Fayetteville, NC 
Mazarick Park - East Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #11 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee: Road on right is O.B.



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Maz East

5+    6/9/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: Pbody66
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight lines and a few holes you can bring it on but mostly a pick your shot type course versus a rare back for distance.
Good baskets.
The Tees are worn down around but they are in good shape.
For a beginner its got enough wear in the course to be open even though you bang on the trees.
Errant shots for most holes are playable.
great location and easily reached for everyone except those on the West side of town. (Guess we need to get a course on the west side)
Cons: Like others have said the signage and direction are clearly lacking.
I played with regulars to start otherwise i would have just happened onto some of the holes.
many holes have pedestrian walkways that you either cross or run beside making for delays as you wait (not a big deal) or someone just popping around the corner after you zing a Wraith right across their path.
(This is not something that can change just a warning to those going to play there the first time.)
Hole #3 has a pedestrian bridge you through down the length of. Two things here 1. Get across and stay center to left. 2. Don't take a long time to throw. Get it done before a jogger roles onto the bridge.
Go on an evening or weekend and someone will be gald to show you the way. You'll be glad you did.
Others have covered some of the holes but all in all its a good course.
It can be challenging for LHBH or RH flicks as the course in some areas seems to favor a RHBH setup more prominently.
Other Thoughts: Does anyone know if someone made hole direction signs if the Parks department would take them down?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation and Woods

2-4    6/6/2010   1/10/2011
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Design:
*Elevation changes- one of the best features of this course. There are elevation changes on every hole with 8 Up/ 10 Down. Most changes are moderate (3-12 ft.) but 7 holes are bigger (15-30 ft. change)
* Terrain- This is mostly a woods course with a few holes slightly more open. 15 Woods/ 3 Mixed.
*Fairways- Nicely shaped with pretty good shape variety. 10 St/ 3 Left/ 5 Right
*Length variety- decent. 1 of 195/ 9 of 200-299/ 6 of 300-399/ 2>400 (415, 445)

Basics:
*Baskets- Chainstars are one of my favorites.

Amenities:
*Navigation- there are many "Next tee" signs that help.
*Restrooms- good
Cons:
Design:
-Fairway 7 has a road down it's whole length. Not only does this detract from the beauty of nature, but everything to the right of the road is OB and I think that's dumb. I don't like this hole.
-Navigation- There are long walks to tees 6, 11, 18, so these are harder to find. Five baskets aren't visible from the tee (3, 4, 7, 9, 12)
-Walking over the large drainage pipe on hole 9 might be a difficult balancing act for some people.

Basics:
-Tee signs need improvement. Very minimal, length only, most tacked to a tree.
-Tees are below average. Asphalt that might get too soft on hot summer days.

Amenities:
-The online map is outdated, so it's misleading and useless.
-No scorecard, warm up basket, or message board. No benches and few trash cans out on the course.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 950) It's between White and Blue. It's either a more difficult White or an easier Blue level. The numbers came out closer to Blue so I landed on that, but I bet that Blue level players will score pretty low here.

~Water- there's only a little in play on a couple of holes and some in view but not in play on a few more. When you can see the swamp it's rather scenic; I just wish that the water came into play more.
~One big detraction is the decaying remains of the original course. There are old rusting yellow Discatcher baskets and unmarked cinder tees scattered near the first few holes. To make it even more confusing, the old 1st basket is inside the park just off the parking lot, so I saw several new players shooting for it then getting lost and bewildered. This is unsightly and confusing and I think they should remove it all.
~The course is in the heart of Fayetteville, so it's easy to get to. I hate to say it, but the ambience of the surrounding area doesn't thrill me, so I started out on an off note. This park does offer a good opportunity to get away from civilization, and after a few holes I did feel out in nature and away from that bad vibe I had driving there.

Bottom line-- if you like woods courses with nice elevation changes, and you're in Fayetteville, it's worth stopping by to play. My Enjoyment Rating is Above Average, but I still wouldn't recommend making much of a trip to go there.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

~My more detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fast Times in Fayette-Nam

1    12/22/2010   12/22/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simply fun. The course is predominately wooded with some tall, old pines. It's very fairly wooded, only a couple of holes are borderline "unfair" or luck based. Great use of elevation, much more rolling than I thought it would be and there's a slew of fun, downhill ace-runs and birdie fests. A couple of holes had some nice creeks to throw over and a little lake even threatens on one hole. Fairways are well-defined and easy to spot and the course flows pretty well once you figure out where to go. Nice baskets as well. The tees aren't the worse and they're pretty level which is great but they're aren't real flush with the ground.
Cons: Navigation, it really can be tricky. I'm usually a whiz for finding the next hole but this place had me scratching my head a couple of times. Hole #4 is not obvious to find (hang a right up the hill), hole #11's tee pad is non-existent as far as I can tell, and hole #18's tee is past that construction/mulch pile area and to the left once you get back into the woods again. The layout for the old course really throws you off on the front 9 but easy to avoid as long as you remember not to throw towards yellow, rusty baskets.

Hole variety: It's a little repetitive. All the holes are generally some sort of variation of an S-curve or just generally straight, with the exception of #12 that bizarrely hooks left at the very end.

Mobility: This only comes into play a couple of holes but they were bad. Hole #1 has only a steep, eroded path leading to the fairway that's fairly dangerous. The big culprit is hole #9 which throws over the creek. The problem is there's no way to cross said creek unless you're nimble enough to balance across the large metal pipe that goes over it. My broken foot and I had to bushwhack our way back to the bridge to cross over.

Quite a bit of trash and litter unfortunately.
Other Thoughts: This course is like OT Sloan's (Sanford) bigger, older sister. The holes are longer (probably average out to around 300'), it's more mature and fair with concrete tees and its wooded-ness, and it's just really fun to play. The old course and park layout also leads to some great safari golf potential if you get bored.

I will definitely play it again after my foot heals, for sure.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 riddle me this

1    8/12/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: oki40484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: lots of baskets here. found one with weeds growing up through it, looks like its been here a while. wasn't many people here at all, which was sad because if i had been shown how to play this course i wouldve rated better.
Cons: couldnt figure out how to play the course, think i played it backwards or something. cleans up near pipeline. with course map and signs this could be nice.
Other Thoughts: had fun even though i didnt know where i was going, course is def worth playing, if your in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mazerick Old

6/21/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: ColinB
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The old course at Mazerick is made up of almost all < 300 ft holes which are mostly straight shots with trees on both sides and medium sized fairways. Baskets are old and rusty but still in pretty good condition.
Cons: Lots of trash around the park. At night the park gets kind of sketchy too. Tees are gravel and are in need of remaking. Trails aren't in great repair but are noticeable. Can be hard to follow the holes as there aren't really any signs pointing you anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Not a very technical course, most shots are straight-on. They seem to be doing a lot of work to improve the course which is good to see. Slight changes in elevation, nothing major. Tournaments on the first Saturday of every month. Not generally crowded but you can usually find a few people playing. Locals are generally nice and will play with you.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.