Brandenburg, KY 
Meade Olin Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #1 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 466ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Amidst a great area for disc golf

5+    3/21/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 43  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a public park (in reality, it is the majority of the park,) so it is generally well mowed. It also generally is not crowded and, although there are roads circling through the park you usually don't have to contend with avoiding cars and other people with your throws.
There are a couple of shelter houses and there is a bathroom available.
Cons: There are no water fountains throughout the course so you'll need to bring your own.
The pond that comes into play is pretty disgusting. If your disc goes in you'll probably lose it even though the water isn't that deep because the water is absolutely black; it also smells pretty bad. I just imagine bacteria teeming in the water. The area around the pond doesn't usually get mowed very well, either, and with all the attempts to fill it in there are dead limbs, cinder blocks, and other kinds of trash that make it uninviting. (All that being said, there are some intrepid individuals who do manage to retrieve discs from the pond. If you lost one there, periodically check Rivertown Spirits, a nearby liquor store that also sells discs---best store on the planet, perhaps?--as discs are taken there for a sort of "lost and found."
There is substantial erosion in several places around baskets on hillsides, and a few holes have been lost & subsequently modified to accommodate other activities such as baseball.
Some of the baskets aren't in the best of shape due to age
Other Thoughts: #1. 466'. Tee off downhill with a line of trees across the fairway at the bottom of the hill about 275' away. The fairway then begins back up the hill with a couple of larger trees that can affect your second shot. There is a road that runs along the right side of the fairway that comes into play and if there has been any kind of rain the lowest part of the fairway floods.

2. 312'. The pond is about 125' in front of the tee, and depending on your throw you may go out over it, hoping to hyzer back towards the basket. The basket is on a hill that slopes down towards the pond, and there are several old-growth oak trees that can send your drive in any given direction.

3. 250'. This is a pretty straight shot. The basket is slightly uphill from the tee but appears to be more so than it truly is, as you cross a valley to get to the basket. This is a potential ace run.

4. 274', reachable in distance but hard to get there in a straight line. Most people will opt to go out and bring it back hard to the right but there's a shorter (albeit far more obstructed,) path if you go more towards the basket--definite risk/reward. There is a bit of a hill up to the basket and it sits behind a bush.

#5. This was a hole that had to be redone to avoid the baseball field. There still isn't a permanent teepad. It's a relatively straight shot that just a bit downhill. You can get too far to the right and be OB, but it's not likely.

#6. 298' uphill. There is a gravel road that runs up the center of the fairway but it is not OB A few trees to contend with an a fence to the left of the fairway that is OB. There is a cedar tree directly in front of the basket.

#7 325'. Tee is on a hill that slopes down to the pond about 100' away. You can get your drive too high and have it knocked down by one of the old oak trees in front of you, and if you do it usually rolls into the water. How far you have to carry depends on the amount of recent rain (the pond is usually wet to the left and the right, but the center is variable,) but it's pretty safe that you'll have to get at least 200' if not more. It's a very slight uphill from the bottom to the basket, and it sits under a tree that keeps you from coming in too high.

#8 290'. There are two pin placements. The most common is a straight shot that has to stay low to get between two trees with the basket sitting on a steep hillside just about 10 or 15 feet from a road behind/above it that's OB. The other basket is farther from the OB right of that basket, but it has no direct line through oak trees.

#9 286' dogleg left. Tee comes out of a bit of a tunnel where you have to stay far enough right to avoid a tree that hangs over the fairway but if you get too far right you'll hit trees on the other side. You'll need to bend left around that overhanging tree because a drive of good distance that stays straight runs the risk of going OB in the road.

#10 540' (par 4.) Go downhill from the tee with a road running to the right of the fairway that is OB. Even though it's downhill you have to stay low or you'll throw directly into the canopy of tall oak trees (Some big arms take a huge hyzer route out over the road.) At the bottom of the hill the fairway turns about 45 degrees left and heads back uphill to the basket. This hillside has virtually no grass and is rutted from rivulets of water running down it in rains. If it's been raining it will be muddy.

#11 355'. Woods run to the left of the fairway. You have to make a choice to go left or right around a large tree in front of you. Most will choose the right side. Fairway goes downhill and then comes back uphill a bit to the basket.

#12 250' (I think this distance is incorrect. I think it's closer to 300 or 350.) You throw from up across a valley (it can flood to the left out in the open area,) with trees to the right. The basket is a bit uphill across the valley and sits fairly close to a large tree.

#13 250'. There is a road to the right that's OB but there's also a mando forcing you to go left that pretty much takes the OB out of play. You have to navigate through a grouping of tall trees to get to the basket, which is a gradual uphill from the edge of the trees.

#14 245. You have to come in low, as there are tall trees all around the basket. Woods are found to the left of the fairway and a road is on the right that is OB.

