Disc Golf Center
Fayetteville, NC 
Mazarick Park - East Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #18 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 15 really good holes

2-4    10/30/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: Frank Delicious
Played: 46  Reviewed: 4
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Every hole at this course except for 7, 12, and 16 are good holes. Hole 2 seems a little tacked on but is a solid technical hole. Hole one is a great starting hole and hole 18 is a very good finishing hole. The course is tight like every NC course but unlike many tightly wooded courses, this course doesn't just make you throw straight shots all day. If you want to shoot under par on this course you will have to use all the shots in your bag off the tee. I found myself throwing S curves both forehand and backhand, controlled hyzers, controlled anyhyzers and some longer forehand shots that really tested my line shaping skills.
Cons: The first big problem with this course is navigation. Do not go out there without a map or a guide. There are signs in places indicating where the next tee pad is but these signs are not always easy to see and some have been torn down. Couple that with the old course still being in and new players will get lost very easy.

The three holes I had the biggest problems with were holes 7, 12, and 16.

Hole 7 from the longs is a long hyzer down a walking path. The tee shot itself is fun and probably plays 400' The two problems with this hole are 1) you can't see all the way down the walking path. If you can throw 400' you need to check to make sure people aren't walking near the basket b/c you could hit them. 2) the walking path plays OB and also makes up the majority of the driving lane. Even with a good drive a player can land OB. A better way to play the hole would be to make everything right of the walking path OB b/c that punished overly aggressive throws that get knocked down.

Hole 12 is very odd. When you come up on the teepad you see a slightly S curved fairway with no pin. If you walk down 300' or so you will see the pin tucked up and to the left in some woods. The percentage of getting to the pin are very low and the pin seems out of place tucked away with no real good fairway to it. Most players will just throw a mid or fairway driver straight 300' and then pitch up to the basket for a tap in 3. Very low scoring separation on this hole.

Hole 16 is a downhill shot that is 260' but probably only plays 220'. The issue with this hole is that you have to hit a 8' gap about 70' away to get to the basket and there does not appear to be any other way to throw this hole. The gap is just too small for most players to hit consistently and seems like one of those shots you try when messing around with your friends. The gap needs to be widened to provide a fairer tee shot.

The other big con for me was the teepads. They were made of rough asphalt that was hard to pivot on and were already eroding due to water. They were also quite small and would drop off in the front so if you follow through off the teepad, you would hurt yourself.

I could also not find an asphalt teepad for hole 11 after looking around for a while. I ended up teeing off from a dirt pad next to a yellow pole (all the other tees I played were blue). I assume I just could not find the long pads for that hole and there was no signage to really help me.
Other Thoughts: This could could be a great course with a few improvements. They should really remove the short old course and see if they could recycle the baskets to make a new course somewhere in the area. That and tee signs would really clear up the biggest overall problems with the course.

Watch out for people. I had to stop multiple times mid teeshot because people walking around the park would cut through a fairway or emerge from some side trail you can't see from the tee pad. There are a lot of walking trails, especially on the back 9, scattered throughout the course so be on the look out.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 riddle me this

1    8/12/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: oki40484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: lots of baskets here. found one with weeds growing up through it, looks like its been here a while. wasn't many people here at all, which was sad because if i had been shown how to play this course i wouldve rated better.
Cons: couldnt figure out how to play the course, think i played it backwards or something. cleans up near pipeline. with course map and signs this could be nice.
Other Thoughts: had fun even though i didnt know where i was going, course is def worth playing, if your in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dazed and confused

1    9/25/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fairly nice park, with lots of trees and plenty of shade. Good use of elevation, as you are throwing up or down hill a lot. Although it's a wooded course, it isn't too tight. The 18 new baskets are really nice. The tee pads were in good shape.

There is a bathroom and fishing pond on site.
Cons: Some of the older baskets were surrounded by waist high grass and looked neglected. The few tee signs I saw were not very informative about distance.

There is no course map, so it was extremely difficult and confusing to navigate this course. Too many contradicting signs directing you to a tee pad. I saw several tee pads without any identification marks as to what hole it was intended for.
Other Thoughts: I was a little disappointed with this course. It is almost impossible to navigate this course with out a local. Since there are no maps available, this will continue to be the case if you are coming in from out of town, like I did.

