Lubbock, TX 
McAlister Park Share
Uploaded By: Survivor  



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 It has potential...

1    8/7/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: Giantjerk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.2 Years
Pros: -Not many people there
-Wind presents an interesting challenge
-Great location
-Nice bathrooms and ample parking on site.
Cons: -Baskets at #5, #14, and #15 are missing
-Terrain is terrible, it's all rough knee high weeds and stickers with prairie dog holes.
-Overgrown, uneven dirt tee pads
Other Thoughts: The weather was fantastic the morning I tried out this course, which caused me several times to wish that I was at one of Lubbock's other fine courses instead of this one. Still, any disc golf is better than none right?

The course has potential to eventually be a nice park style course once it's finished. Right now they are still using bull dozers to dig out the lake in the middle. There were three baskets missing, possibly due to the construction, and there is no signage and I found it easy to get lost. There is red and white tape on the baskets marking the direction of the next tee, but a couple of times I found myself playing towards the wrong pin, or having to stare at the map for a long time to decide where I was supposed to be going.

There isn't any real fairway on this course. It's all just overgrown weeds and stickers with lots of prairie dog and jack rabbit holes to twist your ankle in. I twisted my ankle and fell stepping into one ON A TEE PAD that was covered with a patch of grass. I didn't see it til it was too late. The tee pads are dirt, which can be fine, but these are uneven and often overgrown. There aren't many trees, but the ones they have planted are growing nicely.

Right now, with the other great courses in the area there's not much reason to go out to McAlister. If they plant grass and finish with the lake, add some signage, and maybe plant a few more trees this course could be nice though. I will wait a couple of years before playing it again.

Barely Playable

2-4    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: cancell09
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is within a reasonable distance of many residential neighborhoods in west Lubbock and it's near several restaurants, so it is in an overall good location.

The baskets (the ones that are there) are all in good condition.

This course is great for the beginner who is just learning shots or for the experienced player who is experimenting.
Cons: Three of the holes are just that... holes. The baskets on holes #5, #14, and #15 are completely missing.

There are stickers everywhere, and the majority of the course is dust peppered with prairie dog holes. The tees are poorly marked, if at all, and rarely even have a hole number assigned to them. If I hadn't had a map printed off, and if I wasn't familiar with the course, it would be very difficult to navigate.

Many locals enjoy using the course as a place to drink and shatter beer bottles, so there is glass everywhere. Not a place I would bring the little ones or pets.

Lastly, the wind is awful. There are a few trees scattered around the "fairways" but serve only as obstacles to drives and offer no break to the wind.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I would discourage play on this course for anything more than a practice round for personal improvement. Again, three baskets are missing so those holes are practically unplayable.

Lubbock would be better served by either putting way more work into this course or by moving the baskets to a nicer location somewhere still on the west side of town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    2/23/2013   2/24/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The have plenty of parking and a really nice playground next to it. They have benches and trash cans throughout the course. The baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Where to begin. This course had no tee pads or signage. The course was completely open (no obstacles at all) which is a terrible idea in West Texas. They put in a few mounds to surround the baskets to try to add some obstacles but is just a waste.This course was so boring that I wanted to leave multiple times. Hard to navigate unless you print off a map from the lubbock disc golf association.
Other Thoughts: Honestly this is a waste of a course. Nobody plays here, that you might as well pull the baskets and move them to MacKenzie park and make it two 18 holers.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dirt Course

2-4    4/16/2012   4/16/2012
Review By: Disc Happens
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice baskets. Family friendly location with Legacy Play Village on the other side of the parking lot. If you are a beginner this course will be great because you should never lose a disc!
Cons: Dirt teeboxes. Tons of stickers! The course pretty much consists of dirt hills with baskets on them. There is no difficulty in the course and it gets boring quick. If there is the slightest bit of wind when you go to play(it's west Texas, so there will be) bring some glasses because the dirt will be all in your eyes. If you do not know the course well make sure to print off a map because you are likely to get lost on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: The lake around the back nine can get flooded and actually submerge a couple of the holes. However, most of the time it is bone dry.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Family friendly

1    6/14/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good quality baskets. Some benches. Trash cans throughout.

