McLean, VA 
McLean Central Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 If you weren't looking, you might miss it.

5+    4/1/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Classic little throwback course - Great old Mach I baskets.
-Pleasant meadow-like setting - Large clearing, Majestic old trees, large forest canopy.
-Creek comes into play on many holes.
-Good use of area/terrain
-Pretty good beginners course - Couple of challenges or oddities - Overall a "pitch & putt" course. Great for approach practice.
-A great "get a round in at lunch" course.
-Ace Run Opportunities
Cons: -Can be Wet & Sloppy - Very Wet & Sloppy - Course sits in a low spot near downtown McLean.
-Poison Ivy!!!!!! Some times LOTS of it.
-May have to play around and deal with park patrons. - Lots of dog walking & joggers.
-Tee pads are bad at best - Tough to keep maintained due to water runoff.
-Located in city park but very well hidden - Could be tough to find.
Other Thoughts: McLean Central Park is one of the oldest courses and possibly the 1st course in the DC Metro Area. With the exception of the alternate tees, it has not changed one bit since it was first installed back in the early days of the disc golf craze. Back in the day it was my home course and I had taken it under my wing for a spell. Held a tournament there called the Swamp Thing, that should tell you something about the course. If you can catch it during a dry spell, you're in for a very pleasant round.
Most holes are short and many are a little quirky thanks to the creek and the old trees. Don't let it's little look fool you, there is still plenty to pay for if you make a mistake. The tee boxes are a mess but they are very tough to maintain because they keep getting washed out in a good downpour. Overall they do an antiquate job.
Actually, I commend the city and all those folks that have kept the course going and maintained over the years. It could have been very easy to let it get over grown, washed out and unusable. In dry conditions, when the grass is cut, the course lends itself to an array of shots including rollers and tomahawks.
Playing this course is to step back in time to a place before the 500 ft. huck, the monster hyser when "the one who has the most fun wins" was just an infant. If the opportunity arises you should play this course if for no other reason then to say you did. You might even add it to your favorites. I did.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Short, but fun course

1    10/25/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: fsu8503
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight layout that requires accuracy on your shots. Includes water, but enough to lose discs.
Cons: Ground is very slippery if wet, almost clay-like. Tee boxes are terrible.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I enjoyed this course. It has a nice mix of open holes and tight ones as well. Water comes into play on #1, 2, 6, 7, 8 and 9. 1, 2 and 9 play across water and 6,7 and 8 border it or it could easily come into play. However, the creeks involved are very shallow and you won't lose any discs.

The course is fairly easy to follow. However, finding it to begin with wasn't very clear. You have to park by the basketball courts and then walk to the right toward the tennis courts. You go through the tennis courts and take a left on a path inbetween a small playground and more tennis courts. Keep walking that way and you'll come upon the first hole.

The second tee requires you to double back across the bridge and the third tee is up a path to the right of the second hole. Other than that the course flows fairly instinctively.

As mentioned the pars are incredibly high. I shot a 9 under and only played about average for my normal ability.

There is a fair amount of thick rough around so losing a disc is a possibility. My wife I and would take turns going down field and watch the others disc come down.

We enjoyed it and will definitely play it again because it's close to our house.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, Quick round

1    10/13/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: thatguy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had a pretty good amount of challenge for how short it is. While most people see short courses as "novice" I see some as useful for a quick round with great opportunities for short game practice! There are great water obstacles but even if your disc gets wet, the water is very shallow (6" at its deepest). There is good opportunity to practice extreme right dog legs (great for leftys) This course would also be good for those lacking super human driving ability because of the course's length. Great little gem tucked in suburbia!
Cons: If it had rained recently the tee boxes would have been filled with mud. The course is short so no practice for the super long drive. There are a tremendous ammount of opportunities for your disc to get lost, wear long pants and close-toed shoes for going into the woods. The course is not amazingly well marked but still easy enough to follow. The holes are close to each other so the odds of getting hit by a stray shot on a busy day are pretty good.
Other Thoughts: I actually liked playing this course and will probably go back. It's free to play even if you're not a county resident. This is an old course so the baskets aren't state of the art nor are the tees, but you won't be competing here, it's a great practice ground. There were many other people there but it wasn't crowded. I went in the evening after work and had a ball. Be carefull if you're taking any shots at dusk, you might lose a disc. I met some other people while I was there. Everyone was very friendly and I got some good pointers from someone I ended up playing a round with. I was shown by one of the locals where the unofficial "pro tees" were. They're set back from the tee boxes and they're marked with orange ribbon next to them and some of them still have the spray paint on the ground. All in all I would say that this is probably the best small course that I have played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 the short course with high par.

1    10/9/2008   10/9/2008
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was simple and fun. It gives you a nice opportunity to practice your short game. There was good signage and very little traffic.
Cons: Average hole is under 200 ft. The Par is far to high even for a novice. For example hole 5 has a 160ft Par 4 with very little obstacles. There was even a par 5 that was under 300'.
Tee boxes are tiny and can be filled with mud, but because the basket is so close you can stand and toss.
There are several baskets where you are shooting blind.
Other Thoughts: Don't worry about your discs, water is not really a factor (it says 5 holes have water in play).
play the course as a par 3 if you want a challenge. I did not get ticks or poison ivy!
Wear pants, bring bug spray, and forget the par and you will see this course is under-rated (as a 1 out of 5).
Basket 5 is gone. It is now a tree with tape.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.