Frankenmuth, MI
Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #18 (Taken 8/2012)
2 / 155ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
east side gem... even in january

1    1/13/2014   1/13/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 195  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a very very large multi-use park. I can imagine that this park is crazy busy during peak times.

Baskets-- discraft with orange reflective tape... all in great repair, who could ask for more.

Teepads-- from what I could see through the snow, the teepads are super nice. tapered to the follow through zone nice and level and in good repair.

Teesigns-- excellent. map, par, distance (accurate) and next hole...seriously, who could ask for more.

Routing and nav-- not bad with the map on here. I would seriously say to either bring a map or take a pic of the one at the kiosk.

upkeep-- the kiosk is super nice, the map is big and clear and the donation container is a really nice touch. I can't say that I donated but I had zero cash...

challenge/risk v reward-- the use of elevation is pretty amazing here. every ounce of elevation available is utilized. the creek is the focal point of the course, winding through and over many of the fairways.
Cons: Variety-- Yep. I have to say the overabundance of left fades got old really fast. kind of a yawn in the variety department. the elevation and water keep it interesting though.

proximity to other amenities-- course comes close to bridges, paths and parking lots. errant throws could be an issue.
Other Thoughts: the negatives are really nit-picky. this is a gem of a course that I surely will play in the spring/summer to see what (if anything) I missed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Michigan's secret!

2-4    7/3/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: JBryant
Played: 54  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation. The designer(s) should be commended with how they took the time to look at the property and use it to make it the best.

Some of the best concrete pads in the state of Michigan. If Flip City had these pads, it would be a 6!

Beautiful course. I saw one piece of trash and it probably blew out of the trash can. The course couldn't be better maintained. Trash cans, picnic areas, beautiful green hills were all throughout this course.

Great baskets. I think MACH Vs. I enjoyed these baskets the more I played on them.

Good use of road OB and water OB.

Great location that is close to an indoor water park and cool shops.

Cons: Being my first time, I'm so glad I met some locals who knew the course and were good disc golfers. Made my round more challenging and fun. They made for competition and really were great with my 10 yr old nephew who was just starting out. Thanks Nate and Kyle!

A few hole were quite long! I love bombers but I like that ace run just as much. This also made for a long round hence I did not have time for another :( I did play the first few holes and was two down after hole five. Reaaaallly wanted to finish that out.

Lot of backhand righty hyzer. Not complaining but I can see how it would make a forehander or lefty feel.

I really have no other gripes with Memorial. I did not have the long waits that you heard from other reviews.
Other Thoughts: I heard that during a tournament they had a hanging basket between holes two and three. I would put that basket back, change all the numbers, and make 18 be the current 17. The final hole (18) is a shorty with OB all around it. I would utilize that basket as practice. OR use 18's basket from 17's pad as the final hole. Take out 17's basket and move it near the start and use it as practice.

This course was 1 of 3 top rated courses I played while on my trip. I enjoyed this course very much and was sad I couldn't better my score with a second round (not enough time) I slammed chains on hole 10 and it spit out. Would of been one wicked ace!

This is a great town that now is a must visit with this disc golf course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love seeing all the positive course reviews! - Alex McCallum

5+    12/23/2012   1/23/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 34  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads
marked tees
elevation changes
variance of long and short drives
small water hazards
park is well taken care of
Cons: other park visitors frequent the fairways causing delays
occasional hole taken down in winter for sledding in the park


Other Thoughts: This course was started via my Eagle Scout project (Troop 275) where I introduced disc golf to the community via Parks and Recs meetings and a presentation given at the schools, designed a full 18 hole layout, found funding for 4 holes (thanks to the original hole sponsors: Frankenmuth McDonalds, the Zew Crew, Ron Schoen of Bridgeport Mini Storage, and Discraft and the former Dixie Cut Stone for the concrete), and installed holes 4, 5, 17, and 18 (to make for a nice 4 hole practice loop).

Frankenmuth News did a little article on the project and can be found in the archives here: http://www.frankenmutharchive...003-12-17.PDF
(obviously some things have changed since then :) )

It is very awesome to see all of the positive reviews everyone has given this course on here. Makes me proud to have started such a well loved course. it sure has come a long ways since it was started and the additions have seriously made this course one of the best in the area.

- Alex McCallum

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Clean, big, and satisfying!

