McLean, VA
McLean Central Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #8 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Still a little muddy

1    4/10/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: Treplexity
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners if they can put up with the overgrown conditions. This was my 5th game of disc golf, I got an Eagle on tee 9 and scored 4 under par total.

Seems as if only a few locals like myself play the course, so it's never crowded with players.

More advanced players are better off traveling to Burke Lake, but I live in the neighborhood of this course so it's something fun to do after work while the weather is nice and I don't have to worry about traffic.
Cons: Muddy, and very overgrown-not kept up. People walking their dogs or strolling their babies may cause a minute or two wait between putts.

The post for tee 3 is damaged

Tee 9 is heavily damaged, the tray of the basket sits on the ground.
Other Thoughts: This is the first time I've been able to get to tee 2, there's flooding all around the tee but it's gotten better. Course is still really muddy, but seems to be getting better every day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

It was Not Pleasant The Morning I Played!

1    7/6/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: McLean DGC is one of the old school courses. Everything from the old fiberglass signs to the natural tee pads to the elementary Pars (325 foot/ Par 5) to the overall shortness of it, shout 1980's vintage. It's like when visit an Open House and see shag carpeting and avacado appliances. It's a lot dated! It could be a decent little beginner/family pitch and putt with a fair amount of work put in to it. The baskets are a wide range from older rusty, single chains to a brand new Discatcher with the yellow band.
Cons: The course is badly overgrown and desperately in need of some serious pruning. One sign is trashed and one basket has been badly beaten. The whole course is sitting in low lying wetlands type area and thus is marshy in many places.
Other Thoughts: I happened to play early on a wet morning. Everything was wet and soggy. The ground was saturated, the overgrown plants were dripping wet. It was not a fun experience. It was so wet and miserable, I didn't even worry about the Poison Ivy. I just tried to throw very carefully, stay our of trouble and get my soaking wet body back to my car.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bad course

1    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: Pat 'the French'
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Near DC
You can play alone...
A lot of parking spots.
Cons: Muddy,.
A lot of pets on leashes.
Very old installations.
Lots of bushes.
Other Thoughts: Don't come !
There're better courses.
It's hard to find disc in this jungle.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Currently Unplayable

5+    4/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: heyorayo
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I work in great falls so it is/was nice to play this course like everyday after work. That's really the only good part of this course.
Cons: They have not maintained it one time since I don't even know how long, definitely 0 times this whole year. It is now practically a rainforest of tall grass and newly growing bushes and other vegetation. I called the fairfax county parks operation dept and put in a work order for Maintenance on the grounds, but it was never fulfilled, even after two months later when I went to check on it. It's frustrating to watch a course just get neglected like that. It's not a bad property but in its current state you don't want to go anywhere near this course in fear of a tick or spider bite due to the immense overgrowth.
Other Thoughts: Even when this course was playable it is really like a beginner's course. Most of the holes are between 100 to 200 feet, with a couple that are a little bit longer. It is pretty moderately wooded making it necessary to have a pretty accurate shot around the curves. A couple holes have a creek you throw over so that is pretty interesting. There is no change in elevation at all so that's really no fun. The rough is thick as the dickens in some parts so definitely check for ticks often as i have been bitten there. This is really just a course that you would play if you happened to live close or worked nearby. Bottom line, an my suggestion... Don't waste your time, play a better course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Pitiful

2-4    2/27/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: sirfrolf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Proximity, if you happen to live nearby. It was somewhat amusing to laugh at the sorry state of this place. You get to know what a zero rating course is, so you can better rate other courses in comparison.
Cons: This course is a neglected disaster. Missing basket. Missing tee box. Missing and damaged signs. Swampy. Dense pricker thickets. Downed trees everywhere. Poorly designed course - unimaginative, unchallenging, and many shots go right over paved walking paths.
Other Thoughts: I thought this place was bad many years ago and went back thinking there may have been improvements made. To my dismay it got worse. Keep driving to the disc golf course at Bluemont!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worse Course in the area

2-4    10/8/2010   3/5/2011
Review By: NovaDiscHead
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: None that I can think of. OK, it's the closest DG course to the Capital Beltway (495). That's all I can think of.
Cons: Where do I start? Mud, mosquito's, missing tee pads and basket, lousy baskets, lousy signage, it was like someone decided to plop down a bunch of baskets, then got bored and went and did something else.
Other Thoughts: This is not worth your time, unless you are desperate to play and it hasn't rained in the last 15 months (OK, that's an exaggeration). I would highly recommend taking the trip to other near-by courses, such as Bluemont (9 holes), Burke Lake and Giles Run (pretty far, but the best course in the NOVA region).

