Flagstaff, AZ 
McPherson Park Share
Uploaded By: jlogflagstaff Hole #1
-- / 320ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Mc-FIERCE-son!

5+    3/21/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: The experience: McPherson is the whole sha-bang. It's a clean, iconic Flagstaff course that requires you to make almost every kind of throw you can imagine.

The layout: some baskets are short, others are long. Some baskets have trees, others are more open. Some baskets require a backhand throw, others require forehand. The course literally has a little bit of everything!

The elevation: playing at 7,000' is awesome. And throwing from #10 and #12 are great too! Man law: if you can't throw past the short tee on #10, you have to take off your pants and walk to your disc sans pants. Just sayin'.

The location: 5 minutes north of downtown, perfect!
Cons: The popularity: this course is more popular than most, expect to wait for others to play through.

The terrain: the course is surprisingly rocky, be prepared for some scuffed discs.
Other Thoughts: McPherson is one of my favorite courses. I sometimes have dreams about it.

Great course in Flagstaff

1    6/30/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this park on my drive across the country. The pin layout is good combination of short and long holes. There are multiple pin positions to keep things from getting stale. There is also a good change in elevation without anything too extreme. Baskets are in good shape and there are concrete tee pads!!! I love concrete tee pads… Navigation from hole to hole was very easy, tee signs and other course signage was present. The course is very scenic inside a larger walking/biking park. For the most part the other park users were not in the way of the course.
Cons: Cons are always the hardest part….
The parking lot was okay and it took a minute to find the actual course, I drove right past it and had to turn around with a massive uhaul trailer... As someone else mentioned don't throw any disc you might get upset damaging. There are rocks and that CE Firebird might be better off left in your bag.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of land here, they could put together several courses in this park. I was happy with my decision to choose this course over the others for a quick round. Discs start to get stable at this elevation but nothing too bad. I would play here again anytime.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Flagstaff's best course

5+    8/25/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: tyleritus
Played: 30  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -sorter more technical shots on the front 9 and longer more open on the back 9. excellent tee pads, and a good amount of elevation changes.
Cons: -Lots of trees and there rocks there destroy disks if you hit the right one.
Other Thoughts: It is an absolutely beautiful course in the ponderosas and to the north the San Francisco Peaks are absolutely beautiful.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Flagstaff Course

1    6/16/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice concrete tee-pads
-The baskets are looking a little old, but they still catch well.
-Nice tee-signs that show the layout of the hole, the multiple pin positions, and distance on them.
-Course is easy to navigate other than one point (see cons).
-Very pleasant wooded setting for a course.
-The course is very heavily wooded, but each hole had a defined fairway that was fair. The course does require accuracy to score well as the trees will definitely knock down errant drives.
-A couple of the holes are a little more wide open, which helps add some variety to the course. (Hole 10, 11 and 12 are all a lot more open than the rest of the course).
-Hole 12 is awesome especially from the newest position they added to it. (The new pin position is about 500 hundred that throws downhill into a mostly open meadow, and then back uphill a little bit to the basket on a small plateau, which is guarded by a few thick trees. It was by far the best hole on the course).
-Hole 17 and 10 have two tee-pads each. The longer tee-pad on hole 17 is nice because it makes a pretty short hole, quite a bit longer.
-The course has a solid mix of distance with holes ranging between 199 feet up to about 460 feet, depending on which pin position each hole is in.
-Trashcans at hole 1 and 10 long tee-pad
-The course makes good use of the available elevation changes.
-Most of the holes have multiple pin positions
Cons: -Hole 16 tee-pad is easy to miss, especially if the basket for hole 15 is in the B position as the tee-pad for hole 17 is quite close to it. The tee-pad for 16 is about even with the tee-pad of 15 on the other side of the rocky ridge from the tee-pad for 15.
-The rocks on this course could cause some footing issues and will eat up low grade plastic.
-There are long walks between a few of the holes and somewhat a long walk back to the parking lot from hole 18.
-Baskets are a dark red that blend in with the surrounding forest, and they can be very hard to see from the tee-pad.
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course that is a lot of fun. Of the three courses I played in Flagstaff
(McPherson, Thorpe and NAU), this was by far my favorite course in Flagstaff. If you are in Flagstaff definitely stop at this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Flagstaff Course

2-4    10/31/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: PumaPaws
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging. Not too difficult. Interesting course. Hole #1 near parking lot and once found, it is easy to navigate. Also played the NAU course, so this course appears to be typical of the area. Lots of pine trees and rocks. The course layout provides throwing lanes for both hyzers and anhyzers on many holes. There are several holes where an ace or birdie are feasible if you throw well BUT you can easily turn a birdie into a bogie or worse. Most holes are around 250-300 feet. There are a few longer ones that are wide open and are fun to grip it and rip it. Had a few friendly players to follow around the first time (Friday early evening) but the other two trips the course was empty.
Cons: Could use more signage (especially leading you to #7 and #13). #13 is especially a bit of a hike, up and around to find the tee box. Following the trail and you will be rewarded. Your discs will take a beating. ROCKS, ROCKS and TREES. You will hit several. There are several holes where you can taco your disc. That is when you throw your disc into a tree near the tee box bending it into a taco shell shape.
Other Thoughts: I like the course so much, I played it 3 times in my 4 days in Flagstaff.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Shape your pine lines

1    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great little course in the heart of Flagstaff. I played here on a vacation and found the course, first tee, and subsequent tees easy to find.

-Signage, tees, pathways between holes, benches, and all of those amenities are fantastic here. Giant map of whole course is by the first tee. Hole #1 is close to the parking lot.

