Lombard, IL 
Madison Meadow Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
4 / --   4 / 285ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Good length in a nice park

2-4    7/15/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 88  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, the course is in a big park with lots of healthy, mature trees. It's one of the prettier public parks you'll see.

The course is well maintained with very good signs (You can get a little lost at a few places on the course. Between 4 and 5 and between 9 and 10 come to mind). Most of the tees that are a moderate walk from the previous basket have an extra post along the way pointing you where to go. On top of that all the tees have concrete pads of decent length.

As for how it plays, this is a nice place to come out and practice your driver. Unless you throw 300+ feet consistently you're going to have a few holes where you throw your driver twice. Several others will present you with a healthy approach shot remaining for your second shot. It's not a wooded course (only 16 has enough trees to resemble a wooded hole), but there are enough tall trees to create obstacles to avoid off the tee. It's not open enough to simply let loose and throw as hard as you can; usually there are one or two trees you need to make sure to avoid before hitting the clear.
Cons: It's not a very difficult course. It's a good course for beginner or intermediate players, but it's very forgiving.

There's not much in the way of a memorable hole. The finale, 19, is over a pond. It's an easy distance to clear, but there are trees on the other side of where you'd probably like to land. An unfriendly bounce off of those could drop you back in the water.

As a multi-use park (baseball, football, walkers/bikers) you can run into people throughout the course. The baseball is sufficiently out of the way unless you really lose control of one and for the most part the walking paths aren't too in the way, but I played one time where youth football was everywhere and 2-3 of the holes were not playable.
Other Thoughts: This course will not force you to into tough shots. If you make a mistake it's on you for not hitting your line. Even then, you'll have a chance for a recovery on your second shot.

It's a pretty well designed course with good signs in a nice park. It's not especially memorable or difficult, but it's good at what it does. If you're in the area it's worth a minor detour to play. It's not a destination course or one I'd rate in the upper echelon of the state, but it's just below that.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 alright

5+    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of longer and shorter holes - Though you can certainly play this course all backhand or all forehand there are places where one is more natural considering the tree lines in the fairways - Pretty easy to navigate, good tee signs and cement tees.
Cons: Doesn't have any memorable shots - Most fairways are pretty much wide open - Very flat park - Multi-use park, often have to wait for people on the walking paths - Lacks difficulty.
Other Thoughts: Considering the land it is built on the course is alright but it simply is a boring park for a course. Good for intermediate level players looking to work on their drives.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Middle of the road

1    5/9/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety in terms of legnth. The course offers a few holes in the 400s a few in the 500s. The designers did a good job using the space to make the holes feel different. 15/16 are both well made holes offering some actual shot variety. The trees are made to make the longer holes harder than they really are as they tend to block the long hyzer throws. (There are plenty of opportunities to get a good rip in, the course is for the most part open if you can control your release)

The course if very well kept and the grass was under control.

The course plays very quickly. I got through all 19 following some competitive players in under 1:45.

19 is a marque hole built to play over the lake which really only plays on that hole unless you go very errant on one other.
Cons: While there is some variety the shorter holes are pretty easy birdies with a mediocre drive.

The course is in a high use park. The walkers never really interfered with my play except on 19. They however are still there and can create some safety issues to keep note of. My beef with the course design is that the designers used the nearby baseball fields as obstacles which if vacant offer a good risk reward but if they are in use make the risk of a runaway shot a bit problematic. (Its been a while since i've missed by over 50 yards but I also have no interest in hitting a 12 year old in the head with a large fast moving object). I'm just not a fan of using fields as go-arounds.

19 shoots half blind at a sidewalk across a lake (if they want to have this hole its the only way they can make it just keep in mind that dog walkers don't care that your landing position is where they are standing). I see why they put this hole in but it feels contrived as its the last hole on the course as 19 and the only truly unique hole on the course.
Other Thoughts: The course has a good offering in terms of hole type and length. I like 19 as a experienced player with a reliable 200ft drive. I feel that for an amateur it really just serves to eat discs. Which is funny because the rest of the course is very beginner friendly in that there are no real unrecoverable hazards.

Overall I felt this is a true middle of the road course. It was fun and offered some challenging shots but also was not unique or special.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Meadowy Mediocrity

1    2/5/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 213  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 7 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Madison Meadows disc golf course is part of a multi-purpose park. Mostly flat, grassy, and open, with scattered trees, the 19 hole course winds its way around busy walking paths, baseball diamonds, football fields, and a small pond. Water comes into play on a couple of holes, with one fair-sized (approximately 210') water carry on hole 19.
- While no part of the course could be considered "wooded," there's enough variety in tree size and type to help this flat and grassy course keep your attention and provide some challenge. #15's fairway has several short scrubby trees that come into play nicely, with route options available, each with their own risk/reward. #16's fairway is a pseudo-tunnel shot through the tree trunks (and while not a true tunnel shot, it's as close as you'll get on a course of this nature).
- A good mix of distances. Everything from shorter ace runs to a couple of 500'+ holes allow big and small arms alike a chance at a solid round.
- Concrete white tees, descriptive signage, and grass/natural blue tees (marked by blue nubs) on some holes.
Cons: - Goose excrement on many holes. While far from the worst I've seen on a course, playing on and/or around crap of any kind is never my idea of fun.
- The course seems to hold a lot of water during rain or after snow melts. Muddy/wet conditions in places detract from the experience but don't necessarily render the course unplayable.
- In some areas, other park activities (football, baseball, walking paths) interfer with discing and could pose a safety hazard.
Other Thoughts: - While the designers certainly did a decent job working with the terrain and trees they were given, the flatness and repetitive nature of the course detracted a bit from the overall vibe. Nothing you'd want to avoid, but not necessarily anything you'd go out of your way for, either.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Turkey Day Throw

