Disc Golf Store
Frankenmuth, MI
Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #12 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
  my favorite course

5+    12/14/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: fanaticalfiend
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very clean with lots of elevation changes!! super fun and challenging! never seems to be crowded when i play there, quite a few times we were the only group on the course.
Cons: no tee pads, grass only... not that big of deal to me though
Other Thoughts: the baskets on 17 and 18 were missing today, i hope they were not stolen. was a bummer not being able to finish our round..

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Memorial Park

1    9/20/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful. Really. It was probably the best looking course I have ever played. The Layout of the course was really nice. Several up and downs. Several challenging placements of drives. Challenging mainly because they are blind. I would suggest bringing a map or you won't know where you are throwing to. Tee Signs are really good. They give you a good picture of the hole.
Cons: My First Con is that Basket 1 was very hard to find. I drove in from the EAST (BRAY Road) and when I hit the park I turned into the first parking lot (Rose Garden). "Tee" 15 is right there but I had to walk down over the hill to the left to find Hole 1. The Sign for the course is facing AWAY from the parking lot. You have no idea that is what it is. Again, BRING A MAP. Standing on the Tee there are a couple holes with multiple baskets in view so without a map you will not be sure where to throw.
Other Thoughts: Find the parking lot where the DOG PARK is and follow the road back. Hole 1 is just over the bridge. I would suggest putting a sign on the road somewhere pointing to where hole 1 is. My wifes family lives off lake road (clio) and when we visit I will be sure to return.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Watch it Soar!

5+    4/16/2010   9/11/2009
Review By: InTheGroove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite course so far. I play it as much as I can. It has many elevation changes, which offer some up-hill approaches, and some awesome elevated tee areas. Generally, this course is very open, some wooded areas that come into play. For players with the big guns, this course offers a couple long par 3's, four par 4's, and one par 5. Challenging pin placements on some of the holes, where they are tucked behind tree-lines or nestled in the middle of some pines. Course is very well maintained and tee areas are well marked.
Cons: Tee pads would be the only weakness to this course. It is only grass, and not always even ground. This hasn't really effected my game, but forces cautious foot placement.

Other Thoughts: Great for the beginner and for the seasoned player alike. This course offers a great variety of play. Water is in play on most of the holes, due to a small stream that winds through the entire park. Easy retrieval though should a disc go in the water.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a great rip course

5+    7/29/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: bigjohnd24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is probably my favorite close-to-home course. It has a lot of elevation changes, which mean you'll be walking up and down hills in the fairways. It's a great beginners course because the fairways are usually fairly wide open and forgiving.

However, it is not just a simple course. It has a good variety of different types of holes, with intriguing pin locations and long approaches. It is a distance course, but you need to have finesse to keep your score low. Good signage and course navigation is very easy.
Cons: Hole #12: This is the bane of my existence. It's only about 230 ft, but its over a bridge, through the woods, uphill, a sharp right before another 35 ft to the pin, and to grandmother's house we go. Absolutely ridiculous. Parred it once by luck throwing through the trees. Plus, this hole pisses you off just in time for the 670 ft hole #13, which is also incredibly hard to par. Fun to throw though. Also, hole #18 is just retarded. It's a course par 2, 180 ft. I usually back up to the tee on hole #5 to add about 100 ft and at least make it a challenge.

There's usually construction going on somewhere on the course, which has changed some of the holes, although they are all back now. It would be nice to have something other than grass for a tee pad.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course to throw. You get your power shots and your technical approaches. Once the course stops getting disturbed and the holes stop changing (and if they get tee pads), my rating will be a 4. It's also located in a pretty nice, gigantic park. There's tennis courts, an ampitheater, and a dog park too.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Clean

2-4    8/6/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Dave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cleanest, most well maintained course I've seen. Good variety of length & elevations. Room to throw, but not just a power course. Accuracy needed to finish well. Most holes end among trees and/or at a drop off. Only hole 12 really plays in the woods, but it is nearly a 180 degree turn.
Cons: Several holes appear to have been moved, and the signage has not caught up yet. Easy to throw to the wrong basket without a clear sign. Numbers on top of the baskets would help too. It would be nice if someone were to print up some maps or put a map on this web site.

Maybe a little repetitive or too open for some.
Other Thoughts: Some blind holes, but by your second round, you know where the baskets are. Nice vacation area. Lots to see & do when not playing. More importantly, lots for your non-DG friends & family to do while you are playing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    6/24/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: Beastman
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course uphill shots downhill shots river runs through course but not a problem. Hole 13 is 763' wide open field . Restroom on course, tables and garbage pails on most holes. Very well groomed and maintained. Each hole well marked with basket placement.
Cons: Hole 12 you shoot over a bridge through woods up a hill a hard dogleg right Impossible to ace extremely hard to birdie. No tee pads. No scorecards.
Other Thoughts: A great place to bring the family for a day of fun. Playground for the kids, picnic tables, grills, dog park, horseshoes, canoe launch. Clean well maintained not crowded.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/30/2010   6/10/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course! Hole 13, which is a 673 ft. par 5, is my favorite, it really gives you the chance to grip n rip. Really wide open shot on most holes, good for a beginner. Plenty of holes will give you a chance to let it rip!! This course is not difficult to navigate and signage is ok.
Cons: The construction had really got in the way there for a while, but all the missing holes have been either replaced or relocated. The wind can make it real difficult on some days.
Other Thoughts: Good course and pretty clean compared to some courses that I have visited. Be careful with your drive on hole 15, the hill drops off right behind the basket and your disc will keep going like the Energizer bunny!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Pilot to Bombardier

