McLean, VA 
McLean Central Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 If you weren't looking, you might miss it.

5+    4/1/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 32.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Classic little throwback course - Great old Mach I baskets.
-Pleasant meadow-like setting - Large clearing, Majestic old trees, large forest canopy.
-Creek comes into play on many holes.
-Good use of area/terrain
-Pretty good beginners course - Couple of challenges or oddities - Overall a "pitch & putt" course. Great for approach practice.
-A great "get a round in at lunch" course.
-Ace Run Opportunities
Cons: -Can be Wet & Sloppy - Very Wet & Sloppy - Course sits in a low spot near downtown McLean.
-Poison Ivy!!!!!! Some times LOTS of it.
-May have to play around and deal with park patrons. - Lots of dog walking & joggers.
-Tee pads are bad at best - Tough to keep maintained due to water runoff.
-Located in city park but very well hidden - Could be tough to find.
Other Thoughts: McLean Central Park is one of the oldest courses and possibly the 1st course in the DC Metro Area. With the exception of the alternate tees, it has not changed one bit since it was first installed back in the early days of the disc golf craze. Back in the day it was my home course and I had taken it under my wing for a spell. Held a tournament there called the Swamp Thing, that should tell you something about the course. If you can catch it during a dry spell, you're in for a very pleasant round.
Most holes are short and many are a little quirky thanks to the creek and the old trees. Don't let it's little look fool you, there is still plenty to pay for if you make a mistake. The tee boxes are a mess but they are very tough to maintain because they keep getting washed out in a good downpour. Overall they do an antiquate job.
Actually, I commend the city and all those folks that have kept the course going and maintained over the years. It could have been very easy to let it get over grown, washed out and unusable. In dry conditions, when the grass is cut, the course lends itself to an array of shots including rollers and tomahawks.
Playing this course is to step back in time to a place before the 500 ft. huck, the monster hyser when "the one who has the most fun wins" was just an infant. If the opportunity arises you should play this course if for no other reason then to say you did. You might even add it to your favorites. I did.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 fun in the swamp

5+    4/11/2008   8/11/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 32.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Situated in a nice neighborhood park not far from the District with good tree cover. Makes good use of available obstacles (trees, creek, even a bridge). A couple nice precision shots. Near a public library so you can borrow a computer and find out where the good courses are ;-) It really is in a pretty setting.
Cons: Course does not drain well. Seems like pin #2 is always in a pool of muck when ever I go there. Terrain is flat so no fun from elevation. Lots and lots of undergrowth, extremely easily to lose sight of your disc, especially on holes 6-8 near the creek. These same holes also have some pretty well guarded fairways so some accidental kicks into the smegma are a real possibility. Course is very short, #4 may top 300' but just barely. Possibly the worst tees I've ever played.
Other Thoughts: A few of the holes here are fun. In particular I like #1, a 225' right bender located on the edge of a small creek, an ace run has to miss a small bridge just before the basket. #4 is a respectable huck through a few trees with some trouble off to the right. 6 through 8 are short precision shots that need to be threaded through the trees. I got my first 'ace' ever on #9 which was really just a long putt (145') across a creek.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A good afternoon.

1    7/16/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: cbowl06
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a shaded course, has a nice feel to it for a afternoon out. It is a good course for beginners/intermediate players. Works on your skill set alot to get around trees and obstructions.
Cons: A short course. Not the course for you if you like long nice fairways. This is a wooded course, so you get all of the trees, the creek, the piles of brush. If you have an off throw, there is a good possiblity of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: I've played part of this once, and went back to finsih it. 1st time it was sloppy, there was brush all over the place. 2nd time they had cleaned it up, and it looks a lot nicer now. easier to navigate too.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/17/2008   6/29/2009
Review By: Che Starr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to DC
Parking is easy
Cons: Really don't have proper fairways
Tee pad are severely damaged
Only 9 holes
Lays in a small river valley so often is wet
Distance is too short
Other Thoughts: Really could stand to have someone come in and cut down (gasp) some of the smaller trees to create a more even fairway. Really because of the small trees you have to get lucky to get your disc close to the hole despite the fact that they aren't long holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  muddy, short, 9 holes

2-4    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: wildcardct4th
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good for beginners, par is really easy. In a local park. Can be played in about thirty minutes.
Cons: Muddy, very easy to lose discs, i've lost two in the three times i've played. The par is way to high. Very easy to birdie about 7 of the holes and eagles aren't uncommon. Beginners should play at par or even under. Thick bushes and woods on both sides. There was also park construction going on and I couldn't even play the last hole. Watch out for the creek on the right of hole #8.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully not going back.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Birdies Abound

