Brandenburg, KY 
Meade Olin Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 329ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Lower ratings need updated

1    5/22/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of terrain, and enough elevation change to force you to choose the right shot.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. Older Mach baskets are in very good condition. Tee signs are mostly there. Other facilities are adequate, and park upkeep seems to be very good.


My memorable holes:
1 - Wow this hole is longer than it looks. 450+ feet downhill then back up, but the basket is protected unless you take the big hyzer route, which I couldn't quite make.
3 - Keep it low with anhyzer. Oh and stay under the limbs. And make sure to avoid the trees. Tough shot uphill almost 300 feet with trees, but very rewarding feeling to deuce it.
4 - Not at lot of options for lanes, but a high thumber cleared the trees directly in front of me and landed safely a little right of the basket with a good open look. If you try to go straight through you will most likely get knocked down by foliage.
6 - Deceiving on the distance, just under 300 feet, but plays up hill, with houses (and obligatory chain-link-fenced yards) left, plenty to trees protecting the route to the basket.
10 - Not for the faint of heart, LARGE trees about 250 feet out, and no discernable rout to the basket. I played safe and went straight out and around the biggest tree, which left me an open upshot under the canopy, up the hill to the right.
12 - Down a hill and back up again, looks like a slow sweeping hyzer will get you close to the basket on the opposite slope. That is if you can get past the line of trees that rounds the bottom of the slope that the basket is on.
15 - I loved this hole! Huge hyzer shot down a hill to a basket protected by small trees. Be careful though, the green is very fast and you can skip 20, 30, or more feet further when your shot hits earth.
18 - Apparently a dogwood tree was recently cut down in the middle of the fairway which probably made this a much tougher hole, as it would have blocked a big hyzer shot that would allow you to circle around the big stand of trees protecting the basket. As such, it was a hole that let me stretch my arm and overthrow the hole. Up over a rise, then back down to the basket, I was at least able to lay up under the basket on my upshot for a thankful 3.
Cons: Tee signs. Many missing and some positions a little inaccurate, but it's a work in progress, so it is continually improving.

Tree debris from the ice storm earlier this year is still in progress, changing the play on a couple of holes, but not very bad.
No map! This course needs a map to aid navigation since all signs are not present. I will be working with locals to see if we can get this taken care of soon.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 is based on the fact that this is a very good course, despite the currently rough-around-the-edges feel. I'm told by a local that many improvements will be made later this year as far as pin and tee placement, which should make this course outstanding. I will definitely be making it out to this one more often, as I see it has the potential to really help my game.

This is another of Kentucky's must play, despite some of the lower ratings listed, this truly is a hidden and underestimated gem..

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Mead olin

1    4/8/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: ejank
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course has nice long fairways that are lightly wooded, great use of the elevation changes some shots feel like you're staring down at the hole. all baskets are in great shape, except the mia hole 13 that is soon to change tho. the park is in the processes of rebuilding the course and appears to be doing a great job on that, trees are being cleared off of the fairways and by the middle of summer this should be a great relaxing course.
Cons: with out a gps this course would be hard to find,
the obvious missing basket and downed trees but that's all soon to change. some holes could be a bit more challenging. more than a few holes are missing the signs.
Other Thoughts: great beginner course with only one water hazard and high hills to get great distance off of.
course layout is fantastic as you don't even need signs on the pads or to the next hole (played the whole course with no signs )

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/26/2008   12/26/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A little background for those who may not be familiar with this area, a terrible storm (tornado) came through the park and a major ice storm earlier this year (2009), causing tremendous damage to the local area and surrounding areas including the park and the disc golf course.

*UPDATE: The rebuild is well underway, and a lot of progress has been made. Thank you to everyone who has helped to restore the course to a playable state, and for the clean-up efforts at the park.

With that in mind, here is my review.
Meade Olin is once again one of the top courses in the area. There are concrete tee pads that are in good shape, some tee signs, and Mach 3 baskets that are in good condition. There are a few new baskets on the course as well. The course flows well from hole to hole, but if you are new to the course, you will have trouble navigating the layout. The course does loop back to the parking area for hole No1 after hole 10, so in a sense it is two loops, 1-10, and 11-18. There is little to no underbrush throughout the course, and well defined fairways on most all holes. There are a few benches on the course, andplenty of trash receptacles.

There are slight to moderate elevations on all holes, and the elevations are optimized to provide all varieties of uphill, downhill, and side hill lies. There is a nice variety in hole length throughout the course, from a few ace runs, to a lot of really nice par 3's for a par54 total There are no wide open holes, and no true technical holes. This course makes great use of the large and mature deciduous trees which come into play on every hole. With this course, each hole offers a variety of shots, which is a nice feature. It is like there are multiple fairways defined for each hole, which caters to the wide variety of playing styles and preferences between rec players, am's, and pros.