- Typical of Flagstaff, there's a lot of pines and rocks. Quite scenic and rugged! The designers did a decent job of creating lines for both hyzers and anhyzers on many holes. A decent line-shaping game will be needed to par or better.

- Multiple pin placements. Many have A and B placements and some have a C pin.

- Tons of ace and birdie runs, but the precariously placed pines can also turn a birdie into a bogie.

- While most holes are around 200 feet or so, a few of them allow you to air-out. Holes #10 and 13 come to mind, with 400 foot downhill shots into well-guarded baskets.

- Good use of elevation with an equal mix of flat, uphill, and (some blind) downhill shots. There's a fence which makes some shots OB and force concentration.
Cons: - Course was very crowded when I played; there must have been over 30 people playing. Locals are quite friendly though, showing me where the first hole is and telling me about the disc golf scene in Flagstaff.

- Fairways don't necessarily cross, but the closeness of holes to each other can put other golfers or parkgoers the danger of errant throws. Personally, I'd like to see some mandos to make it more interesting and safer. Signage does warn you of this on various holes, however.

- Holes are quite short and aside from some tree obstacles, not too challenging. A smack off the pines could easily allow for par recovery. You could definitely bring a beginner here without overly frustrating him/her.

- I wish the course was a little more open, as many holes play in tight woods. I'm all for wooded courses, but I like variety as well.

- As other reviews have mentioned, the numerous rocks are ankle busters and disc eaters. Play with premium plastic and sturdy shoes.
Other Thoughts: This course does a nice job of packing 18 wooded holes into a park that isnt too huge; I guess this explains the short distance holes.

I played Ridge Line DGC when I was in Flagstaff last year, and this course is a million times better. I havent played all the courses in the area, but this place is solid and I really enjoyed myself. Please consider playing here if you like threading pines, are new to the game, or just want to play a quick 18. I'd advise against playing here during peak hours, as it can get quite crowded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!

2-4    9/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy parking right at the first tee which is very easy to find. Large cement teepads on all of the holes, no problem with them. Baskets are in great shape, one of my favorite kinds as well! Large pine trees all over the course that come into play on nearly every hole. Each hole unique from the rest, you don't feel like you are playing the same hole more than once. Great balance of shots, straight on, hyzer and anhyzer throws are needed. If you throw a well placed drive, an easy par or birdie is possible. There are some shorter holes that beg you to go for that ace. Then there are a few very long holes that play downhill, let it rip and you will see your disc just sail! There is a great balance of uphill, downhill and flat holes. Baskets are carefully placed, near trees or next to rocks. The scenery is increadible! Nice mountain fresh air, breathe it in! Not much for trash cans on the course, but there was hardly any trash to be found! Amazingly clean! Most have only one teepad, but there are several rubber pads that are for the pros. Nearly all the holes have multiple pin placements. The land the course is on is nearly exclusive to disc golf, no need to worry about other park users.
Cons: I really have to get picky here. The signs by the teepads are nice, some are a slightly damaged, but not enough to read the sign. The course was very easy to navigate, there are trails from the baskets to the next teepads which are very easy to follow. There was one spot where it may be confusing, but nothing to big. It was somewhat windy when I played, not sure if that is common on this mountain or not. I don't see it as a con though, others may.
Other Thoughts: I nearly rated this course a 5/5. Great design, good challenge, awesome scenery and clean! Get some better signs and you could easily call it a 5/5 course. I definately enjoyed this course as you can tell. If anywhere in the area, this is a must play.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great View of the Peaks

5+    9/28/2008   3/22/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 121  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cement teepads
Bright Red painted baskets
Elevation changes, both up and down
A few holes with multiple settings that are fun and longer
Cons: Very rocky so your plastic will be punished
Baskets spit a lot of good putts
Kind of easy, good players will not shoot over par (54)
Not a lot of variety, baskets seldom move (only have one setting for almost all)
Other Thoughts: If you're in town I would definitely play. Just make sure that it is open. I like to play here for a quicker round (1 hour if you dont have to wait).
Personal favorite holes are 3, 7, 9 long, 10 long, and 17 long.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course...

2-4    5/22/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun course to play. Has a lot of trees here. The layout is kind of funky but fairly easy to navigate. The overall distance of the course isn't all the challenging as I think I threw one or two drivers on the whole course.
Cons: Lots of rocks to tear up your disc's.
Other Thoughts: Had a lot of fun playing this course while I was on vacation.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mcpherson dg course

5+    7/30/2009   11/3/2008
Review By: jlogflagstaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: amazing scenery of the san francisco peaks. moderate elevation changes on holes 1-7, 8-13 alot more elevation, 14-18 moderate elevation changes. some short technical holes on the front 9 more longer ones on back 9. very clean fairways with no low hanging branches. large concrete tee pads is a big plus. some holes have multiple pin positions.hole ten is worth multiple throws from the long tee. the tee signs are great, giving you the length of the hole and other pin placements. clean dg course for the most part, you dont see to much trash around at all. very enjoyable to play. favorite holes 3,10,12,15(rubber pad).friendly locals.
Cons: alot of trees,but it only makes you better. can be packed in summer. more trash cans needed. the front 9 can get confusing for a first timer. longer pin positions. rocky in places.
Other Thoughts: must play if you are in town. closed for winter. you are bound to have a great time at this one. Hole 15 has a longer tee pad area,look for the rubber pad way behind the cement tee. when you are walking from 12's basket to 13 pad you walk past it. its on the left ( probably one of the best holes from the rubber pad ).....also 17 has another rubber tee pad area. dont miss out on these two long positions. Mcpherson offers alot of fun for am and pro players. dont miss out

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.