2-4    11/24/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: earth2sean
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of hole length is a nice feature of this course. For a newb like me, this allows for a good variety of distances to both instill confidence as well as sober myself. The tee boxes are concrete and the signage is more than adequate, often times for holes where the next tee is some distance from the last hole, there are posts along the way that point the way to the next hole.
Cons: The park is multi-purpose, so there is some dodging to do. There is a path that weaves throughout the course, as well as multiple ball fields along the way. Annoyingly, today there were pickup games of football that, rather than utilizing existing fields, were taking up course space and blocking access to the tees. Very frustrating.

It was also pretty moist around holes 7-12, which didn't really bother me, but with the wrong footwear, socks might get a little soggy.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great course for a new player like myself, who can really have some fun without worrying about constantly tree-ing my discs. I could see how the lack of shot variety might bore some more advanced players, but I don't see myself getting bored of this course anytime soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Heavy traffic practice field with baskets

5+    10/10/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 405  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Tees
-Practice Basket
-Well maintained
-Some length (by comparison)
-Decent Signage

This a decent 19 hole course with that offer a little bit of length compared to many courses in the area. Baskets, Signs, and Teepads are well maintained. There are holes with multiple tee locations (although grass), that offers up some change (generally shorter).

There are a few trees on most holes which offer some sort of obstacles, however, they are easy to avoid. This makes this course a good place to work on multiple lines at a course. I have gone to this course and only throw backhands, forehands, rollers, or tommies for my drives and be able to work on different things without it effecting my overall score dramatically.
Cons: -Multiple use overlapping course
-All baskets are straight on
-Lack of garbage cans for space
-Layout could be confusing for first timer

This park is huge. They spread the course across majority of the park. Normally this would be a great thing. Unfortunately, the course comes into play with a hockey court, numerous baseball fields, football practice, soccer practices, an ice rink in the winter, a playground, and the walking path on a bunch of the holes. The walking path does make for a good option to use as "on or over is out of bounds", however, the average REC player does not play that way. On most rounds here, I spend 10-15 minutes waiting for joggers, strollers, and dog walkers to get out of range just in case. I am not the stronger player, however, I am a decent control player and will take the extra stroke on a REC round over forcing it. With the course being mostly open, the wind is a major factor. I have heard of a few people being hit by discs here so being super courteous is the way to go. Baskets were pulled here for a while due to a disc incident.

There is a lack of garbage cans throughout the course. I usually pick up an entire bag of garbage when I play a round here. With the amount of activities at this park, you would think the garbage cans would be more accessible. Have to walk to throw sometime away leads to a lot of litter.

This course also has my number one pet peeve. All baskets are pretty much straight away. You can walk onto any tee and look straight and find the basket. There are slight left or right positions but nothing requires a true anhyzer or hyzer line. I understand with the course been mostly open that it is harder to force these lines, but there are opportunities. The best they do is put a couple baskets behind the trees.
Other Thoughts: I do not particularly find this course fun to play. It is not a terrible course, don't get me wrong, it is just nothing special. It just get boring pretty quickly. It is a good place to try different lines. It is a reason to have to carry drivers in your bag. But no where near a destination course. I think if my friends that I play with didn't live so close, I probably would almost never end up at this course. Other than holes 15 and 19, the only variety is how long the holes are and where the tree you need to avoid is.

I am giving this course a 2.5 (decent/typical). That is what sums it up best. If they moved some baskets around to add some challenges with lines, I could see bumping the course up to a 3.0. They need to add a better variety of shots. Also bringing the retention pond into play some more would add to the value as well. All and all, it's decent. I just wouldn't want someone from another park district coming here to see what they should set up their course like. It would lead to more bad courses in the Chicagoland area. If you're local, it's worth playing. If you are from out of town, I would skip it. There are better options South and West of here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A pretty lame course

5+    6/6/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: phildafunk1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It has length and a few decent holes
Cons: Little originality It also stays wet for a very long time after the rain has stopped. There is a large field you walk through that just splashes mudwater on you for many days after a decent rain, no matter how much sun. It's not that fun and it's a tiring course.
Other Thoughts: There is some potential, but I find it largely a waste of time. My friends kind of like it, cool if you live close I guess, but I'm over 30 mins away

