Frankenmuth, MI 
Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: fleeulrich Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Vacation Course

1    8/16/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~The course is spread throughout a wonderful park
~Left my map at the hotel, but was still able to navigate from tee to tee with ease
~Makes good use of the hilly natural terrain
~Great mix of holes and layout
~Hole signs with numbers and layout next to each tee area
~Challenging and fun course
Cons:
~Lack of concrete tees
~No hole indicators on baskets
~Shot to a few wrong baskets due to layout Con #2 above
~Shared park space can make play difficult when busy
Other Thoughts: I played a round while vacationing in Frankenmuth and had a very enjoyable time. The wife and kids kept busy on the playgrounds and walking around the park while I made my way around 18 great holes. Natural tees didn't provide any discomfort as the worn away grass areas are well compacted and fairly level. I did end up throwing to a few wrong baskets due to some holes having a couple baskets within close proximity of one another and no numbers on the baskets to properly indicate which hole they belong to. Plenty of hills and valleys add to a nice mix of holes that make their way across open park space, through lightly wooded areas, over bridges and around a meandering creek. Plenty of opportunity to throw your longest drivers as well as tee off with precise mid ranges. The diversity and mixture of scenery ties this course together really well. Unfortunately I had to skip a couple of consecutive holes as the one had kids playing all over the fairway and the other went next to the high school football practice field which was being used by the team during my round. Recommended if you are in the area, I know I'll revisit if I ever head back up to Frankenmuth.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 well

2-4    8/20/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: midmittendgfiend
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The grass in kept almost immaculate. the signage is good. location is easy. lots of other stuff to do down the street. Favors big arms on a few holes. disc location is easy. very wide open if you like that.
Cons: The hills are a lil tough on you. huge rolls on the hills. very little risk / reward action. long holes call for big arms which i am not yet. lots of other things are going on. some holes run along unnecessary places. such as right next to tennis courts and over peewee football practice. those coaches are d bags. they will throw your disc 100 foot away from your lie and mess your game up. so it would be best to skip those holes when that is happening. navigation can also get a little sketchy since many pins are visible on a lot of holes. it gets confusing sometimes
Other Thoughts: now that im developing a better arm and better technique, i might appreciate it more now. id like to work with it to try to see if i can get better scores at this course. i think i gave this course too many discs

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  my favorite course

5+    12/14/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: fanaticalfiend
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very clean with lots of elevation changes!! super fun and challenging! never seems to be crowded when i play there, quite a few times we were the only group on the course.
Cons: no tee pads, grass only... not that big of deal to me though
Other Thoughts: the baskets on 17 and 18 were missing today, i hope they were not stolen. was a bummer not being able to finish our round..

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a great rip course

5+    7/29/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: bigjohnd24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is probably my favorite close-to-home course. It has a lot of elevation changes, which mean you'll be walking up and down hills in the fairways. It's a great beginners course because the fairways are usually fairly wide open and forgiving.

However, it is not just a simple course. It has a good variety of different types of holes, with intriguing pin locations and long approaches. It is a distance course, but you need to have finesse to keep your score low. Good signage and course navigation is very easy.
Cons: Hole #12: This is the bane of my existence. It's only about 230 ft, but its over a bridge, through the woods, uphill, a sharp right before another 35 ft to the pin, and to grandmother's house we go. Absolutely ridiculous. Parred it once by luck throwing through the trees. Plus, this hole pisses you off just in time for the 670 ft hole #13, which is also incredibly hard to par. Fun to throw though. Also, hole #18 is just retarded. It's a course par 2, 180 ft. I usually back up to the tee on hole #5 to add about 100 ft and at least make it a challenge.

There's usually construction going on somewhere on the course, which has changed some of the holes, although they are all back now. It would be nice to have something other than grass for a tee pad.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course to throw. You get your power shots and your technical approaches. Once the course stops getting disturbed and the holes stop changing (and if they get tee pads), my rating will be a 4. It's also located in a pretty nice, gigantic park. There's tennis courts, an ampitheater, and a dog park too.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.