Lombard, IL 
Madison Meadow Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #4
4 / --   4 / 305ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 

5+    8/25/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads.
-Good amount of variety in holes.
-The pound is a nice addition and makes a few holes more challenging.
-Nice long holes and short hole balance.
-Beautiful park.
-Last handful of holes are my favorite they are very unique with one where you throw over all these trees with a hyzer bomb and some holes in the woods which are very technical. Mature beautiful Oak trees as well on the last few holes.
-Pond comes into play on Hole #3 and Hole #19
-Flows good every hole feels pretty fresh compared to the last
-Not too crowded and even with a good amount of Disc Golfers the park is big enough to handle the traffic unlike a lot of the other courses crammed into parks around here.
-You can let lose some drives and you don't feel restricted
-Hole #7 I believe is the longest hole at the course with a good amount of trees in the fairway but not too many and is a a favorite of mine
-Water fountain that you pass after the first Hole on the way to the 2nd.
-19 holes = better than 9
-Park is clean and grass freshly cut
-Baskets all in good condition
-All the signs have been replaced Spring 2010. There are no longer missing signs and no longer are they vandalized.
-Mulch around the tees and baskets is a nice touch
-Practice Basket by the parking lot.
Cons: -Irrigation problems, don't plan on playing for a few days until after it rains.
-I would imagine new players to this course would have a tough time navigating it without a local. My first time out here I missed 2 Hole's and had to look pretty hard the 2nd time out to figure them out.
-Some holes play too close to other park activities and roads
-Addition of more garbage cans would be appreciated
-This course is not tucked away in a park like I prefer, instead other park users often interfere. The walking paths come into play and you have to wait for people to get out of your way.
Other Thoughts: Closest 18 hole course in Chicago. One of the better courses in Chicago. Check out the Oak Brook Central Park course it's even better than this course but only has 9 baskets.

This course has been recently improved Spring 2010 with the replacement of the old tee signs with new, and better wooden ones. These new tee signs are on all 18 holes and feature the hole number, par, distance, and a little map of the hole. Someone has also added mulch around the tee pads and around the baskets which is great!

July 13th, 2010: Practice basket has been added which is awesome!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 19 Hole Course.

2-4    8/9/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 35  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Provides some shot variety, but not much line shaping.

A nice, big park with 19 holes and a fair amount of distance on most holes.

Decent tee signs, tee pads were good, and baskets were fine.

Nice to be able to throw some decently long drives on a course in the area.
Cons: Flat course without many obstacles or punishment for bad shots.

Nice to have a 19 hole course in the area which makes it better than most 9 hole courses, but it is an average 19 holer.

Nothing truly amazing, but probably worth a play at some point if you are within an hour away.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginner to intermediate players. It is fun for a round or two every so often. Won't be super challenging, but still a fun time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Real nice park course

6/16/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great setup for a multiuse city park.Lots of different challenging shots. Some with decent distance
Cons: Needs some work on the signage. Luckily I got into a group with some locals. I don't think I would have been able to folllow the course by myself the first time!
Other Thoughts: Great playing course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

6/3/2007   6/3/2008
Review By: smyith
Played: 171  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 14.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging for combined distance and accuracy. Wind a major factor. Good use of land. Pond in center a factor. Pro teepads. Decent shot variety.
Cons: First few holes are a little confusing the first time to navigate, but by hole 3 its self explanatory. Pro teepads not marked well and are dirt.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course In The Area

4/7/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires combination of accuracy and distance. Course is nice and well maintained. For me it's the most challenging and enjoyable course so far that I've played in the area.
Cons: I've lived in Kentucky most my life where there is an abundance of picturesque courses. This course is nice but it just doesn't compare to those back home. There's no elevation whatsoever. The wind can be brutal. There's some signs missing and most holes require you to walk a long ways to get to the next tee. If you don't know the course, then it can be difficult to find the next hole sometimes.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, I would recommend this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Overall Course

10/2/2007   10/2/2007
Review By: spectrasmydisc
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging, especially the distance on some holes.
Cons: Some holes depending on skill can be unenjoyable. Example for me is hole 11
Other Thoughts: If you want a challenge play it as all par 3's. Holes 11 and 12 are a true test of power, skill, and creativity. Bad drives= tough and creative par savesif played as par 3's. This is my favorite course and its my home course. Course record is 16 under par for par 3's. Hole 19 is normally played from red tees as an over the pond shot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.