Blairsville, GA 
Meeks Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 294ft.   3 / 448ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Long Tee: Blind shot from both tees. Up and around the patch of trees in the middle.



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice course

1    3/28/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Scenic, easy to navigate, decent mix of long/short, left/right, uphill/downhill holes.

- short & long teepads available.

- course stays relatively close to the parking area on most holes.

- overall good use of the land provided to squeeze in an 18 hole course..

- beginner friendly short pads.
Cons: - natural teepads are heavily worn-in. Better teepads would be a nice course upgrade someday.

- when entering the course area there is a disc golf course sign but then you walk down the entire hole 1 fairway to get to the teepad to start your round.

- water fountain at pavilion was broken, apparently vandalized.

- Pedestrian factor is high, so be careful and mindful of those on the walking paths which come into play on several holes.
Other Thoughts: - This was a nice little course on a nice piece of land. A great place to introduce a newcomer to the sport. Park includes a dog park and nice walking path but all other park amnenties are across the street.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice retreat in the N GA mountains

1    3/11/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: hound_dog
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits on a nice, quiet piece of property with an interesting bit of terrain. Lots of elevation to work with and water from a nearby creek come into play. There are a great mixture of wooded and open holes. There are some very tough greens on this course to add to the challenge, an aspect that I believe that more courses could use.
Cons: Rocky hillsides and a number of gopher holes will give your ankles a workout. The leaves are a bit thick in places and can make it difficult to find a disc or can hide that ankle twisting rock. There are a few places that a walking path crosses the fairway, but the park did not seem busy enough for this to be a major problem.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play, but will give you a workout. There is a lot of uphill walking to be done, but it is all worth it, because the layout really uses the property well. The tee pads are a fine crushed gravel that can be reshaped and leveled before your throw.

This course can play very easy or very punishing. No one particular hole seems hard by itself, but combined they leave little room for mistakes. One bad tree combined with some of the severely sloped greens and steep hillsides can lead to some very disastrous results. The wind can also prove to be a problem as the course is wooded, but not densely enough to provide a good wind break. Water from the small creek only comes into play on one hole. This makes the approach shot fairly tough, but very picturesque.

This course is definitely worth playing if you are in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice way to start a vacation

1    2/28/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: rvan84
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found this course to be very nice. There is a nice mix of length and woods. The elevation changes really add a lot to this course. A few of the holes that run along the edge of hill are very interesting. They can really add to the amount of rollaways you will see in your round. This is definitely a good this while still being annoying. The few mandos that are on the course really add a lot to the way the holes play. The way the trees add to the design is amazing. While not a championship length course it is more than adequate with the trees to let you really go at it.
Cons: The biggest downside to this course is the lack of concrete pads. I played during the winter and the leafs piled up on the rock pads made the footing rather rough. I also think the signage on course could be updated. It is nice as is and good to have the distances listed. However it would be nice to have the layout of the holes on the signs. As stated above it would also add a little to the score if it was a little longer. Even when I played during the week it was very busy. Since the course plays around a park with walking paths running through it, you must be very careful to not hit any pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course. It was in pretty good shape for the amount of leaves that were on the ground. If you are passing through this is more than worth the stop. For the amount of space they had to work with and the layout of the land they made a very good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in the Mtns.

5+    9/6/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: htorbit
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beatiful Mtn views around course. Two sets of tee pads for different skill levels. Long and short holes. Technical and non-technical holes. Woods do not have much undergrowth. Bogies and birdies possible on most holes. Very fun course. A few benches around course. Restrooms next to hole 1. Many holes have elevation changes. You will have to throw most types of shots on this course. Course doesn't receive much play except for a few die hard locals.
Cons: Tee pads need to be taken better care of as they are soft and grassy. Concrete tees would make my rating of this course go higher. Dog area just created off left side of hole 15 fairway,changes how I appraoch this hole. People walk dogs through out course and most have no clue what disc golf is so be careful as their walking trail crosses several fairways. Tees could be longer on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Pay no attention to par on tee signs. All holes except 3 and 9(long tees on both of these holes are par 4) are par 3.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring an Archangel