2-4    4/11/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 267  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice little walk in the park, McLean is a quaint little course that plays mostly around the edges of a pretty clearing in the woods. Fairly simple and very short, the course makes good use of trees and a stream in the small space available for course play. Almost all holes are short, an accurate drive will leave you putting for 2 every time. Good mix of 'lefty' 'righty' holes. Signage was accurate and course was easy to follow. Beginners will find this course very appealing. Those with experience will find a relaxing, quick birdie fest. Playing alone I finished 2 rounds in under an hour. Hole 4, the longest, was very scenic and my favorite.
Cons: The tee boxes, a square patch of dirt boxed in by wood beams, were messy. Over the years they have become dug out and many where muddy and or filled with water. On about half I drove from next to the box. Baskets are old and a bit beat up, but still the chains caught well. Par, was interesting. I am by no means a believer of all par 3s, and have played some courses were I feel par was inflated, but this one tops them all. Take from that what you will. The start of the course was a bit of a walk, but directions posted here were accurate. Advanced players may find this course too easy.
Other Thoughts: Not at all destination disc golf, but a nice little course. Great for local play or for beginners learning the sport. I enjoyed my quick rounds there.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Short, but fun course

1    10/25/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: fsu8503
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight layout that requires accuracy on your shots. Includes water, but enough to lose discs.
Cons: Ground is very slippery if wet, almost clay-like. Tee boxes are terrible.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I enjoyed this course. It has a nice mix of open holes and tight ones as well. Water comes into play on #1, 2, 6, 7, 8 and 9. 1, 2 and 9 play across water and 6,7 and 8 border it or it could easily come into play. However, the creeks involved are very shallow and you won't lose any discs.

The course is fairly easy to follow. However, finding it to begin with wasn't very clear. You have to park by the basketball courts and then walk to the right toward the tennis courts. You go through the tennis courts and take a left on a path inbetween a small playground and more tennis courts. Keep walking that way and you'll come upon the first hole.

The second tee requires you to double back across the bridge and the third tee is up a path to the right of the second hole. Other than that the course flows fairly instinctively.

As mentioned the pars are incredibly high. I shot a 9 under and only played about average for my normal ability.

There is a fair amount of thick rough around so losing a disc is a possibility. My wife I and would take turns going down field and watch the others disc come down.

We enjoyed it and will definitely play it again because it's close to our house.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, Quick round

1    10/13/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: thatguy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had a pretty good amount of challenge for how short it is. While most people see short courses as "novice" I see some as useful for a quick round with great opportunities for short game practice! There are great water obstacles but even if your disc gets wet, the water is very shallow (6" at its deepest). There is good opportunity to practice extreme right dog legs (great for leftys) This course would also be good for those lacking super human driving ability because of the course's length. Great little gem tucked in suburbia!
Cons: If it had rained recently the tee boxes would have been filled with mud. The course is short so no practice for the super long drive. There are a tremendous ammount of opportunities for your disc to get lost, wear long pants and close-toed shoes for going into the woods. The course is not amazingly well marked but still easy enough to follow. The holes are close to each other so the odds of getting hit by a stray shot on a busy day are pretty good.
Other Thoughts: I actually liked playing this course and will probably go back. It's free to play even if you're not a county resident. This is an old course so the baskets aren't state of the art nor are the tees, but you won't be competing here, it's a great practice ground. There were many other people there but it wasn't crowded. I went in the evening after work and had a ball. Be carefull if you're taking any shots at dusk, you might lose a disc. I met some other people while I was there. Everyone was very friendly and I got some good pointers from someone I ended up playing a round with. I was shown by one of the locals where the unofficial "pro tees" were. They're set back from the tee boxes and they're marked with orange ribbon next to them and some of them still have the spray paint on the ground. All in all I would say that this is probably the best small course that I have played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 the short course with high par.

1    10/9/2008   10/9/2008
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was simple and fun. It gives you a nice opportunity to practice your short game. There was good signage and very little traffic.
Cons: Average hole is under 200 ft. The Par is far to high even for a novice. For example hole 5 has a 160ft Par 4 with very little obstacles. There was even a par 5 that was under 300'.
Tee boxes are tiny and can be filled with mud, but because the basket is so close you can stand and toss.
There are several baskets where you are shooting blind.
Other Thoughts: Don't worry about your discs, water is not really a factor (it says 5 holes have water in play).
play the course as a par 3 if you want a challenge. I did not get ticks or poison ivy!
Wear pants, bring bug spray, and forget the par and you will see this course is under-rated (as a 1 out of 5).
Basket 5 is gone. It is now a tree with tape.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 short, but not awful

7/8/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First hole is a good dogleg. Signage is fine. Easy to get to. Very quick to get a round of nine finished. We were the only ones on the course mid-afternoon.
Cons: Too short for most players. My daughter noticed the bugs while we played, but it didn't seem bad to me.
Other Thoughts: Maybe we caught the park at an OK time. Not swampy at all. Poison ivy wasn't a problem either, although it was probably around more than we noticed. Most of the driving areas were clear enough to walk through without incident.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.