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Straight Away

1    5/31/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful, clean park. 19 playable holes. Good tee signs and next tee indicators. All baskets present and in good condition. Good clean tee pads of sufficient size. Ample parking. Flow from basket to tee is easy to figure out. A few signs where needed to point the way. Walk between basket and tee is a bit far on some, but do not complain about walking if you are out playing DG. Park crowd was light on a weekday in the middle of the day. On a weekend and in the summer I am sure there is some crossover and interference with others playing other games.
Cons: No benches at any of the tees. Not a single garbage can anywhere on the course. Kudos to the locals as there is ZERO trash here. Holes are totally devoid of any inspiration. Zero thought was put into where baskets are placed. All holes are just point and shoot. All holes play straight away. Holes are well laid out through this park so as to offer a good mid length course, but with a little thought as to basket placement this could be a MUCH better course. Normally a nice 18 hole course in a nice neighborhood park would earn a 4... but basket placement cost this one a point and a half. Tee signs show alt tee pads... but I did not see a single one anywhere on the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall very playable, very fun, mid length. I could see this become a MUCH better course with just a bit of creative basket placement and at the same time some variation in hole length. I would gladly see 6 of the 18 holes get shorter if the trade off was that they got more interesting/challenging with some hyzer and some annie placements. The sweet spot on this course is 14, 15, 16, 17 where the trees are finally used to some interesting impact on play. 6 could also be great if the basket was moved up and moved over for either a great hyzer or an annie as well.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Multi-use Hell

5+    2/28/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 131  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 21.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Madison Meadows is an 19-hole course with some nice driving holes surrounded by a sea of 9-hole pitch and putts, so when you are in the area it ranks fairly high on the list of disc golf options in Chicago. It uses a variety of distances to distinguish the holes, so you have to mix up your shot selection off the tee. The course has concrete tee pads (reds) and longer natural tees (blues) that are fairly easy to find. The course has good signage; there are tee signs with hole maps and distances, and there are signs directing you to the next tee on the holes with long walks between them that help with navigation. There is a lake in the park that can come into play on #3 and #19.
Cons: This course is guilty of my # 1 course design pet peeve in that they have crammed a disc golf course in a heavily used park where it does not fit. A number of the holes run up along baseball fields, football fields, walking paths and roads where errant shots create safety issues for other park users. In several spots like #8-#9 and #4-#12 the holes are too close together, creating a safety issue with other disc golfers. You really have to keep it in the fairway at this course, which is easier said than done because from a disc golf perspective there is no penalty for being out of the fairway. The course is flat and lightly wooded, so you can pretty much take any route to the hole that you want. The course encourages players to disc up and throw for distance, which are exactly the shots that are most likely to fly off course and create problems with other park users. The combination of these two factor makes Madison Meadows a problem waiting to happen.
Other Thoughts: Shot for shot, Madison Meadows is probably a better course than I have rated it. If you get out early in the morning or on a weekday, it can be a fun round with chances to air out a few drives. However, when the park is crowded the course simply creates too many conflicts with other park uses for me to recommend it to others.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    9/23/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 460  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a very large park that makes great use of the available terrain. Most of the holes are more or less open, but there a few tricky ones as well.
- Majority of the holes use a wide range of trees, from large pines to small saplings to force a variety of lines. For the most part, a straight shot is the best option, though there are a few tricky shots here and there. #5 has large pines that protect the basket from the right, and #1 is a short but sharp dogleg left.
- Other holes use a denser forest to make tough lines. There is a small forested area in play on some later holes, like #15 and #16. #15 has a tree-filled fairway, going over is the best option. #16 is a small tunnel shot, plenty of pinball potential.
- A small pond is in play on a couple holes, like #2, #13, and the water side of #19. It is close enough to the fairway to alter a typical line, which is nice to have.
- A wide range of hole lengths, from very short to very long are present at this course. Between the varying hole lengths, the different kind of trees, and some water, there are a lot of different shots.
- Some minor elevation changes on #17 and #18, going up and down a smaller slope. Compared to the rest of the course, it is very noticeable, but nothing too crazy.
- Good baskets, teepads, and signage. Easy to navigate and find everything, with the exception of #19 perhaps.
Cons: - Number one problem with this course is the number of non-disc golf activities that go on. There are football fields, baseball fields, walking paths, gazebos, and even some roads at the edges. Normally, the walking path is the only thing to look out for, but the other things are a big distraction and could potentially be in the way.
- This course is as flat as they come, with only a couple holes with any slope what-so-ever. Add in the fact that there is zero rough, and it really is a very beginner-friendly course without much challenge. I think for most people the only issue is some of the hole lengths, or the odd tree here and there.
Other Thoughts: - Like I said, a very beginner friendly course that will offer almost no challenge to a seasoned player. There are a few tougher holes, like #5 and #11, but the majority are pretty brainless. A great place for a relaxing round, or to bring some newer players to. That said, it is not just a wide open field, there are plenty of scattered trees to give each hole some individual character, as well as some water.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.