Overall, the course is challenging in a very fair manner, and can be enjoyed by all skill levels.
Cons: There are some tee signs on the course that accurately represent each hole where they are located, but several of the holes do not have signs at all. I've played there enough to know my way around the layout, but if you are playing here for the first time, navigation will be challenging and frustrating. There should definitely be some sort of navigation system in place and provide a more clear definition of the course layout.

There are some low areas on the course that are very sloppy and retain water, keep this in mind if playing after a big rain, mostly the bottom of hole1 and 11/12.

The last issue of concern is the tee pads. The pads are appropriately sized and in good shape, but a handful of the tees are unlevel, and due to some of the elevation changes, there are several tee pads that drop anywhere from 1-3ft off of the front edge. I know for me, the thought of falling off of the end of some of these tees linger in my mind as I am throwing of the box.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of my favorite courses in this area. The clean up efforts have been tremendous, and the course once again has a full 18 playable holes. A lot of trees were lost from both the tornado and the ice storm, so several of the holes have been opened up from the original layout. Some alternate tee/pin positions have been identified, and will be installed in the next few months. I was able to see the new tee/pin positions, and they will certainly increase the difficulty by adding length and more protected pins. There is still some clean-up going on, but hopefully the course will be 100% very soon. This course is well on it's way to a 4 disc rating!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Still needs a lot of work.

1    9/7/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Must have been a nice coarse reading others reveiws. Nice use of terrain. I can't wait until it is totally back in action.
Cons: First, very hard to follow from hole to hole, long distances between holes with no signage. missed 7+8 or 8+9 completely. Pin at 12 completely MIA. Looks like a bulldozer plowd through the whole place and grass is just starting to grow back. Maybe one day I will go back but not anytime soon.
Other Thoughts: Tons of trees and debris just plowed into the edge of the woods, needs a lot of TLC.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Definite progress...

5+    8/22/2009   9/3/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the first course that ever humbled me, and it's been among my favorites ever since. Nice use of elevation, with just the right amount of trees to throw around.

As has been noted, it was substantially damaged by a tornado in early 2008.

This course has the POTENTIAL to be a 4+ course.

As of right now, 9/3/08, I'd give it more like a 2.5 rating. Hopefully it can come back better than ever.

***UPDATE 08/22/09*** I just played it for the first time since I wrote this review, and there has been lots of work done since last year. Still plenty left to do...but as of right now I'd rate this course a 3.5.

There are GREAT looking signs on every hole...but not your typical teepad topographical-map type signs...these are cut/carved/painted LOG signs that are tacked onto trees nearby each teepad! Very unique and also very functional.
Cons: Many holes play much easier than they used to due to the trees that were lost from the tornado.
Other Thoughts: Could be looking at erosion problems in the future if some large scale re-seeding isn't done soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Can't Wait To Play The New Meade-O

4/7/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Meade-O was an amazing course.
Cons: Sucks that it got destroyed from the storms. :(
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play it again someday soon.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Was a great course before the destruction left behind by the recent tornados.
Cons: NO LONGER PLAYABLE :(
Other Thoughts: Can't wait for the new version!!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 swept away

2/27/2008   2/27/2008
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 204  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: this was a beautiful course - championship calibur - it will be missed - new course 2008 can't wait

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Storm Damaged!

1    2/25/2008   2/25/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a GREAT par three course. Nearly every hole is reachable in one shot but it is laid out well enough that scoring well on this course seems MUCH more difficult than it should be. The course utilizes mature trees, elevation, park roads, ball parks, and will soon be adding sand traps and an elevated baskets. The park workers are AMAZING this park (under normal circumstances) is normally in pristine condition. Beautiful rolling hills, giant oaks, and blooming dogwoods are abundant. There is usually more than one route equally available on every hole here. There are not many holes where you are FORCED to use a particular route to the pin (which could be a negative thing for some).
Cons: This course was destroyed by a tornado in February of 2008. The damage was SO extensive that they are still (as of March 2009) working to get the course back to normal. Two baskets (#5 and #13) are still missing from the tornado along with MOST of the tee signs. Our goal is to have this course back in tip top condition before June of 2009. This tornado has inspired us to make the course even BETTER than it was before.
Other Thoughts: We're whipping Meade-O back into shape! I'll expect some MUCH better reviews when she's finished!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Well Maintained

1/17/2008   1/17/2008
Review By: mynamesnotjason
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained course. The local club is phenomenal. The Annual Brandenburg Open is played here and is a well run tournament.
Cons: The hole that involves a throw over a small pond is fun, but when I played it last, it was a nasty, algae covered body of water. I don't know how it could be done, but if it were cleaned up, it would be a lot nicer, aesthetically speaking.
Other Thoughts: If you get a chance to play in a tourney on this course or one run by the local club, do it. They're a great bunch of guys and do a good job of making out-of-towners feel welcome.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.