#15 329' Throw down a steady hill. You'll need to split two trees about 100' from the tee that are about 40' apart. The fairway is open down the center but there are trees with which to contend on the left and the right. The basket is to the left, guarded by a line of 3 or 4 trees between it and the center of the fairway.
*There is a second basket about 150-200' past this basket up towards the entry to the park.

#16. 243'. There is a line of trees to the left--you'll throw along those trees to a basket that is on a hillside a bit uphill from the tee.

#17 250'. There is a road to the right that is OB and a large about halfway to the basket. There is another tree that is about halfway from that tree to the basket, but a bit left, so the best route is between the first tree and the road, bringing the disc back left towards the basket.

#18' 375. You'll crest a small hill with a road to the right that's OB. Over that hill you'll go a bit downhill to the basket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/20/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: rww826
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice open fairways some wooded areas good mix of long and short holes
Cons: hole 5 is not marked but better location
Other Thoughts: did a great job of getting course back in excellent condition. will play it again next time im in town.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 24" of leaves swallowed my favorite driver

1    1/24/2012   1/27/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Park like setting on this course reminds me of many decent courses that I have played. Wall to wall turf with mature trees throughout the entire course.

2) Concrete tees are always a plus. I didn't have any issues with their teepads although I was kind-of in a race to finish before the sun went down. Perhaps I overlooked something, but they seemed fine to me.

3) Same stump cutoffs as at Muldraugh to mark the tee locations. It helps with navigation, however many of them were broken or missing.

4) Beginner friendly course because it is mostly open, while the trees still provide some challenge for beginners.

5) Nice rolling hills throughout this entire park. The elevation change is relatively mild on each hole except for a handful, but there is elevation change on just about every holes so it definitely alters the shot making.

6) Plenty of options for shot selection on many holes. There are a few holes that dictate your shot but for the most part you can throw which way you want on most holes.

7) Nice distance variation on this course with some short, medium, and a few long ones too. I like this feature in a course design because it forces you to use many different discs.
Cons: 1) Old and ratty looking teesigns . . . many of them look like they had been flooded before.

2) Many bare spots throughout this course. This is a common thing I am finding in Kentucky, so it must be a combination of the dormant turf being thinner, the heavy clay soils, and the compaction of the park users. Generally these areas seemed to be around tees and greens and not out in the open.

3) Hole #14 was deceiving, the basket was invisible from the tee and there was no sign indicating the basket placement. It looked to me like the basket was tucked into the edge of the woods so I threw there . . . unknowingly the leaves were 24" deep and I lost my disc because of it. I sure wish I would have found the basket beforehand because that was one of my favorite drivers. This con will not take away from the rating of the course, but it shows a couple of issues I have mentioned.

4) The water on Hole #7 was a nice feature but it sure was unattractive. It was obviously a fill area for the city or the parks department, so I am not sure why they list the pond on the teesign if they plan to simply fill it in?

5) The soil here is obviously a contributor to the low areas that hold water.

6) No benches available on this course except for when you pass the parking lot between #10 and 11.

7) Baskets are tough to find especially because there are a handful or bind baskets.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, but it sounds and looks like this course used to be a much better course. I can imagine more of these mature Oaks scattered throughout forcing more shot shaping. The nice rolling hills, the mature trees, and the good distance variation make this course as good as it is. The things that could make this course better would be more trees and better turf in areas. The amenities could also be improved with tee signs and some benches.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip?

1    10/28/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: frank11b
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 31.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A decent course with lots of bombers and technical tosses. A good mix for a fun round.
Cons: The course needs to improve the pads. I found hole 5 with difficulty. Signs on many pads are missing, interfering with the flow.
Other Thoughts: Now that I know the layout, the course is more playable. I will return, who knows, I might get a better score.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mired in a mess

1    6/16/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent challenging course. Long and short holes. Plays over a pond. Lots of elevation changes.
Cons: I just read that a tornado went through this park in 2008, so that explains how open the course is even with many tall trees around it. However, the place is a mess. The pond, if you want to call it that is a murky mess of dumped concrete and mulch. The course zig zags all over the place and is confusing as can be. I found the basket for hole 5, and the arrow pointing to where a teepad should've been, but I never found the tee pad so I just gave up and made my own. Almost all the hole signs have been uprooted and are laying all over the place. I know the tornado probably did this, but that was now 3 years ago. You would think by now someone would've re-inserted them. I was just disappointed in this course because the reviews here are decent to good on this course. It's just a big mess right now.
Other Thoughts: This area of Kentucky has several top notch courses. Muldraugh, the newly re-opened Otter Creek, Radcliff and Freeman Lake. I would play all those and pass on this one till the mess that it is is cleaned up.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty park course

1    4/16/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a clean grassy park with nice mature trees. There is good elevation on several of the holes adding to the challenge and fun, with a couple nice uphill shots and some fun downhill holes. A couple holes bring a small pond into play adding some risk, but it's easy to play around the water on both for an extra stroke or two.

