Frankenmuth, MI 
Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #15 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I love seeing all the positive course reviews! - Alex McCallum

5+    12/23/2012   1/23/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 34  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads
marked tees
elevation changes
variance of long and short drives
small water hazards
park is well taken care of
Cons: other park visitors frequent the fairways causing delays
occasional hole taken down in winter for sledding in the park


Other Thoughts: This course was started via my Eagle Scout project (Troop 275) where I introduced disc golf to the community via Parks and Recs meetings and a presentation given at the schools, designed a full 18 hole layout, found funding for 4 holes (thanks to the original hole sponsors: Frankenmuth McDonalds, the Zew Crew, Ron Schoen of Bridgeport Mini Storage, and Discraft and the former Dixie Cut Stone for the concrete), and installed holes 4, 5, 17, and 18 (to make for a nice 4 hole practice loop).

Frankenmuth News did a little article on the project and can be found in the archives here: http://www.frankenmutharchive...003-12-17.PDF
(obviously some things have changed since then :) )

It is very awesome to see all of the positive reviews everyone has given this course on here. Makes me proud to have started such a well loved course. it sure has come a long ways since it was started and the additions have seriously made this course one of the best in the area.

- Alex McCallum

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    5/8/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Big concrete teepads
-Nice maintained course
-variety of holes
-challenging
-great area
-very clean
Cons: dont play in heavy wind. combined with the elevation, your shots may be unpredictable.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have played at and its in a great location. Will be back soon!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's Grown On Me.

1    2/29/2012   2/29/2012
Review By: the_pwnerator
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, Clean Park

-Rolling Hills make it very unique compared to more courses

-Will definitely Challenge your distance game

-Huge Hole variety, not one hole is even semi-identical

-Well manicured

-Still manages to have some wooded holes that will challenge placement

-BRAND NEW CONCRETE TEE PADS!
They are very large and have a triangular shape without the tip.
Cons:
-Terrible to play on when wet because of the slippery hills, not so much the mud.

-Especially for beginners it is mostly distance based challenge

-The park can be busy some days with locals interfering with some holes, but it's almost never dangerous unless the thrower decides to play a hole that they shouldn't be.
Other Thoughts: I used to hate this course because of the long distances but as I've progressed into a better player, it's definitely growing on me.

I would easily give this course 4.5 stars if it had concrete tees and stairs on hole 12 because of the dirt incline that can become very slippery and dangerous.

Update 4/13/12
CONCRETE TEE PADS ARE IN!!!


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the Muth

5+    10/16/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: Wolfpackdiscs
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Love this course. Long 600 + foot shots all the way down to 140 foot tight shots. Their is elevation changes, woods, and water. This is one of the best courses on the east side of Michigan. Stretch well ahead of the round, hills plus distance will hurt the next day!
Cons: No solid pads

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    8/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: Anhyzer-Bush
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First time playing a course in MI, and honestly I think this course ruined me. Coming from CA where summer time means a lot of dirt and dust, relentless sunshine and too many people on every course, my rounds here were a treat. While at first glance, the park seemed like a vast wide open expanse for chucking discs, it was obvious the designers of the course took the time to utilize the green rolling hills in such a way as to make the course not only fun, but fairly challenging. Drives consistently went farther than I was anticipating, yet I still found myself having to make challenging puts to save par. Elevation changes, distance throws, and a few holes where I had to "steer" myself around some obstacles all made for an excellent course. Throw in some unique local architecture and its definitely a must play any time I'm in MI.
Cons: I only have 2 gripes -
1. If it weren't for the locals who were playing ahead of us, it was very easy to get turned around (despite having taken a photo of the course layout for reference.)
2. No tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was a treat to play. Green rolling hills, wide open, long distance throws and unique surroundings made it impossible not to play a second round. It almost felt like playing on a real golf course, except there was no drink cart rolling around the course. Couldn't count on my patented 50' skips, but I found I didn't really need them anyway. I would recommend this course to anyone from a first timer to a skilled pro. You are guaranteed to have a good time...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    10/9/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: rortopan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Grass was cut and well maintained
-Easy to follow signs
-Lots of open space for long shots
-Nice elevation changes
-Beautiful gardens
Cons: -Lots of blind holes, fun but easy to lose a disc
-No tee pads, just trampled dirt
-Small parking lot
-Loose dogs from the dog park

