Blairsville, GA 
Meeks Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #8 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Long Tee: Basket is down the hill and dog legs hard to the left.



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Meeks Madness

1    2/28/2013   3/3/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 122  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Meeks Park in Blairsville GA has many of the features that I love to see in a golf course.
There are many holes short enough in distance to score 2's, and there are very long and challenging holes. Mostly the long holes are very open, while the shorter ones have trees to navigate. Elevation changes will be a factor on many of the holes. All of these factors are blended well throughout the course, and in the wooded fairways left and right are both well represented. 1 and 2 are wooded, 2 substantially uphill. 3, 4, and 5 are very open and lengthy. 6 and 7 are back in the trees. My advice is throw something stable on 6, I turned my drive over and wound up at the very bottom of the hill. Not easy to recover from that. 8 starts in the woods, requiring a downhill hyzer to make the more open pin position. 9 is a beast, 733 feet but fairly open with water on the left of the fairway. 10 is back into the trees and up the hill. 11 is a nice downhill ace run if you can hit the gap between all of the trees. 12 and 13 continue through the wooded area. 14 is back over the grassy field a good distance, and 15 is a downhill anhyzer edging the woods. 16 woods, 17, and 18 woods. Very fun, and distance is manageable on 75% of the holes. It is not a pushover, but not overpowering, especially once you get past 9. I really liked the land and the layout was pretty good.

Short and long tees are marked well by white signs with distance. Not paved, but two fairly level dirt tees on each hole. Baskets were good Discatchers. Not much traffic on the course, but it was lightly snowing when we started our round. This one I would love to play over a few times because there are a few great holes.
Cons: Cold, and breezy. Some of the open, lengthy holes were sort of bland, but the elevations on the hillsides and even some water added enough to still be interesting. Improved tee box surfaces would be cool, but my rating would stay at 4. Dogs are required on a leash, so mine was kind of irritated. There is a small dog park. Trails could potentially bring pedestrians in nicer weather.
Other Thoughts: The drive between Helen and Blairsville was scenic and mountains make awesome disc golf terrain. Worth the long drive to play this course once. Wish I had regular access. Did not play well, which was frustrating but acceptable. Better conditions would have been nice but what do you expect the last day of February? Birthday luck helped me hit a nice jump putt on 8 for a birdie, first of two at on the round. Reminds me of Rankin Lake.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with variety

2-4    6/28/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: hjevetts
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some long open holes in fields mixed in with mostly wooded holes. Makes for a good variety. Some holes you can just chuck your drive others require lots of thought. 1 mando. 2 tees on every hole.
Cons: Poison ivy. Just watch out for it. 1 hole where it's easy to lose a disc into insanely thick brush.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course with lots of shade. Good for all skill levels.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    3/28/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Scenic, easy to navigate, decent mix of long/short, left/right, uphill/downhill holes.

- short & long teepads available.

- course stays relatively close to the parking area on most holes.

- overall good use of the land provided to squeeze in an 18 hole course..

- beginner friendly short pads.
Cons: - natural teepads are heavily worn-in. Better teepads would be a nice course upgrade someday.

- when entering the course area there is a disc golf course sign but then you walk down the entire hole 1 fairway to get to the teepad to start your round.

- water fountain at pavilion was broken, apparently vandalized.

- Pedestrian factor is high, so be careful and mindful of those on the walking paths which come into play on several holes.
Other Thoughts: - This was a nice little course on a nice piece of land. A great place to introduce a newcomer to the sport. Park includes a dog park and nice walking path but all other park amnenties are across the street.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice retreat in the N GA mountains

1    3/11/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: hound_dog
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits on a nice, quiet piece of property with an interesting bit of terrain. Lots of elevation to work with and water from a nearby creek come into play. There are a great mixture of wooded and open holes. There are some very tough greens on this course to add to the challenge, an aspect that I believe that more courses could use.
Cons: Rocky hillsides and a number of gopher holes will give your ankles a workout. The leaves are a bit thick in places and can make it difficult to find a disc or can hide that ankle twisting rock. There are a few places that a walking path crosses the fairway, but the park did not seem busy enough for this to be a major problem.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play, but will give you a workout. There is a lot of uphill walking to be done, but it is all worth it, because the layout really uses the property well. The tee pads are a fine crushed gravel that can be reshaped and leveled before your throw.

This course can play very easy or very punishing. No one particular hole seems hard by itself, but combined they leave little room for mistakes. One bad tree combined with some of the severely sloped greens and steep hillsides can lead to some very disastrous results. The wind can also prove to be a problem as the course is wooded, but not densely enough to provide a good wind break. Water from the small creek only comes into play on one hole. This makes the approach shot fairly tough, but very picturesque.

This course is definitely worth playing if you are in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice way to start a vacation

1    2/28/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: rvan84
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found this course to be very nice. There is a nice mix of length and woods. The elevation changes really add a lot to this course. A few of the holes that run along the edge of hill are very interesting. They can really add to the amount of rollaways you will see in your round. This is definitely a good this while still being annoying. The few mandos that are on the course really add a lot to the way the holes play. The way the trees add to the design is amazing. While not a championship length course it is more than adequate with the trees to let you really go at it.
Cons: The biggest downside to this course is the lack of concrete pads. I played during the winter and the leafs piled up on the rock pads made the footing rather rough. I also think the signage on course could be updated. It is nice as is and good to have the distances listed. However it would be nice to have the layout of the holes on the signs. As stated above it would also add a little to the score if it was a little longer. Even when I played during the week it was very busy. Since the course plays around a park with walking paths running through it, you must be very careful to not hit any pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course. It was in pretty good shape for the amount of leaves that were on the ground. If you are passing through this is more than worth the stop. For the amount of space they had to work with and the layout of the land they made a very good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/29/2011   1/14/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Meeks Park has a very nice 18-hole disc golf course set on great disc golf land separate from the rest of the park (across the street actually!) Most of the holes are wooded and of the short-technical style, but there are few longer open holes mixed in to give the course some nice contrast and balance, which will give all players a chance to work on several aspects of their game in the same round. I enjoyed the hole design and found most holes to be interesting with little repetition. A straight shot (over length or shaping) is the most important shot here, but there a few holes that do require some versatility. Though this course is just in the foothills (and not actually in the big Appalachian Mountains that are nearby) there is still a good deal of elevation- holes play up and down, along the sidehills, and there are flat holes as well.

