Frankenmuth, MI 
Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #10
3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Really Enjoyed This Course

1    7/23/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: rhelt100
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As others have said, excellent use of the elevation. Not a lot of it to be had in most places out here but this park had huge hilltop throws, uphill throws, and everything in between.
Props for the friendly locals too. We were approached in the parking lot and offered a tour guide. He ended up in a match for plastic but we got some good tips.
Cons: No real cons that I can think of. I will comment though, that this course heavily favors RHBH throwers. This worked out well for me because I am a RHBH thrower.
Other Thoughts: Worth a trip to play this one. We were camping up at the tip of thumb and this was the closest course with a good rating. We drove almost two hours to play it and it was worth it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

east side gem... even in january

1    1/13/2014   1/13/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a very very large multi-use park. I can imagine that this park is crazy busy during peak times.

Baskets-- discraft with orange reflective tape... all in great repair, who could ask for more.

Teepads-- from what I could see through the snow, the teepads are super nice. tapered to the follow through zone nice and level and in good repair.

Teesigns-- excellent. map, par, distance (accurate) and next hole...seriously, who could ask for more.

Routing and nav-- not bad with the map on here. I would seriously say to either bring a map or take a pic of the one at the kiosk.

upkeep-- the kiosk is super nice, the map is big and clear and the donation container is a really nice touch. I can't say that I donated but I had zero cash...

challenge/risk v reward-- the use of elevation is pretty amazing here. every ounce of elevation available is utilized. the creek is the focal point of the course, winding through and over many of the fairways.
Cons: Variety-- Yep. I have to say the overabundance of left fades got old really fast. kind of a yawn in the variety department. the elevation and water keep it interesting though.

proximity to other amenities-- course comes close to bridges, paths and parking lots. errant throws could be an issue.
Other Thoughts: the negatives are really nit-picky. this is a gem of a course that I surely will play in the spring/summer to see what (if anything) I missed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Michigan's secret!

2-4    7/3/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: JBryant
Played: 56  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation. The designer(s) should be commended with how they took the time to look at the property and use it to make it the best.

Some of the best concrete pads in the state of Michigan. If Flip City had these pads, it would be a 6!

Beautiful course. I saw one piece of trash and it probably blew out of the trash can. The course couldn't be better maintained. Trash cans, picnic areas, beautiful green hills were all throughout this course.

Great baskets. I think MACH Vs. I enjoyed these baskets the more I played on them.

Good use of road OB and water OB.

Great location that is close to an indoor water park and cool shops.

Cons: Being my first time, I'm so glad I met some locals who knew the course and were good disc golfers. Made my round more challenging and fun. They made for competition and really were great with my 10 yr old nephew who was just starting out. Thanks Nate and Kyle!

A few hole were quite long! I love bombers but I like that ace run just as much. This also made for a long round hence I did not have time for another :( I did play the first few holes and was two down after hole five. Reaaaallly wanted to finish that out.

Lot of backhand righty hyzer. Not complaining but I can see how it would make a forehander or lefty feel.

I really have no other gripes with Memorial. I did not have the long waits that you heard from other reviews.
Other Thoughts: I heard that during a tournament they had a hanging basket between holes two and three. I would put that basket back, change all the numbers, and make 18 be the current 17. The final hole (18) is a shorty with OB all around it. I would utilize that basket as practice. OR use 18's basket from 17's pad as the final hole. Take out 17's basket and move it near the start and use it as practice.

This course was 1 of 3 top rated courses I played while on my trip. I enjoyed this course very much and was sad I couldn't better my score with a second round (not enough time) I slammed chains on hole 10 and it spit out. Would of been one wicked ace!

This is a great town that now is a must visit with this disc golf course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Clean, big, and satisfying!