1    5/11/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty course. Mostly open, wide fairways through the woods for the most part.
Cons: One long hole was just down a road. Kind of boring. I was able to play most of it with just my Archangel. Par was set too high. I had a number of eagles, and many birdies.
Other Thoughts: Course is next to an old folks home so par may be set higher for them. If so its justified. Pretty course, eat your wheaties and do some cardio before you go, it is very hilly. Very fun, I'll definitely go back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

2-4    3/13/2010   3/18/2010
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very scenic with beautiful views of mountains and streams. There is good elevation change for most of the course and in general all signs, baskets and teepads were in good upkeep. The front nine (with the exception of #2) is one of the best opening sequence of holes for a course that I have played.
Cons: The back nine is the biggest drawback for this course.

Some of the shorter holes that were in the 200-250 ft.range, were border line fair.

Lots of low lying branches in the fairways, teeing areas and on smaller trees caused many 'no-see-um' wayward shots.

Several fairways come really close to one another and create traffic issues during tournament play.

Other Thoughts: The course is realtively well thought out. I would have asked for one more hole that was uphill, and not 'border line fair'.

The course is well-loved and taken care of, a definete plus considering that it is an "out-of-the-way" kind of course.

The land that was avaialble appears to be put in good use. Sometimes its tough to get 18 high quality holes on land that really supports about 14.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course!

2-4    6/23/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Meeks Park DGC is a very scenic course indeed. You will catch some nice mountain views, along with a lake and creek as you work your way through the course (Some locals told me the lake goes dry in drought conditions) It's primarily wooded with a few open holes for varieties sake. The wooded holes are comparatively short but you can't take low scores for granted. In the woods you'll find the need for some fairy accurate shots due to the trees being scattered along the fairways. A little luck might help also. The short pads are pretty fun and perfect for a rec player. Only two holes even breaks 300' and a few of them are under 200'. The longer are where the variety of distance comes into play for the overall course, namely three (437') and nine (733'). The long pads add about 1700' more than the short pads. Number three plays along the OB road to the right and across a shallow valley. Number nine plays along a small OB creek and tapers to the left for the last 100' or so. Additionally there are a few that are a mix of open and wooded. You will find the longer holes generally out in the open. Overall it is a good mix considering the land that where the course is located. One more giant plus is that the forest floor is relatively free from thick overgrowth. Not only is it nice looking but it is great to play through as well. Elevation changes also come into play. Several are uphill and downhill along with a several flat ones too.

There are two 8'x8' tee pads on each hole consisting of landscape timber borders and filled with crushed stone. You'll also find tee signs with distances at these pads. The Innova baskets are in great shape and easily spotted in the woods. There are some nice trails leading from hole to hole in a lot of areas

The pavilion near number three is a good place to rest. It has very clean restrooms and a water fountain. It also has picnic tables for a quick lunch. It works great for tournament headquarters as well. Parking is also convenient and abundant.

The locals I met out here are extremely friendly and seem to be happy that new people are coming out to play their course.
Cons: The tee pads have some wear and unevenness to them. A few even have some grass growing up through them. They are quite playable though. They could be a little longer too. The short holes are manageable but the longer holes could use a few more feet for a big run up.

Benches would have been nice on a few of the holes at least. Trash cans would be a plus too.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. The drive to reach the park is nice, the park itself is nice, and the most importantly the course is nice. I was especially impressed by how clean it was. Even with no trash cans I don't remember seeing even one piece of litter.

I think the "do I want to come back to play this course again" factor is important. This course is one that I'll defiantly come back and play more. Even with my almost 2 hour drive it was worth it. I hope you'll have a good experience out there too. Enjoy!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amtrack service to Blairsville wanted

2-4    6/20/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: gvan
Played: 111  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well Designed. Great use of the land available.