Awesome playground. New parking lot. Very nice restrooms. New picnic table with grill.

Trees have been planted for the future.
Cons: Dirt tees. No signs. Tough navigation. Rabbit holes everywhere. A lot of stickers (even for west Texas). Few obstacles. Nothing to stop the west Texas wind.
Other Thoughts: I had a little fun. It's better than a wide open field. Playing from the long tees on a windy day provided a pretty challenging round. Disc golf quality is only one to one and a half stars at this time. You can see that improvements are on the way, but it will be a long time before this course is a disc golfing destination.

I've played a lot of disc golf, so I navigated the course ok, but without signs some people will get frustrated by the tough conditions and uncertainty.

If you're traveling with your family with small children, this is the course to play in Lubbock. The brand new playground looks like a children's wonderland (from a grandpa aged guys point of view). It was crowded with young moms reading books and watching very happy kids playing the morning I was there. Your young family will not mind waiting for you to finish your round. Non disc golf amenities... four stars! The playground was crowded. I was the only person on the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best.

2-4    4/17/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: meanmeanbg
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open course. Really gives you the opportunity to try new shots, throws, and discs without any worry of hitting trees or water.
Cons: WINDY! (as is Lubbock). Very confusing to find your way around. Nothing is marked. If I hadn't gone with friends who knew their way around I would've just wondered aimlessly the whole time. The ground is FULL of pickers, prairie dog holes, and black widows. Not a good place for pets (for those of you, like me, who's dog likes to tag along while you play) or strollers/carts with aired tires.
Other Thoughts: I agree, this is a fairly new course, and over time it has the potential to be a more challenging course (apart from the wind, which is challenging enough as it is). There are a couple dozen trees newly planted that in several years will provide some variety to play, as well as much welcomed shade.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open spaces

1    8/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: SKnight579
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 holes, nice long drives, good design and layout. I love how #9 finishes right next to the future parking lot, that way if you don't feel up to the back 9 your right there at your car.
Cons: Still a developing park, stickers galore, the pond was overflooded enough we couldn't play hole 5 and on 7 my cousins driver went straight into the water not to be seen again that day. The back 9 get alittle boring and repetative, could be because it was hot in the afternoon and had played the other park in town that morning and the arm was getting tired, but on 11, 12, 13 your just throwing back and forth.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed the course, It's going to be a good course once the park is more established. The slight elevation changes and hills some of the baskets are on are real nice for tricking your eyes on your putts. Once the trees grow up in 5 or so years it'll be pretty nice. I wish the back 9 were a bit different, not just long drives, but it is West Texas can't be too picky. Was really windy the day we played causing my cousin to overcompensate for the wind and chunk his yellow driver straight into the water, his name etc... isn't on it so buh bye disc. I was hoping for Concrete T's and a map or at least directions to the next hole on the T's I had the map from the site so wasn't hard for us, but someone showing up for a quick game will quickly leave after frustration.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  decent course

2-4    5/17/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: jscarlin5
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners. Everything is wide open. This course isn't very popular so there won't be be anybody getting in the way. This course is good if you have a big arm.
Cons: It is very hard to find your way around. The course is poorly marked. There are very few obstacles which results is very little creativity.
Other Thoughts: The course is under development. Give it a few years and the course should mature and become an excellent place to play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/24/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: joshsauce
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A wide open course, with easy to spot launch pads.
Cons: There are only a few trees, but those few trees can sometimes be a problem. sometimes gopher holes and flying ants will try and ruin your play experience.
Other Thoughts: could use a little more variety, but otherwise nice for new players.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Windy

2-4    4/2/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open holes! Just sit back and let it rip! The course is fairly new and is still a work in progress. A simple design to follow and not confusing. Makes for some tough shots if it is windy day. It will make you a better wind player.
Cons: Windy! The openness of this place + Lubbock wind makes this not very ideal.
Other Thoughts: A perfect course to practice on while you better your game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.