North Tonawanda, NY 
Pinewoods Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK  



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Whats going on here?

5+    5/29/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: Sheldo
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is 5 minutes drive from my home. It is a great course to practice mid range and putter shots, the inexperienced can throw drivers. The elevation of the park lends it self to be much more dry than other parks at the same time of year. I suggest any beginners or players looking to practice their short game to come play here.
Cons: I am not sure what is going on with trying to turn this park into an 18 hole course. Most holes have overlapping fairways. Also using the same 9 baskets for a "back 9" makes no sense. There are two different groups of people placing signage to designate where the tee boxes are which also is confusing. One has you playing against the grain (using basket 9 as the basket for "hole 10" and so forth). Then there are spots for blue tees? What the hell? This park is far too small and "homey" feeling to be going this way.
Other Thoughts: Great park to practice. Some people who play here are rude, while others are very friendly. There is also usually a great deal of children and dog walkers, as well as neighborhood kids all over the park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/7/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: penne101
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Nice short course with Fair amount of trees to keep it interesting. Newer baskets
Cons: Tee boxes are not well defined signage could be better
Other Thoughts: Nice course to go to if you have an hour to kill. Not too challenging

 ok for practice

2-4    8/20/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: losuch419
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good easy practice course. not very busy. close to m=home for me.
Cons: Course is only 9 holes. Can not locate first tee. Too many trees.
Other Thoughts: the course is well marked. there are too many trees to work thru.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 read my "other thoughts" first

2-4    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: bfaslewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -it's a short little par 3 that has improved since the last time i attempted to play here. i was actually able to navigate my way around the now 9 holes (as MattK indicated there were only 8)
-it's free to play and park
-this is an okay course, with some woods. it would be an nice place to work on your short game
Cons: -Several fairways overlap and intersect with the previous or upcoming fairway
-no real tee signs to speak of, the few that remain simply indicate which hole number you're starting from, but there's no distance or direction to the pin
-there is no variation between each hole, each one seems to be a straight fairway. an improvement could be the addition of some hyzer or annie holes, or the addition of some OB. there is also no elevation change on any of the holes
Other Thoughts: -I first played this course around the same time as MattK, so i found no need to review it because his review was perfectly accurate, but after reading ssejhill's review i decided it was time for another visit.
-Today i measured the holes from pad to pin, as accurately as i could since there isn't much signage, but the worn dirt pads made it easier to navigate then it was 3 years ago.
-This course plus Payne Park just down the street does make for a passable 18 hole course
-while it is a great improvement from the last time i was here, it still needs work.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for prcatice and the young set

1    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.1 Years
Pros: Quiet park with newer DISCatcher baskets. Enough trees to give you a little challenge. Older trees create some great shade for a hot summer day's play.
Cons: No par(s) on any of the holes. I did some rough measuring and the holes varied from about 150 ft up to about 280 ft. I hope some comes out with a wheel and gets some better measurements.
Other Thoughts: The course has been recently been "signed" to make the holes a bit better. You'll find the #1 "tee/pole" near the corner of Schenck and Fassett (NE corner of the park). When you get to the 1st basket the "tee/pole" for hole #2 will be very close by. The holes aren't so far apart that you need a map, but it would be helpful. Just look for Basket #2, it will be labeled and you can see it from the "tee/pole".

  Good

7/22/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: Angryson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Baskets,good practice course. i think it is suited more for beginners or younger players. dont need a long arm to play.
Cons: course is a bit hard to figure out.once you get to hole 3 and beyond wood on trees with directions are posted.i will try to put up some tee marker when "i" figure out the rest of the course. I did like it though my 12 yr. old son liked it and he felt a bit competetive on it as opposed to the bigger courses where you need a strong arm to compete.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing to see here...move along

7/22/2007   7/24/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Park itself is a nice place, with good shade, a playground and such. The baskets that are here are usable.
Cons: Well, there really isn't a disc golf course here, just disc golf baskets, without tees or any course markings. I think there are supposed to be nine, but I only found eight, and I'm not sure because I could not find numbers on them. There mysteriously happens to be one Discatcher amongst the Mach type baskets in the town's other disc golf course, and if by chance the remains of this course are being cannibalized to keep the other little course in town viable, it's just as well I suppose.
Other Thoughts: This park has the disc golf version of a large putting green with lots of holes in it. If you happen to have another reason to visit here you can bring your discs and practice. But if you're looking to play a round, go anyplace else.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.