This course has a lot of potential with 27 baskets, but without knowing which basket from which tees, it makes it irrelevant. It was not fun spending extra time trying to navigate the course, and still not being sure if you are doing it correctly.

I would wait until a map is available before I played this course, or make plans to meet a local if you can.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

5+    2/17/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: YonderScott
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A really nice park with great views. A beautiful lake along with some nice woods add to beauty of this place. Nice eastern NC fairways which are tight but fair. Restrooms and trashcans. This course will test your accuracy. Each tee is marked by a steel pole painted either...white, blue or gold. There are a couple of holes that have multiple tees, but it's hard to find them the first time you play. The design takes advantage of the available elevation. Tees on the new 18 are all asphalt. Course is now marked on every hole pointing you to the next. Leaving the old holes, while confusing the first time, is a really nice touch and some extra holes for your discing pleasure.
Cons: When I played here in the summer some of the fairways were fairly overgrown. A couple of holes play over or down a paved walking trail. No real tee signs, but the hole number is spray painted on each pad, and a marker with distance was visible.
Other Thoughts: The first hole can be a little hard to find the first time you play, but it is in the cul-de-sac as you first enter the park.
-My favorite hole is #7, there are 2 tees that give you a different look. The basket is perched on a fast green. The long tee is a hard left with a ton of OB, and the short tee makes you throw a tight shot that fades right.
Hole #1 is a blast as well. A nice start with a nice downhill run.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course

5+    1/22/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: jamesmcornwell
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First let me start by telling you where hole 1 starts, before you first enter the parking lot there is a turn around by the school and that is where hole one starts. There are actually two courses, the old and the new. The old one has old yellow baskets and mostly gravel for tee pads, but the new one has all new silver baskets and asphalt tee pads. So all together there are 27 holes because the old course uses some of the new baskets. As far as the new course, very nice use of terrain and elevation with the course distance around 5400ft. Navigating the course is easy because there are white wooden arrows marking the direction to the next hole on every hole. There are a lot of tight fairways and straight shots but very technical so don't be fooled and think it's easy. There's one mando which is a big anheizer shot on hole 10.
Cons: The only bad thing about the course is its not very well maintained. There's normally a lot of trash and the park maintenance doesn't do very well at cleaning or cutting the grass/weeds.
Other Thoughts: All and all it's a pretty nice course and fun to play, it's not the most difficult course but it is pretty challenging!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

7/12/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: caiman
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A challenging course with several interesting, difficult holes. The park scenery is the highlight. Even though it's located in an urban area, it doesn't seem like it when you're playing the course. It's a nice walk in the park whether you're playing disc golf or not.
Cons: The course layout is confusing, and very difficult to navigate. There are remnants of an older course in addition to the current 18-hole layout. The original course has wooden tee markers and yellow baskets; the current course has yellow and blue metal pole markers and silver baskets. Many tees are hard to find, and some tee markers don't show which hole number they're for. There is little-to-no signage, and the #1 tee is hard to find. (It's at the Belvedere Avenue cul-de-sac, rather than near the parking lot.) Even besides the lack of signage, the course is frustrating to play. Offline throws on some holes are severely punished, with thick shrubbery lining the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't for everyone. It's a good course to play if you're an experienced player, and if you know where you're going. Unfortunately, there don't seem to be any maps of the course floating around anywhere, either at the course or online.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mazerick Old

6/21/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: ColinB
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The old course at Mazerick is made up of almost all < 300 ft holes which are mostly straight shots with trees on both sides and medium sized fairways. Baskets are old and rusty but still in pretty good condition.
Cons: Lots of trash around the park. At night the park gets kind of sketchy too. Tees are gravel and are in need of remaking. Trails aren't in great repair but are noticeable. Can be hard to follow the holes as there aren't really any signs pointing you anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Not a very technical course, most shots are straight-on. They seem to be doing a lot of work to improve the course which is good to see. Slight changes in elevation, nothing major. Tournaments on the first Saturday of every month. Not generally crowded but you can usually find a few people playing. Locals are generally nice and will play with you.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.