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 McLean

2-4    7/21/2008   2/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 624  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Once you get past the thorns, poison ivy, terrible tee boxes and baskets, completely overgrown nature of McLean you'll find that there are actually a couple of fun holes out there or you might just turnaround after the first hole :). The disc golf course at McLean can be a bit tricky to find back behind the tennis courts. Hole 1 starts out with an interesting little sidearm shot just past a bridge and near a small stream placed near the pin.
Cons: As mentioned above, the jungle back here is pretty intense. Poison Ivy and prickers can be found on pretty much every hole and often not far from pins or fairways. The teeboxes are absolutely terrible with nearly no runup room; additionally, they are boxed in with wood planks making runups nearly impossible. Frequent flooding helps keep McLame muddy and wet pretty much year round. Finally, the old Mach I baskets, while being a fun novelty, make putting a virtual slot machine of spit outs and blow throughs. Despite this bit of folk knowledge circulating, putting on a bad basket that randomly rejects good putts does not make you better! A simple, inexpensive mod to add an inner set of chains would greatly increase the catchability, though it may not be worth the trouble.
Other Thoughts: From the depths of my heart, I loathe this course and the dark, stinky swamp that it resides in. Like young Luke Skywalker I had to enter the forest of evil and look into the eyes of the ancient Mach. I have learned to control my fear and have felt the hatred of the darkside flowing through my veins but I have...I have conquered the ivy...the thorns...the muck...

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 McLean Central Park

5+    10/20/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: paul_dgcr
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A pitch and putt course. Midrange and putter enough.

- Although holes are short, they are technical. All holes have water, tree, or brush obstacles. Obstacles are reasonable without being ridiculous.

- Holes 1 and 9 need to throw across streams.

- Almost all holes are out of sight from the tee. This makes distance a challenge. Plenty of hyzers and S-turns.

- Course not crowded. Guaranteed to play without waiting.

- Holes easy to find and follow.

- Course was very fun to play.
Cons: - Tees are dirt/mud

- Hole 5/Tee 6 missing.

- Walking trails cross several fairways. Need to be mindful of walkers
Other Thoughts: - Would have given it a higher rating, but it was missing a hole and tee.

- Wear old shoes or boots. Ground can get muddy.

- Not a destination course, but was very fun to play.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Boggy When Wet

1    1/16/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 326  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Some baskets scattered about a lightly-wooded park at which to throw is better than nothing.
Cons:
Single tee/single basket. Tee locations are small, uneven mud pits - throwing from a standstill recommended. Baskets are single chain and not in good shape. Tee locations 5/6 have been dis-assembled. Basket 5 missing. Course retains water very well - was like a bog. Some holes play (blindly, at times) near/across walking paths. Some tees too close to neighbouring basket. Flat-n-short.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a meadow/lightly wooded area of a multi-purpose park. Some challenging basket locations near creek, and most holes require a bit of a turn or fade. All holes but the ~350' #4 are in the mid-100/low 200s. Tee #1 is down the path from basket/tennis courts, and the course flows in a counter-clockwise direction. Lots of work (preventing erosion of the creek bed? Installation of walking paths? I'm not sure) going on in the area of holes 3-6.

If it was within short walking distance of home or work, it would be worth wandering over time to time to practice/play safari, but its not worth making any special effort to visit.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 If you weren't looking, you might miss it.

5+    4/1/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 62  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Classic little throwback course - Great old Mach I baskets.
-Pleasant meadow-like setting - Large clearing, Majestic old trees, large forest canopy.
-Creek comes into play on many holes.
-Good use of area/terrain
-Pretty good beginners course - Couple of challenges or oddities - Overall a "pitch & putt" course. Great for approach practice.
-A great "get a round in at lunch" course.
-Ace Run Opportunities
Cons: -Can be Wet & Sloppy - Very Wet & Sloppy - Course sits in a low spot near downtown McLean.
-Poison Ivy!!!!!! Some times LOTS of it.
-May have to play around and deal with park patrons. - Lots of dog walking & joggers.
-Tee pads are bad at best - Tough to keep maintained due to water runoff.
-Located in city park but very well hidden - Could be tough to find.
Other Thoughts: McLean Central Park is one of the oldest courses and possibly the 1st course in the DC Metro Area. With the exception of the alternate tees, it has not changed one bit since it was first installed back in the early days of the disc golf craze. Back in the day it was my home course and I had taken it under my wing for a spell. Held a tournament there called the Swamp Thing, that should tell you something about the course. If you can catch it during a dry spell, you're in for a very pleasant round.
Most holes are short and many are a little quirky thanks to the creek and the old trees. Don't let it's little look fool you, there is still plenty to pay for if you make a mistake. The tee boxes are a mess but they are very tough to maintain because they keep getting washed out in a good downpour. Overall they do an antiquate job.
Actually, I commend the city and all those folks that have kept the course going and maintained over the years. It could have been very easy to let it get over grown, washed out and unusable. In dry conditions, when the grass is cut, the course lends itself to an array of shots including rollers and tomahawks.
Playing this course is to step back in time to a place before the 500 ft. huck, the monster hyser when "the one who has the most fun wins" was just an infant. If the opportunity arises you should play this course if for no other reason then to say you did. You might even add it to your favorites. I did.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.