Lubbock, TX
McAlister Park Share
Uploaded By: Survivor Hole #7
3 / 475ft.   3 / 650ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Pro Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Family friendly

1    6/14/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: eegor
Played: 87  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 17.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good quality baskets. Some benches. Trash cans throughout.

Awesome playground. New parking lot. Very nice restrooms. New picnic table with grill.

Trees have been planted for the future.
Cons: Dirt tees. No signs. Tough navigation. Rabbit holes everywhere. A lot of stickers (even for west Texas). Few obstacles. Nothing to stop the west Texas wind.
Other Thoughts: I had a little fun. It's better than a wide open field. Playing from the long tees on a windy day provided a pretty challenging round. Disc golf quality is only one to one and a half stars at this time. You can see that improvements are on the way, but it will be a long time before this course is a disc golfing destination.

I've played a lot of disc golf, so I navigated the course ok, but without signs some people will get frustrated by the tough conditions and uncertainty.

If you're traveling with your family with small children, this is the course to play in Lubbock. The brand new playground looks like a children's wonderland (from a grandpa aged guys point of view). It was crowded with young moms reading books and watching very happy kids playing the morning I was there. Your young family will not mind waiting for you to finish your round. Non disc golf amenities... four stars! The playground was crowded. I was the only person on the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open spaces

1    8/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: SKnight579
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 holes, nice long drives, good design and layout. I love how #9 finishes right next to the future parking lot, that way if you don't feel up to the back 9 your right there at your car.
Cons: Still a developing park, stickers galore, the pond was overflooded enough we couldn't play hole 5 and on 7 my cousins driver went straight into the water not to be seen again that day. The back 9 get alittle boring and repetative, could be because it was hot in the afternoon and had played the other park in town that morning and the arm was getting tired, but on 11, 12, 13 your just throwing back and forth.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed the course, It's going to be a good course once the park is more established. The slight elevation changes and hills some of the baskets are on are real nice for tricking your eyes on your putts. Once the trees grow up in 5 or so years it'll be pretty nice. I wish the back 9 were a bit different, not just long drives, but it is West Texas can't be too picky. Was really windy the day we played causing my cousin to overcompensate for the wind and chunk his yellow driver straight into the water, his name etc... isn't on it so buh bye disc. I was hoping for Concrete T's and a map or at least directions to the next hole on the T's I had the map from the site so wasn't hard for us, but someone showing up for a quick game will quickly leave after frustration.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  decent course

2-4    5/17/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: jscarlin5
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners. Everything is wide open. This course isn't very popular so there won't be be anybody getting in the way. This course is good if you have a big arm.
Cons: It is very hard to find your way around. The course is poorly marked. There are very few obstacles which results is very little creativity.
Other Thoughts: The course is under development. Give it a few years and the course should mature and become an excellent place to play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/30/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: Survivor
Played: 411  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2008
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: No waiting to play.
Nice playground near course with picnic tables.
Some elevated baskets and tee pads.
Cons: Very few trees, mostly dirt fairways, flat, can be quite windy.
Other Thoughts: This is a new course with room for improvement. More trees, concrete T-pads, and more dirt work could make a big difference.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.