Manito, IL 
Memorial Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DGfan68 Hole #5 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    8/12/2013   7/30/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 139  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 14.4 Years
Pros: This is a nice, easy course in a very small town. There is a glo tournament every year that is really fun. Its a very easy play and is a great course for beginners. Here are my pros:

1) This course is very easy to navigate and is a very short course. There aren't really any blind holes and everything is pretty much straightforward. When playing this course you could easily play 36 holes in the time it takes to play a longer course.

2) Its a good course to work on your putter shots and your mid range discs. You won't be challenged at this course but you will have fun. Its a good course to run some aces on.

3) The park/course are kept in really good shape. The course has great concrete pads and nice baskets. The park is in a very quiet part of town and the park is very peaceful.

4) The course actually utilizes some OB areas fairly well. The course runs right up on a few walking paths and right against a baseball diamond. I would recommend playing these areas as OB just to give some more difficulty to the course.

5) Considering what the designer had to work with (very small park, not much acreage), I think the design was very good. Hole 1 is the longest hole on the course and is actually a nice hole that requires you to throw a hyzer out over the road to have a great shot at the basket.
Cons: Honestly this course doesn't have a lot of bad things going for it. Its a very easy, 9 hole course in a very small park. Here are a few cons:

1) The course doesn't have any variety on the length and is not very challenging. The designer did a good job with what he had but this course isn't going to compare to a lot of the longer courses out there.

2) This is par 3 disc golf at its finest and this course actually probably has a few par 2's. I honestly only play this course for the glo tournament because that adds a nice little challenge for me. Unfortunately this course won't do much for your game during a normal round. This course is designed for what it was supposed to be.

3) The lay of the land simply didn't allow a superb course to be put in this park. I usually don't give 9 hole courses above a 3.0 rating and so if this course were 18 holes of the same type of shots I could see myself giving this a 2.5 rating. This is a very flat park with not a lot going for it on the disc golf course except for some walking paths and fences. Its a short, fun course but nothing worth going out of your way to get to.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park with a very short and easy course in a small town. If you are coming through this way its a very short and easy play.


1    5/5/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: donny vomit
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All concrete pads, trash baskets at every hole.
Cons: Innova disc catcher baskets , bathrooms locked in may,
Other Thoughts: Wanted to get out of the house so we went to Manito for a winery visit.it was closed so over to the park I went.a very small park indeed . If you got a strong arm you can almost hit all of them off the tee pads. Kinda weird setup as the baskets play along or in between baseball fields most of the time. Had two ob shots and still shot under par. If your passing thru the manito,pekin area play it . Good place for beginners

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful little 9 hole course

5+    7/10/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: XxBenNastyxX
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this little course. It's great for families. It's very well kept. Super easy to push a stroller through as the whole course is flat. Great for practicing shots and driving. We usually play it 3 or 4 times when we go out or it's not worth the drive. It's pretty small. VERY well kept. The village of Manito takes EXCEPTIONAL care of this course. Bathrooms and water fountains available as well.
Cons: Nothing to it really for difficulty. None of the holes are very long. Not many trees.
Other Thoughts: I take a lot of pride in the course as I grew up in the area. I've played this course more times than probably anywhere else because I have children and it's easier to play with them here. Not worth a long drive to come out and play, but if you are ever in the area stop in and check it out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 little ace run course

1    11/29/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 360  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is set in a nice quaint little park
-Concrete tees, bathrooms, ample parking, water, trashcans
-OB on several holes, which made me plan out my shot a bit more than I would have if there were none.
-Baseball field fences utilized as obstacles
-Hole one was a great hole-a lot of small trees speckle the fairwy so you have to plan your own "fairway" route over/through or however you can get there
-Course was well groomed and no trash was lying around
Cons: -Super short, every hole except 1 is less than 300' and several were under 200'
-Hardly any pin protection or even obstacles in fairways for that matter
-Lack of complex shots: as the previous reviewer said all holes can be reached with a rhbh hyzer.
Other Thoughts: This course was a better pitch and putt than most that I've played, but nothing to go out of your way to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My home course....

5+    1/24/2009   1/24/2009
Review By: mmunter
Played: 104  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a little 9 hole course situated in a small public park. Each hole has concrete tee pads and nice baskets. The park is very well maintained with a few garbage cans at some tees to help keep it that way. A professional designer was brought in for this course, which is surprising considering the small size of the town. This was a good decision, however, because the park is so small, open, and flat the every tree, baseball diamond, and fence must be utilized in order to make the course interesting. I think that the designer did a good job of making the course as fun as it could be considering the location.
Cons: The location is not ideal for a high-caliber disc golf course. There are no "woods", just trees speckled around the park. There are also no elevation changes. Because of the lack of thick trees with underbrush, the holes don't really have fairways. There are times when the designer intended for the player to thread a shot through a couple of strategically placed trees, but even with a poor drive it is impossible to get yourself into trouble.

Due to the location and design, it is obvious that this course is intended purely for recreational players. An experienced player will find absolutely no challenging or interesting holes here.
Other Thoughts: THIS IS NOT A COURSE TO GO OUT OF YOUR WAY TO PLAY! However, living just a few blocks from the course, I love it. It is a great place to go and have fun while getting in some throws and improving.

Every hole can be reached with a simple hyzer. 5 of the holes are right at or slightly shorter that 230 ft.

Lots of ace opportunities, even for the average recreational player.

A pro level player would probably need just 18 throws to complete all nine holes...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.