of garbage cans for space
-Layout could be confusing for first timer

This park is huge. They spread the course across majority of the park. Normally this would be a great thing. Unfortunately, the course comes into play with a hockey court, numerous baseball fields, football practice, soccer practices, an ice rink in the winter, a playground, and the walking path on a bunch of the holes. The walking path does make for a good option to use as "on or over is out of bounds", however, the average REC player does not play that way. On most rounds here, I spend 10-15 minutes waiting for joggers, strollers, and dog walkers to get out of range just in case. I am not the stronger player, however, I am a decent control player and will take the extra stroke on a REC round over forcing it. With the course being mostly open, the wind is a major factor. I have heard of a few people being hit by discs here so being super courteous is the way to go. Baskets were pulled here for a while due to a disc incident.

There is a lack of garbage cans throughout the course. I usually pick up an entire bag of garbage when I play a round here. With the amount of activities at this park, you would think the garbage cans would be more accessible. Have to walk to throw sometime away leads to a lot of litter.

This course also has my number one pet peeve. All baskets are pretty much straight away. You can walk onto any tee and look straight and find the basket. There are slight left or right positions but nothing requires a true anhyzer or hyzer line. I understand with the course been mostly open that it is harder to force these lines, but there are opportunities. The best they do is put a couple baskets behind the trees.
Other Thoughts: I do not particularly find this course fun to play. It is not a terrible course, don't get me wrong, it is just nothing special. It just get boring pretty quickly. It is a good place to try different lines. It is a reason to have to carry drivers in your bag. But no where near a destination course. I think if my friends that I play with didn't live so close, I probably would almost never end up at this course. Other than holes 15 and 19, the only variety is how long the holes are and where the tree you need to avoid is.

I am giving this course a 2.5 (decent/typical). That is what sums it up best. If they moved some baskets around to add some challenges with lines, I could see bumping the course up to a 3.0. They need to add a better variety of shots. Also bringing the retention pond into play some more would add to the value as well. All and all, it's decent. I just wouldn't want someone from another park district coming here to see what they should set up their course like. It would lead to more bad courses in the Chicagoland area. If you're local, it's worth playing. If you are from out of town, I would skip it. There are better options South and West of here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A pretty lame course

5+    6/6/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: phildafunk1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It has length and a few decent holes
Cons: Little originality It also stays wet for a very long time after the rain has stopped. There is a large field you walk through that just splashes mudwater on you for many days after a decent rain, no matter how much sun. It's not that fun and it's a tiring course.
Other Thoughts: There is some potential, but I find it largely a waste of time. My friends kind of like it, cool if you live close I guess, but I'm over 30 mins away

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Straight Away

1    5/31/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful, clean park. 19 playable holes. Good tee signs and next tee indicators. All baskets present and in good condition. Good clean tee pads of sufficient size. Ample parking. Flow from basket to tee is easy to figure out. A few signs where needed to point the way. Walk between basket and tee is a bit far on some, but do not complain about walking if you are out playing DG. Park crowd was light on a weekday in the middle of the day. On a weekend and in the summer I am sure there is some crossover and interference with others playing other games.
Cons: No benches at any of the tees. Not a single garbage can anywhere on the course. Kudos to the locals as there is ZERO trash here. Holes are totally devoid of any inspiration. Zero thought was put into where baskets are placed. All holes are just point and shoot. All holes play straight away. Holes are well laid out through this park so as to offer a good mid length course, but with a little thought as to basket placement this could be a MUCH better course. Normally a nice 18 hole course in a nice neighborhood park would earn a 4... but basket placement cost this one a point and a half. Tee signs show alt tee pads... but I did not see a single one anywhere on the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall very playable, very fun, mid length. I could see this become a MUCH better course with just a bit of creative basket placement and at the same time some variation in hole length. I would gladly see 6 of the 18 holes get shorter if the trade off was that they got more interesting/challenging with some hyzer and some annie placements. The sweet spot on this course is 14, 15, 16, 17 where the trees are finally used to some interesting impact on play. 6 could also be great if the basket was moved up and moved over for either a great hyzer or an annie as well.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Multi-use Hell

