Chadron, NE 
Memorial Park Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than nothing

5+    11/11/2012   7/11/2013
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 29  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great location for students at Chadron State College. Good variety in holes. Doesn't take very long to finish a round
Cons: The layout and hole locations are completely ridiculous. No indicators for tees or tee pads. No map or directions to each baskets, however each are numbered. Almost every hole has an alarming obstacle in the vicinity such as a playground or tennis court. Hole 1 has a basketball court in the middle of the fairway. Hole 3 has a tennis court, Hole 4 has a sand volleyball court in the middle of the fairway, Hole 6,8 and 9 have a playground that often has small children playing in the middle of the fairways. Hole 8 also has another tennis court in the fairway. Almost every hole overlaps with other holes, especially 6,7,8,and 9. Holes are all very short, 4 is the longest.
Other Thoughts: This course has a very poor layout in terms of interference and also has nothing more than 9 baskets scattered throughout the park. However, if the park is empty of other people using the courts/playground, etc. then the obstacles can be a decent challenge and provide some variety for such a small area. It is also very convenient for students at Chadron state which is across the street. This course is found directly in front of the High Rise building on campus. Overall this is not the course to go out of your way to play, however its better than not having a disc golf course in town, and many agree that this course is still better than the alternative course at Chadron State Park south of town, which has some of the shortest holes imaginable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Homemade Baskets are just the start

1    6/18/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 327  Reviewed: 323  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice maintained park, they were watering when I was there
-Other stuff to do here; tennis, picnic, playground, etc
-Drinking fountain
-Some of the holes were actually fun shots of a decent distance.
-A few ace runs but an overall longer park course.
Cons: -Homemade baskets are of differing heights and are single chained so they don't catch all that well either
-No tees, play from the tee shaped dirt which would be very muddy with any moisture.
-No tee signs
-Layout is bad, never really know which hole you are throwing at next. The park is small enough that you can see multiple holes on most 'tees'
-Layout has you throwing at or over fences, playgrounds, picnic areas, sidewalks, etc. Caution is advised.
Other Thoughts: Despite the poor overall design and amenities, the park wasn't actually that bad. I would only play most of the holes if there were many other or any other people in the park. If the park isn't busy and you figure out the layout in the first couple rounds you might be able to have a reasonably challenging and fun couple of rounds. The lack of signage, tees, real baskets and any safety concern hurt this course but those all could be remedied with just a little work. I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course again but NW Nebraska doesn't have a lot of courses so you might as well give it a shot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 meh

1    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: pokrplayr
Played: 195  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: hmmm i guess the home made multi color baskets were pretty neat
Cons: 9 baskets set near the college on about 3-4 acres of land with no tee signs or tee markings that i could find.
Other Thoughts: if your driving thru the area and feel like strecthing your legs then i guess you could check out this course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 With a Miniature Statue of Liberty!

1    7/16/2008   5/31/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a nice park located across from the state college. It was very easy to find. The park does not have the beauty that the nearby Chadron State Park course has yet, overall this course is better simply for its more honest distance. Even without a map it was easy to pick out where the next hole was. There was a cool spray paint mural on a shed in the park. The park is a very laid back space, It was nice to relax in a park.
Cons: There are no tees and there are no markings that I could find to give a slight clue of any shred of information. In the summer of 08 I just played safari. There were tons of manmade or shared park obstacles along the way. Giant tennis court fences, tool sheds, huge park watering hoses, picnic shelters, and so forth all waiting for plastic to much on. It amazes me how much a basic thing, such as not marking out a designated teeing area make an otherwise good course go bad.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a rare 90+ degree day. I think the entire town was at the swimming pool which the course plays around. I suffered though it as I was on a mission to bag multiple courses that day, but all I really wanted to do was jump in that pool. Some nice little kids were telling me there are more holes, on another end of the park, but I don't know how credible that is. The only reason I played this course was to bag another course, My recommendation to a traveler would be to head over to West Park in Guernsey or up to Hot Springs, or Laing Lake in Alliance which all have more complete courses.

Let me offer my apologizes as most of the pictures I took from this trip are mysteriously lost in the digital world.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.