Frankenmuth, MI 
Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #9 (Taken 8/2012)
4 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Memorial Park

2-4    8/3/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Best use of elevation I have seen.
-very well maintained
-not at all repetitive. every hole is unique
-great variety of long/short, hyzer/anhyzer, up/down/flat, open/tight.
-brand new concrete tee pads that are HUGE
Cons: -It can be confusing. I was with someone who knew the course. I'm not sure that I would have been able to find my way around or know where/which one the basket is if I were alone
-in a multi-use park. most park goers are oblivious to disc golf. I've had to skip holes because of picnics right next to the basket
-on sundays nights there are concerts in the park. although the Elvis reincarnate?/impostor was pretty cool I would have rather been able to play all of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Favorite hole: #18
I don't remember the distance but it is very short, maybe 150.' good risk/reward hole as there is a creek and a bunch of trees behind the basket.

Least favorite hole: #12
247' shot. there is really no fairway. it's throw into some trees and pray.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your arm

5+    4/2/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: Pickles
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course provides mostly long wide open fairways. If distance is a problem for you then this course is going to be a problem for you. A few par 4's and a 670 ft par 5 on hole 13 that is just awesome!!! You could maybe eagle it you could get 2 nice long drives. Hole 18 is barely 100 ft, very ace-able. Don't worry about the creek on hole 18 cause its relatively shallow. I love holes 3, 4, 16 and 17 because you stand on top of a hill and just bomb it as hard as you can!!
Cons: Be careful on hole 1 because of the creek to the left. Hole 12 is tricky and thru the woods at a really weird angle and would be impossible to even birdie. I par-ed it last time I was there and that was rare. Be very careful on hole 6 and 15 because there is a big downward hill behind both baskets. One major con is that this course is next to a school and there are always football practice blocking hole 10 and cheerleaders on hole 7 and the boys soccer team blocking all of hole 13 next to the church. All of that was going on at the same day too last fall. Really messes with your game. If its windy or rainy then be prepared to have a bad day. Also I recommend carrying a baseball to dislodge your discs from high tree limbs on certain holes like 3 and 5.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course, not every hole has markers but it is pretty easy to navigate. Map at hole is nice and the park is just gorgeous. Can be really hot in the summer as there isn't much shade, but thats not really a con. This course really helps your long range driving! Check it out, its sweet!!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 well

2-4    8/20/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: midmittendgfiend
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The grass in kept almost immaculate. the signage is good. location is easy. lots of other stuff to do down the street. Favors big arms on a few holes. disc location is easy. very wide open if you like that.
Cons: The hills are a lil tough on you. huge rolls on the hills. very little risk / reward action. long holes call for big arms which i am not yet. lots of other things are going on. some holes run along unnecessary places. such as right next to tennis courts and over peewee football practice. those coaches are d bags. they will throw your disc 100 foot away from your lie and mess your game up. so it would be best to skip those holes when that is happening. navigation can also get a little sketchy since many pins are visible on a lot of holes. it gets confusing sometimes
Other Thoughts: now that im developing a better arm and better technique, i might appreciate it more now. id like to work with it to try to see if i can get better scores at this course. i think i gave this course too many discs

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  my favorite course

5+    12/14/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: fanaticalfiend
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very clean with lots of elevation changes!! super fun and challenging! never seems to be crowded when i play there, quite a few times we were the only group on the course.
Cons: no tee pads, grass only... not that big of deal to me though
Other Thoughts: the baskets on 17 and 18 were missing today, i hope they were not stolen. was a bummer not being able to finish our round..

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Memorial Park

1    9/20/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful. Really. It was probably the best looking course I have ever played. The Layout of the course was really nice. Several up and downs. Several challenging placements of drives. Challenging mainly because they are blind. I would suggest bringing a map or you won't know where you are throwing to. Tee Signs are really good. They give you a good picture of the hole.
Cons: My First Con is that Basket 1 was very hard to find. I drove in from the EAST (BRAY Road) and when I hit the park I turned into the first parking lot (Rose Garden). "Tee" 15 is right there but I had to walk down over the hill to the left to find Hole 1. The Sign for the course is facing AWAY from the parking lot. You have no idea that is what it is. Again, BRING A MAP. Standing on the Tee there are a couple holes with multiple baskets in view so without a map you will not be sure where to throw.
Other Thoughts: Find the parking lot where the DOG PARK is and follow the road back. Hole 1 is just over the bridge. I would suggest putting a sign on the road somewhere pointing to where hole 1 is. My wifes family lives off lake road (clio) and when we visit I will be sure to return.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Watch it Soar!

