Frankenmuth, MI 
Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #6 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun in the Muth

5+    10/16/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: Wolfpackdiscs
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Love this course. Long 600 + foot shots all the way down to 140 foot tight shots. Their is elevation changes, woods, and water. This is one of the best courses on the east side of Michigan. Stretch well ahead of the round, hills plus distance will hurt the next day!
Cons: No solid pads

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    8/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: Anhyzer-Bush
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First time playing a course in MI, and honestly I think this course ruined me. Coming from CA where summer time means a lot of dirt and dust, relentless sunshine and too many people on every course, my rounds here were a treat. While at first glance, the park seemed like a vast wide open expanse for chucking discs, it was obvious the designers of the course took the time to utilize the green rolling hills in such a way as to make the course not only fun, but fairly challenging. Drives consistently went farther than I was anticipating, yet I still found myself having to make challenging puts to save par. Elevation changes, distance throws, and a few holes where I had to "steer" myself around some obstacles all made for an excellent course. Throw in some unique local architecture and its definitely a must play any time I'm in MI.
Cons: I only have 2 gripes -
1. If it weren't for the locals who were playing ahead of us, it was very easy to get turned around (despite having taken a photo of the course layout for reference.)
2. No tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was a treat to play. Green rolling hills, wide open, long distance throws and unique surroundings made it impossible not to play a second round. It almost felt like playing on a real golf course, except there was no drink cart rolling around the course. Couldn't count on my patented 50' skips, but I found I didn't really need them anyway. I would recommend this course to anyone from a first timer to a skilled pro. You are guaranteed to have a good time...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 This is a Great Course

5+    5/20/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: AKasprzak
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Clean Park. Nice tee pads and baskets. Giant playground on hole nine if you have children to take a braek and let them play. Grass is very well maintained. Lots of parking. Great holes for both lefts and rights.
Cons: large groups of people that will not let you play threw. We were stuck behind a group of 12 and a group of 11 they were inconsiderate and would not let the line up of people behind them play threw, has happened more then once.
Other Thoughts: Besides the large groups this is a fun course. We enjoy our selfs ever time we go.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

5+    9/6/2010   5/16/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of my favorite courses to play, built in a park in downtown Frankenmuth. This course is wide open with a ton of long holes and some place perfectly on hilltops and sides to test a players skill. All holes are grassy and nicely kept.
Cons: Maybe a little too many wide open holes, could use a few more trees.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice park

5+    4/24/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful course that is very well kept. A large variety of elevation shots and enough water hazards to keep things interesting. A few tough technical shots as well. A great place to practice your distance driving.
Cons: Quite a few holes that are too open. It would be nice if there were more trees on quite a few of the holes. No long water shots, just a creek. Lack of tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Right next to the Frankenmuth Brewery. Nothing like finishing off a day of discing with some great micro brews.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 At Memorial Park, everyday is Christmas

1    11/1/2010   2/20/2011
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 20.4 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
When I first pulled up, my first thought was, "Woah!" as my eyes wound up and down, scanning the terrain. To say there is a lot of elevation is a gross understatement. But, as this is a park, traversing the course is not at all difficult nor dangerous.

In addition to great changes in elevation, you dont just throw up the hill and back down once, as the hills are used repeatedly. The entire front 9 was undulating bliss, and the only stretch of flat was the middle of the back 9.

Lush grass covers almost the entire course. The trees are a mix of leaf and pine to offer challenge at all times of the year.

Great signage that was a slick design. Although they were simple 4x4 posts, they had small graphic signs. But the signs were the width of the post, which makes random vandalism much more difficult. Great idea.

A winding creek was used for a hazard for nearly half of the course. It is just the perfect size; small enough to leap back and forth, and wide enough to be a big headache. It never leaves you alone here.
Midway through the back 9, this course used the only flat, featureless patch of land on this property. It was all the more jarring, as there were almost no trees at all. Blah. To be fair, at least the holes had a nice distance challenge, and there is not much else they could do to make holes here better, but it is unfortunate that this land had to be used at all.

No cement tees. I found this more and more unbelieveable as the round wore on, because of the quality of the course was so high.

Quite frankly, I can't think of anything else.
Other Thoughts:
If it weren't for the few dead flat holes on the back 9, I would say you couldn't find a more perfect city park for a course (in the sense of an open grassy park, rather than forested.) This park is beautiful, well kept, and the course is very well designed, offering up a range of challenges and shots required.

The fun factor is in the stratosphere, and with the addition of a stiff breeze, you are going to need all your wits about you to score well. There are many holes here that can tuck your heart in their pocket, but for me, #11 with its weeping willows and setup for a beautiful winding RHBH s-curve is the best.

I never in my life thought I would ever think "I HAVE to go to Frankemuth", but I was so very wrong. I don't think I will ever drive to Detroit again without stopping to play here along the way.

