McLean, VA 
McLean Central Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #6 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 172ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Wasted Potential

2-4    6/9/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: nivek1385
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has potential to be a great beginner course. It also has a nostalgic feel to it because it feels as if it's unchanged since the late 70searly 80s.
Cons: It seems like it was last maintained in the early 80s. There are thorns everywhere, including on the fairways. I'd understand if they were contained to the rough, but the fairways should be clear of thorn vines and bushes (bush is a very loose term). Quite a bit of poison ivy and poison oak as well, but I don't remember seeing any on the fairways. Almost every hole requires either a very precise shot andor a blind shot, which wouldn't be bad, except that there may not be any way to retrieve your disc. Granted, I played the day after some hard rainthunderstorms, but about a third of the course wasn't just muddy, but had standing water. Considering the mosquito problems, I'm thinking that this wasn't exclusively due to the recent rain. The tee sign for 4 is damaged.
Other Thoughts: If this course were properly maintained, it could be a great beginner course. Unfortunately, with all of the various issues, I couldn't recommend it to beginners or seasoned vets.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Bad course

1    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: Pat 'the French'
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Near DC
You can play alone...
A lot of parking spots.
Cons: Muddy,.
A lot of pets on leashes.
Very old installations.
Lots of bushes.
Other Thoughts: Don't come !
There're better courses.
It's hard to find disc in this jungle.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Boggy When Wet

1    1/16/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 392  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Some baskets scattered about a lightly-wooded park at which to throw is better than nothing.
Cons:
Single tee/single basket. Tee locations are small, uneven mud pits - throwing from a standstill recommended. Baskets are single chain and not in good shape. Tee locations 5/6 have been dis-assembled. Basket 5 missing. Course retains water very well - was like a bog. Some holes play (blindly, at times) near/across walking paths. Some tees too close to neighbouring basket. Flat-n-short.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a meadow/lightly wooded area of a multi-purpose park. Some challenging basket locations near creek, and most holes require a bit of a turn or fade. All holes but the ~350' #4 are in the mid-100/low 200s. Tee #1 is down the path from basket/tennis courts, and the course flows in a counter-clockwise direction. Lots of work (preventing erosion of the creek bed? Installation of walking paths? I'm not sure) going on in the area of holes 3-6.

If it was within short walking distance of home or work, it would be worth wandering over time to time to practice/play safari, but its not worth making any special effort to visit.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  muddy, short, 9 holes

2-4    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: wildcardct4th
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good for beginners, par is really easy. In a local park. Can be played in about thirty minutes.
Cons: Muddy, very easy to lose discs, i've lost two in the three times i've played. The par is way to high. Very easy to birdie about 7 of the holes and eagles aren't uncommon. Beginners should play at par or even under. Thick bushes and woods on both sides. There was also park construction going on and I couldn't even play the last hole. Watch out for the creek on the right of hole #8.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully not going back.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.