5+    2/28/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 137  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Madison Meadows is an 19-hole course with some nice driving holes surrounded by a sea of 9-hole pitch and putts, so when you are in the area it ranks fairly high on the list of disc golf options in Chicago. It uses a variety of distances to distinguish the holes, so you have to mix up your shot selection off the tee. The course has concrete tee pads (reds) and longer natural tees (blues) that are fairly easy to find. The course has good signage; there are tee signs with hole maps and distances, and there are signs directing you to the next tee on the holes with long walks between them that help with navigation. There is a lake in the park that can come into play on #3 and #19.
Cons: This course is guilty of my # 1 course design pet peeve in that they have crammed a disc golf course in a heavily used park where it does not fit. A number of the holes run up along baseball fields, football fields, walking paths and roads where errant shots create safety issues for other park users. In several spots like #8-#9 and #4-#12 the holes are too close together, creating a safety issue with other disc golfers. You really have to keep it in the fairway at this course, which is easier said than done because from a disc golf perspective there is no penalty for being out of the fairway. The course is flat and lightly wooded, so you can pretty much take any route to the hole that you want. The course encourages players to disc up and throw for distance, which are exactly the shots that are most likely to fly off course and create problems with other park users. The combination of these two factor makes Madison Meadows a problem waiting to happen.
Other Thoughts: Shot for shot, Madison Meadows is probably a better course than I have rated it. If you get out early in the morning or on a weekday, it can be a fun round with chances to air out a few drives. However, when the park is crowded the course simply creates too many conflicts with other park uses for me to recommend it to others.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    9/23/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a very large park that makes great use of the available terrain. Most of the holes are more or less open, but there a few tricky ones as well.
- Majority of the holes use a wide range of trees, from large pines to small saplings to force a variety of lines. For the most part, a straight shot is the best option, though there are a few tricky shots here and there. #5 has large pines that protect the basket from the right, and #1 is a short but sharp dogleg left.
- Other holes use a denser forest to make tough lines. There is a small forested area in play on some later holes, like #15 and #16. #15 has a tree-filled fairway, going over is the best option. #16 is a small tunnel shot, plenty of pinball potential.
- A small pond is in play on a couple holes, like #2, #13, and the water side of #19. It is close enough to the fairway to alter a typical line, which is nice to have.
- A wide range of hole lengths, from very short to very long are present at this course. Between the varying hole lengths, the different kind of trees, and some water, there are a lot of different shots.
- Some minor elevation changes on #17 and #18, going up and down a smaller slope. Compared to the rest of the course, it is very noticeable, but nothing too crazy.
- Good baskets, teepads, and signage. Easy to navigate and find everything, with the exception of #19 perhaps.
Cons: - Number one problem with this course is the number of non-disc golf activities that go on. There are football fields, baseball fields, walking paths, gazebos, and even some roads at the edges. Normally, the walking path is the only thing to look out for, but the other things are a big distraction and could potentially be in the way.
- This course is as flat as they come, with only a couple holes with any slope what-so-ever. Add in the fact that there is zero rough, and it really is a very beginner-friendly course without much challenge. I think for most people the only issue is some of the hole lengths, or the odd tree here and there.
Other Thoughts: - Like I said, a very beginner friendly course that will offer almost no challenge to a seasoned player. There are a few tougher holes, like #5 and #11, but the majority are pretty brainless. A great place for a relaxing round, or to bring some newer players to. That said, it is not just a wide open field, there are plenty of scattered trees to give each hole some individual character, as well as some water.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/26/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: ChiBlender36
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good variety of hole lengths for a chicagoland course
- A good amount of straight tunnel/low ceiling shots
- Provides one with good work on their line shaping of tee shots
- Lots of ace opportunities
- Multiple lines on most holes
- Almost every basket is well placed around the limited amount of trees on the course
- You can air it out on some holes and have some fun
- Nice tee pads, great signage (shows alt tees/distances, & points direction to next tee), & adequate baskets
Cons: - Fairly straightforward and deuceable holes, with the exception of a few that require giant tee shots
- Without wind, course can play pretty easy
- Course can have issues with rain and flooding
Other Thoughts: Good course to go out and have some fun. With ace opportunities and chances to air it out, a solid course in the chicagoland area. Wind often makes the course much more challenging as it's so wide open. I've been playing this course for 8+ years and grew up on it, really helped me tone my game and work on all kinds of different shots. Good course in a well populated area that gets crowded on the weekends, but not a problem as the course usually flows very nicely.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great starter course

5+    1/1/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Madison Meadows disc golf course is situated in a large open park off of Westmore-Myers and Madison - just a few blocks from the Lombard Commons disc golf course. While it is pretty wide open and flat, the course utilizes tree cover fairly well to create holes which both work the basics of the disc golf shot and offer up multiple routes to many of the pins.

Challenge - The course is probably serves up its best challenge to low to mid-level amateur players who throw between 300-400 feet and are still developing some of the basic disc golf shots (long turnovers, sidearm, overhand shots, rollers). For players that have already mastered the basics, this course is going to be a birdie fest mixed in with a couple of pars when putts are missed - it just isn't all that technical off the tee and only a few holes have enough distance to let the big arms take advantage.

Longer arms should look around for the blue dots which indicate where the Pro tees are. Myself and several others laid out most of these many years ago but I feel they still greatly enhance the course in terms of adding both distance and technicality.

