Brandenburg, KY 
Meade Olin Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    9/20/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: rww826
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice open fairways some wooded areas good mix of long and short holes
Cons: hole 5 is not marked but better location
Other Thoughts: did a great job of getting course back in excellent condition. will play it again next time im in town.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 All Day Course

5+    10/10/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Meade Olin is a park in Brandenburg, KY. Hole 1 sits across the road from a small parking lot near a shelter house which works out great for picnics; bring a picnic basket (cooler) with you and you could spend all day here. The course is mostly open (due to a tornado that came through early in 2008). There are nice rolling hills throughout the park providing some nice elevation change that will challenge your game. The course loops back to the parking lot/shelter house after holes 10, 12, and 18. Some of the holes have a garbage can and some type of sitting device to rest. Most of the holes are open with a chance to really let 'er rip, although some of the holes are guarded by mature trees that can punish errant drives.
Cons: After a decent amount of rain, the course often floods resulting in casual water on some of the holes. More of the holes could have benches/trash cans next to them, too.
Other Thoughts: With enough food and drink, you could spend all day playing at this course and not get tired of it. The tornado that came through in early '08 made the course a lot easier. There is a liquor store that sells discs nearby, too :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lower ratings need updated

1    5/22/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of terrain, and enough elevation change to force you to choose the right shot.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. Older Mach baskets are in very good condition. Tee signs are mostly there. Other facilities are adequate, and park upkeep seems to be very good.


My memorable holes:
1 - Wow this hole is longer than it looks. 450+ feet downhill then back up, but the basket is protected unless you take the big hyzer route, which I couldn't quite make.
3 - Keep it low with anhyzer. Oh and stay under the limbs. And make sure to avoid the trees. Tough shot uphill almost 300 feet with trees, but very rewarding feeling to deuce it.
4 - Not at lot of options for lanes, but a high thumber cleared the trees directly in front of me and landed safely a little right of the basket with a good open look. If you try to go straight through you will most likely get knocked down by foliage.
6 - Deceiving on the distance, just under 300 feet, but plays up hill, with houses (and obligatory chain-link-fenced yards) left, plenty to trees protecting the route to the basket.
10 - Not for the faint of heart, LARGE trees about 250 feet out, and no discernable rout to the basket. I played safe and went straight out and around the biggest tree, which left me an open upshot under the canopy, up the hill to the right.
12 - Down a hill and back up again, looks like a slow sweeping hyzer will get you close to the basket on the opposite slope. That is if you can get past the line of trees that rounds the bottom of the slope that the basket is on.
15 - I loved this hole! Huge hyzer shot down a hill to a basket protected by small trees. Be careful though, the green is very fast and you can skip 20, 30, or more feet further when your shot hits earth.
18 - Apparently a dogwood tree was recently cut down in the middle of the fairway which probably made this a much tougher hole, as it would have blocked a big hyzer shot that would allow you to circle around the big stand of trees protecting the basket. As such, it was a hole that let me stretch my arm and overthrow the hole. Up over a rise, then back down to the basket, I was at least able to lay up under the basket on my upshot for a thankful 3.
Cons: Tee signs. Many missing and some positions a little inaccurate, but it's a work in progress, so it is continually improving.

Tree debris from the ice storm earlier this year is still in progress, changing the play on a couple of holes, but not very bad.
No map! This course needs a map to aid navigation since all signs are not present. I will be working with locals to see if we can get this taken care of soon.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 is based on the fact that this is a very good course, despite the currently rough-around-the-edges feel. I'm told by a local that many improvements will be made later this year as far as pin and tee placement, which should make this course outstanding. I will definitely be making it out to this one more often, as I see it has the potential to really help my game.

This is another of Kentucky's must play, despite some of the lower ratings listed, this truly is a hidden and underestimated gem..

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Storm Damaged!

1    2/25/2008   2/25/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a GREAT par three course. Nearly every hole is reachable in one shot but it is laid out well enough that scoring well on this course seems MUCH more difficult than it should be. The course utilizes mature trees, elevation, park roads, ball parks, and will soon be adding sand traps and an elevated baskets. The park workers are AMAZING this park (under normal circumstances) is normally in pristine condition. Beautiful rolling hills, giant oaks, and blooming dogwoods are abundant. There is usually more than one route equally available on every hole here. There are not many holes where you are FORCED to use a particular route to the pin (which could be a negative thing for some).
Cons: This course was destroyed by a tornado in February of 2008. The damage was SO extensive that they are still (as of March 2009) working to get the course back to normal. Two baskets (#5 and #13) are still missing from the tornado along with MOST of the tee signs. Our goal is to have this course back in tip top condition before June of 2009. This tornado has inspired us to make the course even BETTER than it was before.
Other Thoughts: We're whipping Meade-O back into shape! I'll expect some MUCH better reviews when she's finished!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Well Maintained

1/17/2008   1/17/2008
Review By: mynamesnotjason
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained course. The local club is phenomenal. The Annual Brandenburg Open is played here and is a well run tournament.
Cons: The hole that involves a throw over a small pond is fun, but when I played it last, it was a nasty, algae covered body of water. I don't know how it could be done, but if it were cleaned up, it would be a lot nicer, aesthetically speaking.
Other Thoughts: If you get a chance to play in a tourney on this course or one run by the local club, do it. They're a great bunch of guys and do a good job of making out-of-towners feel welcome.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.