5+    9/6/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 1/25/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Always clean and well-maintained
+ Designed with a logical layout with varying distances, elevation changes, and with only minimal tree coverage makes this THE course for learning to control your drives
+ Pin placements make for slightly challenging drives, with the majority of them smack dab in the middle of a group of trees making for good putting practice
+ A creek winds through the course serving as a faithful water hazard
+ A couple bridges and stepping stones also add to the charm of the course.
+ The course is very forgiving; bad shots don't cause much of a problem with most of the holes have a couple decent approach options
+ The only course in the region perfect for night golf
+ Plenty of picnic tables
+ The Lager Mill store is nearby and carries a quality selection of Innova and Discraft discs
Cons: - Sports teams/groups practice here during different seasons (late August pee-wee football started practicing in the afternoons on hole #10, which is many people's fave hole)
- Tennis lights stay on too late and ruin hole #11 during night rounds
- Not the place to go for serious short game practice
- I wish #13 had a small gap in the trees for risky RHBH shots
Other Thoughts: This is my second favorite course in the area (behind Wickes Woods). It's just a fantastic place to play. The moderate elevation changes are very nice; they add the element that Saginaw, Midland, Freeland, and Sanford lack. The hills make for a decent walk, but it's easy to make the round a workout by jogging between some of the holes (uphill/downhill). My favorite thing about this course are the huge trees. Oh, the trees! The weeping willow trees are gorgeous and TREACHEROUS! I love them. The course is also big and spread out. It's so nice that such a big park in a such a small, charming town has a reputable disc golf course.

This is a course that beginners can enjoy learning on because it's not a complicated layout, they won't be losing discs left and right, they can practice big drives and accurate upshots, and putting is fairly straightforward (except #15, *sneer*). #15's pin placement on the hillside makes for a memorable hole :) It's also great for seasoned players and throwing new discs as almost every hole allows you to really air out your drives. The one really long hole (#13) can be frustrating for righthanders because of the cluster of trees in front of the tee.

I will continue to play this course again and again. I will play it solo, with people I want to introduce to disc golf, and with the rest of my friends who are in love with the sport. This is just a top notch course that isn't trying to be super technical or tight, a great change of pace from the other courses nearby.

Thanks for reading!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth The Drive!!

2-4    7/23/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course hasn't quite "got it all", but it's pretty darn close! The designers of this course seem to have gotten the perfect mix of distance/challenge/variety on each and every hole with the longer ones being fairly wide open and the shorter ones being narrower and/or having sneaky pin placement. Big arms and more experienced players will enjoy the distances on the longer holes and will be challenged by the great mix of wide and narrow fairways, constant elevation changes, and creative pin placement; yet less experienced or less powerful players can still enjoy the experience fairly frustration free.

Pin placement is outstanding on this course! Each one is either well protected by trees, sits on a side hill, or perches on the edge of the creek - there are no "gimme" putts or approaches on THIS course.

Every single elevation change in this park has been utilized fully. While that makes for some outstanding holes, it means that course flow stutters in a few places. For your first time here, you may want to print the map on here or take a pic of the map at the kiosk with your phone.

The flat, roomy concrete pads are perfectly sized and textured and their directionality is particularly nice for pin location and course navigation. The tee signs, as well, are particularly nice as are the well constructed bridges that allow creek crossings with ease.

I love that the tee signs and score cards display real-world, recreational-player-friendly pars, ranging from 2 to 5. (Sorry guys. Not ALL holes are 3s!!)

I have a really, really hard time picking a stand-out hole here as there are so many interesting ones, so....

The long blind drive over the hill, between the bushes, along the creek on #1 with pin placement on the edge of the creek starts the course off with a bang.

#3 and #15 look to be easy deuces, but sidehill pin placement with a bad putt could easily leave you with 5s.

The wide open drive to a tight pine alley on #9 may have you begging for mercy if you've got the distance but not the accuracy.

#12 is the ugliest hole on the course with a narrow lane over the creek, through a swampy area, up a steep hill, then a sharp right to the pin at the top. Following this with the huge, huge, huge, wide open drive on #13 really gives you a feeling for the variety and design elements of this course.

#17 leaves you with a choice - go for the ace and risk dropping in the creek if you come up short, or go for the shorter, safer drive and the long putt.

Finally, #18 - the perfect way to end the round with another risk/reward choice.....go for the ace and flirt with the creek and/or woods, or play it safe with a par of 2. You'll want to empty your entire bag on this one!! :-)

Bring your whole family when you venture here....there's plenty to do and there's even a dog park with agility stuff right at the DGC parking lot. Gardeners will enjoy a stroll through the rose garden between #14 and #15 as well. Nice restrooms are available at the top of the hill in the center of the park.
Cons: This is a very, very active multi-use park and other users are entirely oblivious to the sport of disc golf. It's a good idea to send spotters on the blind holes (especially #4 and #7 as both have prime picnic table spots right near the pin).