5+    9/6/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 1/25/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Always clean and well-maintained
+ Designed with a logical layout with varying distances, elevation changes, and with only minimal tree coverage makes this THE course for learning to control your drives
+ Pin placements make for slightly challenging drives, with the majority of them smack dab in the middle of a group of trees making for good putting practice
+ A creek winds through the course serving as a faithful water hazard
+ A couple bridges and stepping stones also add to the charm of the course.
+ The course is very forgiving; bad shots don't cause much of a problem with most of the holes have a couple decent approach options
+ The only course in the region perfect for night golf
+ Plenty of picnic tables
+ The Lager Mill store is nearby and carries a quality selection of Innova and Discraft discs
Cons: - Sports teams/groups practice here during different seasons (late August pee-wee football started practicing in the afternoons on hole #10, which is many people's fave hole)
- Tennis lights stay on too late and ruin hole #11 during night rounds
- Not the place to go for serious short game practice
- I wish #13 had a small gap in the trees for risky RHBH shots
Other Thoughts: This is my second favorite course in the area (behind Wickes Woods). It's just a fantastic place to play. The moderate elevation changes are very nice; they add the element that Saginaw, Midland, Freeland, and Sanford lack. The hills make for a decent walk, but it's easy to make the round a workout by jogging between some of the holes (uphill/downhill). My favorite thing about this course are the huge trees. Oh, the trees! The weeping willow trees are gorgeous and TREACHEROUS! I love them. The course is also big and spread out. It's so nice that such a big park in a such a small, charming town has a reputable disc golf course.

This is a course that beginners can enjoy learning on because it's not a complicated layout, they won't be losing discs left and right, they can practice big drives and accurate upshots, and putting is fairly straightforward (except #15, *sneer*). #15's pin placement on the hillside makes for a memorable hole :) It's also great for seasoned players and throwing new discs as almost every hole allows you to really air out your drives. The one really long hole (#13) can be frustrating for righthanders because of the cluster of trees in front of the tee.

I will continue to play this course again and again. I will play it solo, with people I want to introduce to disc golf, and with the rest of my friends who are in love with the sport. This is just a top notch course that isn't trying to be super technical or tight, a great change of pace from the other courses nearby.

Thanks for reading!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth The Drive!!

2-4    7/23/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course hasn't quite "got it all", but it's pretty darn close! The designers of this course seem to have gotten the perfect mix of distance/challenge/variety on each and every hole with the longer ones being fairly wide open and the shorter ones being narrower and/or having sneaky pin placement. Big arms and more experienced players will enjoy the distances on the longer holes and will be challenged by the great mix of wide and narrow fairways, constant elevation changes, and creative pin placement; yet less experienced or less powerful players can still enjoy the experience fairly frustration free.

Pin placement is outstanding on this course! Each one is either well protected by trees, sits on a side hill, or perches on the edge of the creek - there are no "gimme" putts or approaches on THIS course.

Every single elevation change in this park has been utilized fully. While that makes for some outstanding holes, it means that course flow stutters in a few places. For your first time here, you may want to print the map on here or take a pic of the map at the kiosk with your phone.

The flat, roomy concrete pads are perfectly sized and textured and their directionality is particularly nice for pin location and course navigation. The tee signs, as well, are particularly nice as are the well constructed bridges that allow creek crossings with ease.

I love that the tee signs and score cards display real-world, recreational-player-friendly pars, ranging from 2 to 5. (Sorry guys. Not ALL holes are 3s!!)

I have a really, really hard time picking a stand-out hole here as there are so many interesting ones, so....

The long blind drive over the hill, between the bushes, along the creek on #1 with pin placement on the edge of the creek starts the course off with a bang.

#3 and #15 look to be easy deuces, but sidehill pin placement with a bad putt could easily leave you with 5s.

The wide open drive to a tight pine alley on #9 may have you begging for mercy if you've got the distance but not the accuracy.

#12 is the ugliest hole on the course with a narrow lane over the creek, through a swampy area, up a steep hill, then a sharp right to the pin at the top. Following this with the huge, huge, huge, wide open drive on #13 really gives you a feeling for the variety and design elements of this course.

#17 leaves you with a choice - go for the ace and risk dropping in the creek if you come up short, or go for the shorter, safer drive and the long putt.