Navigation - Where they haven't been vandalized by other park users (football/baseball) or others, the signs are pretty helpful and there aren't any huge leaps you need to take when navigating this course. Do remember that there are now 19 holes!

Maintenance - The parks department seems to take very good care of this park. The pond is looking better and better each time I come back and the grass is almost always mowed nicely.

Other park amenities - The park has lots of other stuff going on if you aren't wanting a whole day of disc golf or if you have brought a child along. There is a nice playground on the East side of the park, just okay tennis courts, football and baseball fields, and a small inline skate hockey setup right by hole one. In addition, you can fish for panfish, bullhead, and some small bass in the small pond near holes 3 and 19 - its quantity over quality, but the times I've done it, its still been enjoyable.
Cons: Risk/Reward - There aren't any holes which I can think of which have true "risks" to going for big shots, you will rarely find yourself punished for missing a line OTHER than having a longer approach shot for par. Unfortunately, there really isn't much potential to create this type of feature in this park because of the absence of any usable punishing features (brush, OB, water, etc.).

Challenge - Advanced to Pro golfers aren't going to find much here to get too excited about.

Mud/Drainage - I would almost go as far as to say avoid this course completely in the winter and spring because the drainage is terrible. Hole 1 is usually a good indicator of what is to come as there is often a 20' diameter ring of mud around the whole cement tee. The back holes often dry out first, but usually the Meadows aka "the swamp" is just that in the winter.

Other park users - This is suburban Chicago so you will find the usual assortment of cranky old folks, over-entitled teens, and ultra-aggressive football folks along with a smattering of friendly onlookers as well. The Lombard Falcons club specifically have created a lot of problems in this park by destroying most of the field areas, leaving tons of trash, and generally attempting to blockade against any other uses of the park. Yes, I'm a little bitter : ) but this group has in the past gone out of their way to make other park users feel uncomfortable so it is something to be aware of when visiting this park.
Other Thoughts: Overall: Having grown up with this park in my first years of golf was really a blessing. While not super challenging, it is one of the best parks I can think of for learning how to throw a variety of shots as a beginner.

Fun facts: Madison Meadows and the Lombard Commons are also both old home courses of the famous pink-haired Scott Papa, aka Dr. Disc, and PDGA #008 Steve Matul.

If you are looking to buy discs while you are in town, there is a shop adjacent to the 7-11 in "downtown" Lombard (St. Charles & Main) which have really nice folks and some rare old and collector discs often still on the shelves. The prices are sometimes a little steep but if you want to find some old Discraft or Millenium, it's worth a stop.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/5/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Madison Meadow is a decent course that, despite it's flaws, is an enjoyable place to play for a wide variety of players.

This course has a good variety of shots, and multiple tees on almost every hole, so even experienced players will be able to find challenge here. There's no elevation whatsoever, but there is a suprising amount of distance. Trees provide obstacles for almost every shot so a decent amount of line shaping is required on many holes.

I don't know if this course has a signature hole, but #19 gives you the option to throw a 625ft bomb with a small patch of trees blocking the straight path to the basket. Or an alternate tee/basket location exists where you throw directly over the pond. This is essentially an entirely different hole, but it's labeled #19, so if you want you could make this a 20-hole course. In order to do this, back track from the #19 basket toward the walking path along the pond. The tee is right off the path a few feet from the edge of the pond.

Recently (in the past year), the park has done a really good job putting in new tee pads, and some very nice signs. For a multi-use suburban park, it's good to see the effort being put into this course.

The course flow is a little weird in a few sections, but 'next tee' signs exist almost everywhere there is any ambiguity (except from #1 to #2... you have to turn left and go about 50 yards towards the baseball field for the tee pad)
Cons: This place defines "multi-use" park. If you play during the day on a week day, or during low-traffic times, you should be fine, but during the summer/fall, there are usually people everywhere. The walking path around the pond comes into play on a couple holes (namely #3 where the path is basically in the fairway). The town's youth football/cheerleading teams use this place to practice in the late summer and fall, so if you come while this is going on, count on having to skip at least 3 or 4 holes.

While there is a good amount of shot variety here, this course just seems kind of boring. You won't leave here saying "I remember hole x and y, those were awesome shots," Maybe with the exception of the two #19's which are pretty unique.

It's hard for me to criticize the new teepads, because I'm sure a lot of time and effort went into installing them, but those things are too small. You can get a two step run up, maybe, on them, but that's it. On some of the longer shots, you'll probably have to start from three or four steps behind the pad if you take a big run up.
Other Thoughts: Madison Meadows is worth checking out. It's the only course in the area with 18 holes, and there's enough challenge and variety for a wide range of skill sets. They take good care of this place, and it's a nice park overall from a visual standpoint,

From Westmore-Meyers, go west on Madison until you see the parking lot on your left. The first tee is next to the tennis courts.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.