There is a nice mix of hole lengths, from ace runs to a couple where you can open up and throw a long drive. The tees are concrete, and are in decent shape with enough room. The baskets are older, but catch fine.
Cons: The course really doesn't push you to take many different lines. Many holes offer multiple options, but almost all have a RHBH hyzer off the tee available. This may be due to the storms that opened this course up quite a bit, but it leaves it less challenging and interesting.

A few signs were missing, and that added to the navigation problems here. There are a few spots where it's not at all obvious where to go next, and that's compounded by not knowing what hole a tee belongs to. There are some safety issues here, with several holes bringing the park road into play, and a couple that throw pretty much directly over a little kids' soccer field.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little park course that's great for newer players. There are plenty of shorter holes mixed in with the longer holes, and no thick rough to frustrate beginners. More experienced players won't find their full range of shots tested, but there are some fun holes out here that make it worth a stop.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, but not great.

1    7/26/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think that this is a course where you can go to settle in the basic shots of disc golf that you are going to need on just about every course. Although the holes become a RHBH repetition fest, you really have to concentrate on your basic technique the entire time or you will be shooting some tough up shots. I think that once you get used to this course it will become a great basic skills practice course for you. Beginners might get frustrated because of the distance but there has to be courses like that or I myself would never have built up my arm to where it is. Distance is not the problem, your arm is. Take your time to get used to each hole and work on your shots here. Past that, good tee pads, good baskets, i love the water holes, the rough isn't bad at all, great use of the elvation available and bring a cooler and hang out for the day.
Cons: The main thing that I dislike about this course is that there are not any am tees. I say this because my wife loves to play and she is extremely accurate but she just doesn't have the arm needed to play this course well. I know that there is an alt. par for ams but she would rather just have another tee (this might also encourage more women to play here as well). Apparently there is a lake being filled in. This makes me sad because there is a cool shot over that thing. Also, props to whoever is trying to keep the sinage up but its time for some new signs.
Other Thoughts: I think that the am tees and the signs would do it for this course. The am tees could make for a really cool alternate type course. There are several really cool tee placements left at this course and I would love to see them be used. There are several pavilions to be used for picnics and plenty of trash cans so use them. Any time my shots start lacking I will come to this course to tweak them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive...

1    7/22/2009   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice changes in elevation. Very little roughage; although plenty of large, mature tree's and a couple of water hazards to test your technical skills. Great course for beginner's; and pro's can get some low scores if on their 'game'.
Cons: This course is located just off of the Ohio river in a very scenic area of Kentucky that overlooks Indiana; however, like most scenic places, it's not the easiest place to reach. Having so stated, Brandenburg is a nice small town that does have the typical amenities of small town America.
Other Thoughts: Due to the playability of this course, tournaments here are very competitive as most well placed drives can give birdie opportunities for even those without cannon arms.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 All Day Course

5+    10/10/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Meade Olin is a park in Brandenburg, KY. Hole 1 sits across the road from a small parking lot near a shelter house which works out great for picnics; bring a picnic basket (cooler) with you and you could spend all day here. The course is mostly open (due to a tornado that came through early in 2008). There are nice rolling hills throughout the park providing some nice elevation change that will challenge your game. The course loops back to the parking lot/shelter house after holes 10, 12, and 18. Some of the holes have a garbage can and some type of sitting device to rest. Most of the holes are open with a chance to really let 'er rip, although some of the holes are guarded by mature trees that can punish errant drives.
Cons: After a decent amount of rain, the course often floods resulting in casual water on some of the holes. More of the holes could have benches/trash cans next to them, too.
Other Thoughts: With enough food and drink, you could spend all day playing at this course and not get tired of it. The tornado that came through in early '08 made the course a lot easier. There is a liquor store that sells discs nearby, too :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/28/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mix of short and long holes, a wide variety of difficulty from hole to hole, and lots of elevation changes. There is OB in the form of roads that come into play on about a third of holes and a small body of water that comes into play on holes 2 and 7. There isn't much rough on the course, only large mature trees, so that keeps the round moving fairly quickly. The course is good for beginners since there is little rough and few places to lose a disc.
Cons: Some of the low lying areas on the course will collect water after a big rain. These pools of water can get quite large depending on the amount of rain and become an interesting obstacle.

A number of the tee signs are missing making the course a bit difficult to navigate at times. I'm sure this issue will be addressed in time.
Other Thoughts: As other people have mentioned, this park was ravaged in Feb 2008 when a tornado went through the park. The hurricane that summer and ice storm in winter 2009 only compounded the problem. Many, many trees were lost.

The parks department and locals did a great job of cleaning up the course. It is most definitely in playable condition now but they're not done yet. Since so many trees are gone, they're working on alternate tee pads and pin positions for some of the holes to make them more challenging. I'm sure that information will be updated here once those changes are complete. Keep up the great work!

The pictures on this site need to be updated. Some of the holes look much different now with the loss of trees.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.