At Bronner's they say that "in Frankemuth, everyday is Christmas." At Memorial Park, this couldn't be more true.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    10/9/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: rortopan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Grass was cut and well maintained
-Easy to follow signs
-Lots of open space for long shots
-Nice elevation changes
-Beautiful gardens
Cons: -Lots of blind holes, fun but easy to lose a disc
-No tee pads, just trampled dirt
-Small parking lot
-Loose dogs from the dog park

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: Ace_star2103
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As my home course, I play here as much as possible. This course has many rolling hills and a beautiful layout that challenges and player-from long holes to difficult approaches. There are a big variety of holes, such as holes 3, 5, 6, ,15, 17, 18 which are all ace-able. Holes 2, 7, 13, and 16 really let you rip out your farthest shot. There are many trash cans as well as updated maps detailing where the hole is. The hole is usually easy to find, but some are wrapped around the corner.
Cons: The only real con is no tee pads. This shouldnt be a problem because the ground is flat from all of the past tee offs. There really isnt a struggle to find the hole or the next hole, but if its your first time here i'd recommend looking at the map on the post before you tee off. Hole 12 is a pain in the butt, but if you get a straight shot up the middle it is pretty easy to get par or even birdie. Nice summer nights can get crowded. There are youth football practices as well as cheerleading, but the only hole this affects is hole 10. Sunday nights in the summer there are concerts. If you like to listen to some music while you play and dont mind skipping a few holes it isn't that bad. great course that really challenges all parts of your game.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with plenty of challenges and other things to do. There is a dog park, tennis courts, a giant playground by hole 9, and many grills and benches to eat. Summer can get crowded with many golfers and casual walkers through the park. Tournaments run Friday nights in the summer for more advanced players. A great course for beginners becuase of the open fairways and also a great course for pros alike for the distance throws, technical approaches, and wide variety of holes. A great place to come out and spend a day at!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A gem of a course - I'll be back!

2-4    8/19/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 186  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Superb terrain for disc golf: Rolling hills, slopes and elevation changes all over the course, with some fairways incorporating both up and downhill into a single hole, and two holes (13 & 14) playing flat.

Great variety, requiring power and finesse with a nice mix of distances, lines (hyzers, annies/FH, straight), fairway types (mostly open, some lightly wooded, a couple densely wooded), and a few unique holes - never gets boring. Open (or relatively open) hole layouts allow for several different ways to attack the basket.

Excellent use of carefully tucked pins, guard trees, slopes and water to create challenging pin placements to keep you humble.

Nicely illustrated tee signs on with distance and hole-layout to help you find the next tee and get you pointed in the right direction.

A small stream comes into play and adds character, but isn't intimidating.

Course takes you all around a clean, well maintained, visually appealing, small, city park, with some really scenic spots, including a nicely landscaped garden, with a trellis & benches (genuinely suitable engagement and wedding photos) in between holes 14 & 15.
Cons: Non DG traffic can affect, delay or prevent play on some holes (football & soccer practice).

Course plays near a road, parking lot, tennis court, which detracts from playability as well as the course's awesome atmosphere.

Personally I don't mind blind holes (this course has several), but they don't work well when other fairways are nearby. On quite a few holes here, the basket that seems most obvious from the tee belongs to another hole, and the correct basket is tucked away around a corner (threw at the wrong basket a few times). Navigation a bit tough in spots, but not too bad (course map was a big help first time out).

Concrete tees would be an improvement.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely love this course! Without exaggeration, easily one of the most enjoyable courses I've played to date. Has a unique charm and certain vibe that's all its own. Despite its flaws, it really bumps up the fun factor. Not championship caliber (doesn't pretend to be), but certainly well designed and challenging. Has you continually thinking and rethinking about how you should approach your shot. Pins placed on slopes present risk/reward opportunities: an upshot that landed only a few feet from the basket ended up about 75 feet away after a particularly nasty roll.

Navigation and basket confusion will be an issue for some as I suspect many will visit this course only once or twice while visiting Frankenmuth (print course map).

SLIPPERY WHEN WET!! Pickles' review is spot on about wet or windy days greatly reducing course's playability.

While playing here, I was thinking, "a solid 4, possibly 4.5," but shared use of the land, (football & soccer practice), as well as the non-DG elements that can come into play (parking lot on hole 10, tennis court on hole 11), and lack of concrete pads have me holding back that half a disc. Perhaps lacking in terms of "championship pedigree" compared to excellent courses, Memorial Park is every bit as good they are in an altogether different way, and stands apart from them in its uniqueness.

There's a donation box by the sign near the 1st tee - Looks like the $ is being put to good use - no signs of neglect like many other courses. I hope the locals are earmarking some of that for concrete pads.

Bonus Info: Only minutes from downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's own "Little Bavaria," known for its fried chicken, beer, and general charm. Great place to bring the family or grab a bite and a brew after (or in between) rounds.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Vacation Course

1    8/16/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
~The course is spread throughout a wonderful park
~Left my map at the hotel, but was still able to navigate from tee to tee with ease
~Makes good use of the hilly natural terrain
~Great mix of holes and layout
~Hole signs with numbers and layout next to each tee area
~Challenging and fun course
~Lack of concrete tees
~No hole indicators on baskets
~Shot to a few wrong baskets due to layout Con #2 above
~Shared park space can make play difficult when busy
Other Thoughts: I played a round while vacationing in Frankenmuth and had a very enjoyable time. The wife and kids kept busy on the playgrounds and walking around the park while I made my way around 18 great holes. Natural tees didn't provide any discomfort as the worn away grass areas are well compacted and fairly level. I did end up throwing to a few wrong baskets due to some holes having a couple baskets within close proximity of one another and no numbers on the baskets to properly indicate which hole they belong to. Plenty of hills and valleys add to a nice mix of holes that make their way across open park space, through lightly wooded areas, over bridges and around a meandering creek. Plenty of opportunity to throw your longest drivers as well as tee off with precise mid ranges. The diversity and mixture of scenery ties this course together really well. Unfortunately I had to skip a couple of consecutive holes as the one had kids playing all over the fairway and the other went next to the high school football practice field which was being used by the team during my round. Recommended if you are in the area, I know I'll revisit if I ever head back up to Frankenmuth.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.