2-4    7/27/2012   5/22/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 78  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Memorial Park has almost everything you could want from a DG course. Big big elevation changes, varying hole length throughout, a hazardous creek coming into play on half the holes, blind looks...this course will test your physical and mental states equally. TWO WORDS - DESTINATION COURSE

A brief synopsis:
#1 sets it off nicely with an up and over one of the smaller hills in the park; its pin placed precariously next to the stream. Two is a big drive over two undulating hills, and #3 has you play the ridge line with the crosswinds being a huge factor here.

#4 is a blind anhyzer down and around a big hill, and #5 is an uphill approach into a pine grove. #6 is in a huge field and its pin is tragically close to a giant dropoff - birdies turn to bogeys in a heartbeat if you aren't careful.

#7 is a two-drive bomb with an uphill approach; the pin perfectly centered in the middle of four big pines. #8 is a tricky shot through mature trees - land on the wrong side and your put will be nearly impossible. #9 has the best approach of the course: big pines create a tunnel for about 125 feet out from the pin.

#10 is a downhill blast, and #11 follows it up with a deceiving line on the side of a hill - a beautiful design here. #12 is the only truly wooded hole, an uphill twister through the foliage, with its pin on the crest above beyond the leaves.

#13 is a ridiculous three-drive bombast that has no cover - power over accuracy is recommended here. #14 is a smaller blast along the road, ending at a pristine rose garden.

After a walk past the rose garden the course really finishes with a flourish. #15 is an ace run that punishes you if you overshoot: there is a steep hill just beyond the basket that drops into the dog park. #16 and #17 are twin rips down into the same valley, with the former taking you up the other side to a guarded target, and the latter is even more challenging with the stream at its widest point in front of the basket. #18 is another ace run to the right of the stream, the epitome of do or die, and can really decide a tight round.

Signage is killer and the course flows really well. Park is immaculate and benches, trash cans are everywhere. Great bridges over the stream add a nice touch - you can tell that a ton of care goes into maintaining Memorial. Tee pads are the best I've come across - giant tees that taper to a blunted point, giving you an arrow of sorts, directing you towards the basket. Very cool touch and very well maintained.
Cons: The only cons I can come up with here a really a fault of the land and not the designer.

I guess one could ask for a bigger water hazard - you should be able to fish out your disc should it go into the stream, even at its widest point, and the water isn't moving terribly fast.

It also would've been nice to have encountered some more wooded shots. I would consider #12 the only "wooded" hole, although plenty of holes use the spotty tree groupings extremely well, usually on the approach. Because of this, the course can feel kind of static, but I really think they split up the terrain very well, and there certainly isn't a lack of scenery to take in here.
Other Thoughts: I originally played this course in May of 2009 and there was a bit of construction going on. Several of the holes were missing and as a result I gave Memorial Park a three out of five. I played through again last week and everything was in and as it should be. Sound design on great landscape set this course just outside of my top 10. Again, this is a destination course, and not just because it's in Frankenmuth. Trust me. BOMBS READY BUDDY

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bavaria

5+    11/6/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2013
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
--Course is in a nice scenic park in Frankenmuth. Mostly open and longer holes but it has good share of short ones too. I'm more a tech player and dont normally like open courses, but this is still one of my favorite courses! I always find my self having alot of fun here. The course uses the parks features well, good use of the hills, river, and fields! Good signs at every hole. Course flows from hole to hole very well. Also good maintenance being on city property.

--If your anywhere on the area, dont miss this course.
Cons:
-Now that there's tee pads its hard to come up with any cons. Maybe an am tee on a few holes would be nice for certain players.

--Other than that, I guess I could only ask for more holes but 18 is always solid.
Other Thoughts:
--Classic small town michigan feel. Course runs through the middle of the park, next to the schools, and into the back of the park by a church (locals are aware of the dg course and normally dont walk down the fairways).

--River comes into play multiple times (Water is usually never too deep to get your disc back though).

--Park in the "dog park" lot then cross the bridge to get to hole #1

{Update}- Now every hole now has a tee sign and Basket. Since the first time I played this course over a year ago they have added 3 holes ive never seen. This latest course update boosted the rating up .5 for me!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

6/3/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: Portablewalrus
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a Very well maintained course, its somewhat open and very hilly. My first thought was that it looked kind of like a golf course, the fairways were mowed grass, and it was well marked. Most of the holes are long, the biggest measuring in at about 675".
Cons: It's right in town and behind a high school so there are other activities that go on throughout the course like a bike path, picnic areas, a pool and a dog park. There is supposed to be water in play on a couple of holes, but its a small creek that was mostly dry when I played.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.