Finally, #18 - the perfect way to end the round with another risk/reward choice.....go for the ace and flirt with the creek and/or woods, or play it safe with a par of 2. You'll want to empty your entire bag on this one!! :-)

Bring your whole family when you venture here....there's plenty to do and there's even a dog park with agility stuff right at the DGC parking lot. Gardeners will enjoy a stroll through the rose garden between #14 and #15 as well. Nice restrooms are available at the top of the hill in the center of the park.
Cons: This is a very, very active multi-use park and other users are entirely oblivious to the sport of disc golf. It's a good idea to send spotters on the blind holes (especially #4 and #7 as both have prime picnic table spots right near the pin).

Navigation can be a bit tricky the first time through as the course meanders through and around the entire park and some routes aren't immediately apparent. The course crosses the stream in the park several times and hoofing it through 2 parking lots (to tee #9 and to tee #15). While the route to #15 is fairly well marked, the route to #9 isn't. Just leave the woods toward the parking lot then skirt the edge to your right along the drainage ditch. The tee pad is marked ON the access road directly ahead.

Check your tee sign on #4 as the basket in sight is actually #18. #4 is tucked up in the pines in an almost straight line from the tee. #5 is also a bit sneaky as the pin is in the trees to the left on top of the hill, not the one straight ahead.

The park crew has placed 2 porta-johns directly in the line of fire off the #7 tee this summer but I don't recall them being there last year. Just sayin.
Other Thoughts: Avoid playing here late Sunday afternoons during the summer as they offer Concerts in the Park at the band shelter and it appears the entire town shows up! If you do venture here after 4:30 on a Sunday, be prepared to have tons of people walk right in front of your throw or the basket, picnic in the middle of the fairways, park next to the baskets or on the tee pads, and even try to run you over while you're standing in the clearly marked tee box for #9!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This is a Great Course

5+    5/20/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: AKasprzak
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Clean Park. Nice tee pads and baskets. Giant playground on hole nine if you have children to take a braek and let them play. Grass is very well maintained. Lots of parking. Great holes for both lefts and rights.
Cons: large groups of people that will not let you play threw. We were stuck behind a group of 12 and a group of 11 they were inconsiderate and would not let the line up of people behind them play threw, has happened more then once.
Other Thoughts: Besides the large groups this is a fun course. We enjoy our selfs ever time we go.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

5+    9/6/2010   5/16/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of my favorite courses to play, built in a park in downtown Frankenmuth. This course is wide open with a ton of long holes and some place perfectly on hilltops and sides to test a players skill. All holes are grassy and nicely kept.
Cons: Maybe a little too many wide open holes, could use a few more trees.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice park

5+    4/24/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful course that is very well kept. A large variety of elevation shots and enough water hazards to keep things interesting. A few tough technical shots as well. A great place to practice your distance driving.
Cons: Quite a few holes that are too open. It would be nice if there were more trees on quite a few of the holes. No long water shots, just a creek. Lack of tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Right next to the Frankenmuth Brewery. Nothing like finishing off a day of discing with some great micro brews.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 At Memorial Park, everyday is Christmas

1    11/1/2010   2/20/2011
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.5 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
When I first pulled up, my first thought was, "Woah!" as my eyes wound up and down, scanning the terrain. To say there is a lot of elevation is a gross understatement. But, as this is a park, traversing the course is not at all difficult nor dangerous.

In addition to great changes in elevation, you dont just throw up the hill and back down once, as the hills are used repeatedly. The entire front 9 was undulating bliss, and the only stretch of flat was the middle of the back 9.

Lush grass covers almost the entire course. The trees are a mix of leaf and pine to offer challenge at all times of the year.

Great signage that was a slick design. Although they were simple 4x4 posts, they had small graphic signs. But the signs were the width of the post, which makes random vandalism much more difficult. Great idea.

A winding creek was used for a hazard for nearly half of the course. It is just the perfect size; small enough to leap back and forth, and wide enough to be a big headache. It never leaves you alone here.
Cons:
Midway through the back 9, this course used the only flat, featureless patch of land on this property. It was all the more jarring, as there were almost no trees at all. Blah. To be fair, at least the holes had a nice distance challenge, and there is not much else they could do to make holes here better, but it is unfortunate that this land had to be used at all.