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: Ace_star2103
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As my home course, I play here as much as possible. This course has many rolling hills and a beautiful layout that challenges and player-from long holes to difficult approaches. There are a big variety of holes, such as holes 3, 5, 6, ,15, 17, 18 which are all ace-able. Holes 2, 7, 13, and 16 really let you rip out your farthest shot. There are many trash cans as well as updated maps detailing where the hole is. The hole is usually easy to find, but some are wrapped around the corner.
Cons: The only real con is no tee pads. This shouldnt be a problem because the ground is flat from all of the past tee offs. There really isnt a struggle to find the hole or the next hole, but if its your first time here i'd recommend looking at the map on the post before you tee off. Hole 12 is a pain in the butt, but if you get a straight shot up the middle it is pretty easy to get par or even birdie. Nice summer nights can get crowded. There are youth football practices as well as cheerleading, but the only hole this affects is hole 10. Sunday nights in the summer there are concerts. If you like to listen to some music while you play and dont mind skipping a few holes it isn't that bad. great course that really challenges all parts of your game.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with plenty of challenges and other things to do. There is a dog park, tennis courts, a giant playground by hole 9, and many grills and benches to eat. Summer can get crowded with many golfers and casual walkers through the park. Tournaments run Friday nights in the summer for more advanced players. A great course for beginners becuase of the open fairways and also a great course for pros alike for the distance throws, technical approaches, and wide variety of holes. A great place to come out and spend a day at!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your arm

5+    4/2/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: Pickles
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course provides mostly long wide open fairways. If distance is a problem for you then this course is going to be a problem for you. A few par 4's and a 670 ft par 5 on hole 13 that is just awesome!!! You could maybe eagle it you could get 2 nice long drives. Hole 18 is barely 100 ft, very ace-able. Don't worry about the creek on hole 18 cause its relatively shallow. I love holes 3, 4, 16 and 17 because you stand on top of a hill and just bomb it as hard as you can!!
Cons: Be careful on hole 1 because of the creek to the left. Hole 12 is tricky and thru the woods at a really weird angle and would be impossible to even birdie. I par-ed it last time I was there and that was rare. Be very careful on hole 6 and 15 because there is a big downward hill behind both baskets. One major con is that this course is next to a school and there are always football practice blocking hole 10 and cheerleaders on hole 7 and the boys soccer team blocking all of hole 13 next to the church. All of that was going on at the same day too last fall. Really messes with your game. If its windy or rainy then be prepared to have a bad day. Also I recommend carrying a baseball to dislodge your discs from high tree limbs on certain holes like 3 and 5.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course, not every hole has markers but it is pretty easy to navigate. Map at hole is nice and the park is just gorgeous. Can be really hot in the summer as there isn't much shade, but thats not really a con. This course really helps your long range driving! Check it out, its sweet!!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Watch it Soar!

5+    5/26/2014   9/11/2009
Review By: InTheGroove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite course so far. I play it as much as I can. It has many elevation changes, which offer some up-hill approaches, and some awesome elevated tee areas. Generally, this course is very open, some wooded areas that come into play. For players with the big guns, this course offers a couple long par 3's, four par 4's, and one par 5. Challenging pin placements on some of the holes, where they are tucked behind tree-lines or nestled in the middle of some pines. Course is very well maintained and tee areas are well marked. New tee pads were put in during the 2012 season, making this a top notch course all around.
Cons: Always windy there

Other Thoughts: Great for the beginner and for the seasoned player alike. This course offers a great variety of play. Water is in play on most of the holes, due to a small stream that winds through the entire park. Easy retrieval though should a disc go in the water.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.