- This course would not be intimidating to beginners, but has a degree of challenge for experienced players.

- There is a good mix of open and wooded holes. Many holes are short, but they are wooded enough that they will punish a bad shot and reward a good one.

- Hole 3 and 9 are long bombs (700+ feet) that reward good placement as well as distance. 3 is probably the signature hole for me as it has a couple of options from the long tee and a road on the right to keep you honest.

- 2 teepads at each hole
- Good signage with distance to pin from each pad
- Clean bathrooms right by the tee for hole 3.
- Good parking close to hole 1.
- Water fountain available by restrooms.
- The park itself is beautiful to walk through and there are a lot of trees, but little brush.
Cons: - The tee pads are a bit short and many are hard to run up on since they are slightly above the ground behind them. Concrete tees would probably add a disc to the ratings here. The gravel tees were fairly flat, but some were sort of wavy.

- The long tee for 16 was muddy and is probably too close to the lake. I hear that it was actually under water a couple of months ago. It's a fun shot, but should be raised before putting concrete IMO.
Other Thoughts: - Hole 14 to 15 requires a walk past hole 7. This isn't intuitive, but there are next tee signs. Perhaps they should say "To tee 15" though as one of the signs is on the fairway for hole 7.

- This park is fun to play. I wish it was closer to me so I could play it more.. The area is quiet and the views are great. It was worth the drive to play it and I will be back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Have you seen the Blue Ridge mts. boy...

5+    2/10/2009   2/11/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great use of available land. Uphill,downhill, long and short you get a little bit of everything.
- No schule undergrowth.Holes that are lined with trees have none of the usual briars that other courses in ga. have.
- Clean bathrooms. They are closed during winter, but there was a clean portapot there also.
- Good Tee signs. Distances seem pretty accurate, fairly easy to follow.
- Location. Set it the Blue ridge mts. you will enjoy just looking around.Wonderful views everywhere.
Cons: - Could use a few trash cans near tees.

- Teepads are too small on a few of the longer holes (3 long) and a few could use some TLC. Most pads are fairly flat though.
- Walking trail comes into play on quite a few holes, and a few fairways/tees run pretty close together.
- Some steep hillsides can be slippery at times.If it rained recently, watch where you step and you will be fine.
Other Thoughts: This course is a 5 star in my heart. I make the hour trip up here from canton whenever I can. No traffic, beautiful scenery, and a fun course. great day trip for north metro ATL players.

I would also like to add that I disagree with the previous reviewer about the design of the long and short pads. I think the longs definitely not an afterthought. Both sets of pads offer something diffrent depending on your skill.

Pros far outweigh the cons here. Issues with paths and fairways will only be a problem during a tourney. Out of the 10 or so times I have played here I have only seen other golfers twice.

I was suprised to see "no dogs" on the info page. The only other people who I see use this area are locals walking their dogs on the paths. There is even a poo bag dispenser near 15's basket.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely worth playing

5/4/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Beautiful setting with mountain & lake views on most if not all holes...very scenic
*Elevation comes into play on most holes, especially the through the middle of the course where the holes traverse a steep wooded hillside.
*Multiple tees on every hole with good signage
*Great use of trees to create fun, challenging short holes (~200')
*Fun course to play
Cons: *Crushed stone teepads already wearing unevenly
*Par on holes is aimed at beginners (I would call it a par 55/56 wheras signage suggests mid-high 60's)
*There are a few spots where tee shots could play into teepads, and where the next hole is tough to find - specifically after hole 14 or 15 you must walk across several other holes to get to the next hole
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing if you're in North GA.

I didn't have time to play both sets of tees, but it seemed like the course was designed primarily from the short tees -- the short tees all seemed to have excellent looks and lines, whereas more than a few of the back tees felt forced or put in as an afterthought....

All in all, this is a great new course that I will definitely return to and heartily enjoyed playing.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.