No cement tees. I found this more and more unbelieveable as the round wore on, because of the quality of the course was so high.

Quite frankly, I can't think of anything else.
Other Thoughts:
If it weren't for the few dead flat holes on the back 9, I would say you couldn't find a more perfect city park for a course (in the sense of an open grassy park, rather than forested.) This park is beautiful, well kept, and the course is very well designed, offering up a range of challenges and shots required.

The fun factor is in the stratosphere, and with the addition of a stiff breeze, you are going to need all your wits about you to score well. There are many holes here that can tuck your heart in their pocket, but for me, #11 with its weeping willows and setup for a beautiful winding RHBH s-curve is the best.

I never in my life thought I would ever think "I HAVE to go to Frankemuth", but I was so very wrong. I don't think I will ever drive to Detroit again without stopping to play here along the way.

At Bronner's they say that "in Frankemuth, everyday is Christmas." At Memorial Park, this couldn't be more true.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A gem of a course - I'll be back!

2-4    8/19/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Superb terrain for disc golf: Rolling hills, slopes and elevation changes all over the course, with some fairways incorporating both up and downhill into a single hole, and two holes (13 & 14) playing flat.

Great variety, requiring power and finesse with a nice mix of distances, lines (hyzers, annies/FH, straight), fairway types (mostly open, some lightly wooded, a couple densely wooded), and a few unique holes - never gets boring. Open (or relatively open) hole layouts allow for several different ways to attack the basket.

Excellent use of carefully tucked pins, guard trees, slopes and water to create challenging pin placements to keep you humble.

Nicely illustrated tee signs on with distance and hole-layout to help you find the next tee and get you pointed in the right direction.

A small stream comes into play and adds character, but isn't intimidating.

Course takes you all around a clean, well maintained, visually appealing, small, city park, with some really scenic spots, including a nicely landscaped garden, with a trellis & benches (genuinely suitable engagement and wedding photos) in between holes 14 & 15.
Cons: Non DG traffic can affect, delay or prevent play on some holes (football & soccer practice).

Course plays near a road, parking lot, tennis court, which detracts from playability as well as the course's awesome atmosphere.

Personally I don't mind blind holes (this course has several), but they don't work well when other fairways are nearby. On quite a few holes here, the basket that seems most obvious from the tee belongs to another hole, and the correct basket is tucked away around a corner (threw at the wrong basket a few times). Navigation a bit tough in spots, but not too bad (course map was a big help first time out).

Concrete tees would be an improvement.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely love this course! Without exaggeration, easily one of the most enjoyable courses I've played to date. Has a unique charm and certain vibe that's all its own. Despite its flaws, it really bumps up the fun factor. Not championship caliber (doesn't pretend to be), but certainly well designed and challenging. Has you continually thinking and rethinking about how you should approach your shot. Pins placed on slopes present risk/reward opportunities: an upshot that landed only a few feet from the basket ended up about 75 feet away after a particularly nasty roll.

Navigation and basket confusion will be an issue for some as I suspect many will visit this course only once or twice while visiting Frankenmuth (print course map).

SLIPPERY WHEN WET!! Pickles' review is spot on about wet or windy days greatly reducing course's playability.

While playing here, I was thinking, "a solid 4, possibly 4.5," but shared use of the land, (football & soccer practice), as well as the non-DG elements that can come into play (parking lot on hole 10, tennis court on hole 11), and lack of concrete pads have me holding back that half a disc. Perhaps lacking in terms of "championship pedigree" compared to excellent courses, Memorial Park is every bit as good they are in an altogether different way, and stands apart from them in its uniqueness.

There's a donation box by the sign near the 1st tee - Looks like the $ is being put to good use - no signs of neglect like many other courses. I hope the locals are earmarking some of that for concrete pads.

Bonus Info: Only minutes from downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's own "Little Bavaria," known for its fried chicken, beer, and general charm. Great place to bring the family or grab a bite and a brew after (or in between) rounds.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.