Disc Golf Store
Lubbock, TX 
McAlister Park Share
Uploaded By: Survivor  



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 It has potential...

1    8/7/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: Giantjerk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.3 Years
Pros: -Not many people there
-Wind presents an interesting challenge
-Great location
-Nice bathrooms and ample parking on site.
Cons: -Baskets at #5, #14, and #15 are missing
-Terrain is terrible, it's all rough knee high weeds and stickers with prairie dog holes.
-Overgrown, uneven dirt tee pads
Other Thoughts: The weather was fantastic the morning I tried out this course, which caused me several times to wish that I was at one of Lubbock's other fine courses instead of this one. Still, any disc golf is better than none right?

The course has potential to eventually be a nice park style course once it's finished. Right now they are still using bull dozers to dig out the lake in the middle. There were three baskets missing, possibly due to the construction, and there is no signage and I found it easy to get lost. There is red and white tape on the baskets marking the direction of the next tee, but a couple of times I found myself playing towards the wrong pin, or having to stare at the map for a long time to decide where I was supposed to be going.

There isn't any real fairway on this course. It's all just overgrown weeds and stickers with lots of prairie dog and jack rabbit holes to twist your ankle in. I twisted my ankle and fell stepping into one ON A TEE PAD that was covered with a patch of grass. I didn't see it til it was too late. The tee pads are dirt, which can be fine, but these are uneven and often overgrown. There aren't many trees, but the ones they have planted are growing nicely.

Right now, with the other great courses in the area there's not much reason to go out to McAlister. If they plant grass and finish with the lake, add some signage, and maybe plant a few more trees this course could be nice though. I will wait a couple of years before playing it again.


1    2/23/2013   2/24/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The have plenty of parking and a really nice playground next to it. They have benches and trash cans throughout the course. The baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Where to begin. This course had no tee pads or signage. The course was completely open (no obstacles at all) which is a terrible idea in West Texas. They put in a few mounds to surround the baskets to try to add some obstacles but is just a waste.This course was so boring that I wanted to leave multiple times. Hard to navigate unless you print off a map from the lubbock disc golf association.
Other Thoughts: Honestly this is a waste of a course. Nobody plays here, that you might as well pull the baskets and move them to MacKenzie park and make it two 18 holers.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dirt Course

2-4    4/16/2012   4/16/2012
Review By: Disc Happens
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice baskets. Family friendly location with Legacy Play Village on the other side of the parking lot. If you are a beginner this course will be great because you should never lose a disc!
Cons: Dirt teeboxes. Tons of stickers! The course pretty much consists of dirt hills with baskets on them. There is no difficulty in the course and it gets boring quick. If there is the slightest bit of wind when you go to play(it's west Texas, so there will be) bring some glasses because the dirt will be all in your eyes. If you do not know the course well make sure to print off a map because you are likely to get lost on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: The lake around the back nine can get flooded and actually submerge a couple of the holes. However, most of the time it is bone dry.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best.

2-4    4/17/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: meanmeanbg
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open course. Really gives you the opportunity to try new shots, throws, and discs without any worry of hitting trees or water.
Cons: WINDY! (as is Lubbock). Very confusing to find your way around. Nothing is marked. If I hadn't gone with friends who knew their way around I would've just wondered aimlessly the whole time. The ground is FULL of pickers, prairie dog holes, and black widows. Not a good place for pets (for those of you, like me, who's dog likes to tag along while you play) or strollers/carts with aired tires.
Other Thoughts: I agree, this is a fairly new course, and over time it has the potential to be a more challenging course (apart from the wind, which is challenging enough as it is). There are a couple dozen trees newly planted that in several years will provide some variety to play, as well as much welcomed shade.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Windy

2-4    4/2/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open holes! Just sit back and let it rip! The course is fairly new and is still a work in progress. A simple design to follow and not confusing. Makes for some tough shots if it is windy day. It will make you a better wind player.
Cons: Windy! The openness of this place + Lubbock wind makes this not very ideal.
Other Thoughts: A perfect course to practice on while you better your game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.