Navigation can be a bit tricky the first time through as the course meanders through and around the entire park and some routes aren't immediately apparent. The course crosses the stream in the park several times and hoofing it through 2 parking lots (to tee #9 and to tee #15). While the route to #15 is fairly well marked, the route to #9 isn't. Just leave the woods toward the parking lot then skirt the edge to your right along the drainage ditch. The tee pad is marked ON the access road directly ahead.

Check your tee sign on #4 as the basket in sight is actually #18. #4 is tucked up in the pines in an almost straight line from the tee. #5 is also a bit sneaky as the pin is in the trees to the left on top of the hill, not the one straight ahead.

The park crew has placed 2 porta-johns directly in the line of fire off the #7 tee this summer but I don't recall them being there last year. Just sayin.
Other Thoughts: Avoid playing here late Sunday afternoons during the summer as they offer Concerts in the Park at the band shelter and it appears the entire town shows up! If you do venture here after 4:30 on a Sunday, be prepared to have tons of people walk right in front of your throw or the basket, picnic in the middle of the fairways, park next to the baskets or on the tee pads, and even try to run you over while you're standing in the clearly marked tee box for #9!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    5/8/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 53  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Big concrete teepads
-Nice maintained course
-variety of holes
-challenging
-great area
-very clean
Cons: dont play in heavy wind. combined with the elevation, your shots may be unpredictable.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have played at and its in a great location. Will be back soon!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's Grown On Me.

1    2/29/2012   2/29/2012
Review By: the_pwnerator
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, Clean Park

-Rolling Hills make it very unique compared to more courses

-Will definitely Challenge your distance game

-Huge Hole variety, not one hole is even semi-identical

-Well manicured

-Still manages to have some wooded holes that will challenge placement

-BRAND NEW CONCRETE TEE PADS!
They are very large and have a triangular shape without the tip.
Cons:
-Terrible to play on when wet because of the slippery hills, not so much the mud.

-Especially for beginners it is mostly distance based challenge

-The park can be busy some days with locals interfering with some holes, but it's almost never dangerous unless the thrower decides to play a hole that they shouldn't be.
Other Thoughts: I used to hate this course because of the long distances but as I've progressed into a better player, it's definitely growing on me.

I would easily give this course 4.5 stars if it had concrete tees and stairs on hole 12 because of the dirt incline that can become very slippery and dangerous.

Update 4/13/12
CONCRETE TEE PADS ARE IN!!!


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the Muth

5+    10/16/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: Wolfpackdiscs
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Love this course. Long 600 + foot shots all the way down to 140 foot tight shots. Their is elevation changes, woods, and water. This is one of the best courses on the east side of Michigan. Stretch well ahead of the round, hills plus distance will hurt the next day!
Cons: No solid pads

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    8/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: Anhyzer-Bush
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First time playing a course in MI, and honestly I think this course ruined me. Coming from CA where summer time means a lot of dirt and dust, relentless sunshine and too many people on every course, my rounds here were a treat. While at first glance, the park seemed like a vast wide open expanse for chucking discs, it was obvious the designers of the course took the time to utilize the green rolling hills in such a way as to make the course not only fun, but fairly challenging. Drives consistently went farther than I was anticipating, yet I still found myself having to make challenging puts to save par. Elevation changes, distance throws, and a few holes where I had to "steer" myself around some obstacles all made for an excellent course. Throw in some unique local architecture and its definitely a must play any time I'm in MI.
Cons: I only have 2 gripes -
1. If it weren't for the locals who were playing ahead of us, it was very easy to get turned around (despite having taken a photo of the course layout for reference.)
2. No tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was a treat to play. Green rolling hills, wide open, long distance throws and unique surroundings made it impossible not to play a second round. It almost felt like playing on a real golf course, except there was no drink cart rolling around the course. Couldn't count on my patented 50' skips, but I found I didn't really need them anyway. I would recommend this course to anyone from a first timer to a skilled pro. You are guaranteed to have a good time...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 This is a Great Course

5+    5/20/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: AKasprzak
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Clean Park. Nice tee pads and baskets. Giant playground on hole nine if you have children to take a braek and let them play. Grass is very well maintained. Lots of parking. Great holes for both lefts and rights.
Cons: large groups of people that will not let you play threw. We were stuck behind a group of 12 and a group of 11 they were inconsiderate and would not let the line up of people behind them play threw, has happened more then once.
Other Thoughts: Besides the large groups this is a fun course. We enjoy our selfs ever time we go.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.