Stevens Point, WI 
Mead Park Share
Uploaded By: TenaciousMV Hole #9
3 / 220ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Suffers due to others in the area!

2-4    7/10/2009   9/27/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Defined tee areas with concrete pads.
Good Mach baskets.
Decent balance of left/right/straight holes and offering a few routes at the pins (for say RHBH versus RHFH).
OB water is in play, that level of risk is great for psychological play.
In the middle of a city park - things to do for other non-discin members of your crew.
Cons: Only one set of tees (although two would be difficult to squeeze in this small 9-holer park), so no separation in skill levels for varying groups of players.
Tees are erdoing around the edges badly.
Only one pin location, but with no unique terrain, adding a second pin wouldn't bring much to the mix.
No elevation whatsoever, so there is snothing at all unique about this terrain - just a flat river edge park with mature trees and some manmade obstacles.
No risky greens placed near trees, water, slopes, etc. They're all pretty open within 30' with the only risk being a windy day off the river introducing some blowby on your missed putt.
In the middle of a city park - noise, traffic, screaming kids, interference with non-players, and the inability to lose yourself in a round.
Other Thoughts: If you're travelling with kids, there is an AWESOME playground at the park. The kids will absolutely love it!
I think after hole 5 or 6, the beach on the river is just a short walk away. It was 90 when we played. We were out in the sun all day, and we stopped in the middle of our round to jump in and cool off. We stayed in the water for quite a while, and finishing the round was just something we had to do. The swimming was better than the discin.
With all the above average courses in the area - Standing Rocks!, Yulga, even Willow Run - this course suffers. It is not a destination course or anything a travelling player would even want to bother with considering all the others. Therefore, it is Passable. Nothing horribly bad, but nothing remotely stellar about it. It fills a niche for a small, relatively easy beginner park in the middle of the city. Send kids here, where they can ride their bikes, and learn the game.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Below Average beginner course

1    6/27/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete pads and excellent baskets. Tee posts on every hole which does help you locate your next hole.

2) Beginner friendly, which I suppose Stevens Point needs because of all the other great courses nearby.

3) Very nice park facilities and also fairly scenic running right along the Wisconsin River are added bonus. At least the setting is cool despite the course being below average. Bathrooms, running water are a bonus.
Cons: 1) Very short and not many challenges except for a true beginner.

2) Park seems to be segmented by the disc course which can lead to runins with all sorts of people and activities. I would have rather seen the course on one far end of the park to avoid as many people and recreational areas as possible.

3) Really could use some mulch in some areas to help with the compaction/erosion around tees and baskets.

4) No signage or distance listed which is always helpful (maybe not to a beginner). I think all courses should have a minimum of the distance listed.

5) Wide open except on 2-3 holes with some bushes guarding a basket or a large tree protecting the basket.

6) Water isn't used to the benefit of the course. They could have tucked a basket closer to the water and brought it more into play.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is simply a beginner disc golf course. It is not quite an averahe course because it simply doesn't present much challenge. The two to three places with some challenge bring this course up to a 1.5 rating, but it is teetering between a much lower grade because of the other negatives (lack of mulch/maintenance, lack of signage, location in the park and how many other obstacles might be in your way any given day). If the maintenance was picked up slightly by adding mulch around tees and baskets the course would be a 2 rating in my opinion, but without changing of some basket locations or addition of some protection for the baskets (adding some younger trees now to hide the baskets a little more) I could not go any higher than I rated it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 meh

1    6/21/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: matrathvy
Played: 91  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a course that has some decent shots, using trees and the water of the wisconsin river aswell
Cons: BUT they are short holes, slight to no elevation change, and its a very busy park.
Other Thoughts: Hole #8 is a disc eater, if you miss drive at all you will end up in the river and I DID. Never found it either. GRRRRRRRRR

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent practice and easy to play

7/3/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads; always easy to find your disc; bathrooms available; some tees have information; short walks from pins to tees; will allow you practice your weaknesses all round - all backhand, all forehand, all rollers, all thumbers, or all tomahawks could work for 7-8 of the holes - you can still score birdies. (This is usually a con, but for a practice session it's not a bad thing)
Cons: Doesn't require a variety of shots; can be tricky to follow; much too easy to be considered a true 'course'; about half the holes have basically no obstacles, 2-3 have obstacles that are easily avoided with forehand or backhand hyzer; most tees don't have a number or are missing information; very little thought needed to score well
Other Thoughts: Mead is a little course in a neighborhood park. If you go there, you'll have some fun - but mainly because disc golf itself is enjoyable, not because Mead brings out its best. What Mead brings is a course that will provide practice without the frustration of having to constantly look for discs or play holes that force you to use your most matured shot.

A score of 2.0 is considered average. For a course to be considered average, it simply has to force a player to use a relatively wide variety of shots and have holes that make you think about strategy. Mead is an adequate course, but it just doesn't provide that level of play.

I agree with the reviewer that preceded me - Mead is a decent course to play quickly before going somewhere else. (Yulga and Standing Rocks are both close by!)

While this course has its place, I cannot put it in the same class as other courses I have scored as average. For this, Mead is below average - 1.5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.