Wausau, WI 
Memorial Park - Marathon County Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #6 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Watch where you're throwing

1    8/30/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: koogs
Played: 100  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge tee pads and decent signs on every hole. Baskets and chains in good shape, though baskets could use some paint. 4 of the holes had a risk factor of losing a disc in the water. Pretty park next to the river

Cons: For distances this short, the baskets should be guarded or something, but they were all just wide open for easy approaches and putts (see my pics). A sign or arrow pointing from basket 5 to tee 6 would be helpful.
With distances like these, you might think it's at least a good beginner course, but beginners would lose a lot of discs here, I think.
Other Thoughts: I played at 9 am on a weekday, so I saw only a couple of dog walkers, but on a nice weekend, you'd really have to be careful not to hit anyone or you might even have to skip a hole or 2. Hole 8 has a picnic table right by the basket. It's not hard to lose a disc. My throw from tee 7 skipped badly and went in (I got it back), and there was one floating on the water by basket 8. I'm glad I played it. Every course played adds to my experience, but I won't be playing it again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Second Best in Wausau Area

5+    8/22/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Bushmaster
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some water hazards and ace chances. Decent tee signs. An interesting throw over the water on #6.
Cons: Holes are a little too easy. In a crowded park with a lot of other park users. At certain times of the year there can be a lot of goose poop everywhere. A longer walk from the finish to the start.
Other Thoughts: Not bad for the first disc course in Wausau, but it was just kind of put up without a lot of thought. If you're in the area check out Machmueller in Weston, you'll like it a lot better.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for Intro to DG

2-4    6/19/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: sbent518
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: Concrete Tees, baskets in good condition, each hole has sign with map of hole.
Cons: Horrible location with any other park goers becoming a very common hazard. some of the holes are near the paved road and parking lot, meaning if your disc hits it could take a bit of damage, especially if you use plastics like the DX line from Innova.
Other Thoughts: Simple course, good for introducing others to Disc Golf, though for beginners who might have accuracy issues, or problems with their discs rolling, only holes 1 2 4 and 5 are really the only ones that are safe from the water. Also, holes 6+ you have to watch where you step and BRING A TOWEL, the geese like that area and needless to say, they go to the bathroom too, and A LOT. Ew.

 Average 9 Holer

1    6/27/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Fairly beginner friendly except hole #6 having to throw over the water.

2) Concrete tee pads are in nice shape.

3) Course has decent signage on each hole (Although they are starting to peel a bit and show their wear).

4) Nice baskets in good shape.

5) Although still a short 9 holer some of these holes have enough distance to challenge a beginner. That is good that they aren't simple 150' holes. Hole #3 has ob on the road and a river right which is a good challenge, Hole #7 also has the basket tucked closely to the water. A weak throw that tails left can easily end up in the water.

6) Park has pavilion, baseball, boat launch, tennis courts, a pool and some areas to just lounge around which is a nice addition.

7) Course does incorporate the nice river view into the design.
Cons: 1) Design and layout of this course took advantage of as much as they could, but it also brings other people, pavilions, roads, vehicles, and other hazards into play. I nearly killed a kid trying to get his grill started on the second hole (I threw right between the pavilion posts and the disc faded back over fairly near the basket. I even had a run at birdie although it missed.

2) Not a lot of challenge except on the 3rd hole with a road and river as OB and then the throw over the water on #6, and the basket on #7 tucked close to the same water). The others are fairly wide open and accessible baskets.

3) Still a short 9 holer. They did what they could with the property, but I would probably not go visit unless I had nothing else to do.

4)
Other Thoughts: This is an average short beginner 9 hole course. They have some challenge on the course but it seems to me that it would be frustrating challenge for beginners because of how easy it would be to lose discs in the water or end up OB on #3.

The other park users are in danger for their lives especially if some beginners come out to play.

Course is well maintained from what I can gather or rarely played.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Typical public park course

5+    9/14/2008   9/20/2008
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mix of left and right-turning fairways. Water offers a hazard on four holes, making it a bit more challenging.
Cons: This is a course we have all played. The local parks department decided they wanted a disc golf course, and plopped one down on top of an existing park. That's fine - it's close to my house and I play here often - but I've skipped holes plenty of times to avoid pegging a family of 12 picnicking in the middle of a fairway.
Other Thoughts: It's easy to lose a disc on some of the water hazard holes, especially on hole 6 - drive through trees and over a pond full of goose and duck poop. Local kids hang out near this pond and retrieve volumes of discs from the muck. If you give them a fiver, they might go get yours...otherwise they will just add it to their collection of hundreds (not exaggerating) of discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.