Elk Grove Village, IL
Clark Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #5 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 285ft.   5 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    7/31/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 62  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 4.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a shorter, easy course in a nice city park. While the course lacks challenge, it's still a pretty enjoyable place to play a quick round or two.

The course has a nice visual appeal, it was very clean and well-kept both times I played. Large trees are scattered throughout the park that come in to play on a few holes

The tee pads here are huge and nice signs are present on all holes.

The course has been pretty crowded when I've played, but most holes are quick and the flow of the course is pretty good, so despite the crowds I didn't find myself having to wait very long.
Cons: As is the case with most multi-use park 9-holers, there's just not a lot of difficulty. Most shots here are in the low to mid 200s with only two holes are over 300ft, so if you're a player who likes to air it out, this course won't do much for you. Trees provide obstacles on most holes, but not enough to provide any legitimate difficulty.

The tee for hole #8 is almost directly in the fairway of #2. When throwing at #2 you may have to wait for players throwing on #8 and visa versa. Dumb. #7 also shoots back towards this area, so you should be on the look out for discs in this area.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this a simple, but enjoyable course. There is a pretty high concentration of decent courses in this area of the suburbs, so you can knock out 4 or 5 courses in a single day pretty easily.

The first tee is next to the tennis courts. There is no parking lot, but there's parking on the street.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

One of the best Chicago 9's

2-4    6/24/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 105  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2012
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Huge concrete tees on many holes (~10 x 15'), standard size concrete for the rest. Baskets are in nice shape. Decent length when compared to local competition. No totally wide open holes (around here almost all the courses have at least two of these, usually ~200'). Enjoyable course, with the exception of hole 3 all of the holes were fun. Good variety of shots, I threw RHBH, RHFH, and even a thumber. The tee signs that were still there were very descriptive.
Cons: This course has some safety issues. The most obvious being that hole 3's teepad is 20' directly behind hole 2's basket. I have seen a few dangerous tee locations, but this has to be one of the worst. What really gets me though is hole 3 is a bad hole. The fairway is straight for about 50-70' then turns 90 degrees left for the final 160-180'. There is a 30' high fence on the inside of the dogleg. They could have reconfigured this hole to make the tee safer, and at the same time improve hole 3 (really, any change would improve this hole). A few of the holes play along or over the walking path. The path was pretty empty when I played, but on a nice day I can see long waits. Two of the holes play around a softball field, and there can be conflicts. Tee signs are missing on a few holes, including hole 1. It is not obvious where to go after hole 4. Hole 5's tee is across the playground to your right.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best Chicago 9's. I would put this one up with Central Park/Oakbrook, Adler/Libertyville, and Lewis U/Romeoville. The tee for hole 1 is located off Biesterfield Road, just west of the tennis courts and right next to the walking path. It is one of the ~10' x 15' tees.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    6/13/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice, small park that is well maintained. There are other activities here, but they do not interfere with the DG side of things too badly.
- Great tee boxes, good baskets and signage.
- Pretty decent elevation changes on some holes, at least for the course's location. A shorter hole has an upslope which makes it play a lot longer than the 285' posted. The next hole has a nice downslope, which makes it easy but enjoyable.
- Lots of trees scattered throughout almost all fairways, or near the green, make accuracy very important. Almost every hole has a line through the trees, so it is not overly difficult either.
- A lot of holes favor a certain type of shot; like a RHBH or a RHFH. Helps to mix things up a bit.
- Hole 3 is a good challenge. It is a 90 degree wooded dogleg around a restricted area fence. There is a line if you want to overhand it over the fence; otherwise you have to play around the fence. I usually just hyzer it and lay up. But, if you are feeling brave, there is a line...
- One of the baskets is very susceptible to mud; they have put in bricks/steps so you can retrieve your disc without stepping in the mud. Thanks!
Cons: - Some of the tees are very, very close to the previous basket. Make sure to keep an eye out for overthrows, especially on tee #3.
- Just one or two of the holes having some more length would go a long way. If you are able to get it out to 350' consistently, there won't be much of a challenge here.
- Even with the various shots needed, it still is a little bland. I am pretty comfortable with BH and FH, so none of the holes are really challenging.
Other Thoughts: - A good all around course, but nothing really stands out to make it a destination spot. People I play with have very differing opinions, some like it, some dislike it, but nobody hates or loves it.
- Only navigation trickiness is getting from #5 to #6, the tee for #6 is on the other side of the small park.
- Trees help to keep the wind to a minimum, even in the open, which can be a nice change from the usual windiness of the Chicagoland area courses.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/8/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: Two_Bearded_Dudes
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nearly impossible to lose a disc
Well maintained
Easy-to-navigate
Decent variety
Good for beginners
Cons: A lot of non-golfer, foot traffic
A little too quick
Other Thoughts: A great beginner course with enough variety to keep you entertained for the short time you'll be there. Usually I'll run through it twice just so I feel like I actually got a solid round in. It's built around a park with a few ball diamonds, tennis courts and playgrounds, so there's always traffic you'll need to deal with.