5+    5/26/2014   9/11/2009
Review By: InTheGroove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite course so far. I play it as much as I can. It has many elevation changes, which offer some up-hill approaches, and some awesome elevated tee areas. Generally, this course is very open, some wooded areas that come into play. For players with the big guns, this course offers a couple long par 3's, four par 4's, and one par 5. Challenging pin placements on some of the holes, where they are tucked behind tree-lines or nestled in the middle of some pines. Course is very well maintained and tee areas are well marked. New tee pads were put in during the 2012 season, making this a top notch course all around.
Cons: Always windy there

Other Thoughts: Great for the beginner and for the seasoned player alike. This course offers a great variety of play. Water is in play on most of the holes, due to a small stream that winds through the entire park. Easy retrieval though should a disc go in the water.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a great rip course

5+    7/29/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: bigjohnd24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is probably my favorite close-to-home course. It has a lot of elevation changes, which mean you'll be walking up and down hills in the fairways. It's a great beginners course because the fairways are usually fairly wide open and forgiving.

However, it is not just a simple course. It has a good variety of different types of holes, with intriguing pin locations and long approaches. It is a distance course, but you need to have finesse to keep your score low. Good signage and course navigation is very easy.
Cons: Hole #12: This is the bane of my existence. It's only about 230 ft, but its over a bridge, through the woods, uphill, a sharp right before another 35 ft to the pin, and to grandmother's house we go. Absolutely ridiculous. Parred it once by luck throwing through the trees. Plus, this hole pisses you off just in time for the 670 ft hole #13, which is also incredibly hard to par. Fun to throw though. Also, hole #18 is just retarded. It's a course par 2, 180 ft. I usually back up to the tee on hole #5 to add about 100 ft and at least make it a challenge.

There's usually construction going on somewhere on the course, which has changed some of the holes, although they are all back now. It would be nice to have something other than grass for a tee pad.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course to throw. You get your power shots and your technical approaches. Once the course stops getting disturbed and the holes stop changing (and if they get tee pads), my rating will be a 4. It's also located in a pretty nice, gigantic park. There's tennis courts, an ampitheater, and a dog park too.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Clean

2-4    8/6/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Dave
Played: 116  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cleanest, most well maintained course I've seen. Good variety of length & elevations. Room to throw, but not just a power course. Accuracy needed to finish well. Most holes end among trees and/or at a drop off. Only hole 12 really plays in the woods, but it is nearly a 180 degree turn.
Cons: Several holes appear to have been moved, and the signage has not caught up yet. Easy to throw to the wrong basket without a clear sign. Numbers on top of the baskets would help too. It would be nice if someone were to print up some maps or put a map on this web site.

Maybe a little repetitive or too open for some.
Other Thoughts: Some blind holes, but by your second round, you know where the baskets are. Nice vacation area. Lots to see & do when not playing. More importantly, lots for your non-DG friends & family to do while you are playing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    6/24/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: Beastman
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course uphill shots downhill shots river runs through course but not a problem. Hole 13 is 763' wide open field . Restroom on course, tables and garbage pails on most holes. Very well groomed and maintained. Each hole well marked with basket placement.
Cons: Hole 12 you shoot over a bridge through woods up a hill a hard dogleg right Impossible to ace extremely hard to birdie. No tee pads. No scorecards.
Other Thoughts: A great place to bring the family for a day of fun. Playground for the kids, picnic tables, grills, dog park, horseshoes, canoe launch. Clean well maintained not crowded.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/30/2010   6/10/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course! Hole 13, which is a 673 ft. par 5, is my favorite, it really gives you the chance to grip n rip. Really wide open shot on most holes, good for a beginner. Plenty of holes will give you a chance to let it rip!! This course is not difficult to navigate and signage is ok.
Cons: The construction had really got in the way there for a while, but all the missing holes have been either replaced or relocated. The wind can make it real difficult on some days.
Other Thoughts: Good course and pretty clean compared to some courses that I have visited. Be careful with your drive on hole 15, the hill drops off right behind the basket and your disc will keep going like the Energizer bunny!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center