The course only has basic signs and non-concrete tees, but they are better than nothing and get the job done. Each hole has 2 tees- the longer tees not only add length of varying amounts, but also either change the angle slightly or move the tee back to where a couple more trees are in play right off the tee. And the Discatchers are in great shape.

Navigation is pretty easy, I skipped around my first time playing holes out of order to avoid some large groups (and the impending nightfall), yet I had no problem finding all the holes. *Note there are a couple places where paths to the next hole cross over (from 5 you pass 14 to get to 6, and from 13 you pass 6 to get to 14- look at or print the course map and you will have no problems).

There was interesting sculpture along one hole. A picnic pavilion with restrooms by holes 1-3 (they were closed in Winter, but there was a port-a-pottie).
Cons: Just some minor things- The placement of hole 1 is a little strange- the first thing you come to from the parking lot is #1's basket, then you must walk up 1's fairway to get to the tee (rather dangerous if someone is teeing off!). Holes 3 and 4 were kind of boring to me being just long and open (which is good to contrast the woods), but there are only 1 or 2 trees in play providing very little that could punish an errant drive of somebody who might try for that extra 20 feet off the tee. The flow does not return until hole #18, however, the course is not that taxing physically even with a couple of hill climbs.

There were supposedly 2 tees per hole, but there were a couple (3 and 8 for instance) where I was unable to find them both. (I was playing fast, so I assume they are there.) Having natural tees and only 1 tee sign made some of them harder to find.

There is a walking path throughout that is definitely in play on several holes. And also a fenced dog park area in the middle of the course- plays as O.B. and there is a gate to retrieve a disc if thrown into that area.
Other Thoughts: Meeks is definitely a solid public parks course, great for everyone. Though it is probably not a destination course, if you are in the area then check it out. If I lived here I would enjoy playing this course often!

Note- the course is not actually in Meeks Park, but across the street at the Community College entrance on the left just past the Sr. Citizens Center.

Also in this region there are lots of state parks, hiking trails, and waterfalls nearby, including the beginning of the Appalachian Trail.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    11/14/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: Chigger Hamby
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two tees per hole
Nice Innova Double chain baskets
GREAT mix of holes (long, short, hyzer, anhyzer, wooded, open)
Easy to navigate
NO CROWD
Bathrooms at hole 1
Beautiful views
Benches EVERYWHERE
Cons: Tee pads can be uneven
Other Thoughts: First time I played here, I LOVE IT. I travel to Blairsville for work frequently and will play this course every chance I get.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Technical Course

1    3/7/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 169  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sexy Park

Fair fairways

A few long holes mixed in to keep the big arms happy

Sweet elevation

Smooth flow
Cons: Gravel pads

A bit unbalanced on the short side
Other Thoughts: No doubt this is a fun course.

If you can superbly control a midrange, you will do very well here. Not to say there is no lenght at all. There is a 700+ft. par 6 to contend with. Also, three more holes in the 400-500ft range. These will force you to keep your drivers in the bag and not in the car. But make no mistake, this course is layed out for tight, finese shots. Courses like this are cool, 'cause you dont need an arm cannon to compete. You need accuracy. This is a course you can bring some friends and no one gets left too far behind.

As with pretty much all the courses in this area, the elevation was top shelf. You toss up and down tight shoots as well as over hill crests to blind pins. There are some winding fairways, but no hard dog legs come to mind, except perhaps hole 8...and this is more of a tight left curve.

I played longs and still used my putter off of multiple tee's. Not just due to lack of distance, but the need for accuracy. You are constantly playing in tree lined fairways. Stay the path, even if you fall short. The recovery was actually not too punishing, but the paths to the pin were always clear.

This is definitly a worthy stop. I had a good time here. This course will expose weakness in your short game while still giving you some chances to break loose.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in the Mtns.

5+    9/6/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: htorbit
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beatiful Mtn views around course. Two sets of tee pads for different skill levels. Long and short holes. Technical and non-technical holes. Woods do not have much undergrowth. Bogies and birdies possible on most holes. Very fun course. A few benches around course. Restrooms next to hole 1. Many holes have elevation changes. You will have to throw most types of shots on this course. Course doesn't receive much play except for a few die hard locals.
Cons: Tee pads need to be taken better care of as they are soft and grassy. Concrete tees would make my rating of this course go higher. Dog area just created off left side of hole 15 fairway,changes how I appraoch this hole. People walk dogs through out course and most have no clue what disc golf is so be careful as their walking trail crosses several fairways. Tees could be longer on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Pay no attention to par on tee signs. All holes except 3 and 9(long tees on both of these holes are par 4) are par 3.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring an Archangel

1    5/11/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty course. Mostly open, wide fairways through the woods for the most part.
Cons: One long hole was just down a road. Kind of boring. I was able to play most of it with just my Archangel. Par was set too high. I had a number of eagles, and many birdies.
Other Thoughts: Course is next to an old folks home so par may be set higher for them. If so its justified. Pretty course, eat your wheaties and do some cardio before you go, it is very hilly. Very fun, I'll definitely go back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.