I end up here quite a bit as it's right by Woodfield mall. Nothing will help clear the idiocy of 13 year old mall-bunnies away like a few rounds of DG.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 NIce little course

2-4    10/3/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a small park with some minor elevation changes, and scattered trees and brush. There are some areas of the park with denser clusters of trees, and the course makes good use of these to add some challenge. Though the elevation changes are limited, most of the holes play up or down at least a small hill. None of the holes were completely wide open and simple, setting this course apart from the design of many other Chicago courses.

There was good length variety here. There were some ace run holes, a longer hole that lets you drive if you can get through or over the trees, and holes in between that offer a chance for an ace for experienced players and are reasonable for newer players.

There are great concrete tee pads on all the holes, that are very large and in really nice shape. The hole signs are in good shape, and show the hole layout with the distance. The course is extremely easy to follow, with no navigation issues at all.

I was pleasantly surprised by the design of this course. It's a small multi-use park, but the course doesn't really play into the other areas of the park, and only one of the holes endangers the walking paths throughout the park. There is more challenge here than it first appears.
Cons: The biggest issue on this course is the traffic it gets by non-players and inexperienced players with no sense of course etiquette. There were many people wandering around on the course rather than staying on the walking paths. They seemed to be oblivious to the course, and weren't interested in paying attention when asked to move or at least watch while you throw. The other players on the course were mostly people with one disc who wanted to throw on you on every hole but refused to play through.

The walking path is in a dangerous spot on the second hole, and makes for some waiting if there are walkers out. There are a couple playgrounds that aren't really in play, but could be with particularly bad throws. The third hole plays around the corner of a restricted area, looks like an easy way to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course. The lengths are reasonable, but the holes aren't just wide open. There aren't many places to lose a disc. More experienced players will be surprised at some of the challenges on this course, and will likely have a fun quick round here.

This is one of my favorite Chicago 9 holers, and it's definitely worth a stop if you're in the area. Don't drive way out of your way for just this course, but there are some other fun places to play in the area that make it worth a look.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9 hole

5+    4/23/2008   9/24/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park is very well taken care of and not to hard to find. Easy to shoot par once you have been playing for a bit. Even though some shots are marked par 4 I count all as a par 3.
some shots are very technical and will make you change up your shot. But nothing to fret about.
Cons: only 9 holes.
holes are short.
A lot of the "college crowd"
too many other things going on(walking paths, baseball diamond) also one of the holes is posted by the road, so just take a little off alright.
There is also a playground in the middle/side of a few holes..ahhh
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a decent 9 hole course. I lived about 5-10 minutes away but would only play it when I didn't feel like driving 20 minutes to another course.
Would like to see some bathrooms

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/21/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 58  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large concrete tee pads for each hole.
Very well manicured park.
A nice mix of attractive trees on every hole.
Baskets are all in great shape.
All but a couple holes have trees placed in ways that make you shoot accurate and low.
Nice signs with distance.
Excellent flow from hole to hole.
Very good use of the available land.
Beautiful little park.
Cons: Only a couple kind of long holes, but you can use the hole #2 tee box for an alt. tee location for holes #6 and #8 and add some distance.
Other Thoughts: Playing here has helped me improve my accuracy quite a bit. Would love to have a back nine, but not enough room, so a lot of people just finish hole #9 and walk right back to tee #1 for another trip around....

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 course is so so

5+    9/3/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: discin311
Played: 75  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: not to much to say here quick little 9 hole course
Cons: basket # 2 is missing all that is there is the metal pole. hole 3 it a joke snice they moved it a few years back. way to many high school kids they dont know anything about disc golf groups of 10 + people wont let a group of 2 people play though
Other Thoughts: dont go out of your way to play this course its not worth it i live a mile away thats way i play it here and there

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good For Beginners

1    7/10/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: bigghigg
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked and maintained. Very easy to play.
Cons: Very easy to play. The "par" scores were extremely generous.
Other Thoughts: A nice course that can allow beginners to get some practice in without racking up some atrocious scores. More experienced players may not find it challenging enough.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  First Impression

1    7/25/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: kazzmataz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice, clean, cement tees.
Cons: Most holes are crazy short, and only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: I just moved up to area from FL, lots of courses there, and I am surprised to see how short, wide open, no hills, few trees, there are at all of the courses within 10 miles of Schaumburg. And, most of the